- Jul 27, 2023
- AFL Club
- West Coast
Supercoach Round 3 SC Talk - Round 3 Trades ,//, AFL Fantasy Round 2 AF Talk - Round 3 AF Trades
Negative but, after old mate wobbles came tumbling down the stairs to have a pop, it’s just a thought that has cumulatively built over time:
- I’ve never seen more grown men, be they media, umpires, opposition fans, opposition players, more keen to use one player to make a name for themselves. The Harley Reid treatment is astonishing and needs calling out. It was the thing that pissed me off the most with Simmo, he did a great job telling the media to just be a bit more aware of their actions on the way out, but needed to stamp down the agenda that there is seemingly this anything goes target on Harley because he had the audacity to be drafted Pick 1. Any Eagles fan who doesn’t go in to bat for this kid is a mug.
The talent is raw, but it's abundant and obvious. His so called "bad attitude" will serve him well when he matures and can harness that angst.Sorry to quote this cross-thread but made more sense in here for the discussion (agree with it and your other posts on the topic).
Everyone's piling on him for worrying too much about the umpires, fighting opposition, mouthing off, not getting 30 touches and 5 goals, all that stuff.
I honestly cannot name another player who's come into the game with as much pressure surrounding him as Harley. Targeted in his first pre-season game, a billion articles, analysis of his every breath on every footy show, opposition mids in their late 20s scragging him all game, rule interpretations around taking too long to break a tackle brought in straight after his first season that would impact his game more than anyone's in the comp, not being looked after by umpires (for reasons partially self-inflicted sure), fans booing him, having to play full midfield in a shit side before he's fit enough to because his team is so thin there.
I forget who posted this (may have been you) but someone pointed out how much fun he was early on - both to watch and that he was clearly personally having fun. Taking people on for the sake of it, having a laugh when he was caught holding the ball but still cracking in, revving up the crowd but not stressing the negatives. There was a quote from him playing a stagnant game of VFL in his draft year where he mentioned throwing in a few fendoffs just to spice up the game a bit.
This is a kid who, at his best, plays footy for fun, is fun to watch, can put a big smile on your face the way Naitanui could. He's not a robot like Daicos or Sheezel who just function, function, function, probably go home after a game and plug themselves into their Tesla charging station and don't reboot till the next training session. Yet it feels like the fun and uniqueness is been crushed out of him.
There's a thread in The Mighty Ducks (the second one) where Bombay and the team buy into the hype and media, the pressure builds, they don't unite and it all leads to them losing their edge and getting belted by Iceland (a pack of Daicos robots). They turn things around two ways. The players get back to their roots playing street hockey against a local team who've been heckling them all tournament, and rediscover a bit of the fun and instinct of it for themselves. And Coach Bombay burns all his cardboard cutouts and sponsorship stuff and for their last session, instead of drilling them on tactics, reminds them hockey is about fun and they have a session with a beach ball and lassos and shit.
This is obviously a cheesy comparison but we really need to tap into it with Harley (and honestly some of our other players too). Get the whole club around him, burn all the media stuff (in a spiritual sense), go into bat for him, take aggressive stands in the media, let him know that to us, the players, club and even fans, that we just want to see him have fun out there and we'll back him in. If he's fighting someone, screw whether it's a good idea or not, tell some of our young boys like Hall, Ginbey, Hewett, Long, Dewar to get in there with him. He's probably weighed with so much pressure around getting caught HTB and the vitriol he'll receive - hell, get Mini to put as a KPI on the team board 3 solid fendoffs for the game and have the boys track that, have a laugh about it. Could do a world of good when opposition are in his ear all game, a leader like Duggan rather than just saying "ignore it mate" and leaving it to him, gives him a cheeky reminder in the fourth quarter that he still needs another don't-argue to hit his targets.
Yeah sure, he shouldn't stage, shouldn't stress about the umpires, should focus on his own game, all of that. I just truly believe that stuff will come from a different source to the Daicos robot method, where Pendles likely told him "just block out the noise and ignore everything" and Daicos beeped "affirmative". I think it'll come when we truly get around him, embrace him for who he is and acknowledge it rather than skirt around it - make it an us against them. Next time he gives the finger to the Brisbane crowd, how about Oscar joins him! Think this is a test for us as a club that's about more than Harley Reid - it's about how we'll respond when one of our players is targeted. Don't care what Damian Barrett says, don't care if we're losing and it looks too big for our boots, don't care about any of the optics. Let's get bloody unsociable.
here here, well saidSorry to quote this cross-thread but made more sense in here for the discussion (agree with it and your other posts on the topic).
Everyone's piling on him for worrying too much about the umpires, fighting opposition, mouthing off, not getting 30 touches and 5 goals, all that stuff.
I honestly cannot name another player who's come into the game with as much pressure surrounding him as Harley. Targeted in his first pre-season game, a billion articles, analysis of his every breath on every footy show, opposition mids in their late 20s scragging him all game, rule interpretations around taking too long to break a tackle brought in straight after his first season that would impact his game more than anyone's in the comp, not being looked after by umpires (for reasons partially self-inflicted sure), fans booing him, having to play full midfield in a shit side before he's fit enough to because his team is so thin there.
