Banter TRTT Part 15: David KOCH on Epstein List!!!11!!!!!!

And refrigerators...
I mean phasing out of CFCs and ozone depleting refrigerants like R22 has been a massivley successfully collective global achievement.

It's an example of regulation controlling the worst effects of corporate negligence, incentivisng investment and innovation and proactively solving a problem before it gets out of hand.

I don't see why you think that's a bad thing?

People stopped using hairspray and it sealed up.
Remembering to put my cans in the recycling and not the regular, increasingly small bin is going to fix consumer culture and the need for endless growth under capitalism. Personal responsibility roolz.

I'm not sure my regular bin & recycling bin sorting integrity would stand up under investigation.
I've lived under different councils in Melbourne where some have like 5 bins and others just have two. Like so many people don't know that a few blocks over we're all making zero effort and they are bothering to divvy up their compost from their normal rubbish. It's a great system, it works, we will definitely fix the climate emergency from the grass roots level believe me

Remember Acid Rain? Remember the hole in the Ozone Layer. Remember those existential threats? Everything is about creating new industries. Welcome to Capitalism.
I do. Then I remember we listened to the scientists and we fixed them, because social media echo chambers hadn't yet bred a society full of anti-science numpties.

Bob Hawke?
Bob Hawke ****ing introduced neoliberalism to the country, lucky he drank enough beer and rooted enough women and said enough nice things about Aboriginals he managed to convince the masses he was a top bloke for the average aussie, but I don't buy it. He also dismantled the powers that unions used to have, after making his career as a union lawyer.

And I haven't even gotten started on the button plan! I mean it's nowhere near Abbott levels of destructive but it permanently restricted the capacity of Australian car manufacturing when VK Commodores were setting lap records in European racing that never got beaten.

Sent from my Nokia 7.2 using Tapatalk

Remember Incinerators? Everyone used to have one. They were cool.
D3ar old Dad had a concrete Besser block one in the back yard at home. We used to empty our combustible rubbish into that once a week.

One day ( 50 years ago) I was in the garage looking out the window. Dad had just lit the incinerator, and then emptied a box of rubbish into it.

He stated walking away, when this huge explosion just about shattered the window. I turned to see Dad looking back in horror, eys bulging, jaw had dropped to the ground, and a huge fireball bursting out of the incinerator.

Turns out, Mum had dropped a can of insecticide spray into the rubbish box. But it wasn't empty. It still had a third of a can of spray left in it.

An inflammable material dropped into a searing hot flame. Not a good recipe!
Kaboom :eek:

Still cracks me up all these years later 😂

Keep hearing " we should have done it 30 years ago" but the appetite for nuclear was way less then. The climate change Bogeyman hadn't really been unleashed and the Cold War Nuclear/Chernobyl stuff was still at the forefront of people's minds. Now all of a sudden its too expensive.

Yeah, it’s the 2 things about the anti-nuclear argument that get me most.

• 1) “it will take too long, the first reactors won’t come online for another 10-15 years”

They were saying that in 1985. They were saying that in 1995. They were saying that in 2005…

• 2) “nuclear is too expensive and uncompetitive in the marketplace”

Weird, clean energy activists have been telling us for the better part of half a century that you can’t put a price on the climate — to hell with the cost of phasing out fossils! A habitable biosphere is priceless! You can’t eat money, etc.

Wind farms, solar and battery? = hand us a blank cheque!

Carbon-free Nuclear? = they become a cross between Margaret Thatcher and Ebenezer Scrooge.

Yeah, it’s the 2 things about the anti-nuclear argument that get me most. etc....

Mate if even Coalition Senators are saying Dutton's Nuclear based Energy Plan is 'a joke', is 'not cost effective' and is just a sidetracking political ploy that they're 'not serious' about implementing in full then I reckon you should believe them.

Canavan was the former Federal Minister for Resources in the Morrison Coalition Government btw,

Mate if even Coalition Senators are saying Dutton's Nuclear based Energy Plan is 'a joke', is 'not cost effective' and is just a sidetracking political ploy that they're 'not serious' about implementing in full then I reckon you should believe them.

Canavan was the former Federal Minister for Resources in the Morrison Coalition Government btw,

Dutton can do one. I’m talking about the concept of nuclear in general.

They’ve been playing the “we have to save the planet no matter the cost!… no, not like that!” card for decades.

The chucklefcuks at the LNP have just given them an actual figurehead to unite against that isn’t ‘BuT ChErNoByL’.

What actually is the issue with renewables? We are halfway there replacing fossil fuels with them already, we have an abundance of sun/wind in this country, why not just crack on and finish the job?

Half the proposed sites for nuclear have been rejected by the states, CSIRO canned it as likely costing double renewables, Dutton hasn't outlined how it will actually reduce our power bills?

Isn't SA like 60% run on renewables currently?

After seeing Gina shitcan Labor in her mining day speech the other day, and harp on about "drill baby drill" and the only solution to energy is to keep mining coal and gas, seems more likely to me that the nuclear plan is just a smokescreen to keep us relying on Gina for longer and thus lining her pockets. She'll pump a lot of dark money into this election and Dutton will get up, not so sure nuclear is actually a fairdinkum policy of his though.

Isn't SA like 60% run on renewables currently?
There are regular times when just the output from rooftop solar systems in South Australia are in excess of the state's total
energy demand. And the power generation from wind, solar and battery storage continues to set new records:

But there is also the undeniable fact that there are still lingering concerns over the security of the national energy market to meet peak energy demands during summer - due mainly to the ageing and unreliability of old fossil fuel burning power stations that are STILL the backbone of our energy market and inadequate storage and transmission infrastructure to provide grid stability.

And the South Australian government is urgently seeking to restart two mothballed diesel-powered generators as it warns the state is at risk of blackouts this summer:

But these are relatively short term problems as we transition to a national power grid based on renewables and battery supply and storage and an improved and enhanced national grid structure. They sure as heck won't be solved by Dutton's plan to build a network of small nuclear power plants across the country, that has no chance of getting political support from the states and even if they did would be prohibitively expensive in construction, operating and waste storage costs; would destroy the viability of the renewables market; and wouldn't be running until the 2040s.

As Canavan says, it's nothing more than a cynical pre-election political sideshow.

Banter TRTT Part 15: David KOCH on Epstein List!!!11!!!!!!