What are the moments in AFL that you will never forget?

[YOUTUBE]yRq1qhGGm28[/YOUTUBE]

Wool! This was in 2004 when Brisbane were still the big boys despite being at the end of the era. Loudest non-finals crowd I've ever heard. Also featured the Aussie Jones "point."

Running onto the ground when a 21 year old Lance Franklin, became the first player since Tony Lockett to kick 100 goals in a H&A season :D

ha, reminded me - running onto the ground when Ablett kicked his 1000th goal against Freo at KP - I lingered (despite the threats of violence from the security knobs) and was one of the last few to leave the ground - here's the kicker, I got to exchange this little bit of dialogue with the once-great man :
CC : well done Gary !
GA snr : thanks mate.

ok, it doesn't look too exciting in print, but believe me I was stoked !

I would concur that after the Schwarze goal, that was the loudest crowd I've ever heard. The roof being shut must have had something to do with it. I remember thinking that no one would be able to hear the siren.

1. "Leo Barry, you star":
- premiership breakthrough for the Swans

2. 1989 Grand Final:
- Gary Ablett freak show
- Dermott Brereton's incredible courage.

2002 - Daniel Wulf hitting the post from something like 2 meters
2004 - Beating the Lions
2005 - Leo Barry
2006 - Sirengate

2008 - [YOUTUBE]ndG6_1ZFBLA[/YOUTUBE]
Fantastic rundown
2009 - [YOUTUBE]3y-P9vSSZ1E[/YOUTUBE]
Will never forget that one

2010 - [YOUTUBE]157QAvz9Pxs[/YOUTUBE]
Or that one

Couple of good ones there for me, but sadly the bad ones are right up there too but I don't want to mention them :eek:

Another is round 22 2009 Essendon Vs Hawthorn. That Lloyd bump was one of the best sights for me. I knew that there was going to be a brawl before the game with the build up and all, but for your captain (and favourite player) to start it against one of the biggest enemies of your club feels amazing (although he should have done it to Brown instead of Sewell, but either way). I could not stand anything Hawthorn for a good 9 months after that game and still cannot stand them today, but to a lesser extend.

To me, that was when Hurley made a name for himself. Kicking those goals, gathering the momentum after the brawl. That is why I enjoy our games against Hawthorn a lot. To end their premiership campaign then and there was great!

07 Lucas' 4th quarter destruction of West Coast, that other game against West Coast in 2007 when a full Etihad Stadium witnessed a 1 point win against the reigning premiers. Le Cras' 12 goals (unfortunately). Hirds' hug was one I won't forget as well. Hird and Sheeds definitely made our games against West Coast enjoyable.

Ending St Kilda's streak in 2009 to stop them from equaling our record. I thought we were done when reiwoldt marked. Obviously ending the Cats' winning streak was one as well this year. The second game against Sydney this year and pretty much all Essendon Vs sydney games.

Loved the 2007 Prelim between Geelong and Collingwood and all of the Sydney Vs West Coast games post 2005. The 2011 grand final was probably the most satisfaction I got. That was like a premiership to me (since I've never seen Essendon win one). Infact, all of the Collingwood Vs Geelong games post 2007 were good. I pretty much pencil them in at the start of the year.

Siren Gate was a memorable one. Probably the most confused I have been in terms of Footy.

The Geelong Vs St kilda game in 2009 was a special one. Remember trying to listen to it on the radio while driving and doing some shopping. Had a real grand final feel about it.

ANZAC day games and the Dreamtime games are always memorable for me. The actual game is only a part of the day and I love the pregame build up, and for the Dreamtime game, the pre-game entertainment.

Port Adelaide Vs Gold Coast... is another one.

Fraser Browns tackle in the 1999 Premliminary Final vs Essendon at a defining moment in the game (would link youtube video but I am at work).

Also, the light going on fire at Waverly Park.

Ablett's bullshit mark that was awarded MOTY. Not only did he drop it, he was never in control of it.