I forget who posted this (may have been you) but someone pointed out how much fun he was early on - both to watch and that he was clearly personally having fun. Taking people on for the sake of it, having a laugh when he was caught holding the ball but still cracking in, revving up the crowd but not stressing the negatives. There was a quote from him playing a stagnant game of VFL in his draft year where he mentioned throwing in a few fendoffs just to spice up the game a bit.
This is a kid who, at his best, plays footy for fun, is fun to watch, can put a big smile on your face the way Naitanui could. He's not a robot like Daicos or Sheezel who just function, function, function, probably go home after a game and plug themselves into their Tesla charging station and don't reboot till the next training session. Yet it feels like the fun and uniqueness is been crushed out of him.
There's a thread in The Mighty Ducks (the second one) where Bombay and the team buy into the hype and media, the pressure builds, they don't unite and it all leads to them losing their edge and getting belted by Iceland (a pack of Daicos robots). They turn things around two ways. The players get back to their roots playing street hockey against a local team who've been heckling them all tournament, and rediscover a bit of the fun and instinct of it for themselves. And Coach Bombay burns all his cardboard cutouts and sponsorship stuff and for their last session, instead of drilling them on tactics, reminds them hockey is about fun and they have a session with a beach ball and lassos and shit.
This is obviously a cheesy comparison but we really need to tap into it with Harley (and honestly some of our other players too). Get the whole club around him, burn all the media stuff (in a spiritual sense), go into bat for him, take aggressive stands in the media, let him know that to us, the players, club and even fans, that we just want to see him have fun out there and we'll back him in. If he's fighting someone, screw whether it's a good idea or not, tell some of our young boys like Hall, Ginbey, Hewett, Long, Dewar to get in there with him. He's probably weighed with so much pressure around getting caught HTB and the vitriol he'll receive - hell, get Mini to put as a KPI on the team board 3 solid fendoffs for the game and have the boys track that, have a laugh about it. Could do a world of good when opposition are in his ear all game, a leader like Duggan rather than just saying "ignore it mate" and leaving it to him, gives him a cheeky reminder in the fourth quarter that he still needs another don't-argue to hit his targets.
Yeah sure, he shouldn't stage, shouldn't stress about the umpires, should focus on his own game, all of that. I just truly believe that stuff will come from a different source to the Daicos robot method, where Pendles likely told him "just block out the noise and ignore everything" and Daicos beeped "affirmative". I think it'll come when we truly get around him, embrace him for who he is and acknowledge it rather than skirt around it - make it an us against them. Next time he gives the finger to the Brisbane crowd, how about Oscar joins him! Think this is a test for us as a club that's about more than Harley Reid - it's about how we'll respond when one of our players is targeted. Don't care what Damian Barrett says, don't care if we're losing and it looks too big for our boots, don't care about any of the optics. Let's get bloody unsociable.
As I just said to my Docker neighbours... You may get your first win... But problem is Harley is going to go apeshit. Nothing surer. And that's a problem for any team.I reckon he has a big game this week - smokey for the Glendinning
I'm still really annoyed he was robbed of one last year.I reckon he has a big game this week - smokey for the Glendinning
The great Australian past timeHarley is evidence that tall poppy syndrome is alive and well in Australia.
he gets little to no protection from the umpires OR HIS TEAMMATES and opposition sides know they can target him with virtual impunity
Yep. Might be looking too much into it but I’m still rubbed the wrong way at when Hewett was cleaned up by De Goey a few years ago - not a single player other than Greg Clark went to stick up for his teammate who had just gotten hurt. There were more Pies blokes sticking up for JDG, that irks me stillFixed
Yeah I haven't forgotten that either. The last time we stood up for anyone (in my memory) was when Jonas knocked out Gaffy in 2016.Yep. Might be looking too much into it but I’m still rubbed the wrong way at when Hewett was cleaned up by De Goey a few years ago - not a single player other than Greg Clark went to stick up for his teammate who had just gotten hurt. There were more Pies blokes sticking up for JDG, that irks me still
We've got a few choices to make.realistically what do we get for reid when he goes end of next year?
if they pull the same stunt as pick 3 last year and we end up with two rejects and a ball butcher midget i will be somewhat displeased
We've got a few choices to make.
Do we let Harley go in to next year uncontracted? WE could potentially get less given his contract status, but he might also have a Judd like year 3 and win a Brownlow inflating his price.
There's also Tassie. We need to make sure that we don't accept 2027 picks (unless it's almost guaranteed to be a top 3 pick) for Harley. Tassie has 7 picks in top 13 with the first being pick 3. Any compo for Harley will be greatly diluted in 2027 draft.
Also - who has what picks this year? IF Essendon and Melbourne are both top 4, and Essendon have pick 3,4,23,25 and F1 as they currently do. Do we just deal with bombers this year and clean them out?
If we get to October this year and Harley hasn't extended there are some important decisions that need to be made.
Just a complete shambolic sh!tshow at WC, zero leadership zero foresight zero backbone and incredibly dumb trading
Reid goes out as Tassie comes in and completely ruins the draft and the supporters will be asked to swallow yet another sh!t sandwich. Pick 9 and 29 for reid or some other bulldust, can almost gurantee Hawthorn or Collingwood will see the best of him. Yeah thanks fellas. Done with these pretenders.