• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

A Section VAFA Premier 2017

Maybe because he coached the entire year and wasn't run out of the joint .....?? That is coach of the year material in this day and age isn't it?

On another note:

Jewell said Dawes knocked back bigger offers to join Sorrento.

“We basically put our offer to him, that was as far as we could go with the new salary cap,’’ he said.

“And then I think he looked at the job opportunities; he’s moving into a law commerce degree and has a contact at our club with one of the sponsors.

“He turned his back on much bigger offers, football wise, to better his career I suppose.’’

I know a couple of Ammo clubs thought they were front and center for his services. So they thought. As probably would OBGFC at some stage.

Yep, heard on SEN1116 this arvo that both Dawes and Lovett(?) were heading to Sorento. Where the "Land Rats" out number the player lists.

Not sure about Lovett but Dawes was always headed for the Sharks. Has a young family to support. Also, 3/4 of the way through his LLB and the playing dosh will assist him and give him some flexibility while he completes the degree. They pay better down there than some of the VAFA clubs.:)

Huge numbers of movers-n-shakers connected with the Sharks who no doubt will grease the wheels when he gets his practicing certificate. When you consider the various Unis are pumping out 7000 law grads a year he'll need all the help he can get as only about 50% get to find full time work in the law.

Not sure about Lovett but Dawes was always headed for the Sharks. Has a young family to support. Also, 3/4 of the way through his LLB and the playing dosh will assist him and give him some flexibility while he completes the degree. They pay better down there than some of the VAFA clubs.:)

Huge numbers of movers-n-shakers connected with the Sharks who no doubt will grease the wheels when he gets his practicing certificate. When you consider the various Unis are pumping out 7000 law grads a year he'll need all the help he can get as only about 50% get to find full time work in the law.[/Q

Ex Essendon President Little would be one of them...............................

Huge numbers of movers-n-shakers connected with the Sharks who no doubt will grease the wheels when he gets his practicing certificate. When you consider the various Unis are pumping out 7000 law grads a year he'll need all the help he can get as only about 50% get to find full time work in the law.
And you don't think there would be just as many, if not more, at Old Brighton? Of course he went there for match payments, regardless of what Sorrento are saying.

Mmmm.. AM seems to know a lot about lawyers !

And you don't think there would be just as many, if not more, at Old Brighton? Of course he went there for match payments, regardless of what Sorrento are saying.

AM, Some these heavy hitters live in Brighton (probably support OB as well) and have their holiday houses in Portsea and Sorento. One and the same group, party by the sea.
I have never heard anyone from Sorento deny that they pay players.....how else would they get them down there. I know of one player who went there for money and he will admit it straight up.

AM, Some these heavy hitters live in Brighton (probably support OB as well) and have their holiday houses in Portsea and Sorento. One and the same group, party by the sea.
I have never heard anyone from Sorento deny that they pay players.....how else would they get them down there. I know of one player who went there for money and he will admit it straight up.
Mate, all of the clubs in that comp (now two comps) pay their players - to a greater or lesser extent. It’s quite legitimate to do so there.

The Sharks reputedly offered the great Lenny Hayes the profits from some home ground gates to get him there for a handful of games after his AFL exit. Not sufficient to entice the great man regrettably.

It’s also true there are movers-n-shakers at many VAFA clubs, especially some of the old boys clubs. Lots of whom frequent the Peninsula, incidentally.

As for OBG, just one of those I referred to in a general sense in an earlier post could gobble up all of Brighton. OBG would just be the aperitif.:)

As for finding Chris a job the newly installed Sharks Prez is the very well connected “Bernie the Attorney”

Mate, all of the clubs in that comp (now two comps) pay their players - to a greater or lesser extent. It’s quite legitimate to do so there.

The Sharks reputedly offered the great Lenny Hayes the profits from some home ground gates to get him there for a handful of games after his AFL exit. Not sufficient to entice the great man regrettably.

It’s also true there are movers-n-shakers at many VAFA clubs, especially some of the old boys clubs. Lots of whom frequent the Peninsula, incidentally.

As for OBG, just one of those I referred to in a general sense in an earlier post could gobble up all of Brighton. OBG would just be the aperitif.:)

As for finding Chris a job the newly installed Sharks Prez is the very well connected “Bernie the Attorney”

Good to see Bernie the Attorney acting for the grub who flogged Brendan Whitecross's porsche the other day.

