Western Sydney next

I'd wait for official confirmation of this before getting to het up.

But I'd also be aware the the AFL operates by planting these kind of rumours.

When Caro Wilson start spouting her stuff, then you need to be worried.

Calm down, we haven't even commited to 4 games in Sydney and you're (you in general) talking of relocation. As someone else has stated there is no talk of the Hawks moving even though they play in Tassie. Surely we will get to vote on where we go like the kangas did if it went that far and No One will vote to move.

The Afl want a team in West Sydney and if we commit to four home games there it's the loss of our club.
the issue is the AFL believe a team in Tassie is unsustainable where as another one in Sydney is on the agenda.

I'd wait for official confirmation of this before getting to het up.

But I'd also be aware the the AFL operates by planting these kind of rumours.

When Caro Wilson start spouting her stuff, then you need to be worried.

Dead right. If the wicked witch from punt rd starts sprouting be very afraid:thumbsdown:

The Afl want a team in West Sydney and if we commit to four home games there it's the loss of our club.
the issue is the AFL believe a team in Tassie is unsustainable where as another one in Sydney is on the agenda.

So the Kangas can stay but we can't. BS. We don't need the relocation money which was what the Kangas would have been given and we are in a pretty good position off field.

Once we have a successful year we will break 30,000 members easy. If finishing 8th and winning a final then being smashed get's 28,000 a top 4 finish and a prelim could get anything.

You must have read this in yesterdays paper - assuming you somehow mastered the magic that is time travel and went back in time to November last year.

Can you teach me the magic of time travel?

Let's not get into whether the Kangas will go on. They are a different team with a different board and different problems. Some say that there are many Roos supporters who just don't have memberships while others say that even premierships didn't give them off-field success. It's all opinion.

You might be right, and I'm sure the AFL will want to get a team there, but the redevelopment of Whitten Oval may make us less likely to move than in previous years....

How so? The AFL hasn't paid for the redevelopment, its been largely funded by Govt and Local Coucile funds so the AFL would esily up and move us from Whitten Oval shuld they deem it in the best interests of the competitiion.

People keep saying the AFL will just move us up. HOW???!!! The Kangas didn't just move up. I would think we have more control of our club than the Kangas did. Am I wrong?

How would me be moved?

If the AFL said "go now to west sydney" what would have to happen for us to move? Would we vote? Would the board just say NO? If the board wanted to go would we have a say? How many votes would the board need? Would we just spill the board?

Allot of people have continued to say that the AFL would just move us so i decided to ask about the logistics. (My first thread on BF:))

*EDIT* Wasn't so sucessfull

Re: How would me be moved?

If the AFL said "go now to west sydney" what would have to happen for us to move? Would we vote? Would the board just say NO? If the board wanted to go would we have a say? How many votes would the board need? Would we just spill the board?

Allot of people have continued to say that the AFL would just move us so i decided to ask about the logistics. (My first thread on BF:))
How would the AFL do it?

*Pull all special assistance which is only guaranteed until 2009 - with the Waverley payments also ending this year, this would leave a $2mil annual shortfall in our budget compared to last year.

*Pull out as guarantor on loans, leaving us at risk of losing our current line of credit, which would in turn mean needing to secure finance at a premium - further increasing operational losses by way of increases in the cost of servicing debt.

*Stop providing AFL sourced revenue (dividends etc) in advance, which it does to assist clubs with low cash reserves.

*Re-negotiate the next salary cap with double digit increases (similar to what the AFLPA achieved in the late 90's with Demetriou in their corner). 8 clubs could easily handle it, 4 clubs would scrape by, 4 clubs would would be pushed to the brink or beyond.

If they did all of the above, we'd be f***ed. No two ways about it - unless we managed to magically find $5mil straight off the bat (to reduce debt) and an extra $3mil in ongoing annual income to get the company viable, we'd be dead within a year. So the AFL would say it's either die, or take our lifeline, with an offer to completely wipe debt, subsidise the club (including juicy draft concessions) for years on end if the club agrees to relocate.

Irrespective of whether this Sydney games package is true or not, the fact remains that with the club's liabilities totalling over $11mil, and with the club losing $2mil a year when you take special assistance/Waverley payouts out of the equation, we are completely and utterly at the AFL's mercy.

they cant chuck the CBF until they have an even draw, or the supporters of the less fortunate ("insert power teams") teams will hunt down the AFL commision
I'm sure a couple of hundred supporters protesting in front of AFL house will have them shaking in their boots.

Reality is that they can throw it any time after the current "guarantee" finishes - if it happens, there will be nothing the clubs or supporters can legally do to get it reinstated.

With assistance having amounted to over $20mil+ across the last 5 years, the AFL and wealthier clubs will argue that recipients have had ample opportunity to use it to get their houses in order.

How would the AFL do it?

*Pull all special assistance which is only guaranteed until 2009 - with the Waverley payments also ending this year, this would leave a $2mil annual shortfall in our budget compared to last year.

*Pull out as guarantor on loans, leaving us at risk of losing our current line of credit, which would in turn mean needing to secure finance at a premium - further increasing operational losses by way of increases in the cost of servicing debt.

*Stop providing AFL sourced revenue (dividends etc) in advance, which it does to assist clubs with low cash reserves.

