News West Coast calls on fans to start new game-day tradition at Perth Stadium

If they could play a song at any stage that isnt on high roation on 96fm or any other god awful commercial radio thatd be great. **** wolfmother, bit of bulls on parade to come out to would fire you up
I actually the Wolfmother worked with the guys running out through the tunnel. Not saying I loved the tunnel, but if you are going to do it they need something like that.
I gotta say I got a bit sick of that BHP ad at half time
That had to be a mistake. It was on like 15 times.

Not sure if mentioned already but i reckon WCE marketing missed a big trick here. They should've given every person attending a yellow or blue t shirt commemorative for first game. Almost all these people are members anyway so repetition will occur. Then encourage every member or visitor from now on to wear yellow or gold to every home game. Works well with BBall, (Wildcats and red army), college basketball, gridiron and European/south american football An intimidating site. A sea of Yellow and Gold across the stadium week in week out would do more for our atmosphere than anything else. From this you generate excitement, intimidation and atmosphere. Need to get mindset right of pack mentality and solidarity before envoking noise & excitement. The standing, chanting, huddle and everything else will follow.

Fwark neil diamond

Lets get hearts racing - blast some drum n bass - get pendulum to write an eagles tune

This. Slam would be my vote. Big dramatic intro and then "tonight, on this small planet, we're going to rock civilisation.." Or Through The Loop with the Willy Wonks tunnel sample because the guys are in the inflatable tunnel

Maybe we could get Steven Armstrong to sing as the boys run out like the old Perth Glory days.

sbrtt0achmge1utanmqshsyvb.jpg

To be honest i didn't even notice we didn't run through a banner until someone mentioned it here the next day. If you could call ours that anyway, it was more like a curtain.

Didn't mind the tunnel or Wolfmother. Maybe do that, players run out etc - then switch to the eagles song and have the banner somewhere around the 50m line to run through.

Cant comment on half time. Was out the back of the stands enjoying the new areas with a drink.

They should've given every person attending a yellow or blue t shirt commemorative for first game. Almost all these people are members anyway so repetition will occur. Then encourage every member or visitor from now on to wear yellow or gold to every home game...............

A sea of Yellow and Gold across the stadium week in week out would do more for our atmosphere than anything else.

My brother-in-law and I noticed the gold and blue hats seemed to be allocated to all patrons within a section thus creating (attempting) an alternating sea of gold and blue. The thing is I do not recall reading anything in the members pack saying wear your hat to the footy to create the gold and blue sea. If I am correct this was a major oversight by the WCE marketing/membership/pre-game teams.

Combine the sea of gold and blue, some suitable up tempo music as the team exist from the tunnel through a banner and then finish with the huddle and appropriate crowd noises (dull and increasing roar maybe until first kick/handball by an eagle) and you start with atmosphere.

The club needs to look at entertainment during the breaks - the stuff we dish up at the moment in the name of 'entertainment' is underwhelming at best.

Whole thing fell a bit flat i think. Stood for the huddle, but many around me stayed seated, most had no idea WTF was going on despite Karl announcing it :oldman::oldwoman:

Wolfmother entry was surprising, still unsure if it was terrible or better than running out to our normal theme song. Crowd itself sucked. Whole first half it was dead, they must have cranked the microphones up because it sounded decent on the broadcast when i watched the replay.

I feel i could have said "Hey Marsden your G-string is showing" and it would have carried all the way down from the third tier and he would have heard me on the wing. Things were eerily silent.

Atmosphere lifted considerably in the 3rd quarter, but all in all i was surprisingly let down TBH.

They have beendoing wolf mother since what 2010?! I was there as a member from 1988 to 2012 and sure i was hearing it for the last few years i was going.

Maybe Nissy likes it..... usually the reason something hangs around longer than it should.

Could be worse, at least it wasn't the Macarena

I'm largely a lurker here but wanted to add my 2 cents.

I could only watch from home but the whole pre-game entertainment/build-up seemed underwhelming to say the least. I personally like the 'Join the Huddle' initiative but like most have already said there needs to be some kind of vocal involvement for it to have any effect.

