What They're Saying - The Bulldogs Media Thread - Part 4

Running 2kms isnt exactly hard training, and it would give them an idea of where they sit relative to AFL players
Agreed

But I wasn't questioning whether it was a good or bad thing for them to run it. I was highlighting the fact that in the past, the rookies didn't run the initial time trial. Their first week at the club was often low key, show around, education, media stuff. And them joining the actually training full time didn't start until week two, and they did the 2km run sometime after.

I was just asking IF they actually did run the one yesterday? Because it signals a change in the club is doing things on previous seasons. Plus if our new guys DID do it, then obviously it will be interesting to know which of the 5 did the best.

They want to give quicker access to the broadcasters to interview coaches straight after the match. Hoping for a more natural, raw response I think.

Then a separate post match for the print media later.
Would have been great to see Sam Mitchell interviewed immediately after their semi final loss. He was bad enough 30 minutes later in the press conference.

I'm not sure how I missed this. It's the most incisive piece of footy analysis published all year and because it's a bit interactive it's something that can keep you all engaged over the footy-free break between now and mid-January.

It has important ramifications for our list management too. It appears that the very best players are mullet-free. Forget the No Dickheads policy. It should be the No Dickhead Haircuts policy. Could explain why we didn't press hard for draft picks in return for Bailey Smith. Naughton and Poulter should be feeling nervous or at least looking for the number of a good hairdresser. (Actually hasn't Naughton already come back with a shorter mane this off-season?)

I'm now waiting for some in-depth analysis of dyed hair and how it relates to fantasy points. I reckon Lobb has got wind of that analysis and reverted to au naturale before the ABC boffins get a chance to post it on their website. Or is it simply that defenders don't tint?

Anyway, here is the article for your enjoyment. Footy journalism as it was meant to be ...

Happy to see the doggies at the top of the mullet tree. Bogans, mullets and westies. It's a natural fit.
However, if the sports psychologists get wind of this analysis I wouldn't be surprised if a difficult choice is made and johnno is given the flick as partime goal kicking coach and replaced by Toby McLean as full time barber.

Happy to see the doggies at the top of the mullet tree. Bogans, mullets and westies. It's a natural fit.
However, if the sports psychologists get wind of this analysis I wouldn't be surprised if a difficult choice is made and johnno is given the flick as partime goal kicking coach and replaced by Toby McLean as full time barber.

McLean is our AFLW midfield coach, can we expect new looks for Blackburn, Pritchard, Fitzy, and Carruthers next season?

Absolutely. It's a definite possibility. I prefer an afro style look. But I think anything that makes a statement that we mean business and aim to be number 1 is the way to go.

Screenshot_20241220-150724_DuckDuckGo.png

It's great to see we are playing the bombers in a practice match at Whitten oval to mark our 100 years. The win in the championship of Victoria match was instrumental in us joining the VFL.
It's only fitting that the practice match at whitten oval have similar long lasting consequences. I think the loser should be demoted to the Essendon districts league. It just makes sense.

“If they don’t extend him, then it will be open season on the coach and the club from round 1.”

That’s something to look forward to :sadv1:
But if they extend him, it will be open season on why they extended him if the dogs start badly

Talk about a bet each way

News Corp and Telstra may be selling their stake in Foxtel. Yet to be approved by the regulator but seems likely to go through in the next 12 months.

With Murdoch and News having only a minor share in the resulting corporate structures I may finally see my way clear to subscribe. However the buying entity may have its own closet skeletons especially with PIF looking to get involved. Ah well, in a viper pit there can be no corner that’s totally free of snakes.

We shall see, but at this stage I’m welcoming the development.

Last shot ends on Rhylee West who would have been perfect for the way we played 2016 (instead of stringer)
Instead of Stringer, who just came off an All Australian year at 21 years of age, and kicked 42 goals despite having a pretty decent down patch towards the end of that year? Interesting.

What They're Saying - The Bulldogs Media Thread - Part 4