Fraser Brown in the 99 prelim. Being at the bottom of packs and holding onto the ball after the ump had blown the whistle and wrestling with essendon players as to who would have the honour of handing it over for the ball up. **** he was a ferocious bastard. Never gave them an inch. Plus Kouta being ****ing everywhere was another highlight.

"sirengate". Was funny watching the fremantle players implore to the ump the game was over, and the st kilda players bluffing their way to the ump for him to get on with it.

Milburn. Never forgive, never forget.

TOP 15 THAT MAY NOT GET MENTIONED AGAIN....

(1) ROUND 22 1996, MELB vs HAW Merger Match.
Dunstall kicking his 100th, sheer passion between 2 teams on the brink of the merger (and a finals spot for the Hawks on the line), Langford brandishing the hawk jumper after the game

(2) ROUND 22 1998, NORTH vs DOGS.
Top spot on the line, always remember late in the last term James Cook cannoning into Robert Scott (and getting 3 weeks for it), realistically costing us the game.

(3) ROUND xx 1998, FREO vs ADEL. Friday Night game at Subi, Dockers down on troops after Luke Toia and Paul Maher blow out their knees. Dockers lead with less than a minute to play, Jarman tries a torp from 50 out on the flank kicking to 3 tier stand end and puts it OOF.

(4) PRE-SEASON CUP GF 1996, ST.K vs CARL. Winmar and Harvey carving up the Carlton machine. Crowd invasion after the siren and all the Saints players cramming onto the small presentation dais to get the trophy. Euphoria lasted all of a week......

(5) ROUND 10? 1996, GEEL vs BRIS. Either Clark Keating or Justin Leppitsch belted the ball through for a deliberate behind to tie the game. Bears came from a mile behind in the last term. Aker had red hair......

(6) ROUND 21 2000, DOGS vs ESS. The Mega Flood, capped off by Chris Grant nailing one from the boundary to put us in front with 2 minutes to go. And of course Brad Johnson giving a spray to John Barnes who had flattened him close to half time (and sparked an all in, although not as bad as some others)

(7) ROUND 8 2006, RICH vs ADEL. Basketball Crap, Tigers win by chipping it around the backline all day.

(8) ELIMINATION FINAL 2006, COLL vs DOGS. Brett Montgomery getting barreled by Brodie Holland at the first bounce, only to get back up and play a starring role in our first finals win for 8 years, giving Rohan Smith a chance to get to 300 games.

(9) QUALIFYING FINAL 2003, PORT vs SYD.
Sydney getting out to a big lead having lost troops (and even Paul Roos was on crutches after getting hurt in a basketball game). Byron Pickett then ran through Brett Kirk.....who unlike just about anyone else who was on the end of a Pickett bump got up pretty much straight away.

(10) QUALIFYING FINAL 2002, PORT vs COLL. Peter Burgoyne takes a mark in the goal square at a crucial stage of the game......then plays on and gets his kick smothered.

(11) PRELIMINARY FINAL 1995, GEEL vs RICH. Last ever Prelim played out at Waverley, Geelong won easily. But to me best remembered for Michael Gale getting on to a big roost from a centre clearance.....kicking it the wrong way, then getting flattened later in the game by Brendon Gale.

(12) ROUND 15 2000, DOGS vs NORTH. Remember it for being close and 2 things....Carey taking a ripping mark late in the game and missing from point blank, then Trent Bartlett taking a mark late in the game and going off under the blood rule, meaning Brad Johnson took the kick to win the game. Not quite a Brian Lake cramp but perhaps the pre-cursor.

(13) ROUND 14 2002, DOGS vs ESS. Matthew Lloyd returned from a finger injury wearing a penguin glove. Steve Kretiuk then decided to give it a fitness test. Lloyd then missed a difficult shot after the siren that saw the game drawn.

