Walker is Carltons trade bait

If Walker is traded, heads would roll. Many, many heads.

why would heads roll? you can't trade crap for quality players. You are kidding yourself if you think we will give away nothing and get everyone to play for us. I would be sad to see walker go but for the right price (late first round to early second rounder) i think we would be mad to not take it.

Half back like Andy McKay or rotating through the middle in a defensive role like the game where he was BOG against Shaun Burgoyne last year.

Not many guys around who are that big, but still fast and mobile running around.

Walker's aggression makes up for any flaws.

He's no Farren Ray who is still a stick.

Whats the deal with his shoulders ?

Will it be a continuing problem for the rest of his career ?

Brett Ratten said earlier in the year that Walker and Judd are on a par as the fittest players on the Carlton list. The guy can also play so I find it pretty hard to believe that he is trade bate.

why would heads roll? you can't trade crap for quality players. You are kidding yourself if you think we will give away nothing and get everyone to play for us. I would be sad to see walker go but for the right price (late first round to early second rounder) i think we would be mad to not take it.

What, you mean that isn't the case? :eek: :confused:

Obviously we have to give up something to get something, but the average football fan tends to overrate draft picks.

My reasons for not wanting to trade Walker are simple - he's my favourite player at the club bar none, but more importantly:
  1. Is coming of an injury ravaged year and a half and as such we'd unlikely get fair value. Even if we do get something resembling fair value, there are some players that are worth more to a team than their market price. Walker is one of those in my opinion - versatile and can play in a range of positions, plus his aggression and attack on the footy is one of the best in our team. Can also do a defensive job when needed.
  2. Hasn't yet come of age, though showed signs in the few games he played this season that he's ready to take his game to another level. Personally, I thought he was in career best form mid 07, prior to the Hawthorn shellacking where he first had shoulder problems, though hasn't been able to get out on the park for an extended period since.

I wouldn't even look twice at a late first rounder if it was offered for Walker, who already has shown that he has the talent to play 150-200 games at this level, whilst history has shown that it's hard enough getting picks 6-10 right, let alone pick 14-20. Not worth the risk when Walker is already a more than handy player in his own right, and at only 22 coming off effectively a year out of footy, one with a fair bit of development left in him.

But he wouldn't knock it back.

Absolutely he wouldn't, would be crazy if he did.

If Carlton could get ROK in a straight swap for Walker I'd imagine thay'd take it in a second.

Trading a questionable player that hasn't had the impact we expected for an experienced, quality premiership player is a no brainer

Brett Ratten said earlier in the year that Walker and Judd are on a par as the fittest players on the Carlton list. The guy can also play so I find it pretty hard to believe that he is trade bate.
The rumours also have me perplexed. In the weeks prior to his return, it was clear that Ratten held Walker in very high regard and was eagerly anticipating his return.

Walker = Early 1st Rounder or bugger off.

Will be played up forward next year - hides his only deficiency (can have poor decision making when kicking/ handballing to a contest on occasion).

Has a towering leap, contests well, strong fast and agile. Can crumb and can take pack parks. Decent kick.

i actually rate Walker.

Reckon when he came back this year he looked great.

however there was speculation that he was quite frustrated at the club for not playing him sooner.

Reckon he is a good small defensive player who can swing forward.

But as people say, if Carlton as serious about Warnock and O'Keefe something has to give, and he makes the most sense

Exactly right! Would be insane to trade him right now.

Walker for Thorp and 4th rounder!

You're kidding BiB! Thorpe and #66 for Walker! :eek:

With a proper pre-season under his belt he threatens to do what Cooney did this year and fair dinkum explode in 2009. Strong, fast and aggressive - Thorpe and a late 2nd rounder would be required for me to trade that away.

Will be played up forward next year - hides his only deficiency (can have poor decision making when kicking/ handballing to a contest on occasion).

Has a towering leap, contests well, strong fast and agile. Can crumb and can take pack parks. Decent kick.
Sounds like Buddy Franklin. Where do we sign?:eek:

For all you muppets who make up crap i dont give a toss wat u think im a north melbourne supporter so it doesnt worry me in the slightest if you believe me, but carltons offer at moment for warnock is pick 24 + jordan bannister (who will get a 2 year contract there, and only 1 at carlton) for warnock. as for walker he is there high profile bait but may not go anywhere.

Not sure about that. I reckon Watts and Rich are close to locked.

Blues would have jumped all over Natanui last year, ahead of Kreuzer, had been eligible. Funny, because that's exactly what NickNat did to Kreuzer at the Champs!!:D

Ah yes... but Kreuzer had a great first up season.. and NicNat hasnt...

And tiges have no good talls...:thumbsu::)

Anyway....on Walker... he aint going nowhere......

I reckon he is worth a late second rounder.

For all you muppets who make up crap i dont give a toss wat u think im a north melbourne supporter so it doesnt worry me in the slightest if you believe me, but carltons offer at moment for warnock is pick 24 + jordan bannister (who will get a 2 year contract there, and only 1 at carlton) for warnock. as for walker he is there high profile bait but may not go anywhere.

I hope you are right, like to keep Walker and get Warnock at that price.

Walker is Carltons trade bait