Toast Tyson Goldsack - Hung Up His Boots, (27/8)

I just found it...
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-02-01/pie-goes-whack-not-as-fit-as-he-could-be

TYSON Goldsack has issued a pre-season challenge to teammate Jordan De Goey, saying the talented young Magpie is "definitely not as fit as he could be".

However, the veteran Pie believes De Goey will be "ready to go" for the season opener on March 24 after an interrupted pre-Christmas training block.

"He's getting there," Goldsack said on Thursday, when asked if De Goey was one of the young players who had benefitted from a strong pre-season.

"He's definitely not as fit as he could be, but he is learning himself how fit he can be.

"In another four or five weeks, he'll be ready to go."

De Goey had hip flexor surgery in August that ended his season early, but was training freely in early December.

However, he was forced to back off his training load in the lead up to Christmas after a training knock unsettled his repaired hip.

AFL.com.au understands the setback wasn't serious, but it was enough to derail his program and means he'll more than likely be unavailable for AFLX on February 15.

Goldsack said the 21-year-old was among the emerging Pies with the ability to tear 2018 apart if he could find consistency.

"He's one of them. He's shown in games how tough and how good he can be, and he just needs to bring that week in, week out, like the rest of the group," Goldsack said.

"It's that consistency we lacked for four quarters in every game."

The former No.5 draft pick from 2014 didn't play until round seven last year after being sanctioned by the club for lying about how he sustained a broken hand.

De Goey injured the hand, requiring surgery, in a bar fight in March. He initially told club officials he'd hurt himself in a freak accident involving his dog and a door knob.

The injury kept him out for the first three rounds, before his three-week club penalty kicked in.

He went on to play 14 games before the hip complaint ended his year, and found form towards the end of season after a strong round 15 performance against Hawthorn.

Meanwhile, Goldsack said the Pies were aiming high after four consecutive seasons with no finals.

He said there was excitement about the positional changes the team was working on, which included the move of Darcy Moore to defence with Ben Reid and Mason Cox to play as the forward line focal points.

"Anything is possible, absolutely anything," Goldsack said.

"We showed in our games last year that we can match it with the best teams – we just coughed up a few games against the lower teams on the ladder at the time, and we just can't afford to be doing that.

"We're definitely setting our sights high.

"We know we've been saying the same thing for the last few years, so definitely finals – let's get to finals first and then how far into finals we go, time will tell."
Nothing in this... the journalist has written an intro that misrepresents the rest of the story. Unfortunately, it's a standard approach for some. "... challenge" my arse.

I did some footy reporting in the early 80s. After one Collingwood game I was at the presser with Tom Hafey, who was baited by a reporter from the then Sun on the search for a strategy to overcome Daicos' knee issue. "What lengths would you go to to get him right," the reporter asked. "We'd do whatever it needed," said Tom. "Would you consider sending him overseas for treatment?" "Yeah, I guess so," said Tom. "Would you consider sending him to the US?" asked the reporter. "Yeah, I guess so," said Tom again. Next day, headline "Daicos off to US for knee treatment".

The best response to this story on Goldy is to commit the name of the reporter who wrote it to memory.

Yeah can see where your coming from as the opportunity to obtain Lynch will be and should be our clubs priority next trade period.
Not saying I want to get rid of him because he'll be a gun when he gets stuff in order. but you've gotta give up good things to get better.

I’d be looking for “opportunities” elsewhere if I was him.
Appears to be a bit of a whipping boy within the club, not just outside the club.
Whipping boy lol. He's not fit enough at the moment, Thats all Goldsack said.

If Goldsack lied and said "De Goey is extremely fit ect" $10 says you'd post about Goldsack covering him up and lying.

Not saying I want to get rid of him because he'll be a gun when he gets stuff in order. but you've gotta give up good things to get better.

Yeah definately, l also get the impression GC will be wanting a bull in their midfield like JDG. He is one of my favourites though, and lm tipping him to have a breakout year, which will make it tougher on the club to think of even trading him.

I reckon he'll be traded. He'll be apart of a deal to get Lynch.

Yeah this had occurred to me as well. Don't think any Lynch deal will necessarily happen that way.... I reckon GC would prefer the high compo pick e.g pick 3 to take a KPP with... but think Goldsacks message was a sanctioned shot across the bow to young JDG that if there's any more dramas then he's name will be shopped around come 2018 trade period.

Well the comments made related that he wasnt as fit as he could be, so lm not sure why then Goldy would make a comment like that if it related to his lifestyle outside footy. That makes saying the comment in a public forum even worse. If the players have an issue with his private life, then speak to him about it away from the public domain. There is nothing worse for a sportsman than to be negatively commented about in a public forum, especially by a team mate. lm sure that Goldy, on hearing those comments back would have felt a bit aggrieved.

What makes you think last year he wasn't mentored by senior players, when your not a listener, you resort to whatever means
Ooc this year too

Yeah this had occurred to me as well. Don't think any Lynch deal will necessarily happen that way.... I reckon GC would prefer the high compo pick e.g pick 3 to take a KPP with... but think Goldsacks message was a sanctioned shot across the bow to young JDG that if there's any more dramas then he's name will be shopped around come 2018 trade period.
Gold Coast won't just let him walk for one compo pick. They know they can get a top pick and a star in the making, AFL will give them help too.

I agree Lynch won't go for just a likely top 4 compo pick. There will be a side deal probably involving one of our high picks or a midfielder. Maybe he will, but not sure De Goey will be part of the side deal though... Pies will try to give up something of a lesser value

Any side deal will be a blatantly obvious rorting of the system. I don't think Gold Coast or us would view it as worthy of the risk.

