What unpopular AFL opinions do you have? (Part 1 - cont in Part 2)

Two Victorian clubs should merge and a new AFL team should be set up in Tasmania.

That is not a relocation, it would allow two clubs like Western Buldogs, Melbourne, North Melbourne to have a period of success, double membership etc and Tasmania deserves a team.
1. That would mean 17 teams (i.e shit for fixturing)
2. Merging two of these clubs would not mean that they get success. It would mean they would cease to exist and the soulless franchise replacing these clubs (which tries to live of the past of these clubs AKA Sydney and Brisbane) would get success (i.e premierships handed to them on a silver platter to try and make them relevant)
3. Tassie isn't big enough for a team right now and certainly not until Hobart and Launceston can work something out. Hawthorn and North do a good job down there to provide them with football

1. That would mean 17 teams (i.e shit for fixturing)
2. Merging two of these clubs would not mean that they get success. It would mean they would cease to exist and the soulless franchise replacing these clubs (which tries to live of the past of these clubs AKA Sydney and Brisbane) would get success (i.e premierships handed to them on a silver platter to try and make them relevant)
3. Tassie isn't big enough for a team right now and certainly not until Hobart and Launceston can work something out. Hawthorn and North do a good job down there to provide them with football

Merge two victorian teams but keep them in victoria. (two teams go into 1 team)

Add a completely new team in Tasmania (Tasmanian Tigers) They get access to free agents from all clubs, plus the same concession GC got.

Therefore 18 teams.

Only the gullible or very stupid would believe that. Collingwoods PR department went into overdrive to make her look like the victim instead of the perpetrator of the abuse, poor little tween girl with family issues who had a big bad footballer pick on her. It was disgraceful!

A slur of any type is not defined by how the person using the word views it, but how the target does. Words that bother some people are nothing to others.
I'd be disgusted if my 4 year old said it. No place for that and excusing it is ignorance.

Sent from my GT-I9305T using Tapatalk

Except the only thing you would have associated the word Gorilla/Ape with is that of an animal at the zoo , not to put someone down for what happened 70 years before you were born

Yeah, nah. It's pretty common knowledge that association with lower primates is one of the most common forms of racist insults. Anyone who says otherwise is kidding themselves.

I beg to differ here. The average 13 year old knows exactly what they're saying, they know the difference between right and wrong, and they know how to throw a racial slur around the playground. I hear it every day in children much younger.

I only saw one interview involving the mother and daughter, and I would not be surprised at all if they lied about not knowing that it was a racism term, afterall the comment had unleashed an almighty shitstorm. What better way to sweep it all under the carpet? Deny, deny, deny.....

They really dont know the history of over 100 years ago. What grade do they teach that in now ? Grade 6?

Im sure you wouldnt know what happened 100 years ago in other cultures.

I was the same until I did the research and realised that one particular umpire had never in his life given more frees to Port Adelaide than their opposition, patted a North player on the bum in a game with the largest free kick differential in 35 years, and has the largest deviation in frees given in the competition. 99% of umpires are fine, but there are at least two who are objectively biased towards or against one team.

I'm speaking, of course, of McInerney and Fisher. It seems to be commonly accepted that Fisher should never have umpired that Saints/Dons game, and McInerney is consistently the most biased umpire in the game.

And no, this isn't confirmation bias: I try to avoid paying too much attention to what umpires give what frees during the game because of that, instead looking at the raw data. He should not be allowed to umpire Port games.

The problem there is you cared to research it. I've got no such interest.

You get what you get from the umpires, and you live with it.

Collingwoods PR department went into overdrive to make her look like the victim instead of the perpetrator of the abuse, poor little tween girl with family issues who had a big bad footballer pick on her. It was disgraceful!

Umm... When did that happen?

Only the gullible or very stupid would believe that. Collingwoods PR department went into overdrive to make her look like the victim instead of the perpetrator of the abuse, poor little tween girl with family issues who had a big bad footballer pick on her. It was disgraceful!
A slur of any type is not defined by how the person using the word views it, but how the target does. Words that bother some people are nothing to others.

