Strapping Young Lad
- Apr 19, 2006
- AFL Club
- Hawthorn
- Other Teams
- Storm, Spurs, Socceroos
- #1,037
Did you read Newman's review of Sicily?Harvey's reviews have me feeling more positive about our midfield than Newman's had me feeling about our defence, which is bizarre considering the relative output of both groups.
Might also explain why our Defense works and our Midfield does not! No doubt Harvey knows his stuff, but might be too nice.He's a hard marker is Mr Newman!
To be fair, we are bottom four for defence and tenth of offence. I don’t think our defence is as good as people think it is. The sun of the parts is greater than the sun of the whole right now.Harvey's reviews have me feeling more positive about our midfield than Newman's had me feeling about our defence, which is bizarre considering the relative output of both groups.
Our defence is under the pump due to the utter shitness of our centre bounce work.To be fair, we are bottom four for defence and tenth of offence. I don’t think our defence is as good as people think it is. The sun of the parts is greater than the sun of the whole right now.
No doubt that is a factor in performance but it didn’t stop us scoring and our score involvements are dominated by forwards and inside mids (like most teams). We give up a lot of goals because our defenders don’t exit cleanly and it goes straight back in.Our defence is under the pump due to the utter shitness of our centre bounce work.
Our defence is under the pump due to the utter shitness of our centre bounce work.
I'd say these short player reviews are probably more for the fans than the players themselves. Harvey perhaps a bit better at spruiking the players. Newman perhaps might want to consider hiring Dom as his ghostwriter.Might also explain why our Defense works and our Midfield does not! No doubt Harvey knows his stuff, but might be too nice.
Maybe Dom is busy ghostwriting for Harvey?I'd say these short player reviews are probably more for the fans than the players themselves. Harvey perhaps a bit better at spruiking the players. Newman perhaps might want to consider hiring Dom as his ghostwriter.
Not enough hyperbole or liberal use of "elite".Maybe Dom is busy ghostwriting for Harvey?
Mate our midfield gives easy entry and the ball goes into the d50 307x a game, our defence does bloody wellTo be fair, we are bottom four for defence and tenth of offence. I don’t think our defence is as good as people think it is. The sun of the parts is greater than the sun of the whole right now.
As I posted above, the midfield is obviously a factor there but the defence gets exposed often. And they frequently turn it over coming out of defence and cause repeat entries. We struggle against big high marking players and I’m underwhelmed by our ability at ground level. Sicily, Hardwick and day can defend and attack but mostly the rest only do one of those two things. Anyway probably should talk about jai…who is in our midfieldMate our midfield gives easy entry and the ball goes into the d50 307x a game, our defence does bloody well
I agree this year we've had issues getting the ball out cleanly, but I'm willing to put that down to a couple of things - our ruck issues meaning less representation up field and continuity issues on the half back line. We had a lot of players rotate in and out of that defensive unit which coincided with us giving up bigger scores; understandable given we had all of day, Impey, DGB, CJ, Frost, Bramble and Blanck miss significant parts of the season for various reason. Have a more consistent and balanced back 6 next year and I think that tightens up significantly.As I posted above, the midfield is obviously a factor there but the defence gets exposed often. And they frequently turn it over coming out of defence and cause repeat entries. We struggle against big high marking players and I’m underwhelmed by our ability at ground level. Sicily, Hardwick and day can defend and attack but mostly the rest only do one of those two things. Anyway probably should talk about jai…who is in our midfield
A lot has been said about needing a gorilla defender (hopefully the very promising Blanck but to my mind we are missing a player or 2 who don't panic in defence in tight and can think their way through congestion by run, hand or foot. Perhaps a player with great lateral movement with great awareness. Granted the defence was often under the pump and that definitely would affect composure. Sounds like I'm talking about Sam Mitchell
On SM-G973F using BigFooty.com mobile app
Does Duke get his 3rd year on the rookie list next year?
Imagine he's due for a massive pay rise once this current contract is up. Gee, didn't we get a bargain
Insane to think that Moore and Newcombe are two of our top 3 or 4 players this year and they're both on the rookie list.Does Duke get his 3rd year on the rookie list next year?
Imagine he's due for a massive pay rise once this current contract is up. Gee, didn't we get a bargain
Not really. You can pay a rookie whatever you want, but only the first 80k is outside the capAren't rookie list wages outside the cap?
Sign him up to a 5yr, 600k contract. Pay him 2 million in 2023, and 250k for rest of contract
I thought Moore was upgraded last year.Insane to think that Moore and Newcombe are two of our top 3 or 4 players this year and they're both on the rookie list.
Reckon they both get senior listed and a healthy bump of cashola.
Surely he goes on the senior list this off season.Does Duke get his 3rd year on the rookie list next year?