I went through this on another thread.... if the side deal is 'reasonable' then there is no cause to believe the intent is dishonest. Giving De Goey to GC for unders (anything lower than a top 20 pick) might not work but giving them a less heralded midfielder or older player that they value for cheap is harder to question the integrity of.

Mid tier players constantly get traded on the cheap e.g. Williams to North for pick 105 or Garlett to Melb for pick 50 something. After all we took NEAFL player Golds off GWS as a salary dump favour that got the Treloar deal over the line.

I went through this on another thread.... if the side deal is 'reasonable' then there is no cause to believe the intent is dishonest. Giving De Goey to GC for unders (anything lower than a top 20 pick) might not work but giving them a less heralded midfielder or older player that they value for cheap is harder to question the integrity of.

Mid tier players constantly get traded on the cheap e.g. Williams to North for pick 105 or Garlett to Melb for pick 50 something. After all we took NEAFL player Golds off GWS as a salary dump favour that got the Treloar deal over the line.
These other deals weren't alongside a team getting a very high pick as free agency compensation and if the side deal isn't blatantly in Gold Coasts favour then it won't be adding enough to a) risk the trade breach or b) satisfy them regarding value difference.

I just found it...
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-02-01/pie-goes-whack-not-as-fit-as-he-could-be

TYSON Goldsack has issued a pre-season challenge to teammate Jordan De Goey, saying the talented young Magpie is "definitely not as fit as he could be".

However, the veteran Pie believes De Goey will be "ready to go" for the season opener on March 24 after an interrupted pre-Christmas training block.

"He's getting there," Goldsack said on Thursday, when asked if De Goey was one of the young players who had benefitted from a strong pre-season.

"He's definitely not as fit as he could be, but he is learning himself how fit he can be.

"In another four or five weeks, he'll be ready to go."

De Goey had hip flexor surgery in August that ended his season early, but was training freely in early December.

However, he was forced to back off his training load in the lead up to Christmas after a training knock unsettled his repaired hip.

AFL.com.au understands the setback wasn't serious, but it was enough to derail his program and means he'll more than likely be unavailable for AFLX on February 15.

Goldsack said the 21-year-old was among the emerging Pies with the ability to tear 2018 apart if he could find consistency.

"He's one of them. He's shown in games how tough and how good he can be, and he just needs to bring that week in, week out, like the rest of the group," Goldsack said.

"It's that consistency we lacked for four quarters in every game."

The former No.5 draft pick from 2014 didn't play until round seven last year after being sanctioned by the club for lying about how he sustained a broken hand.

De Goey injured the hand, requiring surgery, in a bar fight in March. He initially told club officials he'd hurt himself in a freak accident involving his dog and a door knob.

The injury kept him out for the first three rounds, before his three-week club penalty kicked in.

He went on to play 14 games before the hip complaint ended his year, and found form towards the end of season after a strong round 15 performance against Hawthorn.

Meanwhile, Goldsack said the Pies were aiming high after four consecutive seasons with no finals.

He said there was excitement about the positional changes the team was working on, which included the move of Darcy Moore to defence with Ben Reid and Mason Cox to play as the forward line focal points.

"Anything is possible, absolutely anything," Goldsack said.

"We showed in our games last year that we can match it with the best teams – we just coughed up a few games against the lower teams on the ladder at the time, and we just can't afford to be doing that.

"We're definitely setting our sights high.

"We know we've been saying the same thing for the last few years, so definitely finals – let's get to finals first and then how far into finals we go, time will tell."

Not sure why people are drawn to a partyboy lifestyle issue rather than just a rehab from surgery issue as the basis for the Sack's comments. May well be something in the middle but either way, hardly a whack.

Last 3 comments on point.
Certain posters interpretation, fairly predictable.
You’re right.

The media have a nasty habit of making things sound terrible as well.

Anyone who interpreted that article as Goldy having a go at Degoey has severe issues with reading comprehension.
Last 3 comments on point.
Certain posters interpretation, fairly predictable.

What part of "He's definitely not as fit as he could be, but he is learning himself how fit he can be” do you believe people have struggled with?

My interpretation is that JDG has been spoken to internally about his preparation and the media know this. Unfortunately when answering a loaded question about it Goldsack eked a little of that “frustration” out. That’s fine like JDG he’ll improve on that. The thing is we shouldn’t be painting it as something it isn’t and if there was no issue the media don’t ask the question and the comment isn’t made.

What part of "He's definitely not as fit as he could be, but he is learning himself how fit he can be” do you believe people have struggled with?

My interpretation is that JDG has been spoken to internally about his preparation and the media know this. Unfortunately when answering a loaded question about it Goldsack eked a little of that “frustration” out. That’s fine like JDG he’ll improve on that. The thing is we shouldn’t be painting it as something it isn’t and if there was no issue the media don’t ask the question and the comment isn’t made.

It all comes down to interpretation.

"He's definitely not as fit as he could be"
A - his party boy activity is impacting his training; or
B - he's been unable to do the full training due to his rehab from post season surgery.

"but he is learning himself how fit he can be”
A - he's been spoken to about putting in; or
B - every year he's learning how to push his aerobic boundaries.

As previously stated, given the rumours about his AH's activity, the truth likely lies somewhere in between those extremes. Either way, long bow to presume the Sack is giving him a whack or taking pot shots, either deliberately or through clumsiness.

Toast Tyson Goldsack - Hung Up His Boots, (27/8)