What's happening in the Bendigo Football League #3

Have heard on the grapevine, whilst Daryl Wilson declined the offer, a new coach has just about been appointed. For a hint he is a former coach of the club from what I've been told.
he didnt decline. he wanted to spend heaps of money but the club told him no. Coach is Paul Eyles. team full of last years 18's will struggle big time. had some high profile names on the coaching list but none wanted to do it

It seems as the coach will be announced this week, a few rumblings around that Daryl Wilson may end up at the helm of Kangaroo Flat, a graceful stand aside may happen....:cool:

So you are saying that Murray is going to say "oh you are back Daryl here ya here is the job that you left back??"

Muz is a ripper bloke and one of the genuine good guys of footy but bloody hell this would be a huge thing for him to do

Not the version I heard. Sounded to me that he was not comfortable taking a job at such a late stage, felt it was too late to recruit and prepare properly and he basically didn't want to hurt his reputation by not having time to prepare the club the way he thought was required.

Eyles will be the coach and the rumour mill has that a few players have been recruited, as well as most of last years side retained.

Not the version I heard. Sounded to me that he was not comfortable taking a job at such a late stage, felt it was too late to recruit and prepare properly and he basically didn't want to hurt his reputation by not having time to prepare the club the way he thought was required.

Eyles will be the coach and the rumour mill has that a few players have been recruited, as well as most of last years side retained.

Whats going on at Castlemaine, they going backwards. I heard brian walsh is assistant is this correct? They will struggle to win a game.

Some players are still waitting to get payed for last season so you would think that the players that are still watiing wont stick around.

So you are saying that Murray is going to say "oh you are back Daryl here ya here is the job that you left back??"

Muz is a ripper bloke and one of the genuine good guys of footy but bloody hell this would be a huge thing for him to do

collins wont step down, his been a great coach in his time, and i did hear, wilson & pyramid hill connection could be on the cards, would be good for the hill, but would have to take a couple with him, did hear there has been some talks with flat players and the hill, hope all works out for the hill.:thumbsu:

Whats going on at Castlemaine, they going backwards. I heard brian walsh is assistant is this correct? They will struggle to win a game.

Some players are still waitting to get payed for last season so you would think that the players that are still watiing wont stick around.

Your first point is a fair one and I agree they are.

No idea which, if any, assistants have been appointed.

As for people waiting to be paid that is the first I have heard of that and I would be amazed if that was true.

Ben Duescher definetely leaving Rochy and signed sealed and delivered to Sandhurst? Good get by the slaggers and will be a huge pickup for them as can play anywhere on the ground.

collins wont step down, his been a great coach in his time, and i did hear, wilson & pyramid hill connection could be on the cards, would be good for the hill, but would have to take a couple with him, did hear there has been some talks with flat players and the hill, hope all works out for the hill.:thumbsu:

Would certainly be from left field...but doubt Daryl would want to take a "step back" in his coaching career, and a massive step back it would be at that.

Likewise, I imagine Muz Collins would be on some reasonable coin with his new job at the helm of the Flat, so stepping aside for Daryl would have far more than just 'pride" attached. Willo may just have to take the year off, or help out in a low key support role...it's not ideal, but timing in footy rarely is.

Ben Duescher definetely leaving Rochy and signed sealed and delivered to Sandhurst? Good get by the slaggers and will be a huge pickup for them as can play anywhere on the ground.

This has been on the cards for a while. Good get by the Dragons... Sam O'Brien and Ben Collins from Rochester are also a chance.

I'm told over 60 at last night's opening training session. The Hurst is looking good

This has been on the cards for a while. Good get by the Dragons... Sam O'Brien and Ben Collins from Rochester are also a chance.

I'm told over 60 at last night's opening training session. The Hurst is looking good

if they get duscher= $800, o'brien=$500 collins= $1000, 2 coughlans=??? 500-1000, fitzy=???600

not much room for anyone else also where will they pull the money from?

if they get duscher= $800, o'brien=$500 collins= $1000, 2 coughlans=??? 500-1000, fitzy=???600

No way those blokes are on that much moola... it's Sandhurst... since when have they had any money!

on other news... looks like Castlemaine and Kangaroo Flat are looking to drop a place or 2 in 2010. Harry Maddern looked very happy at Bombers training last night.

How many South 2's players have been pilfered?

How's Maryborough going? Still getting 45-50 at training?

Duescher is worth more than Collins and they will have to be paying some good cabbage as Duescher was offered Fort Knox to go back and play at Balranald. Travel is 1 factor to take out playing locally but he wont be playing because he loves the slaggers and the club.

Heard Duescher was the only one to leave and Collins and O'brien to stay at Rochy

how about next years draw, boyz
2 split rounds and an inter-leag versus gippy latrobe in may
maxie and kenny noisewaters might recall the actual bendigo record vers gippy

i dont think we have been extra good against them

how about next years draw, boyz
2 split rounds and an inter-leag versus gippy latrobe in may
maxie and kenny noisewaters might recall the actual bendigo record vers gippy

i dont think we have been extra good against them

Is there anywhere we can find the 2010 Fixture online?

from GVFL thread....

Deuscher to build career in Bendigo
Ben Deuscher has travelled to play football since he was 17 and he's decided enough is enough. The Rochester premiership midfielder has opted to join Bendigo Football League side Sandhurst next season to cut down his footballing travel.

