News Welcome to Hawthorn Jon Patton : Retired

Until the AFL blocks sports betting agencies from sponsorship and advertising then I have no issue with clubs making some money off pokies.

One can be done 24/7 form your smart phone. The other can't.
I agree that the AFL should take the front foot and end it’s partnership with sports betting, but it does make me somewhat uncomfortable that Hawthorn profits from an addiction.

Way to miss the point
I’m not discussing gambling per se, we were talking about the “family club” moniker and what that apparently stands for.
My family had all our birthday gatherings at pokies venues growing up. So to me the pokies places remind me of nuggets and chips with my cousins. So pokies and family go hand in hand.

I loath the BET BET BET!! ads on tv that invade my life in a way poker machines and casinos never could. And the sleezy use of ex players in live pre match interview looking ads. Hard to tell the difference between the cameron ling pregame discussion and the nathan brown sportsbet ad its so normalised.

Again with the sweeping statements. ‘Every’ player who has played with him knew what he was doing. Arguments are easy to win when you can just make up the narrative to suit yourself.

If you honestly think that clubs are going to start calling teammates of players they’re trying to recruit in the hope that the players are going to dob on their mates - then that’s fairly naive. If you think players would want to come to a club that is doing that kind of invasive background checking then that’s a leap of faith. I’ve had to do ADF reference interviews for a mate of mine - and they do ask the level of questioning you seemingly expect for player recruitment. They do this because my mate has high level security clearance and needs to be trustworthy. Patton needs to mark a ball and kick goals. Yes, players have to comply to stringent behavioural expectations above and beyond you and I - but I really don’t foresee any club going to the combing through a player’s bins level of detail you seem to be expecting.

All of that said - I would expect Patton to be released but with the club providing ongoing mental health support. I don’t condone what he’s done for a second - however all clubs are going to recruit players young and mature who do stupid sh*t, it’s inevitable in sport.
My sweeping generalisations are based on partial facts and some of my assumption based on GWS players acceptance of what he gets upto, my point is not around my assumption but on the clubs accountability, Patton and any other players ability to mark and kick a ball come into question when they significantly impact the culture and external standards of the club. This isn't the 90's anymore and you can't just sweep it under the rug.

We seem to pride ourselves on our culture so this is a significant blip that needs to be reviewed heaviliy, not sure why that keeps being defended?

I don't agree with calls to question the clubs 'vetting' of Patton. You can't really vet for this shit.

I do think it raises further questions around our leadership group but however. It's hard to think O'Meara wouldn't have been aware of what Patton is like. Like the Giants, it's also hard to think senior figures of the playing group wouldn't have been aware.

I just don't think this shit continues if we have a Mitchell, Lewis, Hodge, Roughead and Birchall judging a new, 27 year old, recruit with this behaviour. We seriously lack leaders at present. It's as big a reason as any why the club feels 'off' these days.

I don't agree with calls to question the clubs 'vetting' of Patton. You can't really vet for this sh*t.

I do think it raises further questions around our leadership group but however. It's hard to think O'Meara wouldn't have been aware of what Patton is like. Like the Giants, it's also hard to think senior figures of the playing group wouldn't have been aware.

I just don't think this sh*t flies if we have a Mitchell, Lewis, Hodge, Roughead and Birchall judging a new, 27 year old, recruit with this behaviour. We seriously lack leaders at present. It's as big a reason as any why the club feels 'off' these days.
Get your hand off it, this would've happened regardless of the leadership group.

Ahhh, that's what a pessimist would think.

My man's a half glass full kind of guy.
No I'm pretty sure it's what a normal respectful decent person would think/do. Leave the girls alone.

He's not a half glass full guy. He's a creep.

Sent from my SM-G977B using Tapatalk

I’m fairly positive that the recruitment process wouldn’t involve discussing gossip with players. That he was known as the ‘Tinder king’ at GWS doesn’t immediately suggest he was sending unwarranted pics/videos en masse. I dare say a good deal of single players (and possibly some coupled up ones as well) are fairly prolific at meeting women via dating apps and social media. The reputation of being a pants man doesn’t necessarily equate to crossing the line. No complaints ever surfaced when he was at GWS - and during the off season he was signed I never saw any gossip on here suggesting he would be a cultural misfit. The only conjecture on him was his body holding up.

The club can’t run recruitment on the basis of rumours and Reddit. If there had been media reports like there are now and we still pulled the trigger - then by all means question the club’s judgement. The club’s culture and recruitment really isn’t at question here because Patton can’t keep it in his pants.
I’m not certain gossip here is a point of reference. It was widely known within the AFL community that there was an interest beyond normal circulated or as you say rumoured as an addiction. I agree whether that should have been a major concern to our head of recruiting is only for him to decide. IMO post Tyrone Vickery the club should have been interrogating more deeply than ever.

Nice time to reflect on how it may have impacted his victims mental health.

harsh??? definitely and I hope he has the support he needs, but it’s difficult to be feeling sorry for him if I’m honest
Totally agree. Not doubting he could have mental health, however, isn’t it amazing how many AFL players are suffering mental health once they have done something wrong.

Get your hand off it, this would've happened regardless of the leadership group.

Nah, if Luke Hodge or Jarryd Roughead were around there is every chance Jon Patton wouldn’t have survived to check into a mental institution.

