Universal Love Welcome to Freo- Josh Treacy

60dd9a80-257a-4d46-afd2-141439d400c0-jpeg.1689328

Has taken his eyes off the ball, horrible technique...drop him! :cool:

It was a telling and potentially pivotal moment for Cyclone this grab I reckon. You could see how much cleaner his hands were in a contest almost immediately. The drops against Saints and Norths were a distant memory. I think in a few years if he proves to be the player I think he is (think a rich man's Jack Darling) this game and maybe even this mark will be a telling moment in his career.

He had a similar but not quite as good grab taken off him against Geelong over there last year. He was pretty deflated after it was taken off him. I was at that game and he was shaking his head for a good few minutes afterwards. It was also in that game where we missed him sooooo many times when he had made a good lead and we instead went to other much worse options like an outnumbered Lobb or kicked it over his head to his opponent. I vividly remember Collier, Acres and Aish doing it. Collier multiple times as my mate and I ended up joking about how much Collier had cost Treacy on the day.

That game could have been the making of him, hopefully Sunday's was albeit a year later. The way he played after this grab was much more assured and confident. Great stuff from him.

Has taken his eyes off the ball, horrible technique...drop him! :cool:

It was a telling and potentially pivotal moment for Cyclone this grab I reckon. You could see how much cleaner his hands were in a contest almost immediately. The drops against Saints and Norths were a distant memory. I think in a few years if he proves to be the player I think he is (think a rich man's Jack Darling) this game and maybe even this mark will be a telling moment in his career.

He had a similar but not quite as good grab taken off him against Geelong over there last year. He was pretty deflated after it was taken off him. I was at that game and he was shaking his head for a good few minutes afterwards. It was also in that game where we missed him sooooo many times when he had made a good lead and we instead went to other much worse options like an outnumbered Lobb or kicked it over his head to his opponent. I vividly remember Collier, Acres and Aish doing it. Collier multiple times as my mate and I ended up joking about how much Collier had cost Treacy on the day.

That game could have been the making of him, hopefully Sunday's was albeit a year later. The way he played after this grab was much more assured and confident. Great stuff from him.
Collier sounds bloody worse than Colyer, by the sounds.

Get around the Restump Podcast latest ep guys, Cyclone was on for an appearance. Starts off pretty hard listening as an interview but builds into a great ep with a few niche tidbits to take out of it.
Cyclone is definitely in contract talks is the best bit of info to hear from it! Also Darcy has nicknamed himself the Prince of Perth which is elite :tearsofjoy:

Mind you, key forward at afl level is bloody hard. He could have an absolutely impeccable pre season, dominate match sims and improve his best footy by 20%, then once matches start could average 10 possessions and kick 25 goals for the year. It takes time
well Treacy kicked 13 goals and 10 behinds from 15 games in his debut season of 2021.

only played 5 games and kicked 1 goal in 2022.

So far he has kicked 7 goals and 1 behind from only 5 games in 2023. If he kicks 15 goals from 15 games this season, I am not too fussed.

eventually he will kick 30-40 goals in a full season.

well Treacy kicked 13 goals and 10 behinds from 15 games in his debut season of 2021.

only played 5 games and kicked 1 goal in 2022.

So far he has kicked 7 goals and 1 behind from only 5 games in 2023. If he kicks 15 goals from 15 games this season, I am not too fussed.

eventually he will kick 30-40 goals in a full season.
Can see JT being a nice foil for Jye. He will tackle, block, compete and chop out in the ruck. If he can get to about 30 goals a year he will be valuable because of his work rate

I can't see why not at this stage. Hopefully his ceiling is closer to 40 goals though. He has dropped marks and missed gettable goals this season so he should be getting better at both when he gets to 50/100 games.

I highly doubt the club is in a rush to sign him off the back of 2 good games.
It wouldn't be just on the back of his past two games. They'd have a whole body of data for evidence, including his training application, attitude to learning, capacity to adapt to the role, how he interacts with the squad and coaches etc.

I'd say the past few games would be an affirmation of the broader body of evidence (if he'd got all that right).

Universal Love Welcome to Freo- Josh Treacy