What's happening in the Bendigo Football League #2

I m back and this forum may now be able to have some go about it. I have been in career best form over in canada and now i will whip your country bumkins arses as well.
I have not yet signed on at the tigers but im sure they will be after my signature tonight.
I notice a few of the gissy boys are on the sunbury bandwagon. i suggest you stay there as i will be primed for a first up tilt against my old sparing partners down the calder.

i m back and this forum may now be able to have some go about it. I have been in career best form over in canada and now i will whip your country bumkins arses as well.
I have not yet signed on at the tigers but im sure they will be after my signature tonight.
I notice a few of the gissy boys are on the sunbury bandwagon. I suggest you stay there as i will be primed for a first up tilt against my old sparing partners down the calder.
wtf???

Eaglehawk have apparently picked up a gun on baller from the ammo's, surname is Arnold. From all reports will replace D.Lock nicely.

Sandhurst making up for lost territory

Bendigo Advertiser 26/12/2008

SANDHURST coach Kieran Nihill is confident his side will make steady improvement in season 2009. After losing a plethora of players at the conclusion of the 2007 Bendigo Football-Netball League season, Nihill was left with an inexperienced squad that lacked stars for his first season in charge.

As a result, the Dragons went from finalists in 2007 to second bottom in 2008, with just one win. While on-field results weren’t great in ‘08, off the field the Dragons made giant inroads. “The club’s never been run better in my time here,” Nihill, who has been with the Dragons for more than 12 years, said. “We’ve got some former players back helping out and financially we’re in a better position than we were a couple of years ago.
“(Former long-time president) Danny Ellis still does a lot of the work, but now we’ve got more people around to help him.” The stability off the field is already helping on field.

The Dragons have been able to get key forward Mark Fitzgerald back to the club after a year in Melbourne and there are positive signs that a few more former players will return to the QEO. “Firstly, we had to make sure we kept the group we had and we’ve been able to do that,” Nihill said.
“Our under-18s won the premiership this year and there’s some good kids coming through. “Then we were in a position to recruit. Last year I wasn’t appointed until late and by then a lot of players had already made up their mind that they were going and we didn’t have the money to try and stop them.

“Getting Fitzy (Fitzgerald) back is a big boost. This year we just didn’t have enough goalkicking power and we were forced to play young kids in key positions. “With Fitzy back he’ll get the number one backman and young guys like Matt Thornton can be the second and third forward.
“(Captain) Michael Cornish, who was our best player, missed a lot of footy this year because of injury and we’ll have him back. We’re now looking at getting back a few more players who left the club which will give us a lot more depth.”

Sandhurst did make a big play for former Shepparton star Nathan Allen, but the aggressive on-baller decided to sign with Golden Square. “We thought we were a good chance to get him, but in the end he went to Square because they were a better chance of winning the flag,” Nihill said. “You can’t blame him for that. He would have been the perfect fit for us. We really need a tough, in-and-under on-baller.” At this stage the only senior player the Dragons look like losing is Tyson Findlay, who has been linked with Kangaroo Flat.

Many expected Sandhurst to be hardest hit by the formation of new BFNL club Strathfieldsaye, but that hasn’t been the case. “We’ve lost two players to Strathfieldsaye, but they weren’t senior players,” Nihill said. “We were worried that we might lose a few, but the players have stuck with us. (Rising star) Jarrod Bateson was the main one. His father is a sponsor of Strathfieldsaye, but Jarrod is staying with us which is fantastic for our club.”

any1 heard of the maine's recruiting plans 4 2009 its their 150th anniversary year so with a big milestone season coming up youd rekon they wld want to be in the top 5 at the very least ---- and maybe even higher

with the loss of key players at gissy and square, the burra 2 to an extent, theres room for the maggies to slip up the laddr

I thought the guy that Square picked up from Shepp way was Nathan Bell? not Allen which was posted in the addy article?

When does everyone get back into training?
Who's everyones Premiership favourite at this stage? The flag might be a big ask but were hoping to sneak back in the 5 at Dragon City.

I thought the guy that Square picked up from Shepp way was Nathan Bell? not Allen which was posted in the addy article?

Who's everyones Premiership favourite at this stage? The flag might be a big ask but were hoping to sneak back in the 5 at Dragon City.

i think its gonna be a big ask to make it in the finals let alone a flag\.....

kangaroo flat start back on the 12th.... looking good hopefully have the signature of a good player as good as the players they have already signed and have already

Steady on Flyboy?! Looks like your New Year optimism is off the chart.