Bendigo-based Deuscher, just turned 22, is a third-year apprentice builder under last season's Rochester premiership coach Daniel Schmidt. Deuscher trained with Sandhurst one night a week during his two seasons at Rochester. ``I've got a few mates playing there who I used to play (Bendigo) Pioneers with,'' Deuscher said.

Maybe money is not everything lads.. he's obviously knows the club fairly well over 2 years and he's playing with mates. Maybe even have a crack at the Bombers....

he's certainly getting paid, but $1,000 a game.... not a snowflakes chance.

from Central Vic Footy...

It’s official..! The Magpies elect Eyles.

By admin on November 17th, 2009
Castlemaine have appointed Paul Eyles as Senior Coach for the 2010 Season. Eyles who last Coached the Magpies in the 2005 Season when the senior team qualified for the finals with a double chance and then bundled out have ended their search after an extensive search.

Outgoing Kangaroo Flat Coach Darryl Wilson was approached as was Danny O’Bree who will return to South Bendigo within as the past fortnight the pressure increased on Magpies officials to appoint a leader and sink their teeth into building a strong list.

Davis 24, Last year Kyneton had some good young players who were tied up with the Bombers and the Pioneers - Redpath and the likes.

What is their future in 2010?
former pint sized dual seymour premeirship 05/06 player gerard liddell is rumoured to be heading to kyneton 2010 after an 18 month stint with port douglas [afl cairns] would be a good addition to the growing number of recruits to the tiges

from GVFL thread....

Deuscher trained with Sandhurst one night a week during his two seasons at Rochester. ``I've got a few mates playing there who I used to play (Bendigo) Pioneers with,'' Deuscher said.

Maybe money is not everything lads.. he's obviously knows the club fairly well over 2 years and he's playing with mates. Maybe even have a crack at the Bombers....

he's certainly getting paid, but $1,000 a game.... not a snowflakes chance.

Can I take a guess and say he is worth at least $600-700 MINIMUM. Played better footy elsewhere and is worth whatever he can get but please dont try to tell us he loves the club and every bloke at Sandhurst is his mate.

from Central Vic Footy...

It’s official..! The Magpies elect Eyles.

By admin on November 17th, 2009

Castlemaine have appointed Paul Eyles as Senior Coach for the 2010 Season. Eyles who last Coached the Magpies in the 2005 Season when the senior team qualified for the finals with a double chance and then bundled out have ended their search after an extensive search.

Outgoing Kangaroo Flat Coach Darryl Wilson was approached as was Danny O’Bree who will return to South Bendigo within as the past fortnight the pressure increased on Magpies officials to appoint a leader and sink their teeth into building a strong list.

Not sure the Danny O'Bree comment is correct. As I hear there were 5 people seriously approached to do the job and he was not one of them.

Castlemaine straight into training tonight under new coach, numbers down but only two days notice was given that it was on.

Interestingly all of the players mentioned in another thread as going back to Newstead in another thread trained tonight.

So far it seems that only confirmed losses are Sellars and possibly Pope otherwise list seems intact.

Would certainly be from left field...but doubt Daryl would want to take a "step back" in his coaching career, and a massive step back it would be at that.

Likewise, I imagine Muz Collins would be on some reasonable coin with his new job at the helm of the Flat, so stepping aside for Daryl would have far more than just 'pride" attached. Willo may just have to take the year off, or help out in a low key support role...it's not ideal, but timing in footy rarely is.
I have had a new update here, apprently it may get messy now that Daryl is back..stay tuned...:confused:
Also, as much as the Maddern/South rumour seemed fanciful, now Ive heard it a few times and it wont go away. A prominent footy pal off mine was approached and asked his opinion of Balraj Singh by a recruiter from a Northern League. He was chasing $5k sign on and $1800 a game... Now anybody who saw him occupying E/hawks goal square know that thats pushing it. My guy said if you are spending 1800 Justin Maddern is your man. Enquiries made, Maddern has 1800 on the table from a Bendigo team...Interesting as South probably spent that total a week last year.... But with Essendons wealth of young talls, Bendigo Bombers is not the place for one last crack for Justin...ponder this, before we pour water...:footy:

I have had a new update here, apprently it may get messy now that Daryl is back..stay tuned...:confused:
Also, as much as the Maddern/South rumour seemed fanciful, now Ive heard it a few times and it wont go away. A prominent footy pal off mine was approached and asked his opinion of Balraj Singh by a recruiter from a Northern League. He was chasing $5k sign on and $1800 a game... Now anybody who saw him occupying E/hawks goal square know that thats pushing it. My guy said if you are spending 1800 Justin Maddern is your man. Enquiries made, Maddern has 1800 on the table from a Bendigo team...Interesting as South probably spent that total a week last year.... But with Essendons wealth of young talls, Bendigo Bombers is not the place for one last crack for Justin...ponder this, before we pour water...:footy:

$1800 on the table....christ he didn't even kick a ton last year. I would be wanting my forward to kick at least 100 every year if you were going to pay anywhere near that amount

haha, yeah, I aint paying it...But he is a gun...:spade:

now looks certain hoops was the poster about the "maddern-off to south bgo" rumour on the radio rumour file
not the dartsfile but, judging from his latest material, our mate hoops .... othr bigfooty posters have linked hoops pretty conclusively to the aforesed radio