What They're Saying - The Bulldogs Media Thread - Part 4

In a 10:30 segment covering the teams in contention and where they are in this seasons premiership window

The Western Bulldogs literally warranted 12 words...

These are not serious people.

Its little wonder I hold the AFLMedia is such contempt.

I'd really like to see us scoring ahead of a lot more teams than 3 shit shows in the Eagles, North & Hawks (albeit partially self inflicted).

I appreciate however the first 2 weeks are really impacting this statistic & we've clearly improved + playing a heap in the wet.

Need to really start scoring more in the next phase of the season however or we just aren't in the mix IMO.

In a 10:30 segment covering the teams in contention and where they are in this seasons premiership window

The Western Bulldogs literally warranted 12 words...before rushing off to the real contenders.

I presume that they then spent the rest of the program talking about Carlton's woes. Like every other sheep in ******* AFLMedialand.

These are not serious people.

Its little wonder I hold the AFLMedia is such contempt.

You're a better man than me - I don't even bother making the effort to hold them in contempt!

Hey team, the chart being shown during that segment shows us as being contending from a defensive point of view but miles off offensively. Does anyone have any thoughts as to why we are struggling to score? On paper this is the best forward line we have had on the park by some margin but just not kicking goals. Freo game the only exception.

The fact that we're ranked 12th in i50s suggests a lot of it is to do with supply, not the forwards.

Add to that the inability to keep it there (i.e. poor defensive play i50) and it means we aren't getting too many repeat opportunities from each forward entry. The rise and rise of Arty Jones and the addition of players like McNeil may be starting to turn this around.

Also we are improving our scoring but they probably won't have mentioned that. We kicked 44 goals in our first 5 games and have kicked another 44 in just three games since then.

I didn't watch but I'm guessing they don't do nuance.

Playing in three games that were very wet, Richmond, Port, GWS certainly restricts scores.

Let me summarise On the Couch
Gary Lyon, Melbourne, Melbourne,Melb…(interjection by Jonathan Brown) Brisbane, Brisbane, Brisbane.
Bucks..Collingwood…Sydney…Collingwood..St Kilda…Geelong.
Gary again..Melbourne, Melbourne..Melbourne..(stops checks notes) makes some patronising comments about Gold Coast
complains about Melbourne player being sent to tribunal. Lots of noise of support from Brown and Bucks.
Brown comments Cripps will belt Western Bulldogs.
Gary Lyon, spends five seconds each on other clubs excluding Bulldogs, “just quickly“ interviews Essendon player.
Shows graph, focus on Geelong, Melbourne, Collingwood. And that’s the show.

The fact that we're ranked 12th in i50s suggests a lot of it is to do with supply, not the forwards.

Add to that the inability to keep it there (i.e. poor defensive play i50) and it means we aren't getting too many repeat opportunities from each forward entry. The rise and rise of Arty Jones and the addition of players like McNeil may be starting to turn this around.

Also we are improving our scoring but they probably won't have mentioned that. We kicked 44 goals in our first 5 games and have kicked another 44 in just three games since then.

I didn't watch but I'm guessing they don't do nuance.
It’s a bit different to our usual style isn’t it, dominate inside 50s for little reward. 18 goals from the 3 tall forwards in the past 3 weeks is really good, Cody is finding his feet in the new look forward line which has taken away some of his supply but he will get there. Arty & McNeil adding something new.

The forward line is coming along nicely, the backline is holding up pretty well but we need to get the mix right in the middle, Daniel has been great but I don’t think he’s the answer there. Admittedly it’s been a bit unstable with Libba & Baz missing but on the other hand we have the best midfielder and possibly ruck in the comp and it’s still struggling.

We need to change it up, and I don’t think that change is coming from outside the 22. If we can get back to dominating clearances and inside 50s with our improved forward & defensive lines we’re gonna be hard to beat. I’m just not sure the answer? But we have to try something new, it’s not far off but just missing something

Gary Lyon, Melbourne, Melbourne,Melb…(interjection by Jonathan Brown) Brisbane, Brisbane, Brisbane.
Gary again..Melbourne, Melbourne..Melbourne..(stops checks notes) makes some patronising comments about Gold Coast
complains about Melbourne player being sent to tribunal. Lots of noise of support from Brown and Bucks.
Gary Lyon, spends five seconds each on other clubs excluding Bulldogs, “just quickly“ interviews Essendon player.
1683555149109.png

You took one for the team by watching it so we didn’t have to 👍

Tbh, no one in the media really rates us.

They, like most on here, see massive flaws in our gamestyle/personnel, and therefore don't put the time into analysing the Dogs.

