Travis Varcoe

Dangerous comparison.
Wells and Tambling you could say were similar.
Wells has come good, Tambling hasn't.
Please don't tell me I'm going to have to go through 7 years of waiting to find out if TV will come good.

I have been frustrated watching Wells and Tambling through their careers and I don't even follow those clubs. God knows what I'd be like if it was one of our own.

I've been playing supercoach since day one. Was that 2003? And I had Wells in my side every year until last. Drove me crazy waiting for him to come good. I had Hawkins in the team last year and TV the last two years. Same story. Frustrating. Sorry for the sidetrack :)
Pity you've jumped off Wells this year, in career best form and a genuine Brownlow chance, and when the coaches rate him #2 this year so far, you can bet your freddo frog, Partridge, that he's not soft.

I personally think that Scott should be looking at the defensive work of Chapman, Johnson, Stokes when going through midfield i personally think that's where the problem is.

Absolutely, other teams are spreading and finding open players all over the park. What's with our forwards letting their opponents run off and make option/kick goals while they sit on their arses? Heppell, the Brisbane bloke who'd never kicked a goal before got 2, is it laziness or arrogance?

Inability to run as hard as your opponent, call it laziness if you like. Geelong have worked reasonably hard to get the wins on the board this year, we should expect a slackening off period to an extent at this point of the season. This primarily applies to the senior players or regular core performers, of which I wouldn't include Varcoe. The youngsters have also found it much more difficult while our better players have dropped off.. to be expected.

This is a long way closer to what our real problems are right now. As a team we arent playing or working that well together and we arent doing the hard yards as a structured disciplined defensive team either when we dont have the pill. This largely relates to running. Varcoe is probably a guy covering as much territory as anyone in the side this season. Now I dont care whether its understood or not, but thats how modern footy gets played and that is why in or out of form he is useful to the side.

I will make a wild assumption the MC know him better than any of us ever will, and if they see his future regaining his form in the seniors so be it. If the ongoing ranters in here cant take that, then take it up with the MC.
(And give some of us a day off FFS)

But how you improve a whole side of 22 which is exactly what needs to happen right now by channelling all your frustration through one person is the very definition of insanity.

We have dropped off in a few areas since round 8 as a side. Thats a long time ago and relying on 1 guy to absorb all that bitter frustration, of a few, to change all our fortunes around this season is Kindergarten stuff.

I will make a wild assumption the MC know him better than any of us ever will, and if they see his future regaining his form in the seniors so be it. If the ongoing ranters in here cant take that, then take it up with the MC. (And give some of us a day off FFS)

Sorry, but this is a free forum. Everyone's entitled to their opinion. You, me, and even Hawthorn supporters. If you ask the question don't get outraged by responses you happen to disagree with.

But how you improve a whole side of 22 which is exactly what needs to happen right now by channelling all your frustration through one person is the very definition of insanity.

We have dropped off in a few areas since round 8 as a side. Thats a long time ago and relying on 1 guy to absorb all that bitter frustration, of a few, to change all our fortunes around this season is Kindergarten stuff.

They're two different arguments. Not one person has suggested the only thing that needs improving in the team is Varcoe. I can think of the defensive pressure of our small forwards, the absolute ease that teams are taking the ball through the centre of the ground, until last Sunday no second tall forward to help Pods, lack of discipline from senior players (both Selwood and Ottens getting suspended), and so on.

Pretending that the critics of Varcoe suggest no other improvements to the team is a bit wide of the mark I'd argue.

Who is only targeting Varcoe with regards to the form slump of the team?

Who has suggested that Varcoe is responsible for lifting the form slump of the team? When?

You just keep on producing rubbish assumptions to try and support your agenda on this topic. Fail. :rolleyes:

To state the bleeding obvious we are all on the outside looking in , but the MC clearly is persisting with TV in the 1's - maybe they think a run in the 2's won't help?.
What if it's a confidence related issue to do with the shoulder ? If the shoulder isn't 100% it may explain why he doesn't tackle aggressively or seek to get in and under.
Having said that he does look lost out there at times and is struggling to make the impact he is capable of. Whatever it is I hope it turns around soon.................

