2nds WAFL 2016

Didnt simmo say dom will only play 40 mins of footy. Maybe it was ploy from the start and he was probably talking to the doctor about how his body went.

Why we gave Giles a 3 year contract is beyond me. He is flatfooted, doesn't get off the ground, is easily jostled off the ball and slow.
Darcy Cameron for Claremont on the other hand would have been a far better prospect. He played with enthusiasm, presented well when resting forward and stood up well in the ruck and around the ground. He nominated for the draft and is still young with good upside. Would have been a better option in my opinion.
Cole and Barrass looked good but you could raffle the rest of them. Karpany will not make it. He hasn't got any tricks, lacks pace and evasion skills. Partington is too small in stature ..... tries hard but looked out of his depth up against semi professionals. Lamb runs around like a headless chook. Is out of the game for too long and not in it enough.
Worst game I have seen the Royals play for years.

overreaction on here is ridiculous.

having said that, I've always gotten the feeling that lamb will never be a solid, consistent player, especially not for us. has go home written all over him. I guess he was worth a crack considering we drafted solid guys in duggan and Nelson that year.

Sent from my SM-G900I using Tapatalk

There is a lot to be said about a team that has a complete pre-season as a single exclusive unit. You can't expect a make shift team of young kids to pull it all together in the first game of the season. Of course they are going to be all over the place.

Cmon you can't be serious. Wasn't the whole purpose of this ridiculous alignment so that they all work together? That is one thing you can't use as an excuse.
Real truth is that there are many players on AFL lists that are just average WAFL players, when they play hungry good WAFL players they get beaten soundly. The Eagles had a training run yesterday while Claremont played for 4 points.

Cmon you can't be serious. Wasn't the whole purpose of this ridiculous alignment so that they all work together? That is one thing you can't use as an excuse.
Real truth is that there are many players on AFL lists that are just average WAFL players, when they play hungry good WAFL players they get beaten soundly. The Eagles had a training run yesterday while Claremont played for 4 points.

Most of them are just kids with some who haven't played a senior game in a team that they bearly know. I guess they have to be champions day one or gtfo.

You were the one who said they haven't trained together!! They have been together for a far longer bigger pre season doing far more advanced training deliver by far more advanced coaching than Claremont has.
Of course many are young kids I agree mate but they should put up a far better effort than that if the game was serious for them, after all WAFL players are a joke apparently and are many many levels down from AFL listed players.
I guess how serious the game was is the question.

You were the one who said they haven't trained together!! They have been together for a far longer bigger pre season doing far more advanced training deliver by far more advanced coaching than Claremont has.
Of course many are young kids I agree mate but they should put up a far better effort than that if the game was serious for them, after all WAFL players are a joke apparently and are many many levels down from AFL listed players.
I guess how serious the game was is the question.

Yeah under the shadow of 22 AFL players for 5 months. I wonder how many season/pre-seasons the Tigers et al have played as a single unit. You need to play and train together for an extended period of time to really get results not matter how good the individual players might be. But I get your point, they really should have put in more of an effort as individuals.

Are we expecting WAFL clubs to have equivalent preseasons to AFL clubs. I think not. Most WAFL players haven't sobered up until Feb. (Names with held to protect the guilty)

People see the 14 AFL listed players and think they should dominate. When you go through the individual players half of them aren't even that good or are really early development. Guys like Brophy shouldn't even be on a list. We had 2 guys out there that would be regular 22 and one of them played a quarter and a half.

ho
People see the 14 AFL listed players and think they should dominate. When you go through the individual players half of them aren't even that good or are really early development. Guys like Brophy shouldn't even be on a list. We had 2 guys out there that would be regular 22 and one of them played a quarter and a half.
how did brophey get a game over admason. Mind boggling stuff.

Giles is an interesting one. He had the same problem at Essendon. Played poorly in the VFL and never got a call up even when they ran out of ruckmen. He seems to go ok at AFL level though

Are we expecting WAFL clubs to have equivalent preseasons to AFL clubs. I think not. Most WAFL players haven't sobered up until Feb. (Names with held to protect the guilty)

No but it seems people are undervaluing how important it is for a group of individuals to play together in a team for an extended period. Prolong and sustained success demands this as a precondition.

I agree re Brophy. It staggers me that he gets a game at all. As for Giles, "he is the worst footballer I have ever seen" to quote one of the older members yesterday. He is soft, gets pushed off the ball too easily, cannot take a mark, cannot bend to pick up the ground balls and rarely hits a target ( when he actually gets the ball!)
Sheed looked a long way off and was struggling to run. He should have played reserves as he contributed next to nothing.

No but it seems people are undervaluing how important it is for a group of individuals to play together in a team for an extended period. Prolong and sustained success demands this as a precondition.
happy to give a cop out to a few kids but 2-5 year players with bigger bodies should dominate to the point that it isn't a capitulation on the score board

this is so. he is also our insurance policy so not a major concern

Unfortunately this insurance policy comes with with an annual premium of ~$150 - 200k and we are locked in for 3 years.
If he continues to put in pathetic, lazy efforts like he did yesterday I doubt we will put in a claim on the policy and play McInnes before him.

I think your right , the Tigers are very professional with how they prepare their preseason training and obviously everything clicked into place on Sat .

It's been a long time since we had dominant performances in the WAFL - not sure what's going on there.

Was looking at Brad Crouch's current performances for SC reasons, and found this - http://www.afc.com.au/news/2016-03-12/crouch-stars-in-sanfl

40 touches in first match in 8 months, plus 37 touches to a second year player in Wigg.

Stats aren't everything, but it does seem weird that our guys tend to under perform in the WAFL

2nds WAFL 2016