Autopsy We are the 2013 Premiers!!!!! Do the autopsy, express your joy.... all the good stuff

Just got home from the GF and I have to say, one of the best experiences of my life. Atmosphere was simply awesome, and a massive congrats must go to the Freo fans today who were in full voice and really help make the atmosphere as good as it was.

I think we need to thanks a few people today for the win, obviously Lake, Gunston, et al, but a group of guys that should get a shit load of kudos right now are our recruiters. Hale, Lakes, Gunston, Burgoyne, and Gibson, played a huge part in our win this year andit just shows that smart recruiting can take you so far.

Great work Hawkies

Those 2lads took about 20 mins out of their day to take photos with our group in the car park at the start of the day! Great effort by them and both were in great spirits. Good club people hope they get a chance to snag a flag. Phark what a great day

'Ladies and gentlemen, Matthew Suckling'.

AH are you going to publish anything from your research?

Nah, it's all just self interest. I decided to take a look at Hudson's Tassie record and see if I can get close to the definitive number of goals he kicked. I did seasons 1963-1966 with New Norfolk before coming to the Hawks, then I did season 1978 where he kicked 191 goals, and I got to round 4 of 1979 where he already has 33 goals ... then I realized the time. I was so engrossed I nearly missed the start of the GF :)

I know he played in Glenorchy's 1975 premiership team, but do you know if he played much footy in Tassie in the years 1973 & 74?

People may have varying views about Clarko, but I absolutely tip my hat off to the guy. He has been totally committed to Hawthorn, the coaching caper and football in general, and is always looking for different strategies and tactics to make Hawthorn more formidable. He has shown incredible loyalty to Hawthorn in the face of snide remarks and suggestions he shove off to another club. (I bet other clubs would love him!)

I also like his involvement in footy at the grass-roots level - he goes to see junior footy matches in his free time (and has verbal sprays when he sees something he doesn't like - the only thing the media is interested in). If he could seal a back-to-back Hawthorn grand final next year, I'd rate him up there with Alan Jeans.

Just my thoughts.

Just a beautiful day. I am very happy.
Congratulations to all the Hawthorn Bigfooty folk on here...It's been a difficult year on the road to redemption. To the Mods...thanks for keeping us sane at times.
To Lance Franklin. Good luck whereever you may land my friend. We couldn't have done it without you.

One last thing I have before we head to the promised land again in 2014. I have two words for you. They are not dissimilar to a time when I uttered another young mans name once in Jason Dunstall. To the Hawk faithful. Jack Gunston. Cometh the man cometh the hour. He is ours for a long time! Best wishes.

PREMIERES 2013!

Homer-yells-nerd.gif

No, not really a nerd, just someone who realized a long time ago that getting drunk and waking up with hangovers was not only a damned silly thing to do, but just a waste of time. So I devote my free time to events that make me happy.

GO THE HAWKERS!

Such a big relief in the early parts of the last quarter, after toiling all day we finally started to get away and at that point they were never going to peg us back.

So happy for Max Bailey, surely that will serve as inspiration for WhiteX.

Can't really think of anyone who didn't stand up and do themselves proud today, everyone just played their role (jeez, starting to sound like Clarko)

I respect Freo a lot and they can be proud of their efforts today but it was great to see Crowley miss that shot late and Ballaz have an absolute shocker!

There is.

A great big F*** YOU to Tredrea who wrote the most appalling piece of crap, effectively saying we were soft, weak & couldn't cope with the pressure.

Another one to Josh Jenkins, who also wrote us off completely.

Bartel went against us too.

So did Selwood, and Harry Taylor, the majority of Geelong players didn't pick us to win. Up yours dickhead media commentators and know all journalists. You are ALL going down tne sinkhole

Really good win today. We never quite hit the heights and it proves what Clarko said all along, they're not easy to win.

Felt that Freo mirrored what we did last year to a large degree - they'll be haunted by their kicking at goal for a long, long time. I think the scoring shots stat doesn't tell the whole tale; IIRC we had one snap from Hodge that went OOF, and they had at least 3 OOF plus Pav's "centering" kick, and so many points from easy shots. Dreadful loss of composure... now guess what happens when you go to the GF and the other side is giving it right back to you in a cauldron of 100,000 screaming fans? Aha... well I guess all the bandwagon flogs forgot that little detail.