I read in the papers today Freo's pre-game entertainment plan includes fireworks, a soundtrack featuring Thunderstruck and Purple Rain (which I think accompanied by the visuals of the stadium will be incredible) and a former player kicking 'the first goal' I guess in the way MLB has someone throwing 'the first pitch' and to be honest it already sounds better than what we produced at our first game.

We are one of, if not the richest club in the AFL and if all the entertainment the club can produce is an inflatable tunnel with half-arsed CO2 jets with no banner or team song for the team to run out to then that's seriously poor on the clubs behalf. It seems like a huge afterthought for the club to just chuck on 'Joker and the Thief' one minute before bounce down to get the crowd pumped. The whole purpose of pre-game entertainment is to stir passion and emotion amongst fans and it's no wonder the stigma of West Coast supporters only getting noticeably vocal is booing or calling holding the ball..

I'm largely a lurker here but wanted to add my 2 cents.

I could only watch from home but the whole pre-game entertainment/build-up seemed underwhelming to say the least. I personally like the 'Join the Huddle' initiative but like most have already said there needs to be some kind of vocal involvement for it to have any effect.

I read in the papers today Freo's pre-game entertainment plan includes fireworks, a soundtrack featuring Thunderstruck and Purple Rain (which I think accompanied by the visuals of the stadium will be incredible) and a former player kicking 'the first goal' I guess in the way MLB has someone throwing 'the first pitch' and to be honest it already sounds better than what we produced at our first game.

We are one of, if not the richest club in the AFL and if all the entertainment the club can produce is an inflatable tunnel with half-arsed CO2 jets with no banner or team song for the team to run out to then that's seriously poor on the clubs behalf. It seems like a huge afterthought for the club to just chuck on 'Joker and the Thief' one minute before bounce down to get the crowd pumped. The whole purpose of pre-game entertainment is to stir passion and emotion amongst fans and it's no wonder the stigma of West Coast supporters only getting noticeably vocal is booing or calling holding the ball..
Yes. My thoughts exactly. Looked like the same effort went in to subi oval pre game entertainment. No doubts Freos will be much better. Its to be expected when one club needs to work to get supporters and the other has a 10000 person waiting list i suppose

Whole thing fell a bit flat i think. Stood for the huddle, but many around me stayed seated, most had no idea WTF was going on despite Karl announcing it :oldman::oldwoman:

Wolfmother entry was surprising, still unsure if it was terrible or better than running out to our normal theme song. Crowd itself sucked. Whole first half it was dead, they must have cranked the microphones up because it sounded decent on the broadcast when i watched the replay.

I feel i could have said "Hey Marsden your G-string is showing" and it would have carried all the way down from the third tier and he would have heard me on the wing. Things were eerily silent.

Atmosphere lifted considerably in the 3rd quarter, but all in all i was surprisingly let down TBH.

You up on level 5? I felt the same. It was a very bland crowd. Wonder if the acoustics simply make it sound amazing down at ground level

The pre game activities were doomed to fall flat the moment it was decided that Julie Bishop was the best person to toss the coin. Of all the people....

I didn't mind the big blue plastic chook, but need to fire up the sound system with an anthem, get the crowd
chomping at the bit...have to make it a fortress again.

The club needs to look at entertainment during the breaks - the stuff we dish up at the moment in the name of 'entertainment' is underwhelming at best.

I thought the footy was the 'entertainment'? The stuff they've crammed into the pre-match, 1/4, 1/2 & 3/4 time breaks since day one of the Eagles has been uniformly embarassing. I remember one half time thing at Subi in the early days where the game was held up for about 5 minutes while they got a huge wagon train off the ground and some night games where the still conditions meant the smoke from firework displays meant playing in fog like conditions for most of the quarter.

Here's a thought, let's have no staged entertainment when the vast majority of the crowd want to a) go to the loo, b) grab a pie and or drink or c) discuss how the match is going without a PA system blasting in your ears.

TBH the dockers really should be doing something like having all their fans sing the ship song - nick cave & the bad seeds. perfect for the dockers and would be epic. Would be like liverpool and you'll never walk alone.

News West Coast calls on fans to start new game-day tradition at Perth Stadium