What's happening in the Bendigo Football League #2

Flat’s Ford focus

9/01/2009 4:00:00 AM
THE Bendigo Pioneers club champion of 2007, Grant Ford has signed on to play with Kangaroo Flat this football season.
Ford joins the Roos after a one-year stint with the Bendigo Bombers in the VFL.
Captain of the Pioneers in 2006, Ford won the Neville Strauch Memorial Award and also represented Victoria Country at the national under-18 championships.
The hardworking on-baller capped the 2008 season by playing a key role in Swan Hill’s premiership victory in the Central Murray Football League.
Kangaroo Flat coach Darryl Wilson said yesterday that Ford’s signing was a huge plus in strengthening the club’s on-ball division and midfield for its tilt at senior finals in the Bendigo Bank Bendigo Football-Netball League.
Ford will team up with former Bombers teammates Shannon Geary and Chris Wilmot for the Roos.
Geary heads to Dower Park after playing several senior games for the Bendigo Bombers in the past two VFL seasons.
Wilson said Geary’s courage meant he would win a lot of contests, either through the midfield or in attack.
“Grant and Shannon add to options we can use up forward as well,” said Wilson.
Geary previously played for Eaglehawk, Bendigo Pioneers and Sandhurst.
After a dramatically improved season, Kangaroo Flat is eyeing finals in 2009. Wilson’s first year as senior coach was marked by a win-loss record of 7-9 and sixth place on the ladder. C/o addy

I did hear they've had talks but E.Hawke can't afford him, after just winning the GV medal and guessing what Withers was on at Kyabram it would take $1500- a week minimum to get his services.

My New Year top 5 goes- 1- Square 2- Gissy 3- South 4- E'Hawks 5- Dragons. anyone else want a go?
Massive call having Gisborne 2nd, we have lost about 10 senior players (including G.Bowes, M.Fitzgerald, J. Barham, M.Barham, S.Davis just to name a few) from last years side. I personally doubt we will play finals this year.

I did hear they've had talks but E.Hawke can't afford him, after just winning the GV medal and guessing what Withers was on at Kyabram it would take $1500- a week minimum to get his services.
Same amount Singh generally asks for i'm led to believe.
You would think the big fella would be a monty to kick a ton though

Massive call having Gisborne 2nd, we have lost about 10 senior players (including G.Bowes, M.Fitzgerald, J. Barham, M.Barham, S.Davis just to name a few) from last years side. I personally doubt we will play finals this year.

Interesting comment, but it's hard to believe you really think that... are you playing possum BB? Lulling us into a false sense of security? :)

While I'm at it, I'll put in my two cents worth (you know, Hurst's football department's total budget for 2009... he he )

1. Square 2 Eaglehawk 3. South 4. KFlat 5. Gisborne
then....
6. Sandhurst
7. Castlemaine
8. M'b
9. Kyenton
10. S'saye

Disclaimer: Hurst or C'maine could squeeze in there. Gis and South have come back to the field, and of course KFlat could fall flat on their backsides. Even year this year. Good for local footy.

Interesting comment, but it's hard to believe you really think that... are you playing possum BB? Lulling us into a false sense of security? :)

While I'm at it, I'll put in my two cents worth (you know, Hurst's football department's total budget for 2009... he he )

then....
6. Sandhurst
7. Castlemaine
8. M'b
9. Kyenton
10. S'saye

Disclaimer: Hurst or C'maine could squeeze in there. Gis and South have come back to the field, and of course KFlat could fall flat on their backsides. Even year this year. Good for local footy.
Not playing games here, have a look at the quality of the players i have mentioned.... huge losses and we havent been able to replace them.

The Gisborne FC have been one of the most succesful sides in country footy over the last ten years. And just like the Australian cricket team have found (and many other sporting teams) you cant stay on top forever.

then....
6. Sandhurst
7. Castlemaine
8. M'b
9. Kyenton
10. S'saye

1. Eaglehawk 2. Square 3. South 4. Gisborne 5. Flat - Top 4 will remain the same but will be very close with any team capable of winning. I'm biased but i will pick Eaglehawk because they will recruit to cover key lossess and have great kids. They have also proved to be good under pressure. I also reckon Gisborne might be a real smokey, they still have alot of premiership experience

Tip to Flat: Watched your under 18's last year and there's some good kids, give them a chance. You have about 15 coaches so use them to develope some kids as it has worked for Gisborne and Eaglehawk. Golden Square used kids during the finals and they were terrific and nearly won one.

1. Eaglehawk 2. Square 3. South 4. Gisborne 5. Flat - Top 4 will remain the same but will be very close with any team capable of winning. I'm biased but i will pick Eaglehawk because they will recruit to cover key lossess and have great kids. They have also proved to be good under pressure. I also reckon Gisborne might be a real smokey, they still have alot of premiership experience

Tip to Flat: Watched your under 18's last year and there's some good kids, give them a chance. You have about 15 coaches so use them to develope some kids as it has worked for Gisborne and Eaglehawk. Golden Square used kids during the finals and they were terrific and nearly won one.

couldnt agree more with the flat thrids..... and they have already een spoken to about the possibilty of them playing a major part of 2009....

but will learn from eaglehawks mistakes that they have now got on top derek is only now using the thirds after losing possibly 5 or so young senoirs players... guess ya learn from ya mistakes.... eaglehawk although lsoing so many will be the team to beat.... know doubts about it but i think that 1-4 with e/h south flat and gs will be close and 5- close cas, gis and mb and sand with 9-10 going to kyn and power should be a good year....

looks like the BFL is strenghing again any one agree????

the abilty of the clubs to attrac good players from GV VFL will help in teams landing bigger signings south as x afl players...

