Trade Talk 2013 - Yeo, Doc, Polec, Karnezis, Longer gone - Welcome Paine, West, Magwon!

We have the young talls coming through such as Clarke, Lisle, Sam Michael, Close, and Longer. We just need a 25-27 year old tall gun who provides us instant awesomeness to take pressure off Brown in his final year and to kick 50-60 themselves. Offer a big wage and a player on the fringe like Banfield. Then use our top picks for more players like Olly wines who provides instant class to the midfield. We need a SImon Black replacement now
Do you realise only 7 key forwards forwards kicked 50+ goals last year? 2 were aged 25-27 (Buddy and Cloke). And I'm not sure the other club would trade them for Banfield. :( Key forwards don't grow on trees and we aren't a chance of landing any big name KPFs from other clubs. We need to develop one or not have one and suffer terribly. Ollie Wines, Joel Selwood and Sam Mitchell types also do not grow on trees, but it's the right logic to try and get one with a high pick from the draft.

With some of the trade suggestions already thrown around, it may be time to sticky the now infamous post by Warwick on the issue of trading before any more ridiculous trade suggestions are thrown around.

Do you realise only 7 key forwards forwards kicked 50+ goals last year? 2 were aged 25-27 (Buddy and Cloke). And I'm not sure the other club would trade them for Banfield. :( Key forwards don't grow on trees and we aren't a chance of landing any big name KPFs from other clubs. We need to develop one or not have one and suffer terribly. Ollie Wines, Joel Selwood and Sam Mitchell types also do not grow on trees, but it's the right logic to try and get one with a high pick from the draft.

Yeah fair point. The only issue is that bigs take so much time typically to work out. If Success is that far away ten shoot me now

There's absolutely no need to wrack out brains trying to figure out who's the best player to bring in, I think the best strategy is just see who sydney wants then outbid them.

Simple.
Disregarding the probability that Sydney have already blown their KPF budget, I'm not sure our cap could responsibly withstand tacking +10% on top of the +10% the Swans can use as a lure anyway.

Brisbane Lions enter the hunt for Hawthorn superstar Lance Franklin
May 5, 2013
Greg Davis

BRISBANE has thrown its hat into the ring for AFL superstar Lance "Buddy" Franklin. The Hawthorn spearhead is off contract at the end of 2013 and sent shockwaves through the competition this year when he put off negotiations until October.

The Lions have entered the race for the most prized signature in the sport by making contact with Franklin's manager. But they face stiff competition from GWS, Adelaide and Fremantle, plus the Hawks, for his once-in-a-generation services. The 26-year-old will attract offers well in excess of $1 million a season.

The Lions have room to make a competitive offer given they play 95 per cent of their salary cap. The impending retirement of Lions great Simon Black will also free up cash.

Brisbane football manager Dean Warren confirmed the Lions were in the hunt for the flamboyant Franklin (below). "It is our responsibility to look at all possible options with Jonathan Brown in the twilight of his career," Warren said. "We'd like to think we can offer Lance the opportunity to play with a young, emerging group. "We can also offer the Queensland lifestyle and the chance to get out of the Melbourne fishbowl. "Ultimately we feel we are headed in the right direction as a footy club and a key position player like him would only enhance our chances of success. It would certainly create excitement on and off the field."

The Lions' desire to land a big-name forward has not waned after missing out on Kurt Tippett last year.

Make of this what you will...and like all clubs, we of course would be doing our due diligence and enquiring about every quality opposition player coming off contract.

Woohoo Buddy!

Seriously though I think he's just trying to deflect the media attention away from Vossy.

Would have been surprised if we weren't going for him. Only disadvantage is that we're going to slow the development of one of our forwards.

We have forwards?

The Lions' desire to land a big-name forward has not waned after missing out on Kurt Tippett last year. To be a legitimate finals contender, the Lions need to be a serious player in the free agency market.

Although this quote is of no surprise in light of Brown's impending retirement, and taking Buddy out of the equation, it will be interesting which player(s) they have in their sights, because outside of Buddy, the only others I could possibly think of are guys like Watts, Hansen, White, or one of the Suns/Giants young big men.

Even then, thinking about trades is something I am not ready to consider.

These comments seem a little stronger than the comments about us considering Cloke last season, so I'll give them a little more credibility, but it's still not going to happen. I reckon it's just about as simple as that.

The thing about Franklin is that the journos are always going to ask, and the clubs are never going to say "nah he's crap not interested at all". Everyone would like Buddy in their side and they just run with it. Still, I spose it's a thing worth discussing - the comments above suggest a little more than just saying "yeah, sure, we'll take him". Due diligence I guess.

A team looking for a fast small forward may be interest

Like who?

Can't think of many clubs who'd want a player like Banfield who don't already have better options. I actually can't think of any clubs without good small forwards who'd back themselves in to 'fix' Banfield, at least not for a second rounder or whatever we'd ask for him. I think he'll stay with us or get delisted down the line (and maybe rookied by another club or something).

To be honest I like our list at the moment really, they're just playing like crap. I'm not too worried about losing anyone as I don't think we will unless we don't rate them, and I can't see any realistic prospects we could get that'll really improve us. A back-up key defender around the 22-26 age bracket would be nice but those types of blokes don't grow on trees and might not want to wait in line. Silvagni is an idea (and it was previously too), I like him but I dunno if he's any sort of 'answer' to our future backline if he even wants to move.

Still, I guess that kind of answer is what I'm going to get when I'm wracking my brain in early May :p

Although this quote is of no surprise in light of Brown's impending retirement, and taking Buddy out of the equation, it will be interesting which player(s) they have in their sights, because outside of Buddy, the only others I could possibly think of are guys like Watts, Hansen, White, or one of the Suns/Giants young big men.

Even then, thinking about trades is something I am not ready to consider.
I'm pretty sure they mean a proven key forward, in that case you can remove Watts and White from that list.

The whole Lions chasing Buddy thing is not something I would say I am surprised at. We are a young developing side who are lacking in the quality KPF area and are probably 1 superstar key forward away from completing our premiership puzzle. The best KPF in the game (Franklin) is coming into free agency the end of this year. The club would be silly to not ask the question to his manager. At the end of the day though, I can not see it happening. I guess we could sell the Queensland lifestyle (Away from the Melbourne fishbowl), the young talented list like Lynchy said, his good mate Quade lives here ect. ect. Maybe the AFL might even help to lure him over as an AFL ambassador in Queensland. As others have already said however, it is a true pipe dream.

I would have thought Buddy loved the fishbowl.

Exactly my point. I can't see someone like him wanting to escape the attention. If he moves, it will still be to an AFL state like WA. Whilst the QLD lifestyle is a good thing we can sell to players, not everyone is going to care about it.

FWIW, i think he will be a Hawk next year.

Perhaps a big trade isn't as far off the mark as we are thinking. If we are 99% committed to picking up both Conway and Ticker, maybe we can do a Melbourne and trade away our first pick, leaving only our second and third round picks when it comes to academy bidding. That leaves us with a pretty big carrot to try and entice a big KFP to the club. Not sure who we would target however.

Trade Talk 2013 - Yeo, Doc, Polec, Karnezis, Longer gone - Welcome Paine, West, Magwon!