Such a massive heck YOU to the idiots like BT who carried on all week about how we'd crack under Freo's pressure. Maniacal? Tell that to Puopolo. Tell that to Stratts when he ran down Crowley. Tell that to Buddy who sacrificed his own game to lay hits on Crowley. Tell that to Jordan Lewis. Tell that to Brad Sewell who walked out onto the arena with a massive grin, got SFA possessions but laid 7 tackles. Tell that to Mitchell who went hard all day despite tactics that are a disgrace to the game. Maniacal? Turn it up.

Hallmark of the win for me was the all-round contribution. Who'd have thought before the game if you'd said Mitchell and Sewell would get about 24 touches between them, we'd be any hope in hell?

Some of the individuals -

Gunston, people said before the game we'd want him to be the first bloke with a shot on goal. Enough said.
Lake, Norm Smith for a defender, please join Gary Ayres and Luke Hodge in our pantheon.
Bailey, 3 recons and a premiership. Still waiting for that part where Sandilands monsters him. Well done - such a great story.
Hale, delivered on the big stage yet again. Wow.
Smith, that kick. Arrived when it counted, well done.
Stratton, Gibson, Guerra, Hodge, just all-round hard at it, super defending.
Puopolo, pit bull terrier and then so completely casual up on stage. What a competitor.
Buddy, wasn't his greatest game but gee I loved the footage of him crashing Crowley. And that moment when he hit the ball at warp speed and laid it off... shivers.
Birchall, settled really early and set the tone for our kicking game - such a difference from last year.

And on and on. That's even not touching on Hodgey, Rioli, 2-flags Simpkin and the rest.

But one of my biggest favourites in all of this?

HEY JORDAN LEWIS: THEY SAID YOU GO MISSING IN BIG GAMES!

I want to give a small shout out to Pav. Shot of him with family in the rooms says it all, sad for a top champ. Hope Buddy was listening when Hodge spoke of the respect for Pav's loyalty.

You forgot Sheila...not only was he huge last week against the cats but was fantastic today in mitigating the Freo midfield when they were dominating the clearances

Unlucky for Gunston not to win the NS when he was clearly the best forward on the ground by a country mile

I said from the beginning of the year that Lakey was the final piece of the puzzle and he proved it today...if Stevie J called himself "The Reason"in 2009 then Lakey was "The Difference" today ;)

So proud of Hilly....loved Stratts running down the pest Crowley and Punky's roving goal

so happy for Maxy vindicating the clubs decision to stick by him

I think Buddy is gone and will one day regret the decision to leave such an awesome club but that's life

Bad luck Clinton Young...sometimes the grass isn't greener ;)

Well done to the club and the supporters...we really are the family club, WE ARE HAWTHORN

Forgot to mention Smith's goal in the last, ive never seen him kick that long straight before and probably never will but yeah pretty good timing:thumbsu:

Initially he was looking to lay it off,
(don't know it the TV showed it), Silk was about 20m away and was screaming at him to take the shot, while pointing at the sticks.
Teammates believing in oneanother, on the big stage!

Just arrived home what a day and what a win!!

I'm totally buggered but iim on the top of the world right now!!

This is why I love hawthorn FC.

Thank you hawthorn football club got this wonderful journey this year

Hawks 2013 premiers yeah baby!!!

Given Mitchell only had 12 touches for the game a week after having 38, Sewell and Burgoyne were reasonably quiet by their lofty standards, a lot of Hawthorn's role players stood up and made themselves count to the victory. I thought Hill was very good in the first quarter and later in the game. Shiels did a strong job running with the Fremantle midfielders.

So happy right now. Gunston was enormous on a day goals were difficult to come by. Roughead was poor in the first half but stepped it up in the second and kicked some important goals to seal the deal.

I'm so pleased and delighted that I could share today with two of my three children. My two eldest came last year and it wasn't enjoyable, but today sure was.

The sweet taste of victory.

I must praise Maclure, he supported us right through the year, unlike Whateley, and Hall, did not pick us either to win. Down the sinkhole you stooges too.I doubt there would be 5 media stooges that picked us to win. You all got the purples wrong, didn't you? Who won the manical pressure today hey? The Dockers were the BEST huh? You media twits are a shame to your Channel. Praising the dockers for tackles. We taught them a lesson today. Remember Coach Lyon,the rugby coach,hehe you have lost FOUR GRAND FINALS..Shove it Lyon..:p

Autopsy We are the 2013 Premiers!!!!! Do the autopsy, express your joy.... all the good stuff