2nds vs Werribee Saturday @ Werribee

Oh please... comparing a Coburg defeat to a senior team is just plain silly.
Took what I said in the wrong way.
What I meant was just how pathetic Coburg actually are.
Poor skills, poor decision making, and most of all poor pressure.

Took what I said in the wrong way.
What I meant was just how pathetic Coburg actually are.
Poor skills, poor decision making, and most of all poor pressure.
So was it mainly down to the Coburg listed players being utterly shithouse or were some of our blokes just completely crap too?

Im struggling to work out how these games are Developing our players ???

Griffiths , Elton , Astbury ------------ All fowards being played away from where they are naturals
I wonder how Locket,Ablett snr,Dunstall,Franklin,Richo would have been playing defence

What a shocking performance overall. Final score was 27.10.172 to 12.11.83 however the result should have been well over 100 points given Werribee took their foot of the pedal in the last until late when they got a couple of cheap ones.

Player Reviews:
Astbury - played down back and was getting plenty of touches early on. Was then put on Warren after he was too good for McIntosh. This restricted his run and ability to link up as he was forced to be more accountable.
Lonergan - not a standout performance by any means. Was workman like and given the lack of genuine support in the middle did well enough. By the end of the game was covered in mud as a result of being at the bottom of packs all day.
Griffiths - started up forward rotating through the ruck. Such was the onslaught by Werribee that he soon found himself down back giving them a chop out. IMO was close to our best player on the day from Richmond POV. Won plenty of hitouts and got his hands on the footy a number of times. Still needs to become more aggressive in his approach to the contest.
Elton - played down back and was close to our best early on. Went for his marks when in position and used the ball well when in possession. In the end sheer weight of numbers saw his opponent get on the end of a few which then restricted his ability to get off and be an option coming out of the backline.
Edwards - not his day and it's quite clear to see why he isn't getting a go at a higher level. Unless the ball is served up to him on platter he struggles to have an impact. In fairness when you're double teamed every time the ball goes in your direction it is difficult to get involved.
Helbig - quiet game coming back from injury. Was involved in plenty of play through the day but just didn't have a major impact.
McIntosh - was given the job on Warren and was beaten easily which forced a switch up. After that his confidence appeared shot and he had little to no impact for the rest of the day.
McBean - our best forward, took a couple of lovely grabs and kicked 2 on the day including a nice piece of work where he got a ball kicked at his feet took it on the half volley swung around and split the middle. Needs to spend a heap of time in the gym but the talent is definitely there.
McDonough - through necessity had to play in the midfield and was probably our best midfielder on the day. Kicked 3 goals and worked as hard defensively as he did offensively. If he can develop his tank could be a very handy midfield/forward option down the track.
Derickx - started off well in the first quarter but faded as the Werribee rucks got on top and worked him over, this happened because we needed to use Griffiths down back which meant Derickx effectively had to ruck on his own.
Darrou - was beaten on the day and the reason for this was the sheer weight of ball coming in. Was giving away cm to his direct opponent in Brown who kicked 5 still he battled on well and never stopped trying. Was unlucky on occasion where Brown would stick up a paw and would manage to stick a mark that on other days would drop.
Verrier - not his best day as he just couldn't get involved in any meaningful way. Gave away a stupid 50m penalty after being ran down from behind which sadly was the only memorable thing he did on the day.

Unfortunately for us when we have to increase the number of Coburg listed players in the side our ability to be competitive will fall away. Too many of the Coburg listed players are lacking in skill and fitness to maintain the intensity level for a full game. It was noticeable today that when we had to go through Coburg players to keep a chain going it would invariably result in a turnover or put the next player under pressure as disposal just wouldn't be spot on. This won't be much better next year if we can't recruit some real quality top up players. What having our own side will do though is allow us to develop our players in the roles that we want them to play and IMO that is more important than actually winning games at VFL level.

To the point we need THREE forwards down back? Bollocks! Shithouse list management if that's the case!:thumbsdown:
You have no idea Mate

FEEL FREE TO QUESTION PEOPLE'S OPINIONS, THAT'S WHAT FORUMS ARE FOR AFTERALL, MAKE IT CONSTRUCTIVE THOUGH.
WE'VE HAD ENOUGH OF COMMENTS LIKE THIS.

