Welcome Welcome to Hawthorn: Cody Anderson

Looks like he has similar closing speed to The Wizard but he hits a lot harder due to his size. I haven’t seen many underage kids tackle with that level of ferocity before (any?)

As previously mentioned I am also not a fan of the sub rule (in fact I hate it) but he looks well suited to coming on as a substitute to wreck havoc in the middle / up forward. Reckon he could play a few games next year if his fitness is up to standard.

Bloody unit for an 18 year old as well!

Wardlaw and JHF were ferocious at underage level.

I can see how Cody gets game time in 2025. Day and Newcombe are both very versatile and don't have to play midfield. Nash just needs to improve his overhead marking and he will also be very versatile. Rotation depth provides a competitive advantage. If Cody is ready, he could get decent midfield minutes without displacing a current mid. It will all depend on how how quickly he can sharpen up his disposal.
Day
Newcombe
Nash
Worpel
Moore
McKenzie
McDonald
Ward
Maginness

……….break glass…..

Watson
Ginnavin

Wings: D’Ambrosio, Morrison, Jiath.

Plus Weddle, Sicily and Hardwick shifting upfield occasionally.

Would be almost impossible for him to get “decent midfield minutes without displacing a current mid”.

Day
Newcombe
Nash
Worpel
Moore
McKenzie
McDonald
Ward
Maginness

……….break glass…..

Watson
Ginnavin

Wings: D’Ambrosio, Morrison, Jiath.

Plus Weddle, Sicily and Hardwick shifting upfield occasionally.

Would be almost impossible for him to get “decent midfield minutes without displacing a current mid”.
Moore, Croc, Ward and Maginness are not regular mids. I am not sure Croc has had any midfield minutes. Moore has had cameos, but no serious midfield time. Maginness and Ward are not even regular best 22, playing 13 and 12 games respectively last year in "odd-job" roles.

As I pointed out, if Anderson turns out to be effective in the stoppages (which remains to be seen), Day and Newcombe can be deployed very effectively elsewhere, and I think that Nash is on track to becoming a utility once(if) he gets his overhead marking up to scratch.

I therefore think we can find a place in the rotations for a high-energy midfield scrapper, who can wear down opposition mids while winning his own ball. Gives us the luxury of rotating in the real class when we need it.

Moore, Croc, Ward and Maginness are not regular mids. I am not sure Croc has had any midfield minutes. Moore has had cameos, but no serious midfield time. Maginness and Ward are not even regular best 22, playing 13 and 12 games respectively last year in "odd-job" roles.

As I pointed out, if Anderson turns out to be effective in the stoppages (which remains to be seen), Day and Newcombe can be deployed very effectively elsewhere, and I think that Nash is on track to becoming a utility once(if) he gets his overhead marking up to scratch.

I therefore think we can find a place in the rotations for a high-energy midfield scrapper, who can wear down opposition mids while winning his own ball. Gives us the luxury of rotating in the real class when we need it.
All of them were mids at u18 level. Just like Anderson.

They’re all now 3-4 years older and bigger.

He won’t be displacing them.

I'm going to watch Beast closely.
I think he has potential to be a top line player in our midfield, but I can also see him being someone starved for opportunity at the highest level and fizzling out because of it.

I've not forgotten that I read then proclaimed here that he could be a first round pick in this draft and I'm still thinking in 5-8 years time I'm going to be proven correct on that.

Did he play more more as a defensive forward or midfielder this year?
Yeah I’m a bit perplexed about all the defensive forward talk he’s clearly a mid for mine. I’m hoping he comes on quickly in the middle and we can use Newc and Day in different roles to make us more dangerous.

Injuries aside, iterested to know why he went so late. Came top 10 in the 20m sprint in the 23 combine which is genuine speed.

Looks like a pure jet. Most likely to slot in next to Wiz up forward in the poppy role over the next decade but I can see Sam Mitchell potentially putting him with the backs in a Willie Rioli / Ksiyah Pickett / Bobby Hill lockdown role.

The peripheral tackling pressure he brings alongside Moore, Wiz, D'Ambrosio is going to bring a tonne of turnovers and assists thru the corridor.

Hok Ball Beast Mode setting activated
He went late because his skills are poor, and skills are far more important than many on this board think. If you look at the history of the fastest players in terms of their sprint testing, there are relatively few of each years top 10s still on AFL lists. The ones that are have the skill to match.

We always have high hopes for kids coming into the team, even with late picks, but Anderson seems unlikely at this stage. He isn't a high upside tall, or an unknown player that is relatively underexposed, he's a player that every club saw plenty of and he still slid to this pick.

That said, I think he'll light up Box Hill which will be great for his confidence and I think we've got a system and a coaching unit who will get the best out of him, if he proves me wrong I wouldn't be upset at all - but he's not making it into this side unless we're really unfortunate on the injury front.