With Hoofa & co on board now, 5th might be a possibility, but you can't finish second last by percentage one year and win the flag the next. Once we start winning games again, it makes it easier to recruit decent players.

northcote park football club in the northern fl are looking for 3 practice matches (u 19's, reserves and seniors) on saturday march 21. we are more than happy to travel your way. you can contact joe on 0412298231.

thanks

i think its gonna be a big ask to make it in the finals let alone a flag\.....

kangaroo flat start back on the 12th.... looking good hopefully have the signature of a good player as good as the players they have already signed and have already

Dont worry about us our last 10 years have been better than Kangaroo Flat and so will our next! We arent trying to get around stealing players within the competition eg- Tyson, Maddern etc plus the other heap you have tried and offering blokes from everywhere including bush league comps generous generous figures were are building a side with the Jimmy Couszins, Olly Stolz, Bato etc all set to play there best footy in the coming years.

Not to mention your admin you seem to have a new general manager every 3 weeks and if half the in fighting goes on thats rumoured is true it would be a good place to stay away from! Walshy and Danny and co are doing a great job for us its a long distance affair not a sprint.
Go Dragons back better in ''09''!

My New Year top 5 goes- 1- Square 2- Gissy 3- South 4- E'Hawks 5- Dragons. anyone else want a go?

Dont worry about us our last 10 years have been better than Kangaroo Flat and so will our next! We arent trying to get around stealing players within the competition eg- Tyson, Maddern etc plus the other heap you have tried and offering blokes from everywhere including bush league comps generous generous figures were are building a side with the Jimmy Couszins, Olly Stolz, Bato etc all set to play there best footy in the coming years.

Not to mention your admin you seem to have a new general manager every 3 weeks and if half the in fighting goes on thats rumoured is true it would be a good place to stay away from! Walshy and Danny and co are doing a great job for us its a long distance affair not a sprint.
Go Dragons back better in ''09''!

My New Year top 5 goes- 1- Square 2- Gissy 3- South 4- E'Hawks 5- Dragons. anyone else want a go?

haha jimmy cousins and those blokes wont win u a flag... tyson wanted and asked to come to flat and so did some did other players who arent on as muchas u think

danny has recked that club why do u think tyson, and co leave.. wasnt it 46 players or something left in the season leading up to 2008 ???? think its just cos they wanted to play else where??? if danny wasnt there u would still have some good players that have gone to toehr clubs im sure dragons have asked bfl players i know they have before..... every club steals player name a club in the bfl that hasnt ???

stealing players mate good your a joke wat club doesnt do that ???? other whys the comp would be completly a waste of time???

top 6 ..... not in any order gs, e/h, gis, south and flat and maryborough in the mmixed no one else will be in finals come half way through the year!!

haha jimmy cousins and those blokes wont win u a flag... tyson wanted and asked to come to flat and so did some did other players who arent on as muchas u think

danny has recked that club why do u think tyson, and co leave.. wasnt it 46 players or something left in the season leading up to 2008 ???? think its just cos they wanted to play else where??? if danny wasnt there u would still have some good players that have gone to toehr clubs im sure dragons have asked bfl players i know they have before..... every club steals player name a club in the bfl that hasnt ???

stealing players mate good your a joke wat club doesnt do that ???? other whys the comp would be completly a waste of time???

top 6 ..... not in any order gs, e/h, gis, south and flat and maryborough in the mmixed no one else will be in finals come half way through the year!!

Pretty Sure that Danny was pulling the strings in a Premiership year and done the job well while were talking about administrators costing clubs players what about that loud mouth Brooks pushing Shannon Millward out the door.
Shannon Millward = Two time Eaglehawk Premierships and League Medal since that happened!!

Finlay had 350 reasons to jump ship! anyway he has made his choice.
Go Dragons! P.S- I reckon Jimmy Couz is a better ruckman than J.West!

Pretty Sure that Danny was pulling the strings in a Premiership year and done the job well while were talking about administrators costing clubs players what about that loud mouth Brooks pushing Shannon Millward out the door.
Shannon Millward = Two time Eaglehawk Premierships and League Medal since that happened!!

