Welcome to Hawthorn Pick 22: Kieran Lovell

Some dude on SEN just gave Hawthorn the silver medal for our draft picks. Didn't hear who it was...(sorry not a terribly useful post...)
Champion Data guy. He said that according to them Hawthorn's draft was only bettered by Brisbane. They rated Burton at 7, Lovell at 15.

If he were 185 he would be top 5 pick. He does everything right except some kicking issues and he is short ;) Hoping he can over come both issues and be the player we need on the inside.
I wanted to marry his handball 4 minutes or so into his highlights. Under pressure, on an angle and went quite a distance straight to a team mate who was in a great position. That was enough for me re his footy smarts

He was absolutely glowing of Lovell, said that he was a ball winning mid, second for contested disposals who averaged a goal a game at the champs.

To be fair the Div2 champs is barely TAC level.. Impressive I agree but also some consideration needs to be had about the level.

Burton might allow Gunner to do it more often too
Not just him. That type of flexibility helps out a whole lot of others.

Our best 22 is now so flexible that you could practically reshuffle the entire side into completely different positions and it would still be highly effective and dangerous. There's only a handful of players that wouldn't but that's only because they tend to never get beaten and haven't really been tried elsewhere yet (ie. Stratton and Gibson who we both know can't go forward lol).

And even the depth we have is starting to take the same flavour.

Endurance and team/list wide flexibility will be the two pillars for building our 2016 campaign on in face of the reduced interchange cap and removal of the sub.

If he were 185 he would be top 5 pick. He does everything right except some kicking issues and he is short ;) Hoping he can over come both issues and be the player we need on the inside.

He certainly is a power athlete though isn't he? Some are comparing him to Mitch but to be honest he kills Mitch as an athlete, there's glaring holes in his game no doubt but the tools seem there.

This is my issue. 35 touches at Div 2 is surely like 20 - 25 in Div 1?

It's a pretty damn average standard, most of those sides played TAC games during the season and I don't know if they even win any? They win a few here and there but very very rarely. It's been the case for years, I played the QLD state side years back and they were quite average, quite a lot less developed than the VIC boys which is to be expected.

Guys who can find the pill like Lovell though tend to find the footy at all levels, its your blood. I just doubt his impact would be as strong.

Lol, I vividly recall the same comments being made about Birchall when he was traded - "he only play Div 2!!!"

I lobbied for Lovell to be taken with one of our first two picks over a month ago. Stats don't lie. I have no issue with his height at all. Cousins was only 179cms, Kerr around 176cm, Crawford around 177cm, if they can play then who cares about 10 or 12cms...

There was talk earlier in the thread about his evasiveness. Of course, he won the agility test at the combine, & I'd read beforehand that at a state screening or some such, he was on pace for a 'world record' time in the event.

In a group of elite athletes to be the absolute elite in such a crucial category suggests he's going to find the ball, but they ain't gonna find him!
(Height don't come into it.)

Looks a steal!

So tell me this, If Oliver, Parish or Hopper were put into a Div 2 team would they average the numbers that Lovell did?

You can only play what in front of you and its not his fault he was in Div 2. If the HFC think we should draft him then i'll trust an organization that have multiple full time staff that there entire job is designed around finding the right players.

Cousins was only 179cms, Kerr around 176cm, Crawford around 177cm, if they can play then who cares about 10 or 12cms...

There isn't 10 or 12cms difference, if that's what you meant. Lovell is 174, not 164.

Unless you meant 10 or 12cms from his ideal height of 184/186. In that case, carry on.

You can't really judge a player on his "highlights" package.. Daniel Elstone was just impressive, maybe even more so than Lovell and I remember his junior highlighs reel being elite.

I think Lovell is a winner, I'm warming to him but we need to quit with jizzing over his highlights, it's only going to show the brilliant stuff.

You can't really judge a player on his "highlights" package.. Daniel Elstone was just impressive, maybe even more so than Lovell and I remember his junior highlighs reel being elite.

I think Lovell is a winner, I'm warming to him but we need to quit with jizzing over his highlights, it's only going to show the brilliant stuff.
Highlight packs are all most of us will have to really go off until NAB1. There's no harm in a bit of excitement.

To be fair the Div2 champs is barely TAC level.. Impressive I agree but also some consideration needs to be had about the level.
Here's a few facts Div. 1 v Div. 2 v TAC Cup, and where Lovell fits in.
8 Players (including Lovell) from the first 24 in this years draft where from Div. 2 (1/3 not bad)
6 Players (including Lovell) from Div. 2 All Australian (just OK?)
In the TAC Cup the Div. 2 teams played a combined 18 games for 11 win and 1 draw, also consider a number of the better Div. 2 players played in Vic TAC Cup teams, not with their States (Hopper, Rioli etc.)
Lovell's team Tassie, 3 wins and a draw from their 4 games.
Lovell averages 35 possies per game (most in TAC Cup)
Oliver wins Morrish medal with 14 votes from 16 Games.
Lovell finishes 9th with a staggering 9 votes from 4 Games (9 of possible 12 = WOW!!)
Lovell wins Tassie B&F for TAC Cup
Lovell wins Tassie MVP for Div. 2 Champs
Lovell comes runner up TSL Club Senior B&F despite only playing 11 out of 18 games (has 40+ touches 4 times)
I think the Hawks have done alright here!!!!

Welcome to Hawthorn Pick 22: Kieran Lovell