What's everyone think of that "Collllllinnnnnggggwoooood....colllllllliinnnngggwooooddd... .." chant

Re: What's everyone think of that "Collllllinnnnnggggwoooood....colllllllliinnnngggwoooodd d... .."

Your sister is your mother, your uncle is your father, the collingwood family.

There all nuffies that only know how to chant one word.

Re: What's everyone think of that "Collllllinnnnnggggwoooood....colllllllliinnnngggwoooodd d... .."

You don't even have to be in the ground to feel a part of it.;)

[YOUTUBE]JYGK8ewmKo4[/YOUTUBE]

Better not let Craig Foster see that one. He'll have to retract all of his comments about football having no atmosphere or passion displayed at matches.

love the nickname

very well chosen as there'll be no need to change it for many years to come

That would be "they're".

Nice work though:

Pot%20Kettle%20Black.jpg

Re: What's everyone think of that "Collllllinnnnnggggwoooood....colllllllliinnnngggwoooodd d... .." c

Most Collingwood supports can't string more than two words together :D

Its is shit, its all about making the opposition feel shit not making their team feel good.

The "Teeeeeaaaaaammmmmmmm naaaaaaaammmmmmmeeeeee Teeeeeaaaaaammmmmmmm naaaaaaaammmmmmmeeeeee" are completely negative.

The "Team Name < Clap Clap Clap > Team Name < Clap Clap Clap >" are far more postive and actually completely drown out the other bullshit.

Re: What's everyone think of that

Does anyone remember the Bulldogs going "Woof woof woof" during the early 90s after they kicked a goal?

:D

Much maligned, getting the same sort of arguments against as the Collingwood chant but I make no apologies for joining in and starting it occasionally. It got a generally passive Dogs crowd involved, was / is different to what other Clubs' fans did in terms of cheering and was very much in vogue at the time (Olympics and the Aussie Aussie Aussie chant etc).

Interesting point for us is that since we've become stronger on the field; this chant peaked heading into the Rohde era; our crowd involvement has dropped of heaps. You hardly ever hear even your generic 'club name' clap clap clap coming from anywhere now.

Like I said previously, anything where the fan's express their passion together and exert some influence over the playing environment is terrific. Those sort of things are what can make a game even more memorable, bringing a great game into that magical moment territory. A lot of the derision that is fired off at the concept of a chant at the footy, or around people who really emotionally invest and express themselves stems from good, old Tall Poppy Syndrome and a healthy dose of hegemonic masculine concepts.

Aussie males are supposed to be stoic, a bit distant from their emotions. For an adult male at the footy to be cheering outside of the accepted norms "ball" "expletives" "etc" implies an emotional invest beyond the norm, which when expressed catches peoples' attention who then tend to ostracise them. They'll cop the "have a look at this w***er / ****ter" treatment. The other element is that people will be really critical of a chant because it implies a level of passion and success greater than their own, so they'll cut it down. Because these people are apathetic about their support it offends them to have someone succeed in creating that cultural of expression.

Most Collingwood supports can't string more than two words together :D

This is such a misconception.

Collingwood supporters are captains of industry, leaders in the community, premiers, bankers, politicians, sexy women and top models (Miranda Kerr below), medical people, inventors, and some of our greatest brains in Australia..

Eddie has made it very, very fashionable to support the Pies.

546018-miranda-kerr.jpg

The chant, when in full flight is amazing.

Every other team should try to do it.

At the home of footy, the MCG, it shows that it is OUR HOUSE!

Its is shit, its all about making the opposition feel shit not making their team feel good.

The "Teeeeeaaaaaammmmmmmm naaaaaaaammmmmmmeeeeee Teeeeeaaaaaammmmmmmm naaaaaaaammmmmmmeeeeee" are completely negative.

The "Team Name < Clap Clap Clap > Team Name < Clap Clap Clap >" are far more postive and actually completely drown out the other bullshit.

Trolling.... Surely?

Re: What's everyone think of that "Collllllinnnnnggggwoooood....colllllllliinnnngggwoooodd d... .." c

Where? Over "there"?

Love it when someone turns the troll on themselves... nuffies!

Re: What's everyone think of that "Collllinnnggggwoooood....colllllllliinnnngggwoooodd d... .." c

Uh oh. Someone doesn't think the Collingwood chant is teh awesomez! Are you seriously that offended about it mate? :eek:

tek is absolutely right, Freeeooo comes off the tongue way easier than Collingwoooood, the fact you take it to mean some kind of personal sleight against you or your team is sheer stupidity.

What are you talking about? I was agreeing with him, Freo should be proud that other clubs are inspired by their ideas.

I think its a bit lame when we chant it against sides like Richmond. Should save it for the blockbusters.

Does anyone remember the Bulldogs going "Woof woof woof" during the early 90s after they kicked a goal?

Yes, I remember going to games at Waverly and it would come up on the scoreboard, word by word. Was pretty funny, but have no issues with it, or the Collingwood chant. Used to love the Sydney chant reverberating around the SCG too - seems to sound a lot better at night for some reason.

It was done at Victoria Park in the early 1980's before Freo or WCE existed. I am not claiming we invented it merely it has been around for a while.
No doubt there is some old bugger in a nursing home who can remember doing the long slow University chant back in 1938.

Yeah it was at the nab cup grand final

No, what crap, they don't play it through the speakers during the game. They do play it pre-game though on the screen. There really are some fail threads on Bigfooty atm.

"Lets go sainters, lets go" :eek: That really fired the team up!

It needs to be put to rest, I like to think of it as something linked to our 2010 premiership.

I can imagine it p*****ng off opposition, but no more than the Camry Crows song in 97 and 98, gees that was painful.

What's everyone think of that "Collllllinnnnnggggwoooood....colllllllliinnnngggwooooddd... .." chant