Toast Welcome to Hawthorn, Finn Maginness “absolute Hawthorn nuffie” and a Hawk to 2025

Finn is the best stopper in the game against the oppositions best player that moves the ball forward. If North had Finn on their team they would have put him on Amon who gained 800+ meters for us.
His ability to disrupt the oppositions teams game plan is second to none.

If he had good disposal he would be one of the most valuable players in the comp.

Surely, SURELY, a lower ball drop (G Ablett jnr style, or Spider Everett, who was a good kick) can be taught. Break down his technique and rebuild it. Have him literally put the ball on his foot. Whatever it takes to have him hit targets.
Finn is a gun that misses targets. If he learns to hit those targets, and with his others skills, he will be lethal.
I was thinking about this as I see it on draft boards and draft profiles often.

I’ve had a crack at one with Finn.

Position:
Current
- Utility (HF/WING/MID/HB)
Future - Midfielder utility

Snapshot:
A hard two-way running midfielder, who can roll into defense and up forward. Finn is strong over the ball and a good distributor. His great asset is his two way running, contested inside game, and defensive ability to lockdown a player.

Strengths: *
Contested ball
Endurance
Speed
Strength
Handskills
Defensive lockdown

His strengths are there for all to see, he is a very good winner of contested ball when given a license, he is super strong over the ball. He is often pretty clean, and he’s good by hand to distribute the ball. With his strength and power he is more than capable of taking the game on, driving his legs. Using the fend, and putting others into space. He has good speed to breakaway aswell. But spoken about in improvements. He needs to back himself, with confidence. Which comes from having a base of his weaknesses being improved & a license.

The other is very simple with his ability to work both ways, he’s running ontop of the world whilst others are gassed and walking in water. His efforts break the barrier of 3rd, 4th and 5th efforts to beyond that. He can get tasks for any player where he can completely quell their influence.

Weaknesses: * (spoken about in improvements)
Foot skills
Uncontested possession
Running patterns
Accumulation

Improvements: *
Ball drop to create consistent kicking, it has improved immensely however he needs to continue to work on this aspect.

Uncontested possessions & accumulation, his running patterns to receive uncontested possessions. Best utilising his immense running capacity and capabilities to further accumulate the ball and do damage with his speed and strength.

Confidence is key 🔑

Comments & explain game:
When Finn is playing as an inside midfielder. He is very capable of things. He has many high end traits but he also has a few very noticeable improvements. Which have made vast strides since coming to the level.

He has always been a hard working ball hunting midfielder who was strong and immensely capable with his running capacity.

Since coming to AFL level with lots of tagging jobs and not fully getting a midfield license as of yet he has excelled in the position of taking out the best and most damaging players on opposing teams. He best uses his grit, determination, endurance aswell as his speed and leadership to best serve this role.

He will do this as he also at Box Hill played as a lockdown defender, who has been capable of finding the ball, aswell as a wing, half forward and midfielder.

His best chance to get the best out of himself is to continue to learn a plethora of roles, continuously improving his notable weaker points. To adequately set himself up for success, but also the team.

I can see him making it as an inside midfielder, who can be a Mr fix it. With an ability to play multiple roles, quell the oppositions best/most influential players but also his genuine one wood I hope he returns to and excels at with his ball hunting, strength, hands with new found accumulation and better damage by foot, having the confidence to use his strength, power and speed to also be a leg driver for offense. Whilst having an excellent and truly elite defensive running and tackling game.

There is a long way for him to be able to do this. But he is capable. He is someone I'm sure who will continue to try get the best out of himself and best of luck to him.

(*) = explain meaning

Position:
Current

Snapshot:
A hard two-way running midfielder, who can roll into defense and up forward. Finn is strong over the ball and a good distributor. His great asset is his two way running, contested inside game, and defensive ability to lockdown a player.

Contested ball
Endurance
Speed
Strength
Handskills
Defensive lockdown

His strengths are there for all to see, he is a very good winner of contested ball when given a license, he is super strong over the ball. He is often pretty clean, and he’s good by hand to distribute the ball. With his strength and power he is more than capable of taking the game on, driving his legs. Using the fend, and putting others into space. He has good speed to breakaway aswell. But spoken about in improvements. He needs to back himself, with confidence. Which comes from having a base of his weaknesses being improved & a license.

