Western Region Football League Team (Part 2)

How about we throw in a couple of blokes that have played in the reserves at Spotty. What if they had stayed at Altona, would they be playing ones? Eames could have a crack at Oates and Salmond. What if youcould entice M Puhar out of retirement? Heard G McKenzie (Mr 100 goals in the under 14E's) is making a comeback. What if he never believed his own publicity? Joe Ferguson is doing commercials, could play again? Stuff it, Mildenhall may be getting on a bit but throw him in the ruck and watch him go. The Evans brothers + Cousin would go alright too, 10 years ago.

What if? What if this bloke didn't leave, what if this bloke was younger, what if we were able to turn the clock back 10 years? The fact is the young blokes left because they couldn't see anything happening for them at Altona. What ifs are about the past and Eames will be worried about creating a bright future.

so true. so bloody true

I know which incident you are referring to and the person in question was man enough to approach the target of his abuse and apologize. That would be enough to suggest that he was remorseful, which is more than I can say for some others.

yep pity rock didnt accept it as part of footy as his victim did

Well, a flag had gone begging and someone felt the need to have a crack and not only in a football sense. His earlier victim gives as well as he/she gets and this type of person is a rarity.

Spot on.
I have not been on this site for a while but have been reading the posts followong the grand final and a few observations..
1) Unfortunately right or wrong the umpire is always right. We all know an umnpire will not change his decision anywhere and if anything in this league he will not always get it right. Butno matter what the argument is, it was a goal it wasnt a goal it is all hear say. The umpire made the decision and that was final.
2) The field umire has the ability to over ride the goal umpire and this is what happened in this case. There is no argument against this as the umpire is always right and his decision will not change.
3) I was at the game and to me it looked like a goal but the decision was a point. End of story.
4) An opportunity for a mark in the goal square was on and the umpire called play on... end of story. I was up that end and in my opinion it looked like a mark but it does not matter what anyone thinks it is the umpires decision.
5) At the end of the game when losing ike the colts did it would be disappointing but the game is over and there is nothing you can do about it. The game will not be extended because people are unhappy.
6) Any player who approaches an umpire after a game and verbally challenges them on decisions should be reported and punished accordingly.
7) It is not right colts supporters or not to say that it was emotions etc... By doing so like a previous post said it portrays a negative image to the league. A league that has tried so hard to fix over the past 10 years and has done a very good job. Those guys who can remember the old FDFL will vouge for this statement.
8) A coach has a responsibility to himself, his football club, supporters and to the league. Young players look up to the senior coach of their team for leadership, guidance and sportsmanship and as a coach it is a responsibility and duty to carry yourself in a manner that represents these qualities.
9) Supporters will always abuse players and players will also give their fair share back, however in todays game nothing should be said unless it is playful banter and Spotties Mark Keenan is a prime example of this. Whether a drunker supporter male or female or a teenager abuses a player the player is representing his club and the league and under no circumstances should engage. (There are times like the AFL where it happened and they were punished accordingly)
10) I do not know Jason Clarke personally but what I do know about him is the follwing.
- Co coach Port colts
- Priest medal
- decorated career in fdfl / wrfl
- respected player both on and off the field in the wrfl

However the actions that were taken after the game last Saturday has tarnished the league andits reputation throughout Football Victoria.
The problems occured after the game and I do not know the exact ins and outs but I do know that;
- a supporter was abusing a player as the player was remonstrating with the umpires.
- the player being the respected figure at Port Colts as he is approached the supporter agressively and exchanged obscenities from behind the fence.
- The player did not jump the fence to my knowledge (but there are 1000 stories floating around)
- Because football is a team game fuelled by commararderie teh Port Colts supporters saw their coach was having a verbal slanging match with spotswood supporters and moved to aid him.
- As is in any mob type scene on eperson moved then a whole mass of people moved and the rest is history.
- I do not think Jason Clark was in the fight but if the coach had not remonstrated with umpires and then supporters this would never have happened.
- I think the league will take a similar stance as right now the WRFL is the laughing stock of Foot Vic.
- I understand what J Clarke is saying in that he can not control supporters and ********s in the crowd but as a coach and role model Port Colts if he had not engaged in cnversation this mellee would never had happened.
We all have our own views on things and this is an unbiased opinion as to what I believe happened and sometimes unfortunately as a coach and leading player the following you have is greater than you think, especially when emotions and alcohol are involved.
- It was an unfortunate incidednt for the league and the next 2 weesk will tell us the outcome.