- YOUR MOD TEAM

McBean - our best forward, took a couple of lovely grabs and kicked 2 on the day including a nice piece of work where he got a ball kicked at his feet took it on the half volley swung around and split the middle. Needs to spend a heap of time in the gym but the talent is definitely there.
McDonough - through necessity had to play in the midfield and was probably our best midfielder on the day. Kicked 3 goals and worked as hard defensively as he did offensively. If he can develop his tank could be a very handy midfield/forward option down the track.
This excites me :)

It is exciting. The good thing about today is

Elton took strong marks down back
McDonough looked lively in the middle with 3 goals
could be a good replacement for Knights further down he track
Mcbean scored 2 goals with limited opportunity.

LMAO - who has no idea now - Pettard is a natural forward too, so that only further underlines my point. Try again big mouth.:oops:

(not having a go at your original comment Cevap)
Petterd was recruited as a HBF, just like McGuane was recruited as a CHF.

LMAO - who has no idea now - Pettard is a natural forward too, so that only further underlines my point. Try again big mouth.:oops:

(not having a go at your original comment Cevap)
you think the coaches have NO IDEA?- you really are deluded. Watched a Coburg game earlier in the year and we had about 6-7 195cm+ players in the side. I think that the availablilty of the type of players available for Coburg has a huge bearing on why Forwards are played back- fair comment???

Sorry if I attacked a bit too much but it is pretty obvious to me why Griff, Elton etc are being forced to play back

What a shocking performance overall. Final score was 27.10.172 to 12.11.83 however the result should have been well over 100 points given Werribee took their foot of the pedal in the last until late when they got a couple of cheap ones.

Player Reviews:
Astbury - played down back and was getting plenty of touches early on. Was then put on Warren after he was too good for McIntosh. This restricted his run and ability to link up as he was forced to be more accountable.
Lonergan - not a standout performance by any means. Was workman like and given the lack of genuine support in the middle did well enough. By the end of the game was covered in mud as a result of being at the bottom of packs all day.
Griffiths - started up forward rotating through the ruck. Such was the onslaught by Werribee that he soon found himself down back giving them a chop out. IMO was close to our best player on the day from Richmond POV. Won plenty of hitouts and got his hands on the footy a number of times. Still needs to become more aggressive in his approach to the contest.
Elton - played down back and was close to our best early on. Went for his marks when in position and used the ball well when in possession. In the end sheer weight of numbers saw his opponent get on the end of a few which then restricted his ability to get off and be an option coming out of the backline.
Edwards - not his day and it's quite clear to see why he isn't getting a go at a higher level. Unless the ball is served up to him on platter he struggles to have an impact. In fairness when you're double teamed every time the ball goes in your direction it is difficult to get involved.
Helbig - quiet game coming back from injury. Was involved in plenty of play through the day but just didn't have a major impact.
McIntosh - was given the job on Warren and was beaten easily which forced a switch up. After that his confidence appeared shot and he had little to no impact for the rest of the day.
Derickx - started off well in the first quarter but faded as the Werribee rucks got on top and worked him over, this happened because we needed to use Griffiths down back which meant Derickx effectively had to ruck on his own.
Darrou - was beaten on the day and the reason for this was the sheer weight of ball coming in. Was giving away cm to his direct opponent in Brown who kicked 5 still he battled on well and never stopped trying. Was unlucky on occasion where Brown would stick up a paw and would manage to stick a mark that on other days would drop.
Verrier - not his best day as he just couldn't get involved in any meaningful way. Gave away a stupid 50m penalty after being ran down from behind which sadly was the only memorable thing he did on the day.

Unfortunately for us when we have to increase the number of Coburg listed players in the side our ability to be competitive will fall away. Too many of the Coburg listed players are lacking in skill and fitness to maintain the intensity level for a full game. It was noticeable today that when we had to go through Coburg players to keep a chain going it would invariably result in a turnover or put the next player under pressure as disposal just wouldn't be spot on. This won't be much better next year if we can't recruit some real quality top up players. What having our own side will do though is allow us to develop our players in the roles that we want them to play and IMO that is more important than actually winning games at VFL level.

