What's happening in the Bendigo Football League #3

what did i say... i said employ a service...not just one person. this service would allow ALL GAMES TO BE RECORDED. have a think mate. also... the league could prob get a discount if they booked every game of the year... so THEY WOULDNT HAVE TO PAY 320 A GAME> read much?

yeh leg is going fine now, played first game in ages on the weekend. and the baseball... yeh i love it... cant play it for shit... (like footy) but i enjoy them...

in tomorrow's paper
the committee wants to go to ballarat league, it's now up to the members to decide.
gisborne would also need to be cleared by bendigo league, if not, then will go to appeal.
i don't think the bendigo league is happy at all, drummy very disapointed with ballarat league board.
Surely, Drummy could see the writing on the wall weeks ago - when everyone else did.

To be honest I'm not disappointed if the BFNL has a 9 team comp next year (thats not saying that Gisborne should leave either !). Having byes during the season is good chance for the players to recover from injuries, reduces club operating expenses (and yes revenue for the home match too, but expenses outweigh the revenue), and gives all the gameday volunteers a bit of a breather.

Guess it will be up to the BFNL to decide whether to grant the request to leave, or slug it out at VCFL appeal. Time will tell I guess !

A Board Member said that it would not bother the BFL and clubs if Gisborne elected to transfer to the Ballarat Football League, with less travel and a bye the Bendigo Football League would be better off.

Looks like they have gor their wish.

what did i say... i said employ a service...not just one person. this service would allow ALL GAMES TO BE RECORDED. have a think mate. also... the league could prob get a discount if they booked every game of the year... so THEY WOULDNT HAVE TO PAY 320 A GAME> read much?

yeh leg is going fine now, played first game in ages on the weekend. and the baseball... yeh i love it... cant play it for shit... (like footy) but i enjoy them...

i wasnt having a go but if u employ someone isn't the start going to be the same quality of being on a boat as u say

i think there is plenty more to play out in this before gisborne is in ballarat
i'm wondering how many players would want to go and play in ballarat. i'm pretty sure a large proportion of gisborne's members would be the playing group.

i think there is plenty more to play out in this before gisborne is in ballarat
i'm wondering how many players would want to go and play in ballarat. i'm pretty sure a large proportion of gisborne's members would be the playing group.

Majority want to go. Why would they want to play in front of small crowds and have no rivalery? Less travel for themsevles as well as there family and friends. The official line back to press etc is that the players are happy in the Bendigo league but drill down and you will find most want to go.

It may be time to let it go Goat. No longer will you have to look forward to tip toeing into Gisborne. Just thank Gisborne for improving the league and wish them good luck in the BalFL.

Geez your carrying on like a tool KA.
I think most of the BFL wanted Gisborne to stay for the standard of the league, I have no doubts they took professionalism to a new level under McGuane and forced other clubs to follow or be left behind but Gisborne is not the powerhouse it once was so i'm not sure the BFL will fall in a heap without them. From what i hear there's plenty of very good footballers coming back to the BFL next year.

I'm not sure if Gisborne have no rivavlry either? I think Eaglehawk and Golden Square would argue with that. If it wasn't for Gisborne both of those clubs would have alot more trophies in the cabinet so i know for a FACT that square LOVE beating Gisborne, probably even more than Sandhurst these days and that's saying something.

Majority want to go. Why would they want to play in front of small crowds and have no rivalery? Less travel for themsevles as well as there family and friends. The official line back to press etc is that the players are happy in the Bendigo league but drill down and you will find most want to go.

It may be time to let it go Goat. No longer will you have to look forward to tip toeing into Gisborne. Just thank Gisborne for improving the league and wish them good luck in the BalFL.
i'm not quite sure if the ballarat league is renowned for having big crowds
are you sure the majority of players want to go to ballarat?
this is going to drag out for a while yet.

i wasnt having a go but if u employ someone isn't the start going to be the same quality of being on a boat as u say
you'd employ a service, an this service would be a business. an this business would have several ppl in it, that know how to operate an record. practice makes perfect.

reckon they could still be here

With what will be proposed to the VCFL there is no way they will block this. In this economic climate there is no way the VCFL will stop the move if it can strengthen the club for the long term - greater crowds and sponsorship will aid Gissy in the long term. Also the 30k a year in fees paid to the BenFL will now be gone. Most of it will end up at Micamy but still it is better than down the toilet.

If the move happens Goat - come to watch Gis V Sunba in round 1 - if any game you go to for the rest of the year - including finals - in the BenFL has a bigger crowd then I will be amazed.

Geez your carrying on like a tool KA.
I think most of the BFL wanted Gisborne to stay for the standard of the league, I have no doubts they took professionalism to a new level under McGuane and forced other clubs to follow or be left behind but Gisborne is not the powerhouse it once was so i'm not sure the BFL will fall in a heap without them. From what i hear there's plenty of very good footballers coming back to the BFL next year.