The only people that see me as a role model are my sons, and when i did run towards the spectator my son seen and this upset him,that's why i left the area straight away. The only reason i regret running over their is because it upset my son and it was not a good example to set. At the time as i have said i was very emotionaly.
VIKKI/MISS P, i do accept it's part of the game and if i did see the person now or 15 mins after the game i would not hold a grudge or be upset.

CHEST, spotty have won the game, right or wrong we can never get it back, just because the field umpire over rules the goal umpire though doesn't mean he is right, twice the goal ump wanted to pay it a goal, most spotty players i spoke to and even a few umps all agree it was a goal and the field ump should never have over ruled it PERIOD.
Spooty still had to have the courage to win the game and they did, well deserved, i wish now everyone could let the incident go and now just talk about spotty the premiers or talk about 09 and how the comp will fair,

Altona have done a great job in securing Eames as coach and i'm sure will recruit a few and have the young blokes stepping up, expect a massive improvement.

The only people that see me as a role model are my sons, and when i did run towards the spectator my son seen and this upset him,that's why i left the area straight away. The only reason i regret running over their is because it upset my son and it was not a good example to set. At the time as i have said i was very emotionaly.
VIKKI/MISS P, i do accept it's part of the game and if i did see the person now or 15 mins after the game i would not hold a grudge or be upset.

CHEST, spotty have won the game, right or wrong we can never get it back, just because the field umpire over rules the goal umpire though doesn't mean he is right, twice the goal ump wanted to pay it a goal, most spotty players i spoke to and even a few umps all agree it was a goal and the field ump should never have over ruled it PERIOD.
Spooty still had to have the courage to win the game and they did, well deserved, i wish now everyone could let the incident go and now just talk about spotty the premiers or talk about 09 and how the comp will fair,

Altona have done a great job in securing Eames as coach and i'm sure will recruit a few and have the young blokes stepping up, expect a massive improvement.

we cant talk about spotty the premiers untill your protest is heard,

VIKKI/MISS P, i do accept it's part of the game and if i did see the person now or 15 mins after the game i would not hold a grudge or be upset. quote]

You are so wrong. All of the kids playing in the Colts Jrs would see you as a role model. And some kids from other clubs. U14s to U18s especially. You place yourself in this position by accepting the job. If you can take the heat...

ROCK

Unfortunately, even adults will look to another adult as a role model. I'm not into joining the lynching party and condemn you for what you did in the heat of the moment but other adults associated with your club and others wouldn't see anything wrong with what happened and that's where the danger lies.

You only have to look at how many WRFL coaches used the word 'disgraceful' in their umpires reports after Hird said the same word on the footy show a few years back. He bagged the umpires calling their effort disgraceful and then adults who are supposed to think for themselves used the same word and thought it open season on umpires. I heard Dellar speaking about it and he said the effect was instant and so widespread that it was ridiculous. Words are only words but when the actions are copied it gets dangerous.

It's a hard spot to be in mate, I don't envy you one bit in that respect. Sometimes leaders can fall victim to the very nature of the people who may follow him. No matter what you say about how wrong your reaction may have been, there will always be a few out there who will follow your lead, regardless. IMO, those few have no idea that they're dropping you in the s$!t and all because they won't think for themselves.
I hope all goes well this week.

I heard where the rocks real trouble lies is with the threats to kill the umpires thats what ive been told he has been reported by the league and a hand full off white maggots and may even have a past incident hanging over his head from an old report that could come back to bite him.

Actually what did happen to the investigation in the Glenorden/ Spotty clash? Doesn't the WRFL have to figure that out first, or is that swept under the carpet?

Ever walked into League headquarters and tripped on the carpet? Fair bet that you would have tripped on the large mounds of issues that have been swept under the carpet. There's probably a new mound now, look out!

