Come off it. (not you THP, Patrick)
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Sometimes avoiding physical contact is about making the play Cattery. If it stuffs up it looks very ordinary, getting into what someone was thinking or not thinking at any given time is a very inexact science I find.
While we're at it, does anyone know a good shrink?
Agree with the first part 100%, but when a player has a history of putting his own welfare ahead of the teams interest you have to begin wondering if it's just a stuff up or something else altogether.
Can't help you there, why, do you feel like you need one?
Well everyone else I've spoken to, as well as several media outlets all disagree with you.
So? I can see for myself that he tried to be way too cute and tap the ball into space before the contact came from McGrath and it didn't work. Epic fail on his part. Nothing to do with a lack of courage. He's not scared of contact at all. He just tried to be too cute and "clean" as someone else posted correctly. Look at the stuffed up kick out from the Lions with about 15 mins to go where Ling forced a contest - Varcoe picks the ball up and takes contact in a tackle and tried to spin out of it. Not the actions of someone who's scared of the physical stuff.
Well, you can put whatever spin on it that you want... I saw 2 players attacking the footy, 1 with an intent to win it at any cost(McGrath), the other doing everything he could to win the ball without being prepared to take physical contact(Varcoe). There is no doubt that Varcoe could have attacked the ball/contest harder... he pulled out. Maybe you're seeing something everyone else isn't and we're all wrong, incl. experts and media?? You decide.
Well everyone else I've spoken to, as well as several media outlets all disagree with you.
It must be gratifying to know that there are people as ignorant as you are.
What would you personally say to TV if you were on his table this week at a club function, and you had good opportunity to converse with him one on one?No, we are truly obsessed with winning another Premiership. At the moment the team aren't good enough and need to improve, Varcoe for mine is number 1 on that list... that's why I'm criticising him.
Trying to draw a parallel with kids, staff etc.. is flawed. AFL players are payed a very large sum of money to perform at a certain level for 2 hours a week. This money is contributed to by the Club's members, you and me(are you a member?). I can assure you that most other jobs that average a salary of 200k a year also attract very heavy responsibility. If a company I hold stock in had lazy, under performing employees, I'd also be asking questions.
Again, take your god damn emotional cap off and stop being so loyal to individuals. None of them are above the club.
Any other players on your hit list that need to improve so we get this flag you obsess over? Or is it only TV? Do you start a thread on the other culprits? If you think we won't win a flag because Varcoe is so out of form, that's a massive compliment in a way, means you must really rate him. Personally, and I love watching him play, he will be a small forward with X-factor, not the key player for our flag hopes. The icing on the cake, a player with sublime skills that every team would like on their list.No, we are truly obsessed with winning another Premiership. At the moment the team aren't good enough and need to improve, Varcoe for mine is number 1 on that list... that's why I'm criticising him.
Trying to draw a parallel with kids, staff etc.. is flawed. AFL players are payed a very large sum of money to perform at a certain level for 2 hours a week. This money is contributed to by the Club's members, you and me(are you a member?). I can assure you that most other jobs that average a salary of 200k a year also attract very heavy responsibility. If a company I hold stock in had lazy, under performing employees, I'd also be asking questions.
Again, take your god damn emotional cap off and stop being so loyal to individuals. None of them are above the club.
Any other players on your hit list that need to improve so we get this flag you obsess over? Or is it only TV? Do you start a thread on the other culprits? If you think we won't win a flag because Varcoe is so out of form, that's a massive compliment in a way, means you must really rate him. Personally, and I love watching him play, he will be a small forward with X-factor, not the key player for our flag hopes. The icing on the cake, a player with sublime skills that every team would like on their list.
You take it out on TV because you are frustrated that we look inferior to Pies. Check out Neon Davis this year. Anything is possible . You continue to look at his limitations and suffer, I'm happy to enjoy his skills and tolerate the negatives. To me, the positives outweigh any negatives that are constantly brought to our attention.
and now the media's picked up on it, 'one week at a time'.........................
maybe like didak, he looks fine, feels fine but just doesnt have the confidence to take/make contact. shit man, i rolled my ankle severely 15 years ago and i am still constantly aware of where im walking as i have rolled it on the slightest crack in pavements.
That's fine. He shouldn't be in the side then. What you're saying could be 100% correct, and if so, the GFC's player management is just bad. Whatever it is Varcoe needs(therapy / a scare / VFL football) to get back to his best should be addressed by the club... then we can all be happy. The GFC's brain trust is failing Travis and the club at present if you ask me.
