What are the best/worst predictions ever made?

We had a knucklehead Dogs fan make a prediction with 7 games to go in the 2016 season. Predicted we wouldn’t win another game for the year.
Surprisingly he still shows his face around here.

Winner - Robert Walls' wooden spoon prediction.

Runner Up - Tony Jones' prediction that a Grand Final berth for the Eagles would be a waste because they would be flogged by Richmond or Collingwood. In some ways his prediction is worse than Walls'. At least Walls' prediction was made pre season. Jones' was made late in a season which saw the Eagles with an unblemished record in Melbourne.

What about all the Eagle supporters who were calling for Simpson's head last year? Isn't that a prediction of sorts (as to where the club was headed, and how it was being managed)?

So Tony Jones thought you'd lose to Collingwood or Richmond in the GF. So f'n what? 80% of everyone else did ... and you almost did lose.

Just enjoy your premiership and STOP SOOKING ABOUT EVERY F'N THING.

What about all the Eagle supporters who were calling for Simpson's head last year? Isn't that a prediction of sorts (as to where the club was headed, and how it was being managed)?

So Tony Jones thought you'd lose to Collingwood or Richmond in the GF. So f'n what? 80% of everyone else did ... and you almost did lose.

Just enjoy your premiership and STOP SOOKING ABOUT EVERY F'N THING.

Wow. Salty much? The only person sooking here is you mate. I think anyone with half a brain can see the difference between thinking the Eagles would lose, and publicly claiming a grand final berth would be wasted on them because they would be flogged.

Not salty, just a little surprised that only yesterday you guys won a premiership and within 24 hours you're spending your blissful weekend taking pot-shots at so-called experts who predicted that you'd lose (and yes I'm aware that some Richmond supporters did the exact same thing 12 months prior, but it's just not my style).

If this is anything like the reaction to Richmond's premiership, prepare to spend your summer months and much of 2019 having to legitimise your premiership because oppo flogs will be everywhere trying to discredit it. Already I see in The Age today that Leigh Matthews has claimed that the pies were 'dudded' by the umpires. We won our flag by 8 goals and still get the umpiring favouritism excuse. Ask Bulldog supporter about Bf's response to their flag, you'll get similar.

The fact of the matter is that the Eagles came over to Melbourne and beat an MCG tenant in a great, gutsy display. Celebrate it. Don't waste your time defending it, and don't worry about what Robert Walls tipped 9 months ago, or what Tony Jones thought last week. And by the way, if you go back through the 2018 ladder predictions on this site I think you'll find that many expected the Eagles to finish bottom-6 (as they did for Richmond in 2017 after a lousy 2016).

Not salty, just a little surprised that only yesterday you guys won a premiership and within 24 hours you're spending your blissful weekend taking pot-shots at so-called experts who predicted that you'd lose (and yes I'm aware that some Richmond supporters did the exact same thing 12 months prior, but it's just not my style).

'Spending my blissful weekend?' Exaggeration much? Late on a Sunday, making a comment on a thread that had been posted in 17 times between the end of the Grand Final and my comment. Many of those comments were from fans of other sides commenting on Walls' prediction. I was just pointing out that Tony Jones was almost as bad for predicting the Grand Final wouldn't be much of a spectacle with the Eagles in it. What get's on your goat so much about that? Are you related to him or something?

As for your condescending advice to celebrate the win. Have done that mate. Had friends over for BBQ lunch today. Had a great day talking about key moments in the match. About to go to bed and thought I'd check in on what was being said on Bigfooty. BTW what are you still doing up? 9pm here but it's past midnight where you are isn't it? No job to go to tomorrow? More focused in spoiling my pleasure at how Jones' ill considered comments have aged worse than Keith Richards it seems.

'Spending my blissful weekend?' Exaggeration much? Late on a Sunday, making a comment on a thread that had been posted in 17 times between the end of the Grand Final and my comment. Many of those comments were from fans of other sides commenting on Walls' prediction. I was just pointing out that Tony Jones was almost as bad for predicting the Grand Final wouldn't be much of a spectacle with the Eagles in it. What get's on your goat so much about that? Are you related to him or something?

As for your condescending advice to celebrate the win. Have done that mate. Had friends over for BBQ lunch today. Had a great day talking about key moments in the match. About to go to bed and thought I'd check in on what was being said on Bigfooty. BTW what are you still doing up? 9pm here but it's past midnight where you are isn't it? No job to go to tomorrow? More focused in spoiling my pleasure at how Jones' ill considered comments have aged worse than Keith Richards it seems.
Oh OK, so your an adult who uses the language like a teenager. I'll save my breath.

In other words you have no comeback, hero. If you want to speak about language, did you know you spell like a teenager? The contraction of 'you are' is 'you're', not 'your'. Also, the word 'the' is not required before the word language either. Clumsy grammar.

:rolleyes: Phil Davis in his weekly podcast after our round 16 loss at Optus. He didn't make excuses but was pissed we lost because he believed we were the better team.

I'm a big fan of his podcasts and he's surprisingly open and insightful about his views. I also expect our captain to believe in our team.

He got that wrong though.

2 months later:
Buckley was close enough this year imo. That result was a cointoss. Buckley is a premiership standard coach now. Sorry haterz.

(Ross Lyon is too btw)
But neither have won a flag...

Best prediction

Brad Johnson - Fremantle will miss finals in 2016. Everyone put Freo into premiership calculations but one commentator said the Dockers would miss the 8 that year. Freo started the season 0-10, finished 16th (their equal worst position) and never made the finals since then

Seems to be a theme with media staff having an intense hatred of Hawthorn.

I hope we keep winning. I’ll have popcorn and a fold-out chair ready for when they start jumping.

w***ers.

I am sure Caro has some howlers but I reckon she's not bad and a hell of a lot more accurate than some experts, especially with overall season performances.

She tipped Hawthorn's slide in 2017 when most still had us making finals.

What are the best/worst predictions ever made?