U19 (Premier)

Can someone from this thread explain to me why no players from the top 3 "undefeated" sides has made the rep side? To busy winning the comp or no real stars?

First reason is because the selectors arent any good and the second is that im not to sure if players can be bothered, meaning they would rather just keep playing good footy with there mates and trying to win a flag.

scotch will beat carey by 15
blues over rupo by 3 goals
blacks just beating marcellin
xavs over de la by 10
bernards by 60
finally good to see two of the top sides playing each other which should sort out a few things

Looking at the initial squad, DeLa, Xavs and bernards did have players in but were unable to make the cut for the 22... Although Jono Mecuri (xavs)was in the 22 until injury...

i will say that most if not all of the 22 play senior football... i am beginning to think that while DeLa and Xavs continue to dominate Under 19's football which is a credit to their depth, how many are good enough to play consistent senior football... and dont get me wrong, i understand their senior sides are tought to crack into, but if ur good enough at senior level, surely u will be gettin a game, and producing the goods at the highest level....

stop whinging about blokes not making the side that are playing good 19's football...any half decent player can play good 19's football... if blokes are gettin a kick at senior level, then the deserve a spot in the Vic side...

and stop writing sh*t like "they cant be bothered".... as if anyone given the chance to wear a big V jumper would say no...

Looking at the initial squad, DeLa, Xavs and bernards did have players in but were unable to make the cut for the 22... Although Jono Mecuri (xavs)was in the 22 until injury...

i will say that most if not all of the 22 play senior football... i am beginning to think that while DeLa and Xavs continue to dominate Under 19's football which is a credit to their depth, how many are good enough to play consistent senior football... and dont get me wrong, i understand their senior sides are tought to crack into, but if ur good enough at senior level, surely u will be gettin a game, and producing the goods at the highest level....

stop whinging about blokes not making the side that are playing good 19's football...any half decent player can play good 19's football... if blokes are gettin a kick at senior level, then the deserve a spot in the Vic side...

and stop writing sh*t like "they cant be bothered".... as if anyone given the chance to wear a big V jumper would say no...

St Bernards have had 9 players play senior football this year and all have aquitted themselves well enough to warrant multiple games. Tom Caven being the standout (23 poss and 13 marks last week for instance).
Maybe Stb, Xavs and DeLa should form a combined side between them and play the selected rep side. They would smash em.

St Bernards have had 9 players play senior football this year and all have aquitted themselves well enough to warrant multiple games. Tom Caven being the standout (23 poss and 13 marks last week for instance).
Maybe Stb, Xavs and DeLa should form a combined side between them and play the selected rep side. They would smash em.
Dont talk crap.
I think those picking the rep side have a better idea about those deserving to don the Big V than a few blokes obviosuly biased in their opinion. Sure they may be a couple of places which could be disputed, but to make an outrageous statement like that makes you sound like a moron.

Hit the nail on the head JB.

Rep sides are based on individual talent, not a team collective. Whilst there may be some dissapointed players from the top 3 premier teams, who's to say there aren't any standout guns in the lower divisions.

Also, aptitude to training may have kept representatives from dela, OX and bernards from donning the big V, judging by the initial list of 40-odd players selected.

Hopefully those with hang-ups about the rep team can let it go after the game is played this sunday.

the bernards guy looked to be far more serious with a knee brace on, and the st kev's guy appeared to hav a broken ancle as it was heaily strapped and iced after the game

Rupertswood have an issue with running out games of football. Two weeks ago they were competitive against De la for three quarters before getting smashed in the last. I hear a similar thing happened on the weekend against Blues. Is it a fitness issue, or do these boys throw in the towel when they think the game is slipping away?

hmmmm dunno about rupo, have lost 4 in row, dont think they will make finals. they just arnt as good as they were last year and in their defence do lose some very good players to seniors. about their last quarters i dont think its their fitness prob just the quality of the opposition. howd did the dela and xavs game go. what side had control for most of the game or was it anyones.

What a massive round we have this weekend with some of the best games we will have all season.

My Tips for this week are:

Bernards to beat Xavs by 2 goals
Marcellin to beat Carey by 7 goals
SKOBS by 8 goalswill ensure Rupo that there losing streak doesnt come to a hault.
Dela to smash Scotch by 18 goals
THE BLUES will defeat there Uni rivals THE BLACKS by a tight 8 pts

Match of the Round would have to be BERNARDS vs XAVS, with Bernards looking for revenge after a 10 goal thumping in the prelim last year and XAVS trying to make a mend after a loss to Dela last week.
WHAT A GAME THIS WILL BE!!!
Be sure to get down to the game at Koonung Reserve in Bulleen starting at 2pm.

bernards over xavs in a tight one
marcellin to beat carey
rupo to good for skevs
da la to thump scotch
blues over balcks in the derby
this will be a test to see where bernards are at and if they are truely contenders for the flag.

