Voss in 2013 (aka 'the Voss megathread')

Wouldn't read too much in to Roosey saying "no." There's a bit of a code of honour among coaches that they won't express interest in a position while a colleague is sitting in it. This is why of course clubs often (formally) start their search for a new coach AFTER the incumbents been given the boot. Unless your club happens to be fremantle.

Roos is a very interesting prospect. He's been heavily involved in a lot of development side of the game and you would have to think the idea of taking on the challenge of a young club with lots of budding talent (plus draft pick 3,4 or 5) and turning it into a premiership force over a couple years would appeal to him. All depends on his passion for another head coach gig and how much of a basket case Brisbane's percieved to be....

As for some of the comments on this thread about players needing to take responsibility and not be lazy etc etc...
Ultimate responsibility for the mindset of the players rests with the coach and no-one else. Getting selections and strategy right is a bit like taking a girl to a nice place for dinner and drinks, making sure the bedsheets are clean etc etc... All very important stuff. But if you can't get it up its all a bit useless really! Same same players, if you can't get them up for the game everything else is a bit useless.

PTizzle... great post mate. Voss is just missing "something." Leppa would be even worse though I reckon.

I look at Richmond and think, that's where we're meant to be. Both sides were in pretty similar positions when their respective coaches took over. Hardwick has had one year less than Voss and apart from that third quarter against the pies, they have played some great football this year. From the outside it looks like the players all have a great relationship with Dimma and they really play for him. They have pretty much nailed their draft picks and the players they've recruited from other clubs are now very important cogs in their side.

They also had the benefit of rebuilding just prior to the compromised drafts. I'm pretty happy with our recruitment with the picks we had available, but geez it would have been nice to have a crack at a Cotchin type. Our picks were just pushed back a tad which adds to the challenge.

As an outsider I don't think Vossy is a bad coach. As a matter of fact I think he has excellent communication skills. Is it him or is it the administration? Port Adelaide were a basket case but they have been able to turn it around, why? Because they have a long history, and that counts. Our History is muddled, we are brisbane eccentric with our managerial leadership.

They also had the benefit of rebuilding just prior to the compromised drafts. I'm pretty happy with our recruitment with the picks we had available, but geez it would have been nice to have a crack at a Cotchin type. Our picks were just pushed back a tad which adds to the challenge.
and Dusty martin

As an outsider I don't think Vossy is a bad coach. As a matter of fact I think he has excellent communication skills. Is it him or is it the administration? Port Adelaide were a basket case but they have been able to turn it around, why? Because they have a long history, and that counts. Our History is muddled, we are brisbane eccentric with our managerial leadership.

so what your saying is we need a breakfast TV host ( aka David koch ) to come in take over as CEO............Sharyn Ghidella from 7 news brisbane is a lions fan, wonder if she has a finance background

so what your saying is we need a breakfast TV host ( aka David koch ) to come in take over as CEO............

Anne-Maree Biggar and Agro working in shifts.

Anyone born after 1987 probably won't get that reference.

Removing GWS and GC from the draft order (simplistic, I know, given the other concessions of the minidraft, prelisted players, effects on the ladder, trades - I doubt Melbourne would've given us pick 4 for Clark instead of pick 12, etc), how good would it have been to have the choice of the following:
- In 2010, Bennell, Day or Gaff at pick 4.
- In 2011, Patton or Coniglio at pick 2, and then Tyson, Hoskin-Elliot or Buntine at pick 4.
- In 2012, Toumpas, etc, at pick 4.

Anne-Maree Biggar and Agro working in shifts.

Anyone born after 1987 probably won't get that reference.
No what I'm saying is that we should all wake up and admit the wheel is broken, and we need to make tough changes to restore the club to where it should be. Otherwise risk being another Adelaide.

On a more serious note its out off left field but would Dennis Pagan be interested in coaching again or is he too old? One thing you know for sure with him is he will take ZERO crap

North would be a better comparison for the reason Brown Dog pointed out (Richmonds run of pick 1, 2 and 3). Simillar pick range and player turnover. Brisbane had a much better core and experience list remaining though but disadvantaged in the 24 to 27 age group maybe? (though ours isn't great).

FWIW, I think we have a better list (and younger) than Richmond.
Slightly related, not sure I have seen a first year player kick the ball better than Mays. Elite kick already. no. 22 was good too. Can run.

FFS.

Coaching is a piece of cake.

Just kick it LONG!!!

You forgot the other basics: never switch play and never handball when you can kick it.

It goes without saying that "Just kick it LONG!!!" goes hand in hand with with the kicker finding a totally un- MANNED-UP teammate who, using his psychic powers, knows in advance, exactly where this lengthy bomb is going to land.

Otherwise, that other well known coaching principle comes into play:

"HOOO TOOO??????!!!!!!!!"