The other is very simple with his ability to work both ways, he’s running ontop of the world whilst others are gassed and walking in water. His efforts break the barrier of 3rd, 4th and 5th efforts to beyond that. He can get tasks for any player where he can completely quell their influence.

Foot skills
Uncontested possession
Running patterns
Accumulation

Ball drop to create consistent kicking, it has improved immensely however he needs to continue to work on this aspect.

Uncontested possessions & accumulation, his running patterns to receive uncontested possessions. Best utilising his immense running capacity and capabilities to further accumulate the ball and do damage with his speed and strength.

Confidence is key 🔑

Comments & explain game:
When Finn is playing as an inside midfielder. He is very capable of things. He has many high end traits but he also has a few very noticeable improvements. Which have made vast strides since coming to the level.

He has always been a hard working ball hunting midfielder who was strong and immensely capable with his running capacity.

Since coming to AFL level with lots of tagging jobs and not fully getting a midfield license as of yet he has excelled in the position of taking out the best and most damaging players on opposing teams. He best uses his grit, determination, endurance aswell as his speed and leadership to best serve this role.

He will do this as he also at Box Hill played as a lockdown defender, who has been capable of finding the ball, aswell as a wing, half forward and midfielder.

His best chance to get the best out of himself is to continue to learn a plethora of roles, continuously improving his notable weaker points. To adequately set himself up for success, but also the team.

I can see him making it as an inside midfielder, who can be a Mr fix it. With an ability to play multiple roles, quell the oppositions best/most influential players but also his genuine one wood I hope he returns to and excels at with his ball hunting, strength, hands with new found accumulation and better damage by foot, having the confidence to use his strength, power and speed to also be a leg driver for offense. Whilst having an excellent and truly elite defensive running and tackling game.

There is a long way for him to be able to do this. But he is capable. He is someone I'm sure who will continue to try get the best out of himself and best of luck to him.

(*) = explain meaning
A little too effusive for mine but I like your take. Great work!

Finn doesn't need to have elite disposal.

He just needs to be reliable.

Has been pretty darn reliable the last two weeks.

Position:
Current

Snapshot:

Contested ball
Endurance
Speed
Strength
Handskills
Defensive lockdown

Foot skills
Uncontested possession
Running patterns
Accumulation

Confidence is key 🔑

Comments & explain game:

(*) = explain meaning
Elite.

When building a list I reckon you need to know what you have as well as having as many contributors as you can at any one time. Finn can obviously contribute in a shutdown role and is why i'd keep him on the list. we play a lot of good sides on the run hoe and I'd be keeping him in the side and setting him against some of the best in the business to find out just hod good of a tagger we have. I'd rather be trying to add to the game of someone who can already perform a role than discard them for someone we hope can play a role or someone who has had plenty of opportunities but has failed. reckon theres at least 5 or 6 I'd let go before Finn

Position:
Current

Snapshot:

Contested ball
Endurance
Speed
Strength
Handskills
Defensive lockdown

Foot skills
Uncontested possession
Running patterns
Accumulation

Confidence is key 🔑

Comments & explain game:

(*) = explain meaning
Your surname wouldn't happen to be Wisbey would it? The art of the player profile looks like one that has been passed down through generations

When building a list I reckon you need to know what you have as well as having as many contributors as you can at any one time. Finn can obviously contribute in a shutdown role and is why i'd keep him on the list. we play a lot of good sides on the run hoe and I'd be keeping him in the side and setting him against some of the best in the business to find out just hod good of a tagger we have. I'd rather be trying to add to the game of someone who can already perform a role than discard them for someone we hope can play a role or someone who has had plenty of opportunities but has failed. reckon theres at least 5 or 6 I'd let go before Finn
I agree. If I was playing Devil’s Advocate, I’d ask why we would look to delist Finn, who may well be the best stopper in the league (a skill which earns him a place in our team when the opposition has a star we need to shut down) but retain Cooper Stephens, who while he may be slightly better offensively is probably sixth or seventh in line among our pure midfielders and doesn’t currently possess a weapon that earns him a senior place. Frankly, we could replace Cooper Stephens via any standard draft but I’m not sure we could unearth another tagger of Finn’s quality as easily. Given Cooper and Finn are the same age, I’d rather try to develop new skills in the player who already has a proven weapon at senior level.