The problem is both Day and Newcombe are clearly our best midfielders, and out of our midfield group only Day has proven himself to be truly versatile (Nash as a relief ruck notwithstanding).

Newcombe, IMO, could be effective resting forward given his strength overhead and in 1v1 contests, but he's not played the role for any extended period during games.

Moore is an excellent pinch hitting midfielder, every time he rolls through there he seems to affect the play in a positive way. I hope he keeps getting several CBA's a game.

Midfield rotation:
Day
Newcombe
Worpel
Nash
Mackenzie
Moore

Plus we could use any of - Ward, Ginnivan, Watson, MacDonald or Maginess during games. Granted Ward and Maginess aren't guaranteed games.

I can't see Anderson forcing his way into the side so early into his career. Especially as his kicking needs work, that is such an important area of the game. It's seemingly understated how important it is on here.

I just went back and had a look at his sole VFL game this season. Some points to note:he runs hard both ways; he’s very clean below his knees; he has fast hands; he likes to use his hands to dish off in close and does this to good effect; he gets in dangerous spots when the ball is coming forward. I can’t say I saw him butcher anything.

He could conceivably come in as Newcombe did on debut (a big bodied mid and tackling machine). In fact there are some interesting parallels with Newk and Worps for that matter, in that he’s really good in tight and is able to dish the ball off quickly to a player positioned on the outside. These attributes indicate he has good positional awareness.

That’s the thing though. Moore, Croc, Ward and Finn are all much better midfielders currently than Anderson.

He has to leap frog all of them to even have a chance of playing in the midfield. Then to play regularly he has to displace one of our regular mids.

It’s a big ask. Especially for a late pick.

I just went back and had a look at his sole VFL game this season. Some points to note:he runs hard both ways; he’s very clean below his knees; he has fast hands; he likes to use his hands to dish off in close and does this to good effect; he gets in dangerous spots when the ball is coming forward. I can’t say I saw him butcher anything.

He could conceivably come in as Newcombe did on debut (a big bodied mid and tackling machine). In fact there are some interesting parallels with Newk and Worps for that matter, in that he’s really good in tight and is able to dish the ball off quickly to a player positioned on the outside. These attributes indicate he has good positional awareness.
From the footage he definitely needs to tighten up his kicking but he just needs to be competent by foot, not silky smooth. Heck I can name quite a few recent Brownlow winners (some of them multiple Brownlow winners cough "Fyfe" cough) who have a tendency to bomb it long and are not great kicks by league standards.

Definitely he will find it hard to crack a spot as a starting midfielder but if he can tidy up his skills and his endurance is up to scratch he would be an interesting option as a sub to come on and be an impact player in the middle / up forward.

Anyway I think he will at the very least draw a few more people through the gates at Box Hill to watch "The Beast from the East" in person.

Definitely he will find it hard to crack a spot as a starting midfielder but if he can tidy up his skills and his endurance is up to scratch he would be an interesting option as a sub to come on and be an impact player in the middle / up forward.
This is exactly what I think his initial role will be. As a starting 22 - no, but he could have a lot of value as an impact sub.

Would be an interesting match committee selection each week. Do you go for the highly skilled, very competent plug and play player in Harry as the sub or do you go for the high impact, ball of muscle tackling machine in Cody?

Naturally he's going to have to show some very solid form at Box Hill to even be in the discussion for even a sub role but it's an interesting thought exercise.

I'm going to watch Beast closely.
I think he has potential to be a top line player in our midfield, but I can also see him being someone starved for opportunity at the highest level and fizzling out because of it.

I've not forgotten that I read then proclaimed here that he could be a first round pick in this draft and I'm still thinking in 5-8 years time I'm going to be proven correct on that.
Totally understand your concern here rei154 but I have in mind a few thoughts on this, it’s a super exciting time to be at the club, competitive again, great head coach, new digs coming up plus a cracker coach at Box hill so developing players will want to hang around.
With Tassie looming and some serious cash and draft picks will be thrown about, good time to load up the midfield list. The AFL will come hard I reckon, tbh I’m a little nervous.

Would be an interesting match committee selection each week. Do you go for the highly skilled, very competent plug and play player in Harry as the sub or do you go for the high impact, ball of muscle tackling machine in Cody?

Naturally he's going to have to show some very solid form at Box Hill to even be in the discussion for even a sub role but it's an interesting thought exercise.
The difference in intensity, speed and player size between AFL and the level he has played is as big as it’s ever been.

He wasn’t picked in the first, second or third rounds for a reason.

Let’s let him work his way into senior footy before doing a Connor Downie - OK?

Welcome Welcome to Hawthorn: Cody Anderson