Good write up RT. I was at the game and I think you're write up is pretty much spot on. :thumbsu:

I particularly wanted to point out Elton and Mcdonough.
Elton looked very good at CHB. His contested marking was fantastic as was his aggression at the contest. Turned it over a couple of times but that happens. I believe Elton played alot down back as a junior so could be an exciting KPD prospect.
Mcdonough I thought was very very good. His kicking on both feet and his marking was outstanding. Real hard nut and very dangerous around goals. As a side note, standing next to him at the breaks he looks to be alot taller than 180cm:confused:

Petterd was recruited as a HBF, just like McGuane was recruited as a CHF.
Where'd Petterd play most of his senior & best footy at Melbourne and looked his best? Do you think we drafted him to play down back? Where's Luke playing now and as everyone keeps telling me, better than he ever has?(Which I now concede)

You will find most Melbourne supporters will tell you he played his best footy for them in defence before he got put forward.

you think the coaches have NO IDEA?- you really are deluded. Watched a Coburg game earlier in the year and we had about 6-7 195cm+ players in the side. I think that the availablilty of the type of players available for Coburg has a huge bearing on why Forwards are played back- fair comment???

Sorry if I attacked a bit too much but it is pretty obvious to me why Griff, Elton etc are being forced to play back

No worries - I should've specified recuiting when I said list management - we simply don't have enough depth in regards to specialist defenders if we're constantly playing forwards back and that's down to recruiting IMO. Tall *natural* defenders are basically Chaplin, Rance & Grimes - who else? I still think Griffiths at the very least down there is a complete and utter waste of time & talent.

You will find most Melbourne supporters will tell you he played his best footy for them in defence before he got put forward.
I remember his best games - especially against us - were playing as a forward who rotated though the middle.

No worries - I should've specified recuiting when I said list management - we simply don't have enough depth in regards to specialist defenders if we're constantly playing forwards back and that's down to recruiting IMO. Tall *natural* defenders are basically Chaplin, Rance & Grimes - who else? I still think Griffiths at the very least down there is a complete and utter waste of time & talent.
Posty was one of those natural defenders, who sadly did not come up, although strangely, I would have kept him for another year myself!!!!!!!!!!! Griff reminds me of him in that lack of hardness/mongrel. Just hope we can instill that tough win at all costs attitude in Griff

I remember his best games - especially against us - were playing as a forward who rotated though the middle.
Mate of mine, who played ressies for the Dees reckons that Petterd is one of the most natural forwards he has seen. To quote him, Petterd has that rare ability of knowing where and especially when to lead to the ball carrier

Where the hell does this idea that guys should only play in their natural positions come from? Its the biggest load of crap ever. The best 4-5 CHB of the last 15 years were all "natural forwards" to begin with, Lepper, Ried, Cornes, Lake, Lonergan and you could add Joel Bowden. Brett Deledio, Leon Davis, Robert Murphy, Andrew Mcleod were all natural Attacking midfielders or forwards and have been some of the best HBF both defensively and in an attacking sense.

Richo was a great CHF who in 2008 had his best season as a winger who both got forward and intercepted marks in defence. Jake King went from natural small defender to small forward

The ability to play multiple positions is a requirement for an AFL footballer, and coburg is about learning much more then it is about winning.

And please stop saying that Astbury and Elton are natural forwards recruited as forwards, they were swing men all through their junior careers, as was Jake Carlise. Griff is the only won who played predominately as a forward but also struggled for game time with injuries. Maybe he wont ever be CHB or even a CHF but we need him getting his hands on the ball more and more which is why we play him at CHB and even in the ruck

When Petterd was drafted it was as a HBF, he was played up forward at the Dees. It was mentioned before he debuted for us that we thought he could slot in well at HB given he had experience there.

(Playing Seniors) Chaplin Rance Batchelor Dea Morris Houli (+mid role) Ellis Vlastuin
(Playing VFL) Helbig Astbury Griffiths
(Rookie) Darrou
(Injured) Petterd Grimes Newman (+mid role) Conca

Certainly enough depth we're just down 4 players on injury at Coburg. But remember the aim is to win matches for Richmond, not win matches for Coburg.

2nds vs Werribee Saturday @ Werribee