On a more serious note its out off left field but would Dennis Pagan be interested in coaching again or is he too old? One thing you know for sure with him is he will take ZERO crap

maybe in a director of coaching position? been out of the game too long I'd say, but he'd help these young fancy haircut blokes locate their balls quite quickly

Another novel... sorry guys :confused:

I was going to list the 16 coaches St Kilda had since their last premiership.
I was even going to list the 17 the dogs have had since theirs.
Or the 8 between Collingwoods wins before Leigh Mathews.
The 28 between the Swans wins was most impressive.

28 coaches. One team. And countless decades of losses.

Those lists had names like Norm Smith, Ron Barrasi, Bob Skilton, Jack Hale, Mick Malthouse, Allan Jeans, Alex Jesualenko, Malcom Blight on them. Nobodies really. Not a single legend among them.

And not one coached those sides to a premiership.

Clearly they too were incompetent.
Incapable of reading the game, creating a game plan or a style of play.
They too must have also been boring, indecisive and unable to motivate.
None obviously had charisma or a playing history to be envious of.
And most surely none bled passion or pride for their club.

Brisbane Lions supporters - especially those since the merger - are the luckiest supporters in the history of the game. Not only did we witness history in 01,02,03 and the creation of arguably the team of the century, we got used to it. We got used to success. We got used to results. We got used to thinking that this was easy. And that those other teams that somehow managed to snatch defeat from the jaws of victory must surely be basket cases.

And seemingly its made us a spoilt, petulant, ruthless. unforgiving and blood thirsty mob.

I'm all for success. More over I can stand losses if the team we put on the field are hungry, determined and show some pride and respect for the team they play for. But somehow instead of realising that success isn't guaranteed just because we put a team on the field, that in a system manipulated by a salary cap and draft, in a state where finances and homesickness are real shackles, and a competition severely skewed at maintaining the success of traditional clubs and the nurturing of new ones, just somehow, we can quite simply pinpoint all our ills and misfortune to one man.

Clearly Voss is capable of mind control.

He can will, almost every single player without exception, on the field to mindless, lazy, unthinking, panicked and disorganized shadows of themselves.

Not only that, apparently he sends those same players out onto the field with no game plan. None. He just sends them out willy nilly to run amok and fall down all over the place.

Worse, he shows no pride or passion at all because whenever his drones are being pantsed all over the place he simply does nothing. Doesn't react, doesn't reposition. He just does nothing. At all. Ever.

What's more, he's had so much time, so many chances, and so much support that its clear that hes chosen not to be successful just to spite us supporters.

More over with the quality of the list and the facilities hes had to work with over the last few years the fact hes decided not to win premierships just goes to show how little he really cares for the club.
Geez... We joked about crazy Vossy a few years ago... but going by some of the posts in this thread hes had more power and influence than Hitler ever had. To lay blame and fault exclusively on his door is as crazy as suggesting that in our current team calling for player change like Polks out or Harwood in should guarantee success.

Its selective, its narrow minded and its looking for a scapegoat where there is no single answer. We're looking to lay blame and apportion fault when it can't be narrowed down to one. Its become a witch hunt founded on rumour with no fact other than anecdotal evidence. Whats even worse is its panicked and hysterical.

Who says he cant motivate the team?
Who says the game plan is wrong or missing or singular?
Who says hes lost the respect of the players?
Who says his decisions at the selection table are wrong?

Theres not a single person here who can explain the missing style of play from the NAB cup. Not one who can explain the suddenly loss or awareness, speed or competence. Not one who can explain how Voss himself single handedly wiped out a preseason of hard work to create a team of disinterested and undisciplined players in just 2 weeks before the season started.

More than that why the hell would he????

Yes you can argue about it not being real competition, and that we got ahead of ourselves, blah blah blah... but again I ask... how is that Voss's fault? Is he on the field? Is he the one telling them to cruise?

This issue is far bigger than one man I'm afraid. Its about 22.

The suggestion that Roos or Bomber or whoever holds some magic panacea, may have some merit. But the idea that anyone could walk in with our team in its current mindset and state and achieve success grossly over estimates those guys abilities and very much undervalues the teams they achieved success with. If anyone here is going to suggest that Bomber is a great coach, they forget very quickly his near death experience with Geelong and the success of one Mr Scott with essentially the same team.

A week is a long time in footy. A season is an eternity... and many many fortunes have changed in that time.

There is not a single person I can think of that would have more passion, more pride and more determination to bring his OWN club success than Voss.

And until someone else proves that they have more and are willing to bash our door down to prove it, then for me at least, he is the man who deserves the chance to right the ship and prove the doomsayers wrong.

Brisbane Lions supporters - especially those since the merger - are the luckiest supporters in the history of the game. Not only did we witness history in 01,02,03 and the creation of arguably the team of the century, we got used to it. We got used to success. We got used to results. We got used to thinking that this was easy. And that those other teams that somehow managed to snatch defeat from the jaws of victory must surely be basket cases.

And seemingly its made us a spoilt, petulant, ruthless. unforgiving and blood thirsty mob.

When I was fourteen years old, my footy team was ripped away and move to a city I'd never been to and had nothing to do with.

I refuse to accept that I am the luckiest supporter in the history of the game.