Thanks for proving my point!

You have heard all of the recent attempts at club songs, haven't you?

Several clubs have tried to "re-imagine" their classic themes and they have all been disasters.

No Mate, cannot say I have but that kind of makes my point, the songs are garbage & banning them is the only way forward imo. I've never liked songs done by sports teams, just tend to be tacky.

They really dont know the history of over 100 years ago. What grade do they teach that in now ? Grade 6?

Im sure you wouldnt know what happened 100 years ago in other cultures.

I agree about not knowing the context of 100 years of history, but let me ask you why, out of 22 opposition players that night, did she level that particular slur at Goodsey?

Coincidence?

I agree about not knowing the context of 100 years of history, but let me ask you why, out of 22 opposition players that night, did she level that particular slur at Goodsey?

Coincidence?

Maybe there was no intent of racism in it if you can at least agree her not knowing the context of 100 years of history? Maybe it was just name calling

Coincidence?
Because he has ape like features which are more prominent on him than the rest of the players that were on the field that day.

Mind you I still think she said it as a racist taunt. Context is key

Wow.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk
Don't act naive, you know full well he has more of an ape like look about him than most other footballers. Gareth Bale is another one that does. Has nothing to do with skin colour.
I think it's quite surprising that you assume I said he looks like an ape because he is black. Says a lot about yourself...
He is extremely hairy in his upper body more so than a lot of players, particularly his shoulders.

He has a fair bit of an underbite, another prominent feature of apes.

His ears stick out quite a bit similar to an apes ears.

None of this has anything to do with his skin colour. Gareth Bale also looks like an ape because of his underbite and ears.

He is extremely hairy in his upper body more so than a lot of players, particularly his shoulders.

He has a fair bit of an underbite, another prominent feature of apes.

His ears stick out quite a bit similar to an apes ears.

None of this has anything to do with his skin colour. Gareth Bale also looks like an ape because of his underbite and ears.

Yeah, nah.

He doesn't have a pronounced underbite

659191-adam-goodes.jpg

He doesn't have any hair on his shoulders, or in fact any body hair that would be visible while wearing a football jersey.

adam+goodes.jpg

It's all in your mind.

I guess he does have big ears but I've never heard a white bloke called an "Ape" just because he had big ears.

Don't act naive, you know full well he has more of an ape like look about him than most other footballers. Gareth Bale is another one that does. Has nothing to do with skin colour.
I think it's quite surprising that you assume I said he looks like an ape because he is black. Says a lot about yourself...

It's really just you.

You obviously don't have a knowledge of US sports history if you think that.

Seattle moving to OKC
Cleveland moving to Baltimore
Baltimore moving to Indianapolis

Even recently the proposed move of the Kings from Sacramento caused mass uproar.

So many examples of teams controversially relocating.

Nor would I ever profess to. Pleasantly surprised at that.

Yeah, nah.

He doesn't have a pronounced underbite

659191-adam-goodes.jpg

He doesn't have any hair on his shoulders, or in fact any body hair that would be visible while wearing a football jersey.

adam+goodes.jpg

It's all in your mind.

I guess he does have big ears but I've never heard a white bloke called an "Ape" just because he had big ears.

It's really just you.
Did you get a tingling sensation when you wrote "Adam Goodes topless" into google images?

I reckon probably a small percentage, maybe around 10% or so of women who attend the footy understand what is going on.

I think it's actually less.
My home reserved seats at the G, i have a number of women sitting behind me, and their sheer lack of knowledge of the game is incredible.
They literally have no idea what's going on.
They seem to think that football is just about kicking the ball, and heaven for bid a player misses a target!
This may sound sexist, but i have never met a woman who truly understands footy.

Thanks for proving my point!
The point I was making is that it is not up to a white person to define what is offensive to a black person, and they should be mindful of what comes out of their mouth, because even if they think it's nothing, it has the power to hurt someone. A white person would never be called *word not used*, so they have no right to ascribe it as a "harmless" word.

I hope that was the point you were making as well, I must say it is an incredibly eloquent one! ;)