Trade Week on the Hawks Board

just reported on Whitey's twitter that Mumford has attracted interest from other clubs, heres hoping one of them is us :)

TRADE WEEK: Geelong's Neil Balme says the Cats will be very quiet in Trade Week. There have been interest in Shane Mumford from a few clubs

Should we be having any interest in Rhan Hooper? Very good crumbing forward when he's up and about and could release Cyril to the midfield for that much needed pace.
Turn Cyril in to a goal-kicking midfielder, and have Hooper cleaning up at the feet of Buddy and Roughy.

Should we be having any interest in Rhan Hooper? Very good crumbing forward when he's up and about and could release Cyril to the midfield for that much needed pace.
Turn Cyril in to a goal-kicking midfielder, and have Hooper cleaning up at the feet of Buddy and Roughy.

I would prefer if we didnt have to kick someone else out of the 22...

we already have gibson:)rolleyes:) and potentially burgoyne replacing 2 of our 22. And if we also get this 'other big fish' or another ruckman or someone, we would have to kick more out. I would not like that at all...

and plus, if we were to move jr to a more predominantly midfield role, couldnt someone else we already have do the crumbing forward role ?

williams ? osborne ? brown ? even breust maybe ?

heres more from Whitey:
TRADE WEEK: Port Adelaide's Peter Rohde admits there was not a lot of progress between the Power and Hawks on Shaun Burgoyne today

TRADE WEEK: Port Adelaide claims there are five clubs interested in Shaun Burgoyne and all are offering more than Hawthorn

TRADE WEEK: Port Adelaide wants two first round picks or one first round pick and a quality player. Hawthorn is not offering enough

and plus, if we were to move jr to a more predominantly midfield role, couldnt someone else we already have do the crumbing forward role ?

williams ? osborne ? brown ? even breust maybe ?

Yes, but Cyril in to the guts could also negate the need to use pick 9 on Burgs. I'd be just as happy with Mitch, Sewell, Hodge & Cyril as I would with Mitch, Sewell, Hodge, Burg.
I'm more than happy for Burgoyne to join the club, but given the retirement of Robbie, i'd much rather use pick 9 on Jolly..
Williams has got dodgy knees remember, Osborne is a high-half forward and Browny plays his best footy in defence. I know nothing of Breust.

Just something to consider.

TRADE WEEK: The Bulldogs have been surprised in the interest in a number of their players, including three clubs chasing Brian Lake

^^ surely, SURELY we are one...

TRADE WEEK: Port Adelaide will meet again with Hawthorn within next 24 hours to try one more time to get deal done with Shaun Burgoyne

TRADE WEEK: Hawthorn's Chris Pelchen remains confident the Hawks will land Shaun Burgoyne despite a no deal being done today

TRADE WEEK: Hawthorn made it clear Lewis, Birchall and Schoenmakers would not be used in trade for Burgoyne

^^ thanks whitey :thumbsu:

lets hope all the port supporters read that too

TRADE WEEK: Hawthorn is committed to Shaun Burgoyne and is not interested in Darren Jolly at this stage

^^ that is the right thing IMO

TRADE WEEK: Hawthorn may need to get third club involved to get the Shaun Burgoyne trade done

I'm sure this will attract a lot of negative posts and people thinking that my brain has fallen out of my ear :rolleyes:. But Nathan Brown of the Richmond variety.. Anyone think he might be alright off the bench in brown and gold??

I'm starting to go cool on Burgoyne, mainly because I don't want us to lose any talent for him. And I think if we could take a punt with Brown in a forward pocket.

It would release Cyril into the midfield where I reckon he'll become one of the best players in the league.

I know Brown's leg is probably like a toothpick these days and he's getting on in years, but too be honest he hasn't had much to rove off the last few years, particularly with Richo up the ground or out. I reckon he's the type of player that could show some class in a classy side. Slot him into a pocket under Roughy and Buddy and run him off the bench. Even if we get 10 games out of him, he's not in a position to ask big $$$'s and i reckon he could be worth an extra goal or two a game! :thumbsu:

I'm sure this will attract a lot of negative posts and people thinking that my brain has fallen out of my ear :rolleyes:. But Nathan Brown of the Richmond variety.. Anyone think he might be alright off the bench in brown and gold??

I'm starting to go cool on Burgoyne, mainly because I don't want us to lose any talent for him. And I think if we could take a punt with Brown in a forward pocket.

It would release Cyril into the midfield where I reckon he'll become one of the best players in the league.

I know Brown's leg is probably like a toothpick these days and he's getting on in years, but too be honest he hasn't had much to rove off the last few years, particularly with Richo up the ground or out. I reckon he's the type of player that could show some class in a classy side. Slot him into a pocket under Roughy and Buddy and run him off the bench. Even if we get 10 games out of him, he's not in a position to ask big $$$'s and i reckon he could be worth an extra goal or two a game! :thumbsu:

The forward line is not the issue!! We are chasing Burgoyne because we have hardly any outside midfielders. Lewis, Hodge, Mitchell and Sewell are all inside midfielders that win the hardball. This is great to have these type of players but we need more 'Gary Ablett' style players like Bateman that recieve the ball - can run with it, and ultimatley have scoreboard impact. Thats what our side is missing - Goal kicking midfielders.

Yep.. Gotcha. hAnd i probably didn't put enough emphasis on the part of my post about putting Cyril in the guts or on the wing.. Expert delivery and goals from him. Or push hodge up the ground more?

Admittedly it's Sen but talk now of Jamar and pick 11 to Port for SB!

SB apparently seen meeting with Bailey earlier today.

Peter Rohde not denying they are in talks with the Dees!
:(:thumbsdown:

TRADE WEEK: It appears the Bulldogs are still waiting for Lake to get back to them on whether he has agreed to a new four-year deal

Lake looks like its pretty close. Not been in any serious trade rumours so far.

TRADE WEEK: I remain confident Brendan Fevola will be playing at a new club next year and believe it will likely be Sydney at this stage

Hmmm interesting with Jolly available. Maybe time to look at Carlton's ruck stocks for pilfering.

TRADE WEEK: St Kilda looks to be leading the race for Andrew Lovett despite Port Adelaide's keen interestweb

Contradicts SEN saying he is going to Brissie.

TRADE WEEK: Collingwood remains confident is can still land Darren Jolly along with Luke Ball.

Wha? Doubt it.

Trade Week on the Hawks Board