Vic Club dominating (10 flags in 11 years)

Why are Vics so afraid of an interstate GF?
They keep telling us there is no home state advatage in this final match.
Not afraid, but it can't happen due to a contract with the MCG (is that right?) until ??

I'm sure when interstate teams joined the AFL, it was made clear that the GF would be at the MCG until ??, and i'm sure interstate teams backed themselves in to win there when they got the chance.

Who's afraid?

Victorians are just annoyed that this keeps coming up when, despite there being a contract in place between the AFL and the MCC/MCG trust to play the Grand final at the MCG, interstate supporters still sook about it. Even if the AFL wanted to move it, I doubt they could afford to pay out the contract. And we all know why the AFL won't move it, because no other stadium can deliver the revenue that the MCG can on Grand final day. The AFL get the revenue from ticket sales from finals, you reckon they will give up the ability to get income from an additional 50k in tickets by moving it?

No they don't. Most agree that there is an advantage to Vic sides on GF day, just not as great as what some make out, and that it is somewhat balanced out by other factors in the h&a season and weeks 1-3 finals.

The GF will be shared around. Similar to the NFL model. The AFL hasn't put a timeline on it, but they are working towards this outcome.
2037?
Rotating will probably happen one day but wouldn't solve the current whingefest though.
It might have been the G's turn anyway for Tigers v Crows.
Or imagine the Bombers v Carlton in Perth, lol, a logistical nightmare, it's already difficult for fans of 1 team to get from Perth to Melbourne in the days before the GF, imagine 2 sets of fans having to go to Perth.
What about Freo vs Eagles derby GF in Sydney?
What about top place Lions having to play the Cats in Adelaide, with ground dimensions similar to Kardina Park whilst the Gabba has similar dimensions to the G?

The GF will be shared around. Similar to the NFL model. The AFL hasn't put a timeline on it, but they are working towards this outcome.
I hope I’m not around to see it. The grand final at the mcg is one of our great sporting events. Just would not feel right being anywhere else in the country.

The whingefest needs to occur so they don’t sign another contract. Otherwise why change? The Ball has to be in motion now for change

The whingefest will continue no matter what they do or don't do.

My guess is they will try to extend the contract as part of the mooted development of the area between the G, Tennis Centre and Richmond Station. It will be jointly funded by the AFL/MCC/Government and I'm thinking the MCC and Government are going to want a GF contract extension before stumping up the cash. The state government won't be letting it go without a fight.

No one is suggesting that's the only reason, but we all saw what happened at subi in the qualifying final 3 weeks earlier. Not everything is black and white.
What happened in the home and away at Subiaco?

And the fact that you go on and mention your example means you think it’s pretty much the only reason

When you get done by that much your team just didn’t turn up. And that is, on such a big stage, pathetic

I’ll accept arguments re Freo 2013 and Swans 2016 but

Crows 2017
WC 2015
Swans 2014

played a very shit game of footy - plain and simple

The whingefest will continue no matter what they do or don't do.

My guess is they will try to extend the contract as part of the mooted development of the area between the G, Tennis Centre and Richmond Station. It will be jointly funded by the AFL/MCC/Government and I'm thinking the MCC and Government are going to want a GF contract extension before stumping up the cash. The state government won't be letting it go without a fight.

Keep in mind the southern stand rebuild. These days stadiums have a shelf life of about 35 years. Next year the southern stand will turn 27. When that starts to get discussed in the early 2020s along with capacity at around 110,000, the deal will be done

What happened in the home and away at Subiaco?

And the fact that you go on and mention your example means you think it’s pretty much the only reason

When you get done by that much your team just didn’t turn up. And that is, on such a big stage, pathetic

I’ll accept arguments re Freo 2012 and Swans 2016 but

Crows 2017
WC 2015
Swans 2014

played a very shit game of footy - plain and simple
I love how WCE supporters have been hanging crap on their midfield/ers for years, but you know, it's not the team, it's the ground.

I hope I’m not around to see it. The grand final at the mcg is one of our great sporting events. Just would not feel right being anywhere else in the country.
It would cement Australian footy as the premier sporting competition of the nation. If we're getting 80,000+ to GFs held in Sydney the game will have won.

I can guarantee it would be.

Twenty years from now, if Sydney hosts the AFL GF, Sydneysiders would go, Melburnians who love the spectacle of the GF regardless would make the trip up, corporates would flock to it in similar numbers, and just as many WA based fans would attend.
Yeah in 20 years maybe, but not now.