Considering pre season has already started, aside from Jamar, Schulz, Brown, Bartel etc there has been a significantly low amount of confirmed recruits this time around.

Good to see Bernie the Attorney acting for the grub who flogged Brendan Whitecross's porsche the other day.

Considering pre season has already started, aside from Jamar, Schulz, Brown, Bartel etc there has been a significantly low amount of confirmed recruits this time around.

The only boots Bartel will be pulling on would be his R M Williams. Heard this morning on 3AW that he is joining them (I think)
as a special commentater..

Please correct me if I have this wrong..

Go to River Man, 3 or 4 posts earlier, or have I misunderstood it?
Lovett confirmed on radio this morning as playing at Sorento.
You're on the ball ff. Story is Jimmeh will look to the corporate world and do some media as well. He's been sounded out for some part time coaching but has shown no interest in it at this time.
It's still well respected and gets heaps of laughs. So I will keep running with it.
What is the current state of play regarding the mod who has deleted the most posts this calendar year?

When the market was framed early doors AuckMel was at very short odds. Nonetheless, because I had - have - enormous faith in him I loaded up.

Things were going really well until Over The Post returned unexpectedly from a lengthy sabbatical and put in a very strong performance which had me worried. I was quite taken by the commentary in red as he went about cutting a swathe through the intemperate among us. Then, almost as quickly and to my delight, his output faded. I attribute it to the bonhomie associated with this time of year.

Looking good for a payout was yours truly. Then, in a Kiwi like effort, Itsmyshow came with a withering burst wiping out almost 20% of one thread. At which point I figured I'd done my dough as AuckMel appeared to be labouring. However, to my delight and appreciation, the little terrier found some renewed verve and enthusiasm and in one fell swoop wiped out a number of posts early this week.

So, as things stand, I'm looking forward a handy pay day soon.:)

Really guys, I love youse all.:hearts:

My output faded because by and large you lot behaved yourselves. Bear in mind some things I let go as part of the usual banter get stepped on by the others when they do their rounds. I am, however, quite disappointed that I had a day off content in the knowledge that all was well and came back to find Auckmel had been perturbed into swishing the moderatorial scythe and BS was himself having (another) day off. Tut, tut, gentlemen. Tut.

By the way Sui Ni you have previously been asked to change your username, please get onto it.

My output faded because by and large you lot behaved yourselves. Bear in mind some things I let go as part of the usual banter get stepped on by the others when they do their rounds. I am, however, quite disappointed that I had a day off content in the knowledge that all was well and came back to find Auckmel had been perturbed into swishing the moderatorial scythe and BS was himself having (another) day off. Tut, tut, gentlemen. Tut.

By the way Sui Ni you have previously been asked to change your username, please get onto it.
So with that , I have messaged all mods to see if we can set up a proper tipping system on all grades. It happens on AFL boards. As yet I have had no replies.

Hello gentleman, long time no speak. I knew that Brighton was into Chris Dawes but he knocked them back. I've heard his destination was going to be the NPFL but couldn't confirm the club hence why I hadn't posted

He was never seriously considering his old school at this time TC. May in future, but not now.

Have I missed the Premier 2017 draw or has it not been released yet?

It was a bit of end of year fun OTP.

Lighten up! It's the time of good cheer.

I LoLed despite the Black Craps playing like shit again.

You are the best Mod, the other bloke is a mad man! All I did was ask a poster if his son was playing at his own club again next year!

Which can lead to the identification of another posters identity which he or she may want not to be known.

So with that , I have messaged all mods to see if we can set up a proper tipping system on all grades. It happens on AFL boards. As yet I have had no replies.

The AFL boards one is run by the Admin (I think) but I will ask Chief if it's possible to run a local club based one.

You are the best Mod, the other bloke is a mad man! All I did was ask a poster if his son was playing at his own club again next year!

I have an identity crisis. That is about 6 different people you have pegged me as being. There is a very, very good reason why I cannot be the person you nominated. Will leave it at that and strongly I suggest you do the same.

That question has been answered 4 times now.

I have an identity crisis. That is about 6 different people you have pegged me as being. There is a very, very good reason why I cannot be the person you nominated. Will leave it at that and strongly I suggest you do the same.

That question has been answered 4 times now.
What about the other 2 ?