List Mgmt. Trade targets 2022

Maybe our offer just wasn’t that great and he said no due to that? He is a middle of the range player and is no loss at all. He would make our best 22, just. Would he make us any better? Doubt it.

We have offered him a contract, we will not grab him via the PSD; it would wreck our integrity for all future trades.
Freddy + third rounder will get it done.
I think there’s zero chance we go the psd route, we’re just not the club to do it, but your logic here makes zero sense.

Clubs have offered contracts and pushed players to the psd. Clubs have threatened to. Have those clubs lost “integrity” for future trades?

I'm the PSD players can nominate their contract terms. If West Coast want him, they could already match Ports offer and he would probably stay. They haven't because they aren't prepared to. I can't see that suddenly changing in the PSD.

Unless another club plans to pinch Rioli and is prepared to pay the crazy, risky contract we are, then he'd get through to our pick no worries.

He could also just go in the main draft and we'd pick him with a late pick. No one is wasting draft picks on a 4 year Rioli contract.
In the PSD the Eagles will surely grab Narkle, with or without his sparkle

He hates Port it was never on the cards.
I don’t believe this for a second. Players aren’t as irrational about this sort of things as fans on bigfooty. If we offered him 100k a year more than the crows he would have come to port. Same as Dawson, same as motlop would have gone the other way. It’s 100% about the money. Watch it play out with Horne Francis next year.

The modern game has been moving to rucks who can do damage around the ground. Hayes has talent, but if you can have a Dixon/Finlayson rotating from the forward line and Esava from the back half it makes the side very mobile and versatile.

EDIT: I'm not writing off Hayes, he just needs to improve at things beyond tapping the ball
Our ruckmen need to roam about like Geelongs; we should play Finlayson on the wing as our modile ruckman

I don’t believe this for a second. Players aren’t as irrational about this sort of things as fans on bigfooty. If we offered him 100k a year more than the crows he would have come to port. Same as Dawson, same as motlop would have gone the other way. It’s 100% about the money. Watch it play out with Horne Francis next year.
The same mate who told me Rankine was a lock for the Crows 3 days before it hit the news says the Crows are talking with JHF at the moment. No talk of whether anything will come of it though.

On SM-G975F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Graham decision probably less about us and more about the fact that he already has a gig at a club hes happy at, who will be right in contention to win it next year, and he a clause which extends his contract there until his free agency pay day.
He has a farm in Victoria, if he were to leave the Tigers it would be for one of the other big Melbourne clubs.

What I hate about bringing in mediocre players from other clubs is that this regime has almost no history of turning these types of players into effective contributors. Aside from Trent McKenzie, I can't even think of any players we've brought in from other clubs who weren't traded in at a high price who become good players for us. Hinkley just doesn't have the ability to turn another team's trash into our treasure in the way someone like Chocolate did.

Don't mythologise Choco's ability there. He brought in plenty of list cloggers who were always that. For every Josh Mahoney there's Cameron Cloke, Aaron Shattock, Danny Meyer, Jaxon Crabb, Jay Nash etc.

It's the intermittent positive reinforcement paradigm. Every now and again you get a win and you just keep trying. the basic principle of pokies, but the house always wins.

Graham rejecting us is great news. He would've cost a lot (contracted, gets the 'premiership player' value bump) but added little. And it continues to help put paid to the nonsense idea that Daddy Donuts helps us attract players. Maybe he did 5-10 years ago before he was covered in the stink of long term failure, but he certainly doesn't any more.

Too much public wanky bravado from the club about who we want and not enough quiet action

To be fair Davies talked down the interest in Graham. Just the local news services took a break from reporting car thefts and brush fence fires to stake out the airports for incoming players.

Graham rejecting us is great news. He would've cost a lot (contracted, gets the 'premiership player' value bump) but added little. And it continues to help put paid to the nonsense idea that Daddy Donuts helps us attract players. Maybe he did 5-10 years ago before he was covered in the stink of long term failure, but he certainly doesn't any more.

Yep, felt exactly the same. The one, tiny thing that Hinkley fans could hang their hat on is that we retain all the players we want to and are able to attract high quality recruits.

But even if that did get us closer to a premiership (it didn't) that's simply not true anymore at all.

That’s a big possibility but it’s going to piss me off if we do.
We’re already set as a club that will fold under pressure on the ground and also off field.
That has to change or we will never be successful.
Time for the old Sal line in the sand cliche.
Yeah I was meant to say we will overpay, not that I want us too.

Just know we're going to do something very stupid

Didnt hate the idea, but not gonna lose any sleep over Graham.

Honestly if you look at Port, where:
-We finished 11th
-Players take full blame as scapegoats for every loss because our coaches refuse to ever admit fault
-We have a weak coaching panel in its final season
-We use shit selection policies based around gambling syndicates

Why would anybody want to come here? We have talent on our list but beyond the individual skills of the players we are a basketcase.

I reckon Finlayson and Allir go alright and they hardly cost us a fortune

These weren't cheap cast offs though. Aliir was squeezed out by salary cap pressure and Finlayson was allowed to come home for family reasons.

Both were excellent pieces of recruiting but they'd already demonstrated a good level of football.