Mega Thread VICBias - Genuine Discussion

How are you going to fairly decide which clubs to snuff out of the AFL.

The funniest thing about the whole thing is that it will result in WA clubs travelling further.
I find it funny when they have an opinion on anything. Like - be grateful that you're here, or you'll be sent back to the bum leagues lol

How are you going to fairly decide which clubs to snuff out of the AFL.
It obviously wouldn't be based on members, as Vic clubs make up the 7 of the top 8 clubs in terms of members.

Port have less members than Melbourne, and are from a small strategically unimportant city. Port would be club #3 on the hitlist, Freo just behind.

Keep the big 8, then have Adel, Syd, Bris and GWS to fill out the 12.

North Melbourne serve no purpose. None. They've tried or half tried everything. Nothing works.
Why would Port survive a cull?

Little to no potential to grow and already oe of the smallest clubs in an 18 team comp. Too small to survive if we cut clubs.

How come QLD teams combine for 4 trips to WA but WA teams only travel 1 time to QLD between them? How's that equal? I'd argue the QLD teams getting short end of the stick there.
come on mate this year will be the first time you have played us at our now 7 year old stadium. making it the 3rd time in 13 years you have played us in perth.

It's not exactly great for Vic teams either. we've played both Pies and Tigers, games that are restricted due to ground size (Saints Tigers regularly draw more than 40k and it's held at a ground that holds 10k. It stinks period for everyone bar the SA teams who not only get a free home game but the Thurs/Fri TV slot to boot.

Freo played Adelaide April 6 at Optus, 2 home games in the opening 3 rounds and 3rd HG in Round 8, the only anomaly is gather round, which is shit for all bar the SA teams.

we had
tigers in SA
GWS in Canberra
HG vs Dogs ( 2nd HG @ round 6 )
Port in Port
4 games in 20 days, 3 of them interstate and round 8 is just our 3rd home game
Imagine if that was a WA Team!
we had:
crows in sa (pre-season)
port in sa
gws at home
dogs in vic
sydney in sa

It obviously wouldn't be based on members, as Vic clubs make up the 7 of the top 8 clubs in terms of members.

Port have less members than Melbourne, and are from a small strategically unimportant city. Port would be club #3 on the hitlist, Freo just behind.

Keep the big 8, then have Adel, Syd, Bris and GWS to fill out the 12.
Ha ha Doddlebanger the Bot. Membership numbers. Another lie foisted upon the great unwashed. Such a shit truck league. You gonna quote Roy Morgan next? Oh no, they don't have Collingwood number 1.

The great alternating obsession over "sack Hinkley" and "Vicbias"

What a life!

FMD... Don't you ever get bored from banging these biscuit tins?

Not sure how many games Saints play interstate this year. I'd guess maybe 6?

View attachment 2004009
Richmond in SA
GWS in Canberra
Hawks in Tas
Port in SA AGAIN
WC in WA
Brisbane in QLD
Crows in SA
we had:
crows in sa (pre-season)
port in sa
gws at home
dogs in vic
sydney in sa
and then 2 games in WA,

The preseason game in SA, what's the relevancy? I get you travel, but what's the solution, you play Freo every practice game (which you already do) or is it your preference that you don't travel pre-season and other clubs come to you?
The AFL is already trying to limit the travel on the interstate sides QLD and NSW teams play each other
SA and WA teams play each other I see that in 2023 both SA teams traveled to WA for both both pre season games
2022 WC v Freo and both SA teams traveled to WA again for the second game. So you've traveled once in 3 pre-seasons? seems like a good deal already!

I'm not saying we've got it the worst, it was in response to a post saying that Vic teams don't get crap runs of games

It's just funny that you think the fariest thing to do is to get rid of a heap of Clubs.
No it isn't funny, at all.

Those clubs were here 1st before old mate and the club he follows was.

It has been acknowledged the comp is not fair and certainly not national. Life isn't fair.

If old mate doesn't like it, old mate and anyone else can vote with their remotes and feet and reject this competition.

But nah, let's just cull clubs for new start up clubs that been around for figuratively 5 minutes and stuff all their fans, coz it's fair.

No it isn't funny, at all.

Those clubs were here 1st before old mate and the club he follows was.

It has been acknowledged the comp is not fair and certainly not national. Life isn't fair.

If old mate doesn't like it, old mate and anyone else can vote with their remotes and feet and reject this competition.

But nah, let's just cull clubs for new start up clubs that been around for figuratively 5 minutes and stuff all their fans, coz it's fair.
Victorians need to decide if they actually want a national competition. If they do, then difficult decisions may need to be made. If they don't, the VFL is right there.

Non-Victorians need to decide if they actually want to continue in the AFL. If they do, then they need to stop whinging If they don't, the various state leagues are right there.
Actually, the non-Victorian clubs are the ones with the decision to make. The Victorian clubs aren't the ones b1tching and moaning about the current arrangement.

I've edited your comment for accuracy.

Victorians need to decide if they actually want a national competition. If they do, then difficult decisions may need to be made. If they don't, the VFL is right there.
WA needs to decide if they want to be part of a national competition with 10 Vic teams. If they do, then they need to accept they have to travel. If they don't, the WAFL is right there.

