Umpiring

Are they?

• Yes

Votes: 52 49.5%
  • No

Votes: 17 16.2%
  • They will until this group has officially been broken, Hardwick aint Coach and Gale isn't CEO

Votes: 36 34.3%

It's pretty obvious. $$$. The AFL administration doesn't give a shit about any of the fans because we're a very small piece in the monetary pie. Rather it's all about catering to TV rights and advertising (in particular betting advertising which is a leech on society).

I know the argument, hear it a thousand times on here, but it is not as simplistic as that. It does still give a shit, but it's having problems with it's competing interests - it happens in most multi-nationals, it certainly happens in multi-disciplinarian organisations like the AFL.

It would be fascinating to sit down with the AFL's financial controllers and have them answer how the AFL would be affected financially if all the betting agencies no longer had AFL support, no longer accepted sponsorship and any other monetary benefit, and that integrity measures designed to solely protect betting agencies would be removed.

Sometimes in an attempt to be so sophisticated an organisation lurches to being very unsophisticated - meet the AFL!

Yeah, the game is shit to watch - I cannot understand how Gil can sit up their proudly watching it - it is not like he hasn't played himself at lower levels missing certain nuances. He's not a dill in the most basic sense of the work because he is highly educated and possesses the powers of rational and critical thinking. Perhaps he is just so close to the game that he can't step back and see the trouble looming. He has so many vested interests coming at him weekly, if not daily, it cannot be easy but seems to have jumped on board to eagerly with his fanboy love of Steve Hocking.

He needs some real people detached from the day to day to tell what is coming - massive fan discontent!!!
The issue is they don’t care as long as people go and pay their kayo subscription 😒

Yes and no - it's when people stop going in enough numbers and stop Kayo in enough numbers (I don't think they would actually care about Kayo to be honest) that they will refocus their care in this particular direction.

If we are dredging up history...

Richo.

That's all I have to say.
I'll better that one.

Luke McGuane vs Geelong 2009. Ball sails through for a goal to Geelong. McGuane punches the ball into the crowd. Free kick gifted to Geelong for a second goal.

Time-wasting rule 'silly'

Yes and no - it's when people stop going in enough numbers and stop Kayo in enough numbers (I don't think they would actually care about Kayo to be honest) that they will refocus their care in this particular direction.
They’ve got Ralph polling people why they don’t go. Pretty sure leading vote was umpiring but I bet the AFL thought yeah nah must be covid related people are scared. Give it a week and they’ll re-poll with different journo.

How bad the first free kick of the game when they were gifted a goal from a marking infringement!!
There was no body contact whatsoever. The Ch7 commentators were dumbfounded but quickly moved on because they were probably directed not to focus on umpiring 5 minutes into the first Q.

And then the free against Rioli for body contact after the ball was over the boundary. FFS he brushed his arm. That umpire should be officiating in the D grade amateurs for the rest of the year
Not to mention Jack being held down and not allowed to go for a mark. 2 shitney players can hold him down and not give away a free.....

Yeah, that first minute gift goal really set the tone. They killed us but they were bad overall. Had a mate who's a Swans fan text me at HT complaining about the umpiring.

Deliberate oob, htb, stand, 50m for dissent, dangerous tackles...has turned the game into a farce.

Funny thing is if someone said we would receive 30 free kicks for the game. You would have taken it lol
Thought a fair few 50/50 calls went our way as well

Technically there. There was a fistful of jumper however briefly. However, the amount of holding that McCartin got away with on Riewoldt is disgusting, especially when that one was paid to Reid to open the game.
First rule of umpiring is DO NOT PAY 50/50 FREES TO REIWOLDT. Jacks gets double teamed with one shepherding him out of it, held, shoved, grabbed and its never called.

Franklin had 3 frees for last night. 2nd time this season.

You know what wild? In 2017.2018.2019.2020.2021.2022. Jack has played 112 games. In that time he has 1 single game of 3 or more frees for (2019 QF). 1 IN 113 games.

Franklins had more 3+ free games this season that Jack has in 5 and a half seasons.

I disagree with this only because footy is way too random of a sport to match fix from the outside.

HOWEVER, I absolutely believe that the AFL instructs umpires to pay more free kicks and more 50m penalties that result in goals so they can run ads during said goals and bring in more $$.
Absolutely. I was thinking about last nights game and how rare 2 teams scoring 100 was. Then remembering that it also happened last week.

Frees in those 2 games. 60 and 64.

What better way to stop stoppage after stoppage than to give a team a free. What better way to make teams score more on entries when you just gives them a free in front of goal

RFC should have the balls to ask the question at least. None of this horseshit "Its the way we play", or "it is such a hard game to officiate". Stop being spineless pricks and stand up for whats right. How ANYONE can suggest it is even a chance of being a Reid Free kick needs their head read. If anything it is "play on" or technically, a free to Tarrant for a push...
No one has mention when the swans player marked on there goal turned around and kicked a goal his football was over the line as he kicked it no goal

Lets be honest, if the roles were reversed the umpire wouldn't have been able to blow his whistle fast enough and march us back 50 if he tried.

Just a gutless cowardly decision by an umpire who can now go and compare notes with the umpire from the 2015 EF who gutlessly didn't award Shedda a late game HTB free which would've put us in front that day.

I disagree with this only because footy is way too random of a sport to match fix from the outside.

HOWEVER, I absolutely believe that the AFL instructs umpires to pay more free kicks and more 50m penalties that result in goals so they can run ads during said goals and bring in more $$.
That’s match fixing, match fixing is not only about the end result, there are multiple markets with multiple results if a umpire or organisation is controlling the number of goals or free kicks it’s match fixing

Absolutely. I was thinking about last nights game and how rare 2 teams scoring 100 was. Then remembering that it also happened last week.

Frees in those 2 games. 60 and 64.

What better way to stop stoppage after stoppage than to give a team a free. What better way to make teams score more on entries when you just gives them a free in front of goal
That’s match fixing

284325091_10158867162740976_8723307285113044772_n.jpg

Is that umpire listening to his earpiece, looks to me like the decision not to award 50 was someone else's.

284325091_10158867162740976_8723307285113044772_n.jpg

Is that umpire listening to his earpiece, looks to me like the decision not to award 50 was someone else's.
You know what.I've noticed it all year not just our games where the umpire delays his decision by a sec or 2 at times.
I reckon an umpire is sitting upstairs watching and making a decision.

Umpiring