But you're right, it would be good for footy to fill their stadium.

I actually think Sydney would be the best place for the GF every year, that's if it was ever moved.

I can guarantee it would be.

Twenty years from now, if Sydney hosts the AFL GF, Sydneysiders would go, Melburnians who love the spectacle of the GF regardless would make the trip up, corporates would flock to it in similar numbers, and just as many WA based fans would attend.

Exactly this. If you want the AFL to be the most dominant sport in Australia without question, a grand final in Sydney will be one of the biggest landmarks in sport in Australia.
It would squash soccers growth and continue the killing of the rugby’s.

2037?
Rotating will probably happen one day but wouldn't solve the current whingefest though.
It might have been the G's turn anyway for Tigers v Crows.
Or imagine the Bombers v Carlton in Perth, lol, a logistical nightmare, it's already difficult for fans of 1 team to get from Perth to Melbourne in the days before the GF, imagine 2 sets of fans having to go to Perth.
What about Freo vs Eagles derby GF in Sydney?
What about top place Lions having to play the Cats in Adelaide, with ground dimensions similar to Kardina Park whilst the Gabba has similar dimensions to the G?

It'll happen before 2037.

Get a grip. The event should be shared for all Australians to enjoy. Quit being so selfish!

Yeah in 20 years maybe, but not now.

But you're right, it would be good for footy to fill their stadium.

I actually think Sydney would be the best place for the GF every year, that's if it was ever moved.
I don't think anyone thinks that the GF should permanently move away from the MCG. It should still be the major host of the GF, it just shouldn't be the only host.

The solution to rotate it between the MCG and a non-Vic ground(s) solves the following problems:

- The inherent advantages the 9 Melbourne (or 10 Victorian) clubs get in playing in their home city, regardless of ladder position, which disadvantages non-Victorian sides that finished higher in the regular season, like Sydney and Adelaide.
- The impossibility of hosting the game anywhere else at short notice based on who earned it at the end of the season
- The need to have a ground suitable in terms of capacity, that can accommodate the number of people who would regularly attend a GF

No one is suggesting it must be Sydney. It could be Brisbane. It could be Brisbane, Sydney and Perth. Hobart could even bid for a rotation if they built a suitable capacity stadium. The AFL can simply set the parameters: by 2037 our contract with the MCG will be up, and will be open to rotating the GF in odd years to any city that builds a suitable stadium.

I don't think anyone thinks that the GF should permanently move away from the MCG. It should still be the major host of the GF, it just shouldn't be the only host.

The solution to rotate it between the MCG and a non-Vic ground(s) solves the following problems:

- The inherent advantages the 9 Melbourne (or 10 Victorian) clubs get in playing in their home city, regardless of ladder position, which disadvantages non-Victorian sides that finished higher in the regular season, like Sydney and Adelaide.
- The impossibility of hosting the game anywhere else at short notice based on who earned it at the end of the season
- The need to have a ground suitable in terms of capacity, that can accommodate the number of people who would regularly attend a GF

No one is suggesting it must be Sydney. It could be Brisbane. It could be Brisbane, Sydney and Perth. Hobart could even bid for a rotation if they built a suitable capacity stadium. The AFL can simply set the parameters: by 2037 our contract with the MCG will be up, and will be open to rotating the GF in odd years to any city that builds a suitable stadium.
I couldn't care less if it's moved or not, it's just a game of footy.

You make some good points, but one big mistake, no-one "earns it"

I couldn't care less if it's moved or not, it's just a game of footy.

You make some good points, but one big mistake, no-one "earns it"
I agree that no one 'earns' it, but if home finals are given out to those who finished higher on the ladder and won the right finals, then technically Adelaide should have had a home final for the GF. But we know that was impossible for a few reasons, Adelaide Oval lacked capacity and we can't plan GFs with a weeks turnaround.

The GF being in Melbourne each year entrenches an advantage to Melbourne based clubs. If it's rotated that advantage diminishes.
It wouldn't. My point was that rotating won't stop the whingefest.
The whingefest is primarily about the inherent advantages the game being at the MCG every year automatically gives to Melbourne based clubs.

The whingefest has many levels, it would be unbearable if there was a Perth derby at the G. Having it in Sydney wouldn't stop it.
Western Australians will whinge about anything east of them, i am 100% confident that if they held the GF, WCE v whoever and lost, they would find a reason other than they weren't good enough, to have a big whinge.

Vic Club dominating (10 flags in 11 years)