I don't think we do really want it (or should want it), not withstanding, as has been pointed out eleventy billion times, it is literally impossible to have a fair and equitable national competition.

To make it so, would actually mean several vic clubs would have to make way, that literally means a million plus paying fans and members.

HQ aren't gonna go for it.

I've made it clear on this thread and others I'd rather go to a state league model, like it was before expansion, and have a play off of champions.

The wafl, sanfl, vfl are all there, and if I am correct there are other state and territory leagues.

If not that, then just a vfl and then a league of the current non vic clubs, the market would decide how that looks.

It's a win win for clubs now that are disadvantaged, of course that is mainly the non vic clubs.

If vic fans don't want that, then you're 100% correct, If vic fans want a national comp with equity and by extension and more merit, then there's a reckoning coming.

I don't think we do really want it (or should want it), not withstanding, as has been pointed out eleventy billion times, it is literally impossible to have a fair and equitable national competition.

To make it so, would actually mean several vic clubs would have to make way, that literally means a million plus paying fans and members.

I've made it clear on this thread and others I'd rather go to a state league model, like it was before expansion, and have a play off of champions.

The wafl, sanfl, vfl are all there, and if I am correct there are other state and territory leagues.

If not that, then just a vfl and then a league of the current non vic clubs, the market would decide how that looks.

It's a win win for clubs now that are disadvantaged, of course that is mainly the non vic clubs.

If vic fans don't want that, then you're 100% correct, If vic fans want a national comp with equity and by extension and more merit, then there's a reckoning coming.
The majority do want it. The VFL was on its knees before expansion started. There's simply not the money in state-based competitions any more. You think Collingwood would be some sort of national sporting powerhouse if it was only playing to Victorians?

Currently, Victorians get the best of both worlds, a national competition with the advantages that come with having the bulk of the clubs. But for the AFL to get to the next level, it needs to be truly national and what we have ain't it. I don't see any easy way around it, not confident the AFL has the guts to do it, but it's true that the parochial nature of Victorians is holding it back.

What? We all know membership numbers aren't worth the paper they are written on. Saints v Dogs drew 27k at both their home grounds. Saints v Kangaroos a similar figure. I dare say the Dogs v Kangaroos in a few weeks time will be similar or worse. 1 miilion paying fans? Please.

But for the AFL to get to the next level, it needs to be truly national and what we have ain't it. I don't see any easy way around it, not confident the AFL has the guts to do it, but it's true that the parochial nature of Victorians is holding it back.
What is the next level that the AFL should be aspiring to get to?

NRL? NBL? A-league? Sheffield Shield? Big Bash? Super Netball?

For the AFL to be 'truly national' it really just needs permanent teams based in NT, Tassie and ACT instead of the current arrangement where small teams fill the gap.

Will introduce Tassie soon, NT a likely option for 20th team and then the Aussie Rules will be even closer to being the 'truly national' sport, and AFL the stand-alone dominant major sporting competition.

The "Guts to do it". The strategic investment in attempting to win over NSW and QLD is the key battle, the AFL have already had the guts to go for it.

As usual, the rest is just sooking from poor SA and WA fans who struggle to accept their lot in a truly national competition.

What? We all know membership numbers aren't worth the paper they are written on. Saints v Dogs drew 27k at both their home grounds. Saints v Kangaroos a similar figure. I dare say the Dogs v Kangaroos in a few weeks time will be similar or worse. 1 miilion paying fans? Please.
Yeah memberships are conspiracies, vic bias.

Most Vics don't think of it by state. We think of it as 18 separate teams competing in the strongest footy league in the country.

6 franchises were created to join a league with 10 or 11 Vic teams in it. One vic team had previously located to Sydney, one Vic team was snuffed out with their logo heading to one of the franchises and a successful SA team opted to join the league. All these teams were either created to join or chose to join a league with 10 Vic teams in it. And now some of their supporters want to kill off a heap of Vic teams. It's pretty disgusting really.WCE only exists as a club because of being backed to be created by these Vic teams. Same with 6 of the non Vic clubs.

By all means lobby for different travel arrangements, but cut out the bloody thirsty crap about killing clubs. If you don't want to play against a heap of the Vic teams, petition your club to have a crack at creating a super league or play in a weaker comp.

We don't think of it as a State thing!!! ..... defend the corpse that is North Melbourne like they are protecting their slow younger brother.
You haven't thought this through. If there was a break away smaller super league, Port Adelaide wouldn't be invited along for the ride. There's not enough potential for their supporter base to grow. In terms of a super league, they'd just be too small without the growth potential. Port Adelaide are stuck at their current relative size and need a large number of Vic teams in the comp to be competitive. You could however bring North into a super league as Vics or their kids would eventually gravitate towards one of the super league teams, if there club missed out.

Okay, we don't want a national competition. Cya, back to the bum leagues you go lol

You haven't thought this through. If there was a break away smaller super league, Port Adelaide wouldn't be invited along for the ride. There's not enough potential for their supporter base to grow. In terms of a super league, they'd just be too small without the growth potential. Port Adelaide are stuck at their current relative size and need a large number of Vic teams in the comp to be competitive. You could however bring North into a super league as Vics or their kids would eventually gravitate towards one of the super league teams, if there club missed out.
Port aren’t stuck, They can definitely grow, What makes you think that?