What They're Saying - The Bulldogs Media Thread - Part 3

Have i just been unlucky or is Fox Footy going overboard with last year's grand final?
Every time I take a peek at AFL360 I see celebrations continuing.
Tonight for a nano second I saw something about the other mob's preliminary final win! Jeezus.
Didn't dare watch On the Couch.
I hope they're guzzling that bathwater.

Not just Fox, it seems to be everywhere. Fox, radio. Unfortunately they have at least one supporter on a soapbox representing them on each station.

All about trying to drum up an experience for Dees fans that they didn't have - they won it, but they didn't experience GF day and Wed night is hardly going to match that regardless of whether they win on the night.

My natural trauma response is to bury the whole thing. I have decided season 2022 starts the following week at Marvel.

On footy classified - Max Gawn apparently had a dig at our running capacity on grand final day.

View attachment 1344387

To be fair to Max Gawn and I hate to say it but I think he is speaking some truth But bring on Arthur Jones :)

On footy classified - Max Gawn apparently had a dig at our running capacity on grand final day.

View attachment 1344387
I thought it was pretty clear, even early on in the game, that they were getting more numbers to the contests and covering the ground better than us.
The difference between the two teams preparations would have had some bearing. I still can't believe we weren't allowed to have a recovery session after the Essendon final.
I also think we went too tall at match selection. VanderMeer would have been more value than Martin, Cordy or even Wood

My natural trauma response is to bury the whole thing. I have decided season 2022 starts the following week at Marvel.

I'm with you there. I'm really not looking forward to this match. If we win, it's just four points. Melbourne still have bragging rights over us. If we lose then it will ****ing suck. There's no great outcome for us, but there's some really crap ones.

To be fair to Max Gawn and I hate to say it but I think he is speaking some truth But bring on Arthur Jones :)

Did we shit on Sydney after we won? Has any other winner derided the team they beat? Can’t think of any. I know all this is new to Melbourne but someone should educate these bogans on class.

Did we sh*t on Sydney after we won? Has any other winner derided the team they beat? Can’t think of any. I know all this is new to Melbourne but someone should educate these bogans on class.
I’m sure the players made comments in private. It’s like every team that’s ever played footy. You shit on the other team with your mates after you win a big game.

It’s no different here. Gawn is making a joke that’s fair game in a private group chat that’s somehow become public. Who gives.

I've said it before but I don't care about Melbourne's carrying on, they demolished us and they clearly think they can back it up again this year, good for them. But if they don't back it up I will come for them and their supporters with full force.

No excuses for the loss the Dees deserved their flag but I think there are plenty of reasons for the blowout. We travelled around Australia during the finals our fault by not securing the double chance. In the end it took it's toll probably more mentally than physically just like a marathon runner hitting the wall and losing touch with the leading group. Once gone you drop away quickly.

I'm with you there. I'm really not looking forward to this match. If we win, it's just four points. Melbourne still have bragging rights over us. If we lose then it will ******* suck. There's no great outcome for us, but there's some really crap ones.
A win over Melbourne in this year's grand final (or even the PF) will be the best antidote. Any margin will do.

One point, after the siren, although, I don't think my heart could take it.
That's be nice for the sadistic malice of it but it might not shut them up.
They'd probably go full Swannies on us and be complaining for years that the umpires gifted the flag to us.

Anything over 20 points should do it (not that that stopped the Swannies).

Scuttlebutt 'trouble at the club' crap started by media already. Nine news arvo showed a Fox reporter asking if it's true Hunter has been left out of side. Bevo not happy - interrogation by media & said wait for the side to come out.

Do media think this stuff rattles us? We couldn't give a rats!

No excuses for the loss the Dees deserved their flag but I think there are plenty of reasons for the blowout. We travelled around Australia during the finals our fault by not securing the double chance. In the end it took it's toll probably more mentally than physically just like a marathon runner hitting the wall and losing touch with the leading group. Once gone you drop away quickly.
Interesting analogy. Hitting the Wall, physiological under supply of carbs to burn but psychological, too. The heads dropped and chase diminished in the last quarter. It had to have something to do with those 3 goals within 90 seconds. A big Tom Boyd goal from the centre square might have been all that it took. Big Tom, our most important player since 1925.

To be fair to Gawn that was a group text amongst owners. There should be banter. It wasn’t said on public record and he is within his rights to be filthy that it leaked.
I always heard good captains don’t give the opposition added ammunition, looks like Gawn either didn’t get the memo, or is a shite captain.

Listening to Adz and Dunks podcast, did a quick segment on who they reckon will have a big year. Interesting to hear that Treloar thinks Tim English could go close to being AA this year. Would be massive if that came true.

Couldn't recommend this highly enough. They talk all things footy and take us into the inner sanctum a little.

Listening to Adz and Dunks podcast, did a quick segment on who they reckon will have a big year. Interesting to hear that Treloar thinks Tim English could go close to being AA this year. Would be massive if that came true.
Libba said similar (or that he's at least expecting a really big year out of him).