Xavs over Bernards by 12pts on a large ground where runners will have field-day (CLEARLY the game of the round, though the Amature Footballer would have us believe otherwise)
Marcellin accounting OC by 3 goals on another big ground
Skevs to beat a young Rupo by 2 goals at spaghetti-righetti
Bellars to paste Scotch by 80pts, with ice-creams for all afterward
Blues over Blacks by 100 flat (word on the street is they intend to bring their guns back from the seniors to effect such a result this week)

In my opinion Blues will make the GF, just as a side note.

Cheers, and happy hunting.

Xavs will be hungry after last week and will win by 16 points
Marcellin with ease. 41 points.
SKOBS will keep pushing rupo down to section 2. 34 points.
De La to continue their winning ways. 29 points.
Blues to beat the Blacks. and i agree wave, GF contenders for sure. 14 points.
Good luck for the weekend boys
Johnny Blaze:thumbsu:

ill pick an undermanned bernards but i have my doubts. xavs will be hard to beat and it will come down to the wire.
marcellin easily over carey
thats the end of rupos losing streak (well predicted i must say). their running game will be to good for skobs bigger bodies.
dela in a close one to scotch.
blues to smash blacks but lets not all start raving about how good they are just yet. in my opinion they wont make the gf. they will have to beat 2 good sides and it will be too tough. just the same as bernards last year.

Xav’s to smash bernards, if they can keep the big BEAR quiet (40 points)
Carey to upset Marcellin by 2 goals. Mc Queen to shut down the inform Delahunty (8 points)
Skob to get the ball rolling again with a win over ruppo (14 points)
De la to smash scotch with the rumoured inclusion of sam pickettt (60 points)
Blacks to upset the hot blues with scanleton to be the difference (6 points)

Rupo by 57 over a pedestrian St Kevins. :thumbsu:
Pretty ordinary facilities for players and spectators. :mad: Couldn't even get a cup of coffee.:thumbsdown:
About time the 'old money' put something back into football.

the nouveau riche do it so much better dont they:thumbsu:

I think you should take your case to VAFA, this is an outrage, the rat cage isnt up to standard for Rupo....

the nouveau riche do it so much better dont they:thumbsu:

I think you should take your case to VAFA, this is an outrage, the rat cage isnt up to standard for Rupo....
Speaking of nouveau riche - you can even get a macchiato at the 'home of the ashes' on a Saturday arvo - doing it so much better than the knobs from the other side of town.

Yep, now if only prowess as a barista could translate to success on the football field...
But feel free to start up a 'which club makes the best coffee' thread if you'd like, I'm sure people would jump on board like it was going out of fashion :thumbsdown:

Yep, now if only prowess as a barista could translate to success on the football field...
But feel free to start up a 'which club makes the best coffee' thread if you'd like, I'm sure people would jump on board like it was going out of fashion :thumbsdown:
Upset that the big kev's let you down. You were only 12 goals out. On that basis I certainly wouldn't let you recommend where to buy the coffee.

Xavs v STB what was the result - paper says a draw, VAFA website gives the result to STB but the scores were a draw??? Can anyone shed some light on this.

What was the standard like??

Good to see the boys from Dairy Bell chalk up another win on the weekend.

Xavs v STB what was the result - paper says a draw, VAFA website gives the result to STB but the scores were a draw??? Can anyone shed some light on this.

What was the standard like??

Good to see the boys from Dairy Bell chalk up another win on the weekend.
I'm pretty sure it was a draw. Xavs dominated in the 1st half but then Bernards were better in the 2nd half. Standard was just ok, got a bit exciting at the end but no 1 could score. Pretty low scoring game much like the De La v Xavs game from last week.

Upset that the big kev's let you down. You were only 12 goals out. On that basis I certainly wouldn't let you recommend where to buy the coffee.

I clearly support OX, not SKC, and so do not care for this inconsequential result, tipping aside (which i've failed to lodge every week and so similarly really do not care about).

Xavs dominated first half in every sense of the word, but didn't put bernards away due to some more terribly inaccurate kicking. Even so, Bernies were a new side after half time, and xavs lost their bench due to injuries, one season-ending, from some great tough-footy on Bernards' behalf. Bernies kept chipping away at the margin, and in the final quarter, outscored xavs even getting 6pts up with about 5mins to go with some great work from Ciantar who nearly single-handedly won them the match.
Xavs drew level due to a sloppy 25m penalty given away and it was a arm-wrestle of scrum-like footy for the last few minutes. Both teams a little bit lost after the game, but makes for an interesting re-match!

Cheers

Any reports from the Varsity derby? Judging by the scoreline it was ugly.
And does anyone else reckon that muppet who writes in the record (Beaton apparently from Uni Blacks) should stop talking up the Uni Blacks?
They clearly aren't that good! How long is he going to keep picking "Blacks in an upset"! He should be picking with his head, not his heart - he does it every week.

U19 (Premier)