U 16 Championships VIC country / Metro Teams

The country squad atm is 38. Sportz1 only names 35, so in fact 3 are missing.

Joseph Black and Luke Lowden have been posted as 2 that were missing .

Still one missing?

yep your right sorry mate didnt traspose them properly the missing from my list are are
JasperMcmillian Pettard
Joseph Black
Oliver tate i had as in and lowden out with back .

ziebell is off the injured list

The country squad atm is 38. Sportz1 only names 35, so in fact 3 are missing.

Joseph Black and Luke Lowden have been posted as 2 that were missing .

Still one missing?

Your right transposed them wrongly I had Jasper Mcmiilian- Pettard and Joseph Black missing off mine
I had tate in and lowden out with back .

Your right transposed them wrongly I had Jasper Mcmiilian- Pettard and Joseph Black missing off mine
I had tate in and lowden out with back .

No worries, good to see Ziebell is off the injured list, as is Lowden, from all reports he trained Tues and Thur with his local club, and his back is clear. Just needs to get his fitness back

Joseph Black from Gippsland is still in for country.... so he's the missing player.
And if this is right Oliver Tate and All Aus last year has ben cut? was captain of the second country side aswel...

yep the drum we had following practice games was that ollie didn't make it - nothing heard to make us think otherwise - first week of hols will reveal all if it hasn't made it to TAC page b4 then

giampolo
knott
geary j
geary K
oakley
hussey
zanella
lehman
craig
tiller
rounds
page
peters
parish
curran
cunnington
This is pretty much the squad .One missing

who will the KPPs be?
i heard oakley and tiller are suppose to be the gun CHB and CHFs, what do people reckon?

Still gonna end up a bit small for afl he wont grow much more and being a defensive type he needs to be a lot taller or super quick which he is not . Dont get me wrong good player but afl is another level in terms of hieght etc.

he is super quick mate would be one of the quickest in the squad.

giampolo
knott
geary j
geary K
oakley
hussey
zanella
lehman
craig
tiller
rounds
page
peters
parish
curran
cunnington
This is pretty much the squad .One missing

Clayton Zanella isnt in the squad is he correct me if im wrong, but i have heard he is just in a ruck development squad

dont be fooled by the TAC cup lists as for best players...

APS/private school players eg. Cachia, Scully, Purcell... cant play because of school commitments

theyre still on the lists, just now playing. cachia will play some 18s games toward the end of the season, id say, when the APS season is finished. purcell is still on the oakliegh u16 list, as is castricum. scully is too on the dandenong lists too. they just arent playing is all. :p

Thing about watts and walsh are that they are 2 highly rated basketballers to representing vic mtero last year..does any body know what there thoughts are on what they will go with in the end as watts as potential chf in the metro side and walsh a good chance to be in as a ruck??
theyre both overrated gimps that are only in the squad/team cause theyre tall and their reputation is massive. watts will b soft when he comes back i rekon as his collar-bone was absolutely smashed in a school game and with walsh in the ruck :thumbsdown: he'll stay at full-forward, probz kik 5 easy goals a game with 1 outstanding mark that will b all the rage for aages. but as for the ruck, jacob castricum will get it hands down. walsh is better than watts IMO, not by much but theyll start at FF and CHF respectively.

u/16 Tindara Hood played a sensational game for the Knights today. Kicked 4. This kid would easily have to be the best u/16 the Knights have. Apparently he is a definate "in" for the Vic Metro team.

lol and yet jarryd cachia got every BOG for the knights during the u16 carnival. hill and smith-whiting are also exceptional. easily the best the knights have? highly unlikely but certainly one of the best

Clayton Zanella isnt in the squad is he correct me if im wrong, but i have heard he is just in a ruck development squad
1Mitch1 vbmenu_register("postmenu_7848846", true);
BigFooty Newbie

Club: Hawthorn

Re: U 16 Championships VIC country / Metro Teams
thats not entirely correct about the academy boys not up for selection...if they prove themselves in the practice matches they are given every opportunity to make the sides.

that's what is known currently - haven't seen an actual list for either side to date has anyone else or are we just going on what
has been guessed together?

lol and yet jarryd cachia got every BOG for the knights during the u16 carnival. hill and smith-whiting are also exceptional. easily the best the knights have? highly unlikely but certainly one of the best

hood had a broken collarbone b4 the metro's and the knights must be happy with him at the moment. the coaching staff at vic metro must think that he has something, considering he didn't play in the metro u/16 carnival and to still get picked.

Cachia, Hill, Smith-Whiting, Hood.

All these boys mentioned are amoungst the best 16 year olds in the country, no doubt and will definately make the final metro squad. 16 YEAR OLDS. Remember that.
They call these squads development squads, these boys need to develop further if they want to achieve their goals.
So ask yourself what is left in these kids in order to push their games further. Do they have any improvement left in them? Are they at their peak?

I would say Hill is the most likely to develop further and go all they way. He has the height, petrol tank, ability and improvement left in him.

They don't draft 16 year olds!
How & where will Smith-Whiting & Cachia get the required tricks necessary to take them all the way. Both play tall at their level yet are under 190cm? Do you think they will get to that height? Probably not.

I'm not saying that they can't, but they might want to start learing how to be on ballers. Start running and developing their pace, kicking, hands running & skills below their knees. They probably don't want to put on anymore weight. They need to drop this "strong and plays tall" tag unless they can get to the 190+cm mark. If Cachia can get to this height then he has every chance of making it.

This is where their coaches need to understand their ultimate potential, not how or where they play best as 16 year olds. Why at this development level would you play a guy who is currently the best ruckmen available in your squad at 190cm when he is fully grown? Wouldn't you give the guy who is 190cm knowing that he will hit 198cm his full chance to develop in the position that his height would ultimately allow.