I'm not sure if Gisborne have no rivavlry either? I think Eaglehawk and Golden Square would argue with that. If it wasn't for Gisborne both of those clubs would have alot more trophies in the cabinet so i know for a FACT that square LOVE beating Gisborne, probably even more than Sandhurst these days and that's saying something.

Never said they will fall in a heap - please don't put words in my mouth. The BenFL will be weakened however.

As for rivalry with Eaglehawk and GS that line has to get an epic FAIL. They may love to beat Gissy but end of the day Gissy don't care about these sides. Fail.

i see your a fan of les habs. i m impressed. did you ever play?

nah mate just a fan that doesn't get to see the Habs on the TV often enough:eek:

i'm not quite sure if the ballarat league is renowned for having big crowds

While a fair call, Gissy will get bigger crowds in the Ballarat FL than the Bendigo FL. Matches between the "Eastern bloc" sides are usually pretty healthy.

A few that come to mind in recent weeks are Melton v Melton South which got a big and vocal crowd, Darley v Bacchus Marsh got a healthy turn out last week and Darley v Melton and Sunbury v Darley usually get good crowds aswell.

And as KA has said Gissy v Sunbury should regularly draw big crowds

As for rivalry with Eaglehawk and GS that line has to get an epic FAIL. They may love to beat Gissy but end of the day Gissy don't care about these sides. Fail.[/quote]

Really? Is this coming fom the players or your opinion?

nah mate just a fan that doesn't get to see the Habs on the TV often enough:eek:

While a fair call, Gissy will get bigger crowds in the Ballarat FL than the Bendigo FL. Matches between the "Eastern bloc" sides are usually pretty healthy.

A few that come to mind in recent weeks are Melton v Melton South which got a big and vocal crowd, Darley v Bacchus Marsh got a healthy turn out last week and Darley v Melton and Sunbury v Darley usually get good crowds aswell.

And as KA has said Gissy v Sunbury should regularly draw big crowds

ka has also mentioned that the first gis/sunba game will be under lights if this is true it will be huge.
will be the best move for the dogs,renewing intrest around the club with a change of leagues should be a good thing for them.

kyneton can breath easily now , no more 35 goal hidings you will get from gisborne , dont stress im sure someone else will take over that role very quickly

As for rivalry with Eaglehawk and GS that line has to get an epic FAIL. They may love to beat Gissy but end of the day Gissy don't care about these sides. Fail.

Really? Is this coming fom the players or your opinion?[/quote]

players coaches committee supporters .

only reason gisborne are hated by eaglehawk are because of the feral people who call eaglehawk there home .
they havent exactly got a great track record when it comes to crowd behaivour at grand finals now have they.

all ben fl clubs should send a letter of thanks to gisborne for raising the bar and improving your comp , when you get rid of that other disgusting side in kyneton then you should have a fairly even comp going again

Really? Is this coming fom the players or your opinion?[/quote]

How can their be a rivalery - they don't play juniors against each other - just beacuse they are strong teams does not make them a rival. Cats V Saints will not go in front of Collingwood V Carlton just because they are the best sides. Any rivalery is forced due to the fact that there is no rival. Speak to the Gissy players at the end of next year and ask them to compare a Gis V Sunba game and a Gis V Eaglehawk game - they will be in tears if you compare the real rivalery against the forced one.

You do realise that the Sunba V Gis practice match got a bigger crowd to it than the Gis V Eaglehawk game for premiership points.

It's normal for practice matches in March to get bigger crowds than games in winter.

I am personally sorry to see Gisborne leave but I can understand their reasons. I think the Bendigo Board should have gone after Sunbury which would have negated the Ballarat attraction.

If Gisborne is cleared then I think the Bendigo Board should go after Rochester. They need a powerful country club and afterall they have six (greater Bendigo) clubs just down the road from Rochester - a lot closer than the likes of Mansfield and Seymour.

It's normal for practice matches in March to get bigger crowds than games in winter.

I am personally sorry to see Gisborne leave but I can understand their reasons. I think the Bendigo Board should have gone after Sunbury which would have negated the Ballarat attraction.

If Gisborne is cleared then I think the Bendigo Board should go after Rochester. They need a powerful country club and afterall they have six (greater Bendigo) clubs just down the road from Rochester - a lot closer than the likes of Mansfield and Seymour.

i wouldnt think rochy or echuca would want to go into the bendigo legue, considering that both clubs have been sucessfull in a much higher standed league. A 9 team Bendigo comp isn't ideal particulary when kyenton are strugerling and Marybrough cant feild a thirds team.