I don't agree with calls to question the clubs 'vetting' of Patton. You can't really vet for this sh*t.

I just don't think this sh*t continues if we have a Mitchell, Lewis, Hodge, Roughead and Birchall judging a new, 27 year old, recruit with this behaviour. We seriously lack leaders at present. It's as big a reason as any why the club feels 'off' these days.

He's have known, Patton is tight with Cogs and we all know what Jaeger and Cogs are like.

I just don't think this sh*t continues if we have a Mitchell, Lewis, Hodge, Roughead and Birchall judging a new, 27 year old, recruit with this behaviour. We seriously lack leaders at present. It's as big a reason as any why the club feels 'off' these days.
Yep, 100%.

When a club is interested in a player from another club, the coaches and the leadership group often sit down and talk about whether a player will be a good cultural fit for the club, what they know of him or what they’ve heard. The more shit that comes out about JP, the more I’m surprised it passed those initial conversations, particularly with JOM such a close mate. But hey, maybe I’m just old and this is what they all get up to these days...

Yep, 100%.

When a club is interested in a player from another club, the coaches and the leadership group often sit down and talk about whether a player will be a good cultural fit for the club, what they know of him or what they’ve heard. The more sh*t that comes out about JP, the more I’m surprised it passed those initial conversations, particularly with JOM such a close mate. But hey, maybe I’m just old and this is what they all get up to these days...

At the time of his recruitment my very first thought was that it wreaked of desperation and I was pretty disappointed that we gave a three year deal to a 200cm forward with 3 knee rec's. Everything that has transpired post his recruitment just disappoints me more. Personal stuff aside, his mobility is horrendous ( as expected ) and pretty much every time he sneezes he does a soft tissue injury. His body is simply not up to AFL standard and his conduct on field last year was pretty average.

Re his current plight, I will reserve my judgement once all the facts are available. On field though I would much rather persist with Lewis, TOB, Jeka and possibly Kosi

At the time of his recruitment my very first thought was that it wreaked of desperation and I was pretty disappointed that we gave a three year deal to a 200cm forward with 3 knee rec's. Everything that has transpired post his recruitment just disappoints me more. Personal stuff aside, his mobility is horrendous ( as expected ) and pretty much every time he sneezes he does a soft tissue injury. His body is simply not up to AFL standard and his conduct on field last year was pretty average.

Re his current plight, I will reserve my judgement once all the facts are available. On field though I would much rather persist with Lewis, TOB, Jeka and possibly Kosi

Agreed. 3 knees...

Maybe the thinking is, if he can stay on the park and take the best defender and allow others to develop. A free hit with a 4th round selection. So far, no good. However, the guy is on the list now and has the chance to prove himself. Hopefully he can walk the walk...

Totally agree. Not doubting he could have mental health, however, isn’t it amazing how many AFL players are suffering mental health once they have done something wrong.
Your doubting attitude is one of the major reasons for men not being comfortable declaring their mental health issues. Of course the stress of an enormous backlash would create or exacerbate mental illness at a time like this. Your suggestion it is a covenient time to declare it is disgusting.

On SM-A205YN using BigFooty.com mobile app

I wasn’t a fan of recruiting Patton for a host of reason already mentioned or which I can’t be bothered to explain 😉

But on the flip side he occupies a space on the list with almost zero opportunity cost. We are flat out laying the league minimum so wages are not an issue. No one is getting underpaid and it hasn’t stopped us recruiting anyone.

The draft pick was of low value and chances are it would have been a list clogger.

He hasn’t played many games so no one is missing out on senior experience.

Mostly it is just a waste of coaching and medical resources which is compounded by his off field issues. Time will probably prove this recruitment a mistake but I’m not bothered by the decision so long as our next decision regarding Patton is the right one.

I’m not certain gossip here is a point of reference. It was widely known within the AFL community that there was an interest beyond normal circulated or as you say rumoured as an addiction. I agree whether that should have been a major concern to our head of recruiting is only for him to decide. IMO post Tyrone Vickery the club should have been interrogating more deeply than ever.

Please provide evidence that this was 'widely known within the AFL community' - and please ensure this evidence isn't a reddit post/bigfooty post that has been posted in the last 4 or so weeks. I don't recall it ever being mentioned when we were recruiting him - again all I can vaguely recall is arguments about his body holding up not his phone antics.

The Ice-cream video was pretty thinly veiled- after seeing that I wouldn't be surprised if it was widely known.
I do wonder about the other players coming through the GWS system at that time though.

Your doubting attitude is one of the major reasons for men not being comfortable declaring their mental health issues. Of course the stress of an enormous backlash would create or exacerbate mental illness at a time like this. Your suggestion it is a covenient time to declare it is disgusting.
If there is a doubting attitude, the blame should lie with all those players caught using party drugs, who immediately go the 'mental health' card, because it shuts down further questioning.

When they hear it so often, public have no idea what is legit and what isn't.

People, I think, always have compassion for genuine mental health issues, like Rhys Shaw...but that doesn't mean one suspends a critical eye to the possibility of expedience.

On this occasion, I have no doubt that having all his sordid details out in public would be absolutely excruciating for Patton, with family, friends, acquaintences all getting the dirty goss. I reckon I'd have a breakdown if it was me (which it wouldn't be, cos I'm not such an entitled toxic male who does crap like that)