Mitchell on SEN yesterday effectively said Finn is best 22, but our current team is not developed enough to accommodate a tagger.
Makes complete sense. Mitchell is slowly trying to build a team akin to the 2007 - 2015 unit which gave us much joy.

Brad Sewell and then Liam Shiels were the “run-with” defensive midfielders who commanded a spot week in week out.

Sometimes they had to shut down someone more than getting their own ball, others they played more balanced.

Everyone else in the midfield was an elite kick of the footy. We clearly haven’t got that level of footskill in our midfield yet, but are slowly working on getting that confidence in the u22s to step up.

Give it 2 more seasons and Finn’s role will be critical for us to succeed in September. Hopefully he will be the one who can fill it.

Makes complete sense. Mitchell is slowly trying to build a team akin to the 2007 - 2015 unit which gave us much joy.

Brad Sewell and then Liam Shiels were the “run-with” defensive midfielders who commanded a spot week in week out.

Sometimes they had to shut down someone more than getting their own ball, others they played more balanced.

Everyone else in the midfield was an elite kick of the footy. We clearly haven’t got that level of footskill in our midfield yet, but are slowly working on getting that confidence in the u22s to step up.

Give it 2 more seasons and Finn’s role will be critical for us to succeed in September. Hopefully he will be the one who can fill it.
We need a liam shiels type in this side. Even when he isnt tagging, finns defensive running is needed. If like sam to tive him opportunities to develop his offensive game so he isnt one dimensional.

I think one of the important things to recognise that I think has been slightly lost since Weddle came onboard is that Finn is an incredibly aerobic player. Like... genetic freak.
There's a reason why Finn often picks up most of his disposals at the end of games; he works his mark into the ground and then is capable to moving freely- playing like it's the start of the second quarter as opposed to end of the fourth.

Finn and Weddle are going to be absolute keys to our success- their fitness and their strengths are literally going to break their opponents as time goes on.

Another scalp today. Moving him off Rioli was a baffling decision by Mitchell.

Think he was really wanting that spare man in defense.

Yeah bad coaching. We had them on toast with their run constrained. Then we let rioli off the leash and it got them going.
Agreed if a win was our goal. To win we had to keep Finn on Rioli. (Aside Rioli’s run up the centre… Finn would not have stopped)

But a win or a loss on the weekend in real terms did not matter. Maybe Sam wanted to practice a defensive game plan with Rioli off the leash… to see if our 7-man and then 8-man defence strategy could hold up against unrelenting pressure… and he got a resounding answer of No... He found there is more work to do in that area. As such, it could have been great coaching to make us better in the future.

I had an eye on the Rioli and Finn matchup and was greatly impressed by both players. Rioli worked his butt off trying to get involved. He is significantly faster than Finn but Finn stayed close enough to discourage the Richmond players from kicking to Rioli. It was a game within a game for mine.

Finn’s goal was … smart but also lucky … I think he was just pushing the ball fwd as he knew Rioli would be on him in a second which was smart… and it went through which was lucky.

Finn needs an intensive program to improve his disposal. It is not just about the accuracy of his disposal but also his anticipation of where to land the ball for the receivers advantage. Have him hit moving targets. Get his eyes checked. Have him hit targets blindfolded (Yes it can be done). Whatever it takes.

If he can be reliable by hand and foot, he will become a game-changing weapon for the Hawks.

There is no doubt that he is a fantastic tagger, his results speak for themselves this season in saying that though, I really think Maginness has a low ceiling and does not have enough tools to make it Best 22 moving forward. Really poor disposal (case in point burning Lewis with a simple pass in the 2nd quarter which Lewis rectified by winning a holding the ball decision against Broad) and a lack of pace.

