HedgeFund
A tall defender who knows when to spoil is something we could well do with.
It's been a while since we had Lakey not only spoiling, but somehow directing his spoils to a team mate....A tall defender who knows when to spoil is something we could well do with.
Nah, Lake went 1 better than that, he'd just mark it and get us into counter attack.It's been a while since we had Lakey not only spoiling, but somehow directing his spoils to a team mate....
You mustn't have noticed, when Lake couldn't mark, he'd punch, and more often than not, his punch would bounce directly to a team mate. It was freakish.Nah, Lake went 1 better than that, he'd just mark it and get us into counter attack.
The shift in my mood from hoping Shoenmakers can at least get a spoil on Hawkins and not concede a mark and goal to, trusting that Lake will win the contest and we'll be sending the ball the other way.
It's what i tried to do as a soccer goalkeeper if i was going the punch. How the fck Lake was able to do it with a non-round ball, i have no idea.You mustn't have noticed, when Lake couldn't mark, he'd punch, and more often than not, his punch would bounce directly to a team mate. It was freakish.
It happened way too often for it to be a fluke.It's what i tried to do as a soccer goalkeeper if i was going the punch. How the fck Lake was able to do it with a non-round ball, i have no idea.
There was a 12 month period when Lake was at the Dogs and at his peak where he was (in my belief) the best / most influential player in the league.Lake was a gun player . Still gets underrated in my book .
Deceptively strong , could outmark , intercept and as noted his spoils always to advantage .
Phillips looks a natural intercept type to me. I think he will need time to adjust to his teamates way of playing and vice versa .
Lake was a gun player . Still gets underrated in my book .
Deceptively strong , could outmark , intercept and as noted his spoils always to advantage .
Phillips looks a natural intercept type to me. I think he will need time to adjust to his teamates way of playing and vice versa .
The most enjoyable thing about Lake at the Hawks, apart from his footballing ability, was watching him put the fear of god into Tom Hawkins. He genuinely shat his pants when playing on LakeyThere was a 12 month period when Lake was at the Dogs and at his peak where he was (in my belief) the best / most influential player in the league.
He could dominate his opponent like few others when he was fit and firing across the back line.
2014 grand final when he fell clumsily onto buddyafter a mark and drove the elbow into the back of the head. Knew exactly what he was doing.I could help but like Lakey’s naughty boy I didn’t mean it plea to the umps when he clearly meant it. Ha ha. Miss him. Just steadied us so much during the Threepeat
But the disappointment/disbelief on his face when he gave away the Free Kick was priceless.2014 grand final when he fell clumsily onto buddyafter a mark and drove the elbow into the back of the head. Knew exactly what he was doing.
There was such a ruthlessness to that 2014 game. Roughs bump etc. Anyway….Phillips …But the disappointment/disbelief on his face when he gave away the Free Kick was priceless.
"Where there's smoke, there's Brian" probably best sums up his time with us
The way Hannerbury was dealt with that day - as you say, ruthless. Rough, Bruest and Hale all smashed him.There was such a ruthlessness to that 2014 game. Roughs bump etc. Anyway….Phillips …
Almost as much as Drew Petrie... mind you that could have been from 'losing consciousness' - Absolutely loved Brian a rare talent, and great personality. I know he's had some issues since playing, but hope he's doing OK. Would love to see him involved with the club, imagine him mentoring PhillipsThe most enjoyable thing about Lake at the Hawks, apart from his footballing ability, was watching him put the fear of god into Tom Hawkins. He genuinely shat his pants when playing on Lakey
The most enjoyable thing about Lake at the Hawks, apart from his footballing ability, was watching him put the fear of god into Tom Hawkins. He genuinely shat his pants when playing on Lakey
Was time for Lake to move on from the Bulldogs. McEvoy though, I still cannot wrap my head around that decision.In that era we got some gems like Puopolo hill smith bruest with inspired drafting.
But Lake and McEvoy were absolute gifts. Thanks to those teams supporters btw
Me too, he was in their leadership group! WTF. THEN Saints doing saints.Was time for Lake to move on from the Bulldogs. McEvoy though, I still cannot wrap my head around that decision.
I think that was another Pelchen master stroke to trade Macca. St Kilda, unsurprisingly, eventually moved Pelchen on as well.Was time for Lake to move on from the Bulldogs. McEvoy though, I still cannot wrap my head around that decision.
Me too, he was in their leadership group! WTF. THEN Saints doing saints.
Loved him, great all round cracker bloke.
The type of guy you'd want next to you in the trenches for sure. We're using a sickeningly small amount of bandages around the club these days...Bigboy was a ripper. Very good footballer, excellent leader and we are lucky to have had such a great person around the footy club for almost a decade.
I still hold the opinion that the reason Hawthorn lost 500 games in a row to Geelong was because their backs marked the ball and rebounded and our backs spoiled the ball to a 50/50.Nah, Lake went 1 better than that, he'd just mark it and get us into counter attack.
The shift in my mood from hoping Shoenmakers can at least get a spoil on Hawkins and not concede a mark and goal to, trusting that Lake will win the contest and we'll be sending the ball the other way.