Personally think that the BFL is still around the same standard as the past 5 or so years. Picked up a couple of GV guys, but mainly the older blokes. Haven't heard of too many ex AFL players signing recently to change my mind. I think the HDFL is strengthening a little and interesting to see what Storm does in BFL. I also think the GV has lost a little strength over the last few years, however it is still the premier league, along with O&M and Geelong.

couldnt agree more with the flat thrids..... and they have already een spoken to about the possibilty of them playing a major part of 2009....

but will learn from eaglehawks mistakes that they have now got on top derek is only now using the thirds after losing possibly 5 or so young senoirs players... guess ya learn from ya mistakes.... eaglehawk although lsoing so many will be the team to beat.... know doubts about it but i think that 1-4 with e/h south flat and gs will be close and 5- close cas, gis and mb and sand with 9-10 going to kyn and power should be a good year....

2007 Premiership team contained 13 players who came from our thirds & 2008 there was 12. Healy, Filo, Threfell & Gregg straight out the thirds. Considering your recruiting of the last two years, i will shout you tea at the Windy if Flat fields 10 players who originated from their thirds. Having said that, it will be good for the comp if they can make the finals. Cheers

Probably not true but i heard a rumour that Lock & Robins may be back. can anyone eloborate?

Personally think that the BFL is still around the same standard as the past 5 or so years. Picked up a couple of GV guys, but mainly the older blokes. Haven't heard of too many ex AFL players signing recently to change my mind. I think the HDFL is strengthening a little and interesting to see what Storm does in BFL. I also think the GV has lost a little strength over the last few years, however it is still the premier league, along with O&M and Geelong.

HDFL not far behind Bendigo FL for mine... some big names running around in the bush league now as the clubs are throwing big dollars around. Just off the top of my head, you have A Grant, Z Perez, R Haythorpe... and now S Davis and L Davies from Gis and Square respectively.

Where's Stormboy gone? Still on holidays or what?... the spruiking about the Power has gone missing. Any more recruits?

I'd have to disagree with you on this one. I reckon these blokes would be in the top ten players in the BFL, K.Robbins, D.lock, M.Gretgrix, J.Barham, M.Fitzgerald, G.Bowes, L.Davies, C.Tate and with them all moving on it will only (obviously) weaken our league.

Agree BB. Bendigo footy league just doesn't cut it for such a major regional city centre of 100,000 people. O&M is the best regional league. Geelong is basically classed as melb.

Another former VFL player Brent Dryden is moving from Kyneton to Darley in the Ballarat league. Former Coburg player, played rep footy in the Bendigo league and won Kyneton's best and fairest last year.
Is it Bendigo vs Ballarat this year for Interleague? If so, Ballarat will cruise to victory... depending on player availability of course.

Keeping in mind of course... as much as Eaglehawk like to spruik about promoting their 3rds, they don't mind shunting them either.

prime example - young Josh Metherall is off to Bridgewater. He was omitted from Eaglehawk’s 2008 Grand Final line up for Bendigo Pioneer Julian Lockwood (ex-Castlemaine?)

Keeping in mind of course... as much as Eaglehawk like to spruik about promoting their 3rds, they don't mind shunting them either.

prime example - young Josh Metherall is off to Bridgewater. He was omitted from Eaglehawk’s 2008 Grand Final line up for Bendigo Pioneer Julian Lockwood (ex-Castlemaine?)

Metherall had his chances, his lucky he got that far!! didnt lift a finger all yr including on the training track!!
Bad example sorry!!

Hey Muscles im back! I can't believe that Kangaroo Flat wouldnt want Shannon Millward running around with them your surely kidding. By the way I have heard your blokes are out and about trying to snare another one of our Dragon Men I think he is wise enough to decline.

Spoke to a Strathfieldsaye supporter today who reckons they will be able to topple Castlemaine first up! Are they sending there Super Rules side over?! It would be big news if they did win first up but personally cant see it happening.

Hey Muscles im back! I can't believe that Kangaroo Flat wouldnt want Shannon Millward running around with them your surely kidding. By the way I have heard your blokes are out and about trying to snare another one of our Dragon Men I think he is wise enough to decline.

Spoke to a Strathfieldsaye supporter today who reckons they will be able to topple Castlemaine first up! Are they sending there Super Rules side over?! It would be big news if they did win first up but personally cant see it happening.

we've only chased one after finlay came to us we didnt chase him.... the other one linked to sandhurst actually played at bridgy last year ???? other than that we dont talk to sandhurst players and why would we???