I would expect that they see us losing most of our next 5 games and seeing us become irrelevant this season.

The media will pile on if we fail to fire, but only to the extent that we have so much talent and can't put it together.

I hope that our team proves everyone wrong.

Come on folks we don't even rate ourselves, how can you expect the media to rate us. 2 absolute superstars of the comp are carrying us. If not for Marcus Bontempelli, who at this point has to win the players MVP by a long way, we would have no chance of a top 8 finish. The truth is those first 2 weeks are still in the back of our minds and we are all just waiting for us to look hopeless on the field & in the coaches box against Collingwood, Melbourne, Geelong. Until Astro & Marra start gelling and reach their potential to kick bags of goals every week, or we start to have some sort of decent forward line coaching, we are not a threat to the top 4 or 5 clubs.

Tbh, no one in the media really rates us.

They, like most on here, see massive flaws in our gamestyle/personnel, and therefore don't put the time into analysing the Dogs.

I would expect that they see us losing most of our next 5 games and seeing us become irrelevant this season.

The media will pile on if we fail to fire, but only to the extent that we have so much talent and can't put it together.

I hope that our team proves everyone wrong.

Come on folks we don't even rate ourselves, how can you expect the media to rate us. 2 absolute superstars of the comp are carrying us. If not for Marcus Bontempelli, who at this point has to win the players MVP by a long way, we would have no chance of a top 8 finish. The truth is those first 2 weeks are still in the back of our minds and we are all just waiting for us to look hopeless on the field & in the coaches box against Collingwood, Melbourne, Geelong. Until Astro & Marra start gelling and reach their potential to kick bags of goals every week, or we start to have some sort of decent forward line coaching, we are not a threat to the top 4 or 5 clubs.
I don’t for one moment think we are a serious threat for the flag this year. I want us to win each game, but also take our two 1st round picks to the draft to rectify our deficits. It’s the delicate balance between being competitive and finishing high enough in the draft.

My point was more about football shows, where they just talk about their own teams, how boring and biased they are. I actually quite like to hear Bucks talk about teams other than Collingwood, as he has some insight and good analysis to offer, but Gary and Brown are openly biased jugheads.

Two things:

1. I would like to see the premiership window graphic if they took rounds 1 and 2 out. I think things would look a lot better

2. Take a look at our draw. Collingwood and 2 X Geelong are difficult games but the rest we could well go in as favourites.

The Saints loss was terrible but we have steadied the ship.

Geez, that doesn't say much about you then. Cos' Im a truly terrible person.

Anyways...It came up when I was scrolling through the YouTubes. I have no idea how they can so easily discount a side that has won 5 from its last 6 after a horror start to the season. It's not like our form line is a world apart from that of Geelong and their usual soft kills at home.

Yet 12 words of analysis later, here we are.

The AFL media spent a lot of time talking about us in 2021. I know because I actually watched that crap that year for some escapism from lockdown hell. The reason we got a lot of media attention that year is because we were playing really exciting footy and looked to be a serious flag threat. This year we are one of the least interesting teams. Not good enough to get excited about and not bad enough to warrant scrutiny. We are in the middle spot of irrelevance. That's no fault of the media.

We're so irrelevant that even our BF posters are jumping ship to a team that doesn't exist yet!

I think Bont’s form warrants some comment don’t you?

The fact that the premiership quadrant gets wheeled out at the start of the year is ludicrous.
Until every club has played games against most other clubs it is basically irrelevant.

A couple of weeks ago they were talking up Essendon as one of two teams in the premiership window after a couple of comfortable wins over lowly clubs.

The other problem with the premiership quadrant is that it rally doesn't provide much more insight than looking at percentage.

Low IQ footy media personalities like to talk about it because it sounds impressive but is basic enough for them to understand.

Unfortunately it's about the extent of statistical analysis in footy media. The rest is just opinion and muckraking.

Bonts had heaps of praise from everyone in the media, even the likes of that flog Barrett
A couple of weeks ago yes, agree. First Crack acknowledged he is in Brownlow form, other nuffies like the ones I referred to above, have simply ignored him.

Geez, that doesn't say much about you then. Cos' Im a truly terrible person.

Anyways...It came up when I was scrolling through the YouTubes. I have no idea how they can so easily discount a side that has won 5 from its last 6 after a horror start to the season. It's not like our form line is a world apart from that of Geelong and their usual soft kills at home.

Yet 12 words of analysis later, here we are.
And the one loss, was our "neutral" game against Port, where we were a correct free kick to Naughton in the goal square away from maybe winning

What They're Saying - The Bulldogs Media Thread - Part 4