2nds WAFL / Beagles Watch 2023

I'll add an * to the above rant that it's good to see the success of the colts team but given they've been more than competitive for some time and there's been zero progress made with the seniors, you take it with a huge grain of salt.

Perth and many established fans are fools.

"It'll destroy the fabric of our club." - good, we're a complete laughing stock.

"We'll lose control of our own club." - good. We've proven incapable of running it ourselves.

"We'll lose all sense of identity." - who actually wants to identify as a perennial loser?

"It goes against our proud history." - lol okay. I think my great-great-great grandfather may have seen our last flag. Cool history bro.

"I'd rather win spoons alone than flags with an alignment." - lol okay. Y tho.

Imagine supporting that complete bucket of puss and continue coming back for more.

Wait...

And of course the eagles are so well run and going spectacularly at the moment …

Perth have put it into their constitution which I think needs 75% of their members to vote yea to allow an alignment….

Again the question is what’s in it for them? They loose most of their players who won’t play in an alignment, yes they get some money, they get no credit if it successful ( it’s only because of the eagles) and they will lose a decent chunk or members and supporters who won’t have anything more to do with the football club and won’t gain any…

The crows played in the SANFL prelim yesterday against a traditional team.. there would have been less than 50 crows fans there, you saw two in a scarf and jumper and that’s about it compared to the traditional club whose fans were up and about.

It won’t attract any new fans to Perth.. it just alienates those that are left.. East Perth are still counting the costs

And of course the eagles are so well run and going spectacularly at the moment …

100k members, money for days, one of the 3 most successful clubs in the AFL....

Yeh Eagles have had some massive on field problems the last few years, but they are a well run successful club.

What costs are East Perth experiencing?

We share our home with Perth. We are the Perth based team in the AFL. An alignment makes so much sense - even more so that the successful Freo / Peel one.

I losely support Peel - I have no issues with the alignment with Freo, despite supporting Freo in no way whatsoever.

Surely most Perth supporters are hungry for something better than what they have now.

Your crows example is a good part of why a alignment is better than a standalone beagles.

When Fitzroy merged they "lost" all their fans - those same fans were back celebrating when the lions three pleated. And this wouldnt even be a merger. Perth would still be Perth.

The crows played in the SANFL prelim yesterday against a traditional team.. there would have been less than 50 crows fans there, you saw two in a scarf and jumper and that’s about it compared to the traditional club whose fans were up and about.

A standalone Crows reserves with no existing junior structure to draw players from managed to make a prelim?

That seems like proof that the model we’ve got, ie basically the exact same model, can actually work.

Some sense of relevance to anything is the main thing.

I think it would prove fruitful for both parties in the long run.

They will have no more relevance with the eagles or without them.. those pushing for this idea have no love for the wafl or care.. none of them will go and it won’t do anything for Perth whatsoever.

I'm just assuming by your name that you support East Perth i.e. not Perth?

Easy to say from the outside. Sticking with the status quo isn't good enough for me. We're a basket case and have been for decades.

If it doesn't work then just fold the whole club. I'd rather we try something new.

And of course they would have relevance as the Eagles reserve side. Why wouldn't they? Be more competitive in the WAFL, host AFL players and play an important role in West Coast selection. If that's not more relevance I don't know what is tbh.

I think it can work but it must be run totally by the WAFL club. All that happens is the Eagles send a list saying these 10 players are available to play. We would be happy if they play in these positions but ultimately it’s totally up to the WAFL club.
It’s nit complicated but the Eagles stuff it up with every single scenario.

Whilst I think Peel have more say than East Perth did and Fremantle are more co-operative than WCE perhaps were to say their hands off at Peel is fanciful

B9087255-E433-4CC2-BDF5-BD414E203A7D.jpeg

Don’t see this being portrayed as Peel replacing their coach for example

I also think East Perth should be sharing some of the blame for the failed alignment. A part of their support base and likely some within management were openly resentful of the eagles and their players

Sat through plenty of games in the Leederville stand watching EP play with some supporters sooking over every WCE player error whilst forgiving those of their own

It works at Peel because they welcomed Fremantle. East Perth weren’t quite so accepting

Whilst I think Peel have more say than East Perth did and Fremantle are more co-operative than WCE perhaps were to say their hands off at Peel is fanciful

View attachment 1807455

I also think East Perth should be sharing some of the blame for the failed alignment. A part of their support base and likely some within management were openly resentful of the eagles and their players

Sat through plenty of games in the Leederville stand watching EP play with some supporters sooking over every WCE player error whilst forgiving those of their own

It works at Peel because they welcomed Fremantle. East Perth weren’t quite so accepting

That just sounds like more WCE excuses mate. Every single scenario does t work for the Eagles. They are the common denominator and the major problem fir themselves.

If Perth are really upset about losing members, when they have an average attendance of just over a thousand per game, well....

I understand their point of view though, and in part agree. If the Eagles boys can't go to Perth (or equivalent) and "demand" to be selected in their preferred positoin due to performance/skill/fitness over WAFL players, then they probably aren't AFL caliber.

View attachment 1807455

I remember going to Claremont games, and hearing the abuse Erik Mackenzie used to cop because he was an eagles player, even though he was a Claremont bred player. Same with Tom Swift and others. The grumpy old supporters hated any non WAFL players.

