What's happening in the Bendigo Football League

Top dog gone

Luke West
Saturday, 28 January 2006

PREMIERSHIP forward Jordan Barham has quit Gisborne to embark on a Victorian Football League career with Werribee.

Barham has spent the past two years with Gisborne, playing in the club's All Seasons Bendigo Football League premiership last season and losing grand final side to Sandhurst in 2004.

But he is moving on to pit his skills at a higher level with Werribee, who was beaten by Sandringham in last year's thrilling VFL grand final.

"We're rapt to get Jordan; we spoke to him last year, but he said he wanted to have a year playing footy with his brother," Werribee coach Simon Atkins said yesterday.

"He's coming off a fantastic season with Gisborne, and has the benefit of doing a pre-season with Melbourne behind him.

"He offers us height and mobility at either end of the ground and he has set a great example on the training track in the two weeks he has been training with us."

Barham has previously spent time on the Port Power and St Kilda rookie lists, and also spent the first part of the pre-season this summer with Melbourne, but was unsuccessful in being drafted.

Since he returned to Gisborne from Myrtleford in 2004, Barham has been one of the most difficult key forwards for opposition sides to match up on in the BFL.

Last year, he kicked 59 goals for the Bulldogs, including six hauls of five goals or more.

He kicked three in Gisborne's 31-point win against Eaglehawk in the grand final at the Queen Elizabeth Oval, but it could have been considerably more after he had 12 shots at goal.

Gisborne coach Marcus Barham - Jordan's brother - said the 194 cm athletic forward would be a loss, but his departure gives younger players at Gardiner Reserve an opportunity.

Matthew Knox - a Rositas Rising Star nominee in round two last year - is one player who looms as a potential replacement at full-forward.

In his debut senior game last season, Knox booted six goals against Maryborough in an encouraging performance.

Another possible full-forward for the Bulldogs is Richard White, who kicked five goals against Kangaroo Flat late in the season.

"We've got some good young players coming through who will get their opportunity, so we can't worry about it too much," Marcus said.

The Bulldogs have pre-season matches lined up against Sunshine and Sunbury, and the BFL lightning premiership on April 1.

Gisborne played in last year's Ballarat Football League lightning premiership, and Marcus says the club is looking forward to competing in the Bendigo Football League's version.

"It's a good concept and a good chance to see new recruits from other sides," Marcus said.

"We go out to win every game, but because it will be our last hit-out before the season starts and our side for round one won't be decided, we will be giving a few blokes a chance."

The Bulldogs' first game of the premiership season will be when they play Golden Square at Country Vet Oval on Sunday, April 16.

Meanwhile, South Bendigo's active recruiting campaign has continued, with the Bloods' luring Ryan Connaughton back to the club.

Connaughton spent last year with Goulburn Valley Football League club, Rochester.

"It's good to have Ryan back at the club," South Bendigo coach Danny O'Bree said.

"We might play him down back this year; I think he will enjoy the challenge of playing off a half-back flank."

The Bloods will be the first team to confront the BFL's newest club, North City, when they clash under lights at the QEO on Saturday, April 15.

South Bendigo finished third last year, beaten by Eaglehawk in the preliminary final.

Afternoon fellow footy fans.

I've heard this is the forum to come to to find out what's going on in Bendigo footy.
I'm an ex-BFL player who now lives interstate.
I love Bendigo footy and like to stay in touch with what's going on.

I still have a few mates in town and the word going around is that there's a crisis brewing at one Bendigo-based club.
It seems a practical joke by team-mates aimed at the sexuality of one of the league's high-profile players backfired and he's now threatened to head to the Central Murray league (Kerang or Cohuna I think) for big bucks.

Anyone else heard anything about it????

the Power brothers (Dave & Kuke) will return to Gisborne after a couple of years at Doutta Stars in the Essendon District, i thought both were happy in town playing and were going back to Gisborne to finish out their careers. Elsum will play at Doutta in 2006
:rolleyes:

woody07 said:
Big news from Gisborne. Jordan Barham is doing a pre-season with Melbourne- a chance of getting on the rookie list. At the very least will play V.F.L .Simon Elsum (Michelson Medalist) and David Power (premiership defender) will be back at Gisborne next year. Both players did not enjoy their year at Dooda Stars. Chris Curcio may make a comeback. Adam Potroskvy is trying his luck at Coburg and Rick Watts at Williamstown- Both wont make it-Adam too slow (good player but too slow). Tai Elliot may not play.

I've just been away on a six week holiday overseas, so haven't had a chance to catch up on what has been happening around the BFL scene for a while. Seems there has been a fair bit going on and like always at this time, a lot of rumours flying around. Looking forward to clearances opening tomorrow so that these rumours may now start to become fact. It seems that there is a few big stories brewing at the moment that will be worth keeping an eye on. At this early stage, i reckon it's shaping as a replay of last year's grand final between gisborne and eaglehawk. gisborne have had little player movement so far, but the big loss is the big Jbar - jordan barham - who is off to the vfl. there's no doubt the loss of jordan brings gisborne back a few begs, but they will still be the team to beat. eaglehawk has recruited very well so far and i'm putting my hard-earns on kain robins to win the michelsen. i also like south as well. the bloods will be a serious threat this year under o'bree and are another side that has recruited well.

Why would Square be worried about the Anderson boys leaving??

Dillon couldn't get a kick in a street fight at the moment and Clayton is more intent on becoming the biggest serial pest on the grog since Christian Carter!!

Word has it they were both told they'll spend considerable time in the two's at Square this year hence the thought to move back to Coona was born.

If Clayton does go, expect his mate "Dogboy" to be trekking along behind him on all fours!

WELCOME back Pickles.
Where did u go, and how was the flying time. I remember one time not long back a marathon haul from Dubai to Melbourne -- 13 hours in an Emirates SkyBus.

Seem pretty confident with the square team Wobble if you think the Andersons would play 2's. They were pretty consistent i thought. I also remeber the coach saying last year (when one or both were injured) that they would add a lot of speed and class and that they would be a far better side with them? It was when they lost a couple on the trot. Has there has been a falling out of sorts?

I went to the hills of Europe for a bit of back packing. was good fun, but you don't get much news on the bfl over there. It's good to be back. 28 hours in the plane.

Not that I am aware of Weapo, sources close to the club tell me they are becoming increasingly frustrated by their lack of fulfilled potential.

I did however