Sorry, but this is a free forum. Everyone's entitled to their opinion. You, me, and even Hawthorn supporters. If you ask the question don't get outraged by responses you happen to disagree with.

They're two different arguments. Not one person has suggested the only thing that needs improving in the team is Varcoe. I can think of the defensive pressure of our small forwards, the absolute ease that teams are taking the ball through the centre of the ground, until last Sunday no second tall forward to help Pods, lack of discipline from senior players (both Selwood and Ottens getting suspended), and so on.

Pretending that the critics of Varcoe suggest no other improvements to the team is a bit wide of the mark I'd argue.

Sorry, I am not talking about opinions. You completely misunderstand my meaning. People are entitled to opinions daily. I am talking about what others are finding in this particular thread. Daily, ongoing rants against one individual. Ongoing, never ceasing, like a new day brings a new reason to repeat yourself about the same negative view point like it wasnt heard 500 odd posts ago. As has been mentioned by others, some of us see this as a form of personal abuse or bias rather than the simple act of opinion giving.

Ok Partridge, show us the proof you arent focused on one guy? If the whole team needs improving surely its reasonable to suspect you and the other ranters in here would have started up a number of ranting and negative threads about other players in the side. If the logical solution as you suggest is to berate one player day after day, where is the proof you genuinely support this, where are the other threads? I notice some of the ranters in here making lame excuses for other pet players in here who are under performing. Why?

I mean you cant have it both ways. Its a team sport, but you so easily make excuses for what the real problems are for the side and go back to the easy emotional outlet of dumping all life's footy problems on one bloke.

This is a long way closer to what our real problems are right now. As a team we arent playing or working that well together and we arent doing the hard yards as a structured disciplined defensive team either when we dont have the pill. This largely relates to running. Varcoe is probably a guy covering as much territory as anyone in the side this season. Now I dont care whether its understood or not, but thats how modern footy gets played and that is why in or out of form he is useful to the side.

I will make a wild assumption the MC know him better than any of us ever will, and if they see his future regaining his form in the seniors so be it. If the ongoing ranters in here cant take that, then take it up with the MC.

Who is forcing you to respond, heck, who is forcing you to even log onto big footy?

Don't think you can keep justifying his underperformance if its holding back the progression of say a player such as Mitch Duncan or Daniel Menzel or Bundy, that's the concern ATM.
And then what to do with other small forwards such as Chapman, Stokes and Byrnes?
If you try to play to many we're exploited for being to small up forward, thank goodness that's being currently redressed with the inclusion of the Big Tom Hawkins last week, which resulted in our best scoring for ages.

If they're going with him (Varcoe) regardless, lets hope he finds form and gets involved before the game is iced, bout time he showed a consistent performance, that's all we're asking for.

Who is forcing you to respond, heck, who is forcing you to even log onto big footy?

The brackets quite clearly relate to the fact negative comments get posted about this 1 player on this board every single day, no let up. Am I not allowed to make a remark about this in the forum?

Its not the first time however you have quoted me to either misdirect my meaning or take something out of context. Anyone forcing you to do that?

The unfortunate thing last time being you were arguing the point on something you hadnt even seen yet!

Don't think you can keep justifying his underperformance if its holding back the progression of say a player such as Mitch Duncan or Daniel Menzel or Bundy, that's the concern ATM.
And then what to do with other small forwards such as Chapman, Stokes and Byrnes?
If you try to play to many we're exploited for being to small up forward, thank goodness that's being currently redressed with the inclusion of the Big Tom Hawkins last week, which resulted in our best scoring for ages.

If they're going with him (Varcoe) regardless, lets hope he finds form and gets involved before the game is iced, bout time he showed a consistent performance, that's all we're asking for.

