Voss in 2013 (aka 'the Voss megathread')

Comeback by Leigh? :p

Nah, one or two games don't determine a coach's position. Still too early to make a call on Voss in my opinion.
yeh but 2 games this year we have lost by over 60 including the bulldogs (who got touched up by the crows tis arvo ) and our one win in the season propper was a scrappy scrape home win over the suns, thanks to old man brown.

Name someone else then big guy.

There is no immediate big name to come in and save us. We're not a wealthy club and desirable options are already slim. I don't know if Voss is the man to take us forward, I'd like to thing so but I have doubts, but any replacement that comes is likely to be a relatively unknown assistant from a successful club. I can't see us landing anyone big.

Sacking a coach after 4 rounds??? More harm then good! Give Voss more time, just like Browny... why give up so early, what is the point!?!?!? Worst comes to worse, Voss doesn't get his contract renewed... Have some loyalty and faith fellas... four games into the season... four...

BTW, if Voss does go at the end of the season - Alistar Clarkson!

Hmm I'll take Ratten's freewheeling game plan right now. :D

on a serious note - one of the problems that I would attribute to Voss would be slow moves from coaching box. You'll see Longmire swing LRT to defense if the opposition get 2-3 goals back to back. You'll see that "let's stem the tide" move tried by all the seasoned coaches. Vossy has been slow in this area from the very beginning, I think it's still the case this year.

Interesting ride, bring on Melbourne.

on a serious note - one of the problems that I would attribute to Voss would be slow moves from coaching box. You'll see Longmire swing LRT to defense if the opposition get 2-3 goals back to back. You'll see that "let's stem the tide" move tried by all the seasoned coaches. Vossy has been slow in this area from the very beginning, I think it's still the case this year.

Give me a break...he had Patful on Majak after 60 seconds!!!!!!!

Voss to go. He is pathetic as a coach has done pretty much nothing at his time as head coach. Gone backwards ever since he screwed around with the playing group when we got Fev. Ever since then the players haven't been playing for him or his plan. Give Harvey the rest of the year after all wasn't he the one coaching the Lions during the NAB?

Name someone else then big guy.
I personally don't know enough about the potential coaches waiting in the assistant coaching realms.

Neither Bomber nor Roos are coming back to the head coaching gig at any point in the near future IMO.

You may as well be calling for Barassi to come out of retirement.

Stubborness.

Reckon Melbourne next week is going to be seen as a benchmark game for some big decisions.

What other options are available besides harvey as senior coaches for next year, I mentioned Scot burns, Blake Caracella and N Lappin both been at the cats for a number of years. Adam Simpson....????

Yeh you would think hopefully we will win next week then the fun begins Swans, bombers etc.....I think a couple more huge blow outs could see the death knell of vossy

What other options are available besides harvey as senior coaches for next year, I mentioned Scot burns, Blake Caracella and N Lappin both been at the cats for a number of years. Adam Simpson....????

Yeh you would think hopefully we will win next week then the fun begins Swans, bombers etc.....I think a couple more huge blow outs could see the death knell of vossy

Try 8 straight after the Melbourne game which we should win comfortably :eek: . At this stage, only the West Coast game is likely to be less than a 5 goal loss.

Sorry Vossy, but it's time to vacate your seat as head coach of the Brisbane Lions

The Lions are currently an irrelevant force in the AFL landscape and Voss is not the man to take our kids to the next level. Not sure if it's funding (we seem to have young / novice support staff at every single turn) or he's simply not good enough to coach against AFL quality coaches, but we simply aren't performing. Not only aren't we performing, we may be digging a hole so deep, it'll mark the end of our club :(

Some may think that the last line is a bit over the top, but we play out of a state where footy is not the main sport, our team has played in one final since the 2004 Grand Final, has a small member base and had made over $10million in losses over the past 5 years :eek: Since that fateful day in 2004, the Lions' record is 71 wins / 106 losses. No, Voss was not there for all those seasons, but his record of 35 wins / 56 losses is not up to scracth.

Voss has been there for nearly five seasons, yet the same issues in game plan / player deficiencies / clearances / forward line delivery / goal kicking etc. still exist :thumbsdown:

The only way out of this mess is winning. Winning increases memberships, sponsorships and how a club is looked upon in the jungle that is AFL. Another season down the bottom and we're in deep shit. Why would a gun want to come to us? Why would a young gun stay? Pretty sure we'll lose a few at years' end.

I think the nucleus of a good young team is there; Paparone, Doc and Mayes all impressive today, but I feel these commodities are too valuable to leave with the current coaching and development team. Not one player introduced in the Voss era is now a bonifide AFL star. Not one. We've been down the bottom and had a raft of good quality draft picks - but not one star player has come through. How can we, as members / supporters rely on the current staff to bring through the current crop when the only way of thinking is "Player A has said deficiences, better put him in the ressies bush comp for x number of games to fix them". Then they get to the AFL and get absolutely smashed!!!

Enough is enough.

The AFL is a business, everyone knows this. The Lions are a business, a poorly run one currently. Keep losing, keep posting massive losses and losing the support of a loyal few who, once gone, are unlikely to return for a long time b/c of the fickle sporting landscape in Queensland.

One final stat to leave you with; since the flying start of 2010 (4-0), yep, remember that.....the Lions and Melbourne have won the same amount of games (17) :confused:

Nah Nathan Bassett is our next coach. Best state league coach over the past 3 seasons. He'll get the players well drilled and will bring a few different ideas. Will be looking to step into the AFL coaching ranks next season as well after knocking back offers from the Crows and Hawks over the past couple of years.

151832_3_1.jpg