I heard where the rocks real trouble lies is with the threats to kill the umpires thats what ive been told he has been reported by the league and a hand full off white maggots and may even have a past incident hanging over his head from an old report that could come back to bite him.

LOL now i have heard it all, at the end of the game i called 1 umpire a cheat, no threats to kill what so ever, so that is definately made up.

The league has rported me for misconduct

can anyone confirm? if my sources are correct, pekins didn't even get nominated for rookie of the year? i have been told a div2 kid and 2 kids from glenorden have been nominated?

hey rock what was the top five in the bnf for the colts this year how did last night go!

1 D. Jacobs
2.B.julier
3.T.Bonnett
4.B.Jacobs
5.S.Hoath

Danny was also best finals player, and it was a great nite, football clubs are an amazing place to be around, especially at the colts/
All very positive and looking forward to next year.....hopefully i can be apart of it. If the case is judged on the facts i'm very confident about being apart of the club next year, however if the league has an influence over the tribunal i mite get life.

can anyone confirm? if my sources are correct, pekins didn't even get nominated for rookie of the year? i have been told a div2 kid and 2 kids from glenorden have been nominated?

The 2008 Bridgestone Rookie of the Year will be announced this Friday night at the Senior Presentation Dinnner. THe final five are Dean Pace (Altona) Jarrod Tuppen(St.Albans) Mitch Merrifield (Hoppers Crossing) Daniel McKerracher (St.Albans) and Jase Perkins (Port Melb. Colts) more --> FROM LEAGUE WEBSITE

1 D. Jacobs
2.B.julier
3.T.Bonnett
4.B.Jacobs
5.S.Hoath

Danny was also best finals player, and it was a great nite, football clubs are an amazing place to be around, especially at the colts/
All very positive and looking forward to next year.....hopefully i can be apart of it. If the case is judged on the facts i'm very confident about being apart of the club next year, however if the league has an influence over the tribunal i mite get life.
thanks mate you are right about football clubs i agree with you there good luck with everything

The 2008 Bridgestone Rookie of the Year will be announced this Friday night at the Senior Presentation Dinnner. THe final five are Dean Pace (Altona) Jarrod Tuppen(St.Albans) Mitch Merrifield (Hoppers Crossing) Daniel McKerracher (St.Albans) and Jase Perkins (Port Melb. Colts) more --> FROM LEAGUE WEBSITE

will be interesting do they chose the player thats been a standout in a team thats had a poor year or one thats played well in a team thats performed bettr then most or the playr who has held his place in the top team and played in a grand final .
my tip Perkins but i reckon they all would have liked to be the boys from spotty who played in a very strong 2s side then break into 1s in the finals and the win a premiership 6 games between them

Its not the leauges fault that supporters sledge opposition. Its not the grog or anything like that. Players are expected to be bigger and better than that. Im sure that this situation would have been avoided, If it is drilled into the players that they are to ignore the drunken idiots. I realise that after a grand final loss, that it is an emotional thing, especially if it was just taken out of their grasp in the closing stages of a long hard season. But that is no excuse. This is a disgraceful event, that has burden the leauge on its big day. Like walking up to the alter, waiting for your wife to be, and just before you say i do, slap her right in the moosch.

The WRFL to fix these ongoing issues that have always plauged the league, severe action must be taken, unfortunatley that a very good football identity and contributer in the leauge was involved, but if an example of him is not made, then it will an ongoing issue in the future. A hard stance needs to be taken somewhere.
So make Clark accountable for all the past troubles you reckon???? thats smart

Went and watched the edfl grand final yesterday between greenvale & keilor with greenvale the red hot favourites only dropping one game in the last 48 played and undefeated this year only to be out run and out coached by a team on a mission in one of the biggest upsets seen for a long time.

After watching i'd have to say what a gap there is between the two leagues after watching the scrappy low standard shit the wrfl dish up week in week out i'd say spotty or colts the two best wrfl sides wouldn't get any where near the edfl's best with a ten foot pole,anyone else see the game.

Can someone from port colts please tell us why the f*ck you are putting in a protest to overturn the result of grand final. From what i've heard its because an injured player didnt come of through interchange gates & then returned to ground later. If this is true it is pathetic by port & not in the spirit of our great game. Do you really think it influenced the game?