*Re-negotiate the next salary cap with double digit increases (similar to what the AFLPA achieved in the late 90's with Demetriou in their corner). 8 clubs could easily handle it, 4 clubs would scrape by, 4 clubs would would be pushed to the brink or beyond.

If they did all of the above, we'd be f***ed. No two ways about it - unless we managed to magically find $5mil straight off the bat (to reduce debt) and an extra $3mil in ongoing annual income to get the company viable, we'd be dead within a year. So the AFL would say it's either die, or take our lifeline, with an offer to completely wipe debt, subsidise the club (including juicy draft concessions) for years on end if the club agrees to relocate.

Irrespective of whether this Sydney games package is true or not, the fact remains that with the club's liabilities totalling over $11mil, and with the club losing $2mil a year when you take special assistance/Waverley payouts out of the equation, we are completely and utterly at the AFL's mercy.

Terrifyingly - for both our clubs - detailed and argued post mate. Good work.

it is ctical to note that we have both of our clubs best intentions at heart and as north have started to work on bomb proofing the club, the footscray team must do the same to be in a stronger position if the afl start to play on the removal of the cbf.

the afl : " gold coast one day , sydney the next. to them it is a matter of spreading the code and they dont care at whos expense.

although to me it would be wiser to create a third team in sa and wa were afl and not rugby is the staple code.

trying to break into states were rugby a world sport is predominate is foolish.

heres to next friday night, and does anyone know where that damn cyclone is so the game can be moved back to melbourne.

I have been told by a well connected VFL president that the AFL wants us in West Sydney by 2015, and the AFL is happy to see the Kanga's die after the GC rejection.

With all the mutual thinking between North and Bulldog supporters I am amazed no-one has joined the dots.

Why not keep both clubs in Melbourne and merge? Similar demographic, and frankly I would support the Western Kangaroos with our colours and based out of the Whitten Oval with the Archer stand at one end and the Johnson stand at the other, the Greig wing and the Hawkins wing, the Carey bar....(if worse came to worse of course would prefer to keep us a single entity)....rather than have a Fitzroy or Swan scenario...I am not supporting a relocated club.

How would the AFL do it?

So they wouldn't support us even though we get rather crappy deals like NM in terms of TV and what games we play.

No doubt that we need some top 4 action soon. Anything for more members.

I have been told by a well connected VFL president that the AFL wants us in West Sydney by 2015, and the AFL is happy to see the Kanga's die after the GC rejection.

With all the mutual thinking between North and Bulldog supporters I am amazed no-one has joined the dots.

Why not keep both clubs in Melbourne and merge? Similar demographic, and frankly I would support the Western Kangaroos with our colours and based out of the Whitten Oval with the Archer stand at one end and the Johnson stand at the other, the Greig wing and the Hawkins wing, the Carey bar....(if worse came to worse of course would prefer to keep us a single entity)....rather than have a Fitzroy or Swan scenario...I am not supporting a relocated club.

Good to see Mike Sheahan posting on our board.

Unfortunately, I support a football club not a freakin' demographic. The only thing we've got in common with North is we've both been on the receiving end of the AFL's masterplan which they obviously pinched from 1930's Russia. Don't they know forced collectivisation just doesn't work?

The Carey bar - I hope you're joking.

Why do people think that the 20 million dollar redevelopment package will save us?

Its peanuts in the scheme of things

Here goes

Sell the gym to YMCA for 3 million

Sell the rest of land for houses for 7 million

End of story the AFL has a club in Sydney and only lost 10 million dollars: thumbsd:

Why do people think that the 20 million dollar redevelopment package will save us?

Its peanuts in the scheme of things

Here goes

Sell the gym to YMCA for 3 million

Sell the rest of land for houses for 7 million

End of story the AFL has a club in Sydney and only lost 10 million dollars: thumbsd:

Where would we train and use facilities ?

I'm sure a couple of hundred supporters protesting in front of AFL house will have them shaking in their boots.

Reality is that they can throw it any time after the current "guarantee" finishes - if it happens, there will be nothing the clubs or supporters can legally do to get it reinstated.

With assistance having amounted to over $20mil+ across the last 5 years, the AFL and wealthier clubs will argue that recipients have had ample opportunity to use it to get their houses in order.

South Sydney much to the NRL's distain did not go away quietly legal action made that quite difficult, an ex-pres aka Gordon of slater and gordon may be a very useful person and submit some form of legal action at worst a petition signed by the members of emotional damage etc etc which would keep the AFL in court and cost the AFL bucket loads of cash. If the AFL reckon they can push us around then the AFL had better be ready for a fight, times have changed since fitzroy.

So is this four game deal confirmed? If it is Im finished with the club. Im not going to keep supporting them just for them to move in five years time and break my heart. Honestly if this crap is true its the end of the club. They will become a mickey mouse relocated team. If its true the board should resign.

People like you are the reason they will relocate.Conditional members. I don't argue with you if don't want to follow the club if they move but thats if and when they move.

Til the day comes why not just support the club?

You are seriously jumping the gun NFF, nothing has been confirmed it is all rumour and inuendo.

Lets just all put this behind us and get pumped for what our boys are going to dish out round 1. I seriously wouldn't worry about this stupid rumour anyway. Dont let it destroy your love and passion for the red white and blue :thumbsu:.

Western Sydney next