Some of us feel he played a good 4 qtr effort and he still got panned in here Meto. Funnily enough those "witches' hats" then went on to knock off the Swans and almost defeated another side in the 8 the Bombers, the only side to beat us in Melbourne this year, a night we were clearly exposed for pace.

So the point being if he does find consistent form will it be conceded?

Ok Partridge, show us the proof you arent focused on one guy? If the whole team needs improving surely its reasonable to suspect you and the other ranters in here would have started up a number of ranting and negative threads about other players in the side. If the logical solution as you suggest is to berate one player day after day, where is the proof you genuinely support this, where are the other threads? I notice some of the ranters in here making lame excuses for other pet players in here who are under performing. Why?

I mean you cant have it both ways. Its a team sport, but you so easily make excuses for what the real problems are for the side and go back to the easy emotional outlet of dumping all life's footy problems on one bloke.

Absolutely, but this thread is about Varcoe, so that's who we discuss on here. If the thread was about Josh Hunt I'd be just as strident about him believe me, as I think his disposal and decision making is cause for concern now. I suspect only because Taylor Hunt's form has slipped a little that he's retained his place.

These players are discussed - Varcoe, Josh Hunt, Hawkins, Mackie - because in the opinions of some of us we think the side will be stronger without them, or they need to to improve. The overall goal is the same, make the team the best it possibly can be for the finals.

If our best side for September needs Varcoe in it great, I want him to stay. If we're better off with him out of the team then that's what I want. Same with Mackie, or Josh Hunt, or Mooney, or whoever.

Absolutely, but this thread is about Varcoe, so that's who we discuss on here. If the thread was about Josh Hunt I'd be just as strident about him believe me, as I think his disposal and decision making is cause for concern now. I suspect only because Taylor Hunt's form has slipped a little that he's retained his place.

These players are discussed - Varcoe, Josh Hunt, Hawkins, Mackie - because in the opinions of some of us we think the side will be stronger without them, or they need to to improve. The overall goal is the same, make the team the best it possibly can be for the finals.

If our best side for September needs Varcoe in it great, I want him to stay. If we're better off with him out of the team then that's what I want. Same with Mackie, or Josh Hunt, or Mooney, or whoever.

An undisputed wish for any true supporter mate. No arguments there.

Having that wish and then using that as the reason however to unload on a bloke in what seems like personal attacks seems at odds with the goal.

I have a feeling it isnt personal with you Partridge for what its worth.

An undisputed wish for any true supporter mate. No arguments there.

Having that wish and then using that as the reason however to unload on a bloke in what seems like personal attacks seems at odds with the goal.

I have a feeling it isnt personal with you Partridge for what its worth.

Unload on a bloke?? Really, if you're not liking what is being discussed in this thread, why keep returning? It's the TV thread and he's struggling... what else is the topic of conversation likely to be?

You're saying that of late he did well in the 4th quarter of last week and the Adelaide game? These were periods when the team was on a roll anyway. The Varcoe of old wasn't a downhill skier like he is at the moment, bobbing up when we get a run-on. We're discussing his form, which is terribly inconsistent and lazy. If you take that personally, don't get involved... simple.

As a supporter you should want to do 1 thing and 1 thing only, win a flag. Nursing a guy while he's not playing good enough is just counter productive. Other avenues should be taken to try and give him a spark that the team needs.

Take it up with the MC Patrick Baitman. Send CS a few '000 tweets?

While you're at it, why not confess your heartfelt deep seated love for Josh! When Milburn returns maybe we could get him to run the lines?

Unload on a bloke?? Really, if you're not liking what is being discussed in this thread, why keep returning? It's the TV thread and he's struggling... what else is the topic of conversation likely to be?

You're saying that of late he did well in the 4th quarter of last week and the Adelaide game? These were periods when the team was on a roll anyway. The Varcoe of old wasn't a downhill skier like he is at the moment, bobbing up when we get a run-on. We're discussing his form, which is terribly inconsistent and lazy. If you take that personally, don't get involved... simple.