We all know they don't draft flankers.

As for Hood, he plays the way his height allows him and requires him to. In and under, fast, skillful and hard running.

All these boys mentioned are amoungst the best 16 year olds in the country, no doubt and will definately make the final metro squad. 16 YEAR OLDS. Remember that.
They call these squads development squads, these boys need to develop further if they want to achieve their goals.
So ask yourself what is left in these kids in order to push their games further. Do they have any improvement left in them? Are they at their peak?

I would say Hill is the most likely to develop further and go all they way. He has the height, petrol tank, ability and improvement left in him.

How & where will Smith-Whiting & Cachia get the required tricks necessary to take them all the way. Both play tall at their level yet are under 190cm? Do you think they will get to that height? Probably not.

I'm not saying that they can't, but they might want to start learing how to be on ballers. Start running and developing their pace, kicking, hands running & skills below their knees. They probably don't want to put on anymore weight. They need to drop this "strong and plays tall" tag unless they can get to the 190+cm mark. If Cachia can get to this height then he has every chance of making it.

This is where their coaches need to understand their ultimate potential, not how or where they play best as 16 year olds. Why at this development level would you play a guy who is currently the best ruckmen available in your squad at 190cm when he is fully grown? Wouldn't you give the guy who is 190cm knowing that he will hit 198cm his full chance to develop in the position that his height would ultimately allow.

As for Hood, he plays the way his height allows him and requires him to. In and under, fast, skillful and hard running.

hey cachia doesnt get asked if he wants to play tall, they tell him to lol. he's a beast of a player tipping the scales at above 80 and he's just a bit above 6 foot. he has the build and strength to play tall, but whether he will when it comes to 18s and the draft is another thing. i think he has the body, skills and attack on the ball to be a great ruck/rover. smith-whiting and hill...how did they go for the 18s on saturday?

As for Hood, he plays the way his height allows him and requires him to. In and under, fast, skillful and hard running.[/quote]

Top post!

I think all coaches and selectors would like to win at the National U16 carnival, (Metro, Country, NSW etc) but there is more than one scoreboard at this age group.

Yes accolades do go to the winner at the carnival.

The coaches and selectors have to balance the teams with regards to who is at their peak, and who should development to the desired level.

This is dependent on who they have and what position they play and the overall team mix.

Accolades should also go to the coaches and selectors who also improve their players for this year, who then go on and play this carnival in the 18's, who then plays TAC level for the next 2 years and then draft selections.

Some players will miss out but there a lot more opportunity, particulary at TAC level.

The above post is spot on. As i said on a thread a few weeks back with the u/18 teams - these teams are not the be all and end all. Kids still get drafted without making these teams. Only 25 kids can get picked. Dou you really want to be at you peak as a 15/16 year old kid - I don't think so. As forgetaboutit said "they don't draft 16 year olds".

As for overthetops comments on Cachia "i think he has the body, skills and attack on the ball to be a great ruck/rover" - great player (by what I read on these threads) I have only seen play a couple of times and I must admit I was a bit disappointed in his performance in the last trial. He obviously hits the weights a lot which would explain his slow place. I don't think he would ever be quick enough for a ruck/rover. This kids development will be interesting to watch over the next couple of years - but is he at his peak too early???

The above post is spot on. As i said on a thread a few weeks back with the u/18 teams - these teams are not the be all and end all. Kids still get drafted without making these teams. Only 25 kids can get picked. Dou you really want to be at you peak as a 15/16 year old kid - I don't think so. As forgetaboutit said "they don't draft 16 year olds".

As for overthetops comments on Cachia "i think he has the body, skills and attack on the ball to be a great ruck/rover" - great player (by what I read on these threads) I have only seen play a couple of times and I must admit I was a bit disappointed in his performance in the last trial. He obviously hits the weights a lot which would explain his slow place. I don't think he would ever be quick enough for a ruck/rover. This kids development will be interesting to watch over the next couple of years - but is he at his peak too early???
cachia, slow? haha maybe the other players around him were fat ****s and couldnt run (which they werent) but i saw cachia absolutely chase down this fast as guy against my school and i sware he broke the 12 seconds for the 100 i rekon. when he has the ball he isnt as quick as others but when he is chasing he will always make ground on the other kid. its hard to say if he's peaked, theres certainly a lot of interest in the guy which probably means theyll nerture him through and making sure he doesnt peak too soon but i suppose its up to his body and himself really. and say he grows lets say to a 6'3 and say weighs in at 90 at the age of 18, if he gets drafted, what position would he field on the park?

massive call saying they are overrated gimps, i believe watts has the biggest potential in Australia, as for walsh probably a fair assesment though he does have an outstanding mark, and no way castricum for ruck, big tom hill had that in the big a long time ago.

Ditto Jack Watts has huge potential plays basketball so afl are keen to get him over to the right side and can play footy . Walsh will develop he's a big strong lad so he will make it and get better as he sheds his puppy fat .

great post though i think you under stated the importance of the u16 carvival. A lot of these kids can be drafted next year (10 players in the metro squad are illegible next year) so really they have to really shine here as next year as bottom age players in the tac it would be harder to shine and get a gig at the nationals next year. i know realistically most kids wont get drafted bottom age but you have to give it your best shot in the 2 yrs you are in the system and this u16 carnival is the first step in putting your name up in front of the selectors.

Spot on! The point i really wanted to make is that for the kids that do miss out, not to be to disappointed. The have made the 35 and are in the selectors eyes. They may not be in the best 25 at this stage and will need to push their games further. All kids develop at diferent stages and lets hope for all of them that they have still got some improvent left in their games.

For the guys that have perhaps have fully developed, they will need to understand that and seek to push or alter their games to suit their physique.

Good luck to all.

U 16 Championships VIC country / Metro Teams