Sent from my CPH2197 using Tapatalk

And they would be the exact fans the WAFL desperately need to bring back
WAFL is basically

"Why is no one turning up. Ive tried calling them lazy, ive tried calling them arrogant, ive tried calling them stuck up snobs, ive tried abusing the teams they already support, but they still wont come to the game . Im perplexed"

Its basically the Simpsons idea of "Ive tried nothing and im all out of ideas"

Maybe the reason no one goes to the WAFL is because "the boys club" doesnt want you go to the WAFL. Much easier to be disinterested and whinge to the government for free money then it is to self-reflect and improve your product.

Im not even sure WAFLs issues are "bringing fans back" . Fan base isnt growing or shrinking. I know its grown since early 2010s in terms of people turning up largely thanks to the AFL pricing itself out of so manys reaches

WAFLs issue is more or less to do with too many old incompetent farts spending money on crap as well as rejecting money from commercial interests since theyd rather free money from the govt instead. Free money thats dried up recently

WAFL is basically

"Why is no one turning up. Ive tried calling them lazy, ive tried calling them arrogant, ive tried calling them stuck up snobs, ive tried abusing the teams they already support, but they still wont come to the game . Im perplexed"

Its basically the Simpsons idea of "Ive tried nothing and im all out of ideas"

Maybe the reason no one goes to the WAFL is because "the boys club" doesnt want you go to the WAFL. Much easier to be disinterested and whinge to the government for free money then it is to self-reflect and improve your product.

Nonsense. You got to Kay the blame at all the fans that loyalty meant nothing to them and dropped their footy club to support a new club in a different comp. They could have done both like some of us do.
And just how many of this loyal Eagles supporter base follow their reserves side?

Im not even sure WAFLs issues are "bringing fans back" . Fan base isnt growing or shrinking. I know its grown since early 2010s in terms of people turning up largely thanks to the AFL pricing itself out of so manys reaches

WAFLs issue is more or less to do with too many old incompetent farts spending money on crap as well as rejecting money from commercial interests since theyd rather free money from the govt instead. Free money thats dried up recently

What free money do the WAFL get?

Nonsense. You got to Kay the blame at all the fans that loyalty meant nothing to them and dropped their footy club to support a new club in a different comp. They could have done both like some of us do.
And just how many of this loyal Eagles supporter base follow their reserves side?
Did they? What were the TV numbers and fan attendnaces for WAFL before the Eagles/Freo came on board? I know my family didnt support any WAFL team before the Eagles came on board. Without the media influence etc, following a West Perth was too hard etc. Not only that, West Perth back then really didnt try to attract fans, they just wanted to be a mates club so you didnt go unless you got a invite. When a alternative came in place, this didnt work out well when someone else with more money came in and they could no longer be a boys club and be successful anymore

West Perth is a good example really of doing nothing to generate revenue and crying they dont have enough money. Joondalup Stadium there could be rented out for so many things but getting West Perth to hand over the keys is like getting the keys to get into Buckingham Palace.

Provided links before in this thread. Ill need to find them again etc. WAFL/WAFC went to govt asking for more funding this year

WAFC do, not sure how much the WAFL clubs get?
So what if they do? The government bailed out the Eagles once.
The WAFC as owners of the Eagles should be taking a hell of a lot more. They own and should get the profits.

Did they? What were the TV numbers and fan attendnaces for WAFL before the Eagles/Freo came on board? I know my family didnt support any WAFL team before the Eagles came on board. Without the media influence etc, following a West Perth was too hard etc. Not only that, West Perth back then really didnt try to attract fans, they just wanted to be a mates club so you didnt go unless you got a invite. When a alternative came in place, this didnt work out well when someone else with more money came in and they could no longer be a boys club and be successful anymore

West Perth is a good example really of doing nothing to generate revenue and crying they dont have enough money. Joondalup Stadium there could be rented out for so many things but getting West Perth to hand over the keys is like getting the keys to get into Buckingham Palace.

Again nonsense, west Perth moved to Joondalup abd operated without a bar for 20 years. Wtf do you want these WAFL clubs to do?

Again nonsense, west Perth moved to Joondalup abd operated with a bar for 20 years. Wtf do you want these WAFL clubs to do?
Utilise the fricken prime real estate they are on ?

Opening a bar begrudingly and unwillingly doesnt count as "trying to generate revenue"

As a example, Joondalup Stadium should be hosting many concerts, many festivals. After the football season it should basically be used every single weekend for non football events. If I remember right also, Perth Royal Show wanted to move to Joondalup stadium due to Claremont Showgrounds upgrades and West Perth told them no, they are not interested etc

Apart from being a collection ground for fertiliser, the ground is simply unused and that is largely West Perth related

WAFC do, not sure how much the WAFL clubs get?
So what if they do? The government bailed out the Eagles once.
The WAFC as owners of the Eagles should be taking a hell of a lot more. They own and should get the profits.
Thats like saying

"I gave birth to my son, he should give me his wages"

Not really how the real world works unfortunately. You need to take responsibility for your own. Crying with cap in hand because you failed to look after yourself isnt something the Eagles should involve itself in. Cut the poison out and move on with your life should be the Eagles approach to this