Toast Welcome to Hawthorn, Finn Maginness “absolute Hawthorn nuffie” and a Hawk to 2025

I’m happy with what he’s doing, but I do have big question marks on his composure, decision making and skills at the level, and North are a basketcase.

He had a good game today though.
Well he is keeping morrison out of the side at present and morrison would count all those attributes as strengths.

I honestly thought sam had decided to go another way (which was suprising given how much finn imporved last year and his position in the bnf) but i wonder if the way we were getting exposed on the outside caused him to reconsider. A lot of our young mids lack the ability to run defensively. And a few of our defenders are not great at it.

He was good and shut down Cheezel, his disposal was generally ok, apart from the missed set shot.
Good shutdown player and enjoyed a little freedom with the poor North Melbourne accountability.
Jury still out for me.

Has been very good at his stopper role the last two weeks, however this isn’t a surprise as he was good last year doing it.
The one area that has held him back has been his disposal and he still struggles with it.

There were two instances in the last quarter where he should’ve done much better, the first was early where he missed an open Lewis with no pressure on him, he hits him and Lewis is having a shot for goal.

The second late in the quarter with not much pressure on him he tries a 10m kick to Chad and kicks it way over his head, the decision to pass and not have a shot was the wrong one too.

If and it’s a big if but if he improves this facet of his game then he could become a big asset as he could hurt the opposition offensively as well as being elite defensively, think prime Cameron Ling.

Out of all the horrible kicking I watched today, his wasn’t it. That’s probably the best part of his growth.

Kicking still looks a bit awkward but even the action is better.

Out of all the horrible kicking I watched today, his wasn’t it. That’s probably the best part of his growth.

Kicking still looks a bit awkward but even the action is better.
I thought that kick to Lewis in the goal square was good. wasn’t a floater or a mongrel punt, got in there quick and gave Lewis a good chance against two opponents.

I'm eagerly awaiting when we play Collingwood in Rd 21. I see it as a win/win.

Were he to do a good job, we'll have a blueprint to beat the Pies in the future if we where to encounter them in a final.

If he gets beaten then he'll have learned a lot from playing on Daicos and will go along way for his development.

For quite a time, Brad Sewell's only value to the team was stopping an opposition player.
People forget that.

I think Maginness has more ability than Sewell did, so he should get some more time to develop.
It sounds like Sam Mitchell thinks more of Finn than the consensus on these boards.

Has been very good at his stopper role the last two weeks, however this isn’t a surprise as he was good last year doing it.
The one area that has held him back has been his disposal and he still struggles with it.

There were two instances in the last quarter where he should’ve done much better, the first was early where he missed an open Lewis with no pressure on him, he hits him and Lewis is having a shot for goal.

The second late in the quarter with not much pressure on him he tries a 10m kick to Chad and kicks it way over his head, the decision to pass and not have a shot was the wrong one too.

If and it’s a big if but if he improves this facet of his game then he could become a big asset as he could hurt the opposition offensively as well as being elite defensively, think prime Cameron Ling.

Should have hit The Chad. Naybe thinking goal and short pass at same time. Best thing about that play was The Chad didn't sook it up and have a go at him. Early in the year The Chad was having a crack at players for non pin-point passes. Reckon Chaddles has benefited greatly from a spell at Box Hill and matured. Keep it up.

I thought he played on Bolton last year or is my memory fading?

Good memory.
Finn did play on Bolton - and he did a great job.
I remember Bolton looking dangerous (hitting those forward stoppages at speed on occasion) but Finn did just enough, time and again.
In some ways, Bolton is just about the hardest match-up in the game. Would be another great test for Finn.

What impresses me about Finn's tagging is that he gives away very few free kicks - his nullifying is not based on grabbing and bumping, but rather sheer athleticism (he's just always bloody there! ... would hate to play on the guy).

Here's the write-up on that game from the Haws article ...

R22 VS TIGERS – SHAI BOLTON

R22 13 disposals + 0 marks (season lows)

AVG. 18 disposals

Maginness claimed another scalp on the weekend, restricting Shai Bolton to a season low 13 touches and a goal – arguably the star’s least impactful game all season.

Bolton’s season has seen him dominate games, and while he is not a big possession winner, he is capable of tearing a game apart.

But Maginness didn’t let Bolton get any space all day long, with his effort earning praise from Mitchell post game.

“There’s not too many positives that come out of today, but that was one,” Mitchell said.

“Bolton is a fantastic player – probably the most exciting player in the game at the moment – so for Finn to keep him to not many too possessions and only one shot at goal is a credit to him.”

He's played his role well 2 weeks in a row. Will get opportunity against some quality players over the next few weeks, especially Collingwood in a couple. Whether he is a team regular as the side gets stronger is another matter (I don't think he will be) but his last fortnight has probably moved him above a couple others in the list management danger zone.

On Sun a couple of times I saw some things in Finn that I’ve never seen before when he got the footy he ran hard using his running ability and tried kicking it with penetration to the advantage of a teammate. We all know that he can keep the best oppo player quite …….. but if he can add an offensive side to his game could be a really important player for us. Definitely a keeper at this stage for me as he is still working his butt off to become the best he can be.

I really hope we keep Finn.

Over the last two weeks against GWS and North, he is more involved in attacking chains of play, and his disposal looks to have improved after earlier stint at Box Hill.

Finn is another player yet to even play 30 games, and I think he will keep improving with experience and his renowned work ethic.

Worth persisting at least for another year.

Finn is the best stopper in the game against the oppositions best player that moves the ball forward. If North had Finn on their team they would have put him on Amon who gained 800+ meters for us.
His ability to disrupt the oppositions teams game plan is second to none.

If he had good disposal he would be one of the most valuable players in the comp.

Surely, SURELY, a lower ball drop (G Ablett jnr style, or Spider Everett, who was a good kick) can be taught. Break down his technique and rebuild it. Have him literally put the ball on his foot. Whatever it takes to have him hit targets.
Finn is a gun that misses targets. If he learns to hit those targets, and with his others skills, he will be lethal.

Toast Welcome to Hawthorn, Finn Maginness “absolute Hawthorn nuffie” and a Hawk to 2025