(14) ROUND 9 2005, CARL vs MELB. Last game at Princes Park. Didn't see a lot of it given I was playing local footy that afternoon, however what stood out was after the final siren (after Carlton had kicked a few to make the scoreboard respectable) Nick Stevens slamming the ball into the turf. Then of course after that the relay from Kouta to John Nicholls to escorted the last game ball used off the ground for the last time.

(15) 2003 GRAND FINAL, BRIS vs COLL. Rhyce Shaw taking off on the back flank, then falling flat on his backside. Fumble lands in Alastair Lynch's hands, who then turns around and bangs it through from 45 on a tight angle near the boundary to demoralize Collingwood.

HONOURABLE MENTIONS:
1986/1997 GF's. For all the talk about the bench being used so much these days by my count Hawthorn made 2 interchanges for the entire 1986 GF (Russell Morris for Dipper, John Kennedy for Peter Schwab)...and even though it was injury enforced Adelaide I think made not more than 5 changes in the 1997 GF (replacements for Sampson and Jameson injuries, Keating ruck change in 2Q for Rehn, Rehn returning after blood rule, blood rule replacement on for Keating).

I will never forget the conduct of everyone associated with the tassie hawks, from the president to the coach, to the players and especially the supporters, in the hours following rd 22 2009. The biggest collective sook of all time.

Pure bliss to me.

You could argue it was passion that caused them to behave like that. But you're right, they did carry on like pork chops.

Hirdy's gather and snap during the first Anzac game in 95. The moment and the roar of the crowd was something else, similar to Mercuri's goal in the 93 prelim. Leon Baker's blind turn in the 84 GF to start the last quarter is another.

ha, reminded me - running onto the ground when Ablett kicked his 1000th goal against Freo at KP - I lingered (despite the threats of violence from the security knobs) and was one of the last few to leave the ground - here's the kicker, I got to exchange this little bit of dialogue with the once-great man :
CC : well done Gary !
GA snr : thanks mate.

ok, it doesn't look too exciting in print, but believe me I was stoked !

Cursed Cat, have you checked if your exchange with the great Gary is on YouTube?

As an egles fan its the 1992 grand final and when matera kicks the goal from 50 on the boundary to put us in front

"Suddenly the eagles are alive, matera sets sail for home. And the eagles, hit the front"

I still get goosebumps watching that 30 seconds of play every time.

[youtube]GPW2ywB7EGk[/youtube]

One thing i will never forget and for some reason it is unmentioned
Essendon vs Carlton Round 18 1998
I was there and when Silvani marked Mercuri on the line i can tell you that 95% of the crowd was still cheering the "goal" when lucas kicked it through

- 1994 Prelim final. Looking around at the crowd after the game, and you could see the pockets of Geelong fans jumping up and down celebrating, with pockets of North fans sitting between them consoling each other.

- Round 15, 2009, and Jimmy's point after the siren. Thought we were dead and buried when we were 28 points down early in the last term with both Scarlo and Taylor off the ground injured and Buddy on fire. Thompson moved Mooney into the ruck and Mumford forward, and the rest is history.

- Round 4, 2002 when the youngsters who would go on to make up the bulk of our 2007 premiership side thrashed St.Kilda by 122 points. Will never forget a young Ablett wrenching the ball out of Trent Knobel's hands and a 19yo Jarad Rooke, as he was known then, flattening Stewie Loewe with a wicked shirtfront.

- Beating the Lions in 2004 after they'd regularly beaten up on our youngsters for years. Was nice to see Aker be put on his arse a few times too.

- Being in the crowd for back-to-back 150 point plus smashings this season. Was awesome to watch a Geelong side at full flight, as it has been for the last five years.

Franklin's two running goals against Essendon in 2010 (one of them, goal of the year).

After seeing this, I've never once missed watching a Hawthorn match. This is despite living in Russia! They guy just elevated to hero status in my mind. It also inspired a renewed passion for footy, which since then, has reaped some great rewards for me.

Second would be a massive comeback against (I think) St. Kilda years ago. I was at the match, and from memory we were down 60 points at half time or something.

What are the moments in AFL that you will never forget?