Trade period / National Draft 2024

Which out of contract player should we trade?

I wouldnt cry if we did, but I really want a mid in the Draper mould / style, inside, out, explosive from the contest, hard at it, takes territory.
For me, Smith is in the mould of Josh Ward, outside accumulator. We could absolutely use him, but if we can only get one top mid this year, we need the one you can imagine playing finals at the coalface, and that is Draper for sure. For me it's one of Draper or Langford, then Smith after them. And still keen to see how Lalor finishes the season.

yeah I dont see the Ward comparison, Jagga wins most of his possessions in tight.

Lalor is the one who I would love to get with a 2nd top 10 pick.

yeah I dont see the Ward comparison, Jagga wins most of his possessions in tight.

Pretty sure Ward was doing similar things to Jagga in his draft year. Will Jagga be able to do that at AFL level with his size? It's risky for a pick 1 hey, when you have a pretty compelling case to go for Draper instead.

And yeah, Lalor has so much upside.

I'm not sure how you can watch Jagga Smith and say that he's an outside accumulator. His biggest strength is his ability to win his own footy inside at stoppage.

Pretty sure Ward was doing similar things to Jagga in his draft year. Will Jagga be able to do that at AFL level with his size? It's risky for a pick 1 hey, when you have a pretty compelling case to go for Draper instead.

Ward doesn't have the speed and agility that Jagga has, but they similar sizes with high endurance bases and good skills.

Yeah Jagga's size is my only concern.

I'm not sure how you can watch Jagga Smith and say that he's an outside accumulator. His biggest strength is his ability to win his own footy inside at stoppage.
It's a bit generic of me to have said "outside accumulator", what I mean is, he's an accumulator that doesn't do a lot of damage. His metres gained is an example of this.

Peter Ladhams is one we should be asking about.
He would be a solid back up ruck for 1-2 years.
Isnt getting much of a crack at the Swans

Nah leave him there. Hoping the ruck they took first round last year will be looking for an out given he's not getting any ruck mins in VFL with McAndrew and Ladhams there.

- Unpopular opinion, but I think we need to get rid of Bolton. Don’t think he has the attitude or qualities to be a leader through this rebuild we are going to have, and it shows on the field, especially when things go sideways..
Did you watch him yesterday?? Busted his arse.

Predicted ladder positions from live ladder https://www.liveladders.com/
SYD
BRIS
FRE
WBD
CARL
GEEL
HAW
GWS
---------
PORT
ESS
MELB
COLL
GC
STK
ADE
WCE
RICH
NTH

RICH pick 2
GC picks 6, 10
FRE picks 7, 15, 16

Maybe WC will trade pick 3 to FRE for 7 & 15 and then trade 15 for Baker
Trade late picks to Brisbane for pick 17
Trade Rioli to GC for pick 6 & 20

Go the draft with 2,6,15,17, 20,21,22 (Graham compo)
Unlikely that happens but if it did we'd trade at least one pick into next year.

Hence he slid down the order even though he showed elite talent before his draft year.

Sooooooo, you could say, you kinda backed up my point ;)
Noooooooooo.

I'll type this slowly Moz, so hopefully you will get it:

In their bottom-age years, Sonsie played no football. FOS was All-Australian under-18 and would have gone top 5 in the draft if 17-year-olds were eligible.

In his top-age year, Sonz played some football with mixed results. His weakness (running, competitiveness) became apparent and others moved past him. In FOS' top-age year he has been injured. But even in the first game when he broke his thumb he showed the traits that have him rated so high - 6 clearances after breaking his thumb in the first quarter. No one questions his competitiveness or running - they are two of his many strengths.

If there's a recruiter in the country who has him outside their top-3, they won't be a recruiter for long.

My worry is a broken finger has hindered his fitness so much. That GF performance was absolutely putrid and all was said was he was underdone. For a guy even I thought was number one coming into the year, that was shocking. All because of a finger. Some concerns for me.
I wouldn't be surprised if he was crook for that game, Bob. He couldn't run.

Something we agree on.

Our 2021 crop is starting to come along nicely with Brown and Banks. Sonsie, Clark, Gibcus have shown promise. 2025 is going to be a big year for them all. Our list is building a nice core of B graders that from next year won't be too young. We just need to supplement this core with another 10-12 first and early-second rounders and we will be alright post Tassie and can begin loading up again. Our 2021 and 2024 drafts are going to make or break our rebuild.

Did you watch him yesterday?? Busted his arse.

Unlikely that happens but if it did we'd trade at least one pick into next year.

Noooooooooo.

I'll type this slowly Moz, so hopefully you will get it:

In their bottom-age years, Sonsie played no football. FOS was All-Australian under-18 and would have gone top 5 in the draft if 17-year-olds were eligible.

In his top-age year, Sonz played some football with mixed results. His weakness (running, competitiveness) became apparent and others moved past him. In FOS' top-age year he has been injured. But even in the first game when he broke his thumb he showed the traits that have him rated so high - 6 clearances after breaking his thumb in the first quarter. No one questions his competitiveness or running - they are two of his many strengths.

If there's a recruiter in the country who has him outside their top-3, they won't be a recruiter for long.

I wouldn't be surprised if he was crook for that game, Bob. He couldn't run.

Something we agree on.
I know you typed it slowly for me, but I read it at the same speed, this is just too hard :(

I didnt know you had big wraps on Lalor though, I like that.

vomit GIF