Yes mate. He can run all day long, elite endurance but he is not quick far from it in fact. Not enough weapons either.
He is very quick, please watch him closer.

Whether it's to keep up with the player he is running with, (Bolton, Rioli, Ed Langdon, etc etc) he is very much able to, constantly.

He worked hard on this over a pre season i believe last year?

He didn't show it with ball in hand quite enough, but he did so especially in the game against North Melbourne.

His issues come down to his ball drop, which looks unnatural at times. Others i have mentioned in an above post.

Whether it's to keep up with the player he is running with, (Bolton, Rioli, Ed Langdon, etc etc) he is very much able to, constantly.

He didn't show it with ball in hand quite enough, but he did so especially in the game against North Melbourne.

His issues come down to his ball drop, which looks unnatural at times. Others i have mentioned in an above post.

Certainly agree with the notion that he is a great tagger and I suppose if he is limiting the damage these players have there must be a bit of pace.
Maybe what I am seeing is that lack of pace with ball in hand, he just looks slow. This may be indecisiveness or nervousness but if he can speed up his decision making he can become even more of an asset moving forward. Wish Finn the best of luck and credit him for the role he has played at the club this season so far.

Reality: Finn is not VERY quick when compared to many in the AFL and was not close to as quick as Rioli.

But a tagger does not need to be as quick as his opponent, ask Cameron Ling = a dead-set self-proclaimed plodder. He is the most welcoming and available person I have ever met. Finn should talk to him if only for general tagging stuff.

A tagger needs to be fitter as he has to run more to defensive positions to defend his tag. He needs to be a good tackler (zero free kicks). He needs to be smart. All of which Finn has. And then, a tagger of talent, will expose his tag on the rebound with link up play.

Reality: Finn is not VERY quick when compared to many in the AFL and was not close to as quick as Rioli.

But a tagger does not need to be as fast as his opponent, ask Cameron Ling = a dead-set plodder (which I think he would fully agree with)

A tagger needs to be fitter as he has to run more to defensive positions to defend his tag. He needs to be a good tackler (zero free kicks). He needs to be smart. All of which Finn has. And then, a tagger of talent, will expose his tag on the rebound with link up play.
Agree very much with this. Finn won’t beat a quick player over 20 metres. Finn’s big advantage though is he will just run all day. A lot like Scully used to be in that regard. He works hard enough to prevent the player he’s tagging from being used.

Then as the game opens as everyone else tires he finds space as he’s able to keep running. Being able to run all day can lead to having just as much or more space than being quick.

Certainly agree with the notion that he is a great tagger and I suppose if he is limiting the damage these players have there must be a bit of pace.
Maybe what I am seeing is that lack of pace with ball in hand, he just looks slow. This may be indecisiveness or nervousness but if he can speed up his decision making he can become even more of an asset moving forward. Wish Finn the best of luck and credit him for the role he has played at the club this season so far.
Think you hit the nail on the head. It isn’t a physical lack of pace. It’s a mental thing.

But a tagger does not need to be as quick as his opponent, ask Cameron Ling = a dead-set self-proclaimed plodder. He is the most welcoming and available person I have ever met. Finn should talk to him if only for general tagging stuff.

Finn is quick. Physically he’s one of the better athletes in the AFL. The reason many don’t see it this way is his speed with ball in hand. Which is more of a mental thing, a speed of mind, a confidence, a decision making thing.

I believe it was last pre season where Finn worked with “the speed project” who’ve also worked with a plethora of other afl athletes on speed and explosiveness.

For this he had a 1.77 1-10m time & 39.56 for his top speed. Which is very quick. (December of 2021 and early 2022). I had a look because I remember saving the post, looking again McGrath also did it, who is also very quick and recorded 1.65 & 40.55km/hr. Beau McCreery who is applauded for his rapid pace and explosive power did 1.84 & 40km/hr.

Toast Welcome to Hawthorn, Finn Maginness “absolute Hawthorn nuffie” and a Hawk to 2025