Trade Week Wash Up

No.

Walker + Jacobs + #18 = #14 + Bock Compo (1st rounder) + #33.

A first round upgrade, a first rounder and an early second rounder.

Arguably we could have gotten more out of it than that considering Tambling = Bock compo + third rounder. Assuming Tambling = Walker, the following would have been more likely:

Walker + Jacobs = Bock compo (1st) + 33 (2nd) + 50 (3rd) + 67 (4th)

or

Walker + Jacobs + 18 = 14 + Bock compo + 33 + 50 (assuming pick 67 is worth a 4 round upgrade of a first rounder)

and my rationale for Thorton was:

Thornton + Thornton Compo (3rd rounder) + Bock Compo (1st rounder) = Pick #15.

No.

15 and 43 (1st and second rounder). Still leaves us with 14 and 33 (and later) in the ND.

And there was no indication we had pick 18 on the table this draft (and indeed we were unlikely to do so, given our next pick wasnt till 36 odd).

No. I was using that as a minimum.

If Adelaide are bending us over in this 'hypothetical' deal (as you assert they are) notwithstanding we are getting two first rounders and two second rounders in it, you are actually highlighting my point that we didnt achieve enough in this trade week.

Maybe apply for a recruitment job mal... makes a whole lot of (simple) common sense to me.
Once again disappointment on draft day..

Do you mean me? I kind of hope you do and I kind of hope you don't. Damn hard to get info out in trade week. Only 3 people can give you real time info - Swann, Icke and Ratten. Hughes isn't that involved and directors are sniffing around for info via SMS etc like a lot of people, especially when the guys are down at Etihad.

Here is what I know. For those worried we didn't get a KPP or pick 14 rest easy. The guys went very verY hard at both. Talia, Tarrant, you name it. Couldn't get it. They had told Adelaide 14 or Talia for 6 days. At some point I suppose the gig is up!

Ratts has been hot on Laidler for 2 years. Very happy with him. Re Grigg, they tried everything to talk him round. Sticks has been working on him since about round 15. In the end, we had a choice of PSD, Collins, Morton or Thursfield. Right choice I think.

They absolutely know they need to get height, including possibly a more mature discard ( a Dawson type pickup late). it's one of the reasons they were so keen to get 14.

Tiller will be delisted. Probably 14, 32, 9, as well.

Anyway, bring on the draft

I did, and I understand why you didn't post much. But dammit if I didn't want to be reassured.

So with Wiggins retired. Tiller, Fisher, Johnson delisted we probably need another spot or two freed up.

Re: Thornton, will he be paid out?

Re: Other potential delistee's, Anderson, Browne etc

Do you mean me? I kind of hope you do and I kind of hope you don't. Damn hard to get info out in trade week. Only 3 people can give you real time info - Swann, Icke and Ratten. Hughes isn't that involved and directors are sniffing around for info via SMS etc like a lot of people, especially when the guys are down at Etihad.

Here is what I know. For those worried we didn't get a KPP or pick 14 rest easy. The guys went very verY hard at both. Talia, Tarrant, you name it. Couldn't get it. They had told Adelaide 14 or Talia for 6 days. At some point I suppose the gig is up!

Ratts has been hot on Laidler for 2 years. Very happy with him. Re Grigg, they tried everything to talk him round. Sticks has been working on him since about round 15. In the end, we had a choice of PSD, Collins, Morton or Thursfield. Right choice I think.

They absolutely know they need to get height, including possibly a more mature discard ( a Dawson type pickup late). it's one of the reasons they were so keen to get 14.

Wow thats big news on 32!!!!:thumbsu:

Thanks for the info EP.

Would be really disappointed to lose both Fisher & Thornton. Players like them use to be the reason I had hope. It's a shame more of the older guys could not stick around to be a part of our eventual success.

you are actually highlighting my point that we didnt achieve enough in this trade week.

If you say so...

:eek:
Did you see him (Davies) run in the games he played? Reckon he took 1 bounce in 7 games. Definitely played as a lock-down defender. He will obviously develop, and change, but that is where he is in the AFL right now.

Not doubting White showed courage, but I'm a little hesitant to say he showed anything other than that. I don't want a player in the team because he is courageous, if he can't do anything else (just like Robinson). All of our players need to find a bit of courage and hardness, and I think it'll come as they get older and bigger. I think White is the one that needs to put weight on to be useful to us.

Walker will again play all over the place. Its definitely his lot, because he isn't tremendously suited to any position on the ground. Is ultra-fit but cannot tackle so not suited to be a mid. Is tall, but not strong enough to play as a key position player. Has poor decision making and is an average kick, so is not suited to the half back like. I think putting him on a wing, and letting him run is the best option...even with the poor kicking skills. People also say he had a blinder in the final. He had 6 shots at goal for 3 goals, all gettable. Also dropped marks within 25m of goal, several times.
He played OK, but should've done a lot better. I really would prefer someone else playing that role. Houlihan is way better, and I think Collins would be too. Definitely has to have a big year, otherwise he'll be out the door next year anyway.

I'm certain Laidler will start in our backline.

Our backline depth:

Talls: Jamison, Bower, (Waite), (Henderson), Austin, White, Thornton, Setanta (who Ratts said will train all off-season to play as a CHB)

Mid-size: Russel, Laidler, Lucas, Davies, (Gibbs), Tuohy, O'Keefe, (Carazzo), (Scotland)

Smalls: AJ, Arfield, Anderson, (Kerr)

*brackets denote players more likely to play elsewhere, but could be more than handy there, or have played their before.

totally disagree re: your comments on white. Stepped up to alf level immediately and will be an extremely valuable defensive asset who can play on talls or mid forwards...definate plus :thumbsu:

Grigg sealed his fate to not play finals footy

3 years as coach, two top 8 finishes, this year considering the loss of quality players at the end of 2009, the injuries and everybody saying Carlton would go backwards...Ratten has done very well, and if you look at our performace in the final you know we are heading in the right direction.

Superb post. :thumbsu:

People forget sometimes that Ratten has taken a club which had not played finals for 10 years to 2 finals in a row.

Played both those finals interstate (Brisbane and Sydney)..which were both against quality opposition.

Grigg was obviously dissatisfied with not being an automatic selection and Ratten and him probably had a few heated exchanges.

We can take all these rumours and reading between the messages or we can just take note of what we have seen and that is the following:

- When he moved down to the boundary the players seem to play for him and reacted great with him every time.
- Eric - who is the one here with the serious inside knowledge has not once mentioned that he is offside with the players.

Cheers EP you are a legend mate! :thumbsu:

Speaking of talls...many mature age defenders running around in the VFL which may be worth a look?

Are videos on CFC TV working for people? I watched the Collins interview and that worked, however the Laidler interview and Collins highlights v sydney stop about 10 secs in... are people having the same problem?

Although a finals win would have been nice this year, it's unbelievable the lack of credit Ratts has received, after lifting us from the bottom and taking us to consecutive finals appearances.

Clearly he is not perfect, but for those that criticize him, I simply do not understand what they expect exactly.

I believe in Judd more than Ratts. That 3rd quarter in the Sydney Final demonstrates how much impact he has on a game. It'd be interesting to see how well he'd do without Judd.

Are videos on CFC TV working for people? I watched the Collins interview and that worked, however the Laidler interview and Collins highlights v sydney stop about 10 secs in... are people having the same problem?

Disable NetNanny you pervert!

Trade Week Wash Up