Player Watch Trent Cotchin - Elite

Brownlow : Trent Cotchin (Rich)

If I do say so myself, this is looking like a pretty good prediction. Racked up a few votes even though his team has only broken even, so with their easier draw in the 2nd half of the year, should storm home.

*This came from the stickied prediction thread, page 16.

Cotchin is simply a gun though.

Obviously, but you can make comparisons with regards to playing style and the way they move. For me I've always thought Cotchin moves and plays like a bit of a Robert Harvey/ Gary Ablett mix. Obviously not on that level yet, but in terms of style and movement through traffic and strength of the hips.

Don't see robert harvey in playing style- it's the skills/evasive ability with the crazy intense attack on the ball- how about gazza/stevie morris?

Obviously, but you can make comparisons with regards to playing style and the way they move. For me I've always thought Cotchin moves and plays like a bit of a Robert Harvey/ Gary Ablett mix. Obviously not on that level yet, but in terms of style and movement through traffic and strength of the hips.

Spud Frawley today was comparing him to Harvey. And there is no bigger fan of Harvey (or Plugger) than Spud.

Absolute gun. I was a skeptic for a long time but happy to be proven wrong.

Has gone past Gibbs, and will probably overtake Murphy in the next year or so if he keeps this up. Has it all, inside game, outside game, fantastic delivery, pace, the total package.

Wish we had the benefit of hindsight and knew we were gonna get Warnock or Hampson was going to become good when we picked Kreuzer. If we did, would've taken Cotchin no doubts. Sigh :(

That's not to say Kreuzer was a bad choice, if you remember the Carlton ruck and key forward predicament at the time, especially having lost Josh Kennedy.

Absolute gun. I was a skeptic for a long time but happy to be proven wrong.

Has gone past Gibbs, and will probably overtake Murphy in the next year or so if he keeps this up. Has it all, inside game, outside game, fantastic delivery, pace, the total package.

Wish we had the benefit of hindsight and knew we were gonna get Warnock or Hampson was going to become good when we picked Kreuzer. If we did, would've taken Cotchin no doubts. Sigh :(

That's not to say Kreuzer was a bad choice, if you remember the Carlton ruck and key forward predicament at the time, especially having lost Josh Kennedy.

Being a lesser player then Cotchin is no slight on your guys though who are all guns, Cotchin is just something else

Terry Wallace on the radio today said he is ahead of what Gazza Junior was at the same age and that he keeps his feet just as well as Juddy and Gazza.Will be a superstar he said if not already.

Suffice to say he's probably my favourite opposition player to watch. Something special about him. Wins his own footy, has time and space on the outside, deadly with his disposal, consistent, kicks goals.

Yep, this exactly, would watch Richmond just to see him play.

No worries mate. :). Success starved supporters like yourself wouldn't have a clue what euphoria tastes like. But if it all works out for your mob, many of the neutrals will feel happy for ya. What's with the narky attitude anyway?? :confused: Very Cleveland Brownish. :rolleyes:
I've slept on it. Had the whole day to think about my comment. And I still stand by it :eek:

The best up and coming player (why can't he win the brownlow this year?) my only slight on him and it is ever so slight is that he doesn't have the penetration on his kicks. His balance, vision, work rate and skills are first rate.
Could he be better than Gaz Jnr. Really looking forward to his next 5-10 years.Top 10 player in the comp for mine right now and Deledio not far behind.

The best up and coming player (why can't he win the brownlow this year?) my only slight on him and it is ever so slight is that he doesn't have the penetration on his kicks. His balance, vision, work rate and skills are first rate.
Could he be better than Gaz Jnr. Really looking forward to his next 5-10 years.Top 10 player in the comp for mine right now and Deledio not far behind.

Fair call, his kicking is not elite. I rate Deledio ahead ATM, he just doesn't get the plaudits.

Brilliant ball user. Just not when he is kicking it from the back pocket ;). I never thought id see Cotchin do that (dreamtime), when he hit the bombers player on the tit.

It was like watching your mum and dad Making out. You know it is going to happen, you just don't want to see it/believe it.

Gazza still has more tricks; doubt it.

The same age stuff doesn't work with Gaz. Any half-decent young mid will have better same age stats than Gaz.

He is similar to Gaz in many ways but at this point he's not quite there in terms of strength, speed, and agility. A better comparison could be Harvey.

The same age stuff doesn't work with Gaz. Any half-decent young mid will have better same age stats than Gaz.

He is similar to Gaz in many ways but at this point he's not quite there in terms of strength, speed, and agility. A better comparison could be Harvey.

Exactly, the statistical comparison is can be highly flawed as it is in this scenario.

What the stats don't tell you is that Gary Jnr at the same age, could win games off his own boot with minimal possessions. He was also able to weave in and out of two or three players, with agility and core strength. Now I'm not saying that Cotchin doesn't posses these attributes but not much as Gaz does. Also Gaz has excellent technical skills in snapping the ball, Cotchin is not a great snap of the ball. That's why Gaz was such a good forward.

Just wanted to dig up my post from Apr 29, 2012

Cotchin has premiership player written all over him.

In fact this trio does.

J Riewoldt, Cotchin, Martin.

Etch it in stone, Richmond will win a grand final within the next 4 years.

frednirk has spoken.
ALL YOU DOUBTERS SHOULD GO TO THE CORNER OF THE ROOM AND WALLOW IN YOUR PITY.

Player Watch Trent Cotchin - Elite