Finlay had 350 reasons to jump ship! anyway he has made his choice.
Go Dragons! P.S- I reckon Jimmy Couz is a better ruckman than J.West!

im sure flat dont care that milward is gone one he has gone to e/h to kerang to e/h to kerang bak to e/h??????

the team flat have had they would not have nbeen close to the grand final... the team the have now with another announcement on soon we have a good chance.

thats funny u mention that couzins is better no one who has coached both thought cousins is better then west considering he was always chosen in front we will see but its not only the ruckman might need some players to play on the blokes he taps it down to i dont see you guys being able to match it with carter, darts geary, downie, and the bloke they will announce soon..... who will go to who ???? surely couldnt tag all three oh wait u probly will which means your worrying bout the players not the ball???

danny wasnt pulling strings mates just wanted to play with mates....

danny is the reason everyone left.....

also how ,long did milward play at flat???? and he wasnt pushed away mate he went to eaglehakw on a good offer... an offer to good to refuse... players leave clubs but least flat didnt have to find rejects from other clubs to make up numbers last year...... we will see whgen flat play dragons to see who wins the ruck or the centre my tip flat ..... prob around the 10-1 range i reckon

geez fellas, this banter can only be described as a car crash.

Flyboy, while it's nice to see another Hurst supporter on here (finally), your comments are a bit over the top mate. Keep the gun in the holster young fella. Jimmy Cozens (yes, not Cousins) is a great kid, has an impressive leap and tries hard, but he's not what you would call a genuine ruckman. Lacks body size and strength to mix it with the likes of Hardinge etc

Muscles, Flat will definately be in the mix this year. But I don't think you'll come close to Square, E/H or Gisborne. Premierships aren't won in January.

And boys - just a tip - work on your typing and punctuation skills

im sure flat dont care that milward is gone one he has gone to e/h to kerang to e/h to kerang bak to e/h??????

the team flat have had they would not have nbeen close to the grand final... the team the have now with another announcement on soon we have a good chance.

A good chance of winning this years flag? Warren is that you? Back on your meds please.

geez fellas, this banter can only be described as a car crash.

Flyboy, while it's nice to see another Hurst supporter on here (finally), your comments are a bit over the top mate. Keep the gun in the holster young fella. Jimmy Cozens (yes, not Cousins) is a great kid, has an impressive leap and trys hard, but he's not what you would call a genuine ruckman. Lacks body size and strength to mix it with the likes of Hardinge etc

Muscles, Flat will definately be in the mix this year. But I don't think you'll come close to Square, E/H or Gisborne. Premierships aren't won in January.

And boys - just a tip - work on your typing and punctuation skills

fair point bout grand final but prob the best chance we will have had in a few years???

Best chance to do what??

Flat have been clearly the worst team in the BFL in the last 7 years. Before last year you won 5 games in the previous 5 years.

One below average season in 08 will not have Eaglehawk looking over their shoulder worrying about the Flat.

Your more likely to go backwards than you are to go forwards. If you have been around your club for a while you would understand what a wonderful winning culture they have.

Best chance to do what??

Flat have been clearly the worst team in the BFL in the last 7 years. Before last year you won 5 games in the previous 5 years.

One below average season in 08 will not have Eaglehawk looking over their shoulder worrying about the Flat.

Your more likely to go backwards than you are to go forwards. If you have been around your club for a while you would understand what a wonderful winning culture they have.

Worse than Kyneton ???

I think Kyneton were a lot better.

Kyneton won 27 games in the last 7 years to the Flats 17.

Flat has won 4 wooden spoons to Kynetons 2.

Flat also did not win 1 game in a season twice and won 1 game in a season twice. Kyneton at least never had a 0 in the win column at seasons end.

The Flat were as bad as any country Victorian team from 2003-2007. Winning 5 games in 5 years.

thats funny u mention that couzins is better no one who has coached both thought cousins is better then west considering he was always chosen in front we will see but its not only the ruckman might need some players to play on the blokes he taps it down to i dont see you guys being able to match it with carter, darts geary, downie, and the bloke they will announce soon..... who will go to who ???? surely couldnt tag all three oh wait u probly will which means your worrying bout the players not the ball???

danny wasnt pulling strings mates just wanted to play with mates....

danny is the reason everyone left.....

also how ,long did milward play at flat???? and he wasnt pushed away mate he went to eaglehakw on a good offer... an offer to good to refuse... players leave clubs but least flat didnt have to find rejects from other clubs to make up numbers last year...... we will see whgen flat play dragons to see who wins the ruck or the centre my tip flat ..... prob around the 10-1 range i reckon
May want to check your facts. Millward never left Flat for Eaglehawk for a supposedly huge offer. Millward left Flat mid-2006 to play for Kerang after a disagreement with the President. Kerang gave Flat 10 footys for Millwards clearance so i suppose it was a win-win situation. Kerang got a handy player and Flat got 10 footys. Millward came back to play for Eaglehawk in 2007 and has been handy for us as well. We won't be selling him for 10 footballs!