Thanks for the lecture on team sports. Each weekend, I go to at least 3 games, 2 AFL, 1 TAC, in a professional capacity. FWIW, Daisy Thomas is currently, IMO, the MVP in the AFL, and I agree with what you say about him. Daniel Wells also has become what we all hoped and expected .Varcoe has in other years been more aggressive and assertive and CONFIDENT than what he has shown this year. This has never been in dispute. Up until now, the MC has been patient, so I have too. We don't need weekly dissertations on his shortcomings, just because this thread exists.Of course we need improvement. The other senior players who are out of form have shown prolonged form during 2011, they are likely to come out of it. Varcoe has been sub-par all year and obviously needs a change. I hope he gets dropped and comes back with some real intent for his team and its supporters. At the moment he's a passenger. Anyone looking at this situation with a level head and two eyes cannot see it any other way.
Why not bring up other players? This is the Travis Varcoe thread.... enough said.
You've obviously never played a team sport before on any sought of even moderate amateur level. A team game is about working for each other.. not who looks great carrying the ball, so certain supporters like yourself can cheer him on. I agree he looks great at times with his fantastic skill, so what. Give me a guy like Christensen any day. A true hard worker and team man who tries all day, even with a small frame and lack of experience. The team requires Varcoe to work hard and also do the 1%s, which he his preferring not to do at the moment. These are more important in a team environment than the odd flashy highlight. Look at how Daisy Thomas has flourished in 2011... he now not only does the eye candy stuff, but works his backside off ALL GAME! His work rate is astounding and is now a very, very effective player. Varcoe is a lazy sod. Do yourself a favour and actually GO TO A GAME and watch him closely for a good period of time. You'll know exactly what I'm talking about.
I've always believed that to be true in his case. If we can afford to carry him while he's catching up and regaining confidence, he may still be of more value to the senior team than his replacements.you're right, thats a management issue. who knows, maybe they think he will get confidence back by playing seniors.
I've always believed that to be true in his case. If we can afford to carry him while he's catching up and regaining confidence, he may still be of more value to the senior team than his replacements.
funny (well, not really) how you werent on here recounting one week at a time last week when they asked heath shaw why didak was so below par. answer, interrupted preseason and shoulder injury which had sapped his confidence and wasnt psychically right.
i reckon he tried to tap the ball to a team mate and then saw contact coming and second guessed himself and probably did try to avoid contact.
maybe like didak, he looks fine, feels fine but just doesnt have the confidence to take/make contact. shit man, i rolled my ankle severely 15 years ago and i am still constantly aware of where im walking as i have rolled it on the slightest crack in pavements.
Thanks for the lecture on team sports. Each weekend, I go to at least 3 games, 2 AFL, 1 TAC, in a professional capacity. FWIW, Daisy Thomas is currently, IMO, the MVP in the AFL, and I agree with what you say about him. Daniel Wells also has become what we all hoped and expected .Varcoe has in other years been more aggressive and assertive and CONFIDENT than what he has shown this year. This has never been in dispute. Up until now, the MC has been patient, so I have too. We don't need weekly dissertations on his shortcomings, just because this thread exists.
Football is more than a game/ entertainment, and it's obviously what we all have in common on this board, an obsession with Geelong. I see things at games that Varcoe does well, and some games he's been missing in action. Who knows what the problem is, but CS is NOT the sort of coach or person to tolerate laziness, gutlessness, and lack of team values. So if he hasn't lost it with TV yet, what right do any of us have to state with fervour on this site that he is soft, spineless, lazy etc. If he is out this week, good, it MAY be the way to get more out of him. On the other hand, if he is still in, can we conclude we BF experts do not know the big picture or the inside story. I work with several teams and still don't have the inside knowledge of why players get dropped and why others are not.
One other point, a TEAM is still made up of individuals who all work together for a common cause, but each individual has a role to play. Does anyone here know for sure what Varcoe has been asked to do? If we had 22 Joel Corey's we,d be boring and have lots of clangers, yet Corey is an integral part of our team. Christensen has huge upside, and is Selwood-like, but we still need classy finishers, outside players for many reasons. Varcoe is NOT the heir apparent to Ablett, but he is not as deplorable as made out here. And I hope and feel very confident he will come good.
I never see Krakouer or Davis do couragous selfless acts of bravery on the footy field They find the ball and produce scintillating plays of skill to kick the goal or setup their teammate's
Agree!! I think the Varcoe midfield experiment should be filed along with the Hawkins Ruck one.
Put him back around the HF where he plays his best footy and then see what happens!