As a supporter you should want to do 1 thing and 1 thing only, win a flag. Nursing a guy while he's not playing good enough is just counter productive. Other avenues should be taken to try and give him a spark that the team needs.
sometimes these "run-ons" you describe are in part due to Varcoe's input.

Some of us feel he played a good 4 qtr effort and he still got panned in here Meto. Funnily enough those "witches' hats" then went on to knock off the Swans and almost defeated another side in the 8 the Bombers, the only side to beat us in Melbourne this year, a night we were clearly exposed for pace.

So the point being if he does find consistent form will it be conceded?

This pace and Varcoe thing is a whole lot of crap!

Before you go thinking I'm Varcoe bashing again, let me explain!

First of all because a player is smallish, doesn't necessarily mean he's naturally faster than someone 190cm+.
Asapha Powell and Usain Bolt explode that myth.

Agilty is another thing, it generally favors the smaller player, but what matters is said players' natural or instinctive response,to go on that instinct.
To me, based on what I've seen of Varcoe this year he is hesitant, he looses valuable time to effect tackles and interceptions that he otherwise could make, because he's weighing up the situation before committing.
He effectively looses say .5 to 1 sec of time, that puts him lets say 3-5 mtrs behind the ball carrier, what this does is nuturalize any speed advantage he may have due to hesitation, it's a fine line.

Geelongs' fwd half isn't slow because we have two tall forwards, it's because Varcoe and the other smalller fwd players are not committing to second efforts with desparation and loose those metres.

If selected, lets hope he finds form, the GFC isn't all about Trav Varcoe, he has to carry his weight.

I think the inclusion of Tom Hawkins and his size around the packs up fwd will helpVarcoe and others find opportunity they otherwise might not get, he should, we're playing Richmond.

Agilty is another thing, it generally favors the smaller player, but what matters is said players' natural or instinctive response,to go on that instinct.
To me, based on what I've seen of Varcoe this year he is hesitant, he looses valuable time to effect tackles and interceptions that he otherwise could make, because he's weighing up the situation before committing.
He effectively looses say .5 to 1 sec of time, that puts him lets say 3-5 mtrs behind the ball carrier, what this does is nuturalize any speed advantage he may have due to hesitation, it's a fine line.

Geelongs' fwd half isn't slow because we have two tall forwards, it's because Varcoe and the other smalller fwd players are not committing to second efforts with desparation and loose those metres.

Other than the fact it's lose, not loose Meto that is the best / most level headed stuff you have written on this subject.

That is spot on where the problem is.
Patrick calls it soft, you call it hesitant.

Other than the fact it's lose, not loose Meto that is the best / most level headed stuff you have written on this subject.

That is spot on where the problem is.
Patrick calls it soft, you call it hesitant.

Least I've spelt hesitant correctly, important, because that was the thrust of all that 'pace or lake of it' waffle I trying to explain, he needs to go on first instincts, right or wrong.

If Varcoe plays HFF which I imagine he will, I'll be interested to see if he benefits from the big screen that is Tom Hawkins, he's got to take any advantage that falls his way.

On that first instinct thing mate.
It goes back to something bomber once said.

He'd had a chat to TV and said to him that the day he has 28 touches, 8 tackles and 5 goals he will finally 'believe'

And that is when Bomber would have said he'd reached his potential.

He still doubts himself.
That 1st quarter goal against Freo said it all. I haven't seen a replay but he grabbed that ball, started working clear but all the time was looking to give it off.

In the end he showed how much pure class he has by slotting it with ease.
Last week he slotted it from 50 without breaking stride. On that occasion there was no one in front of him to create doubt.

I reckon if Pods was there and led from the goal square he would have passed it.

Crazy stuff.

They should say to him "if you're inside 50 go for goal. If you're outside 50 find a way to get inside 50. Whether that be getting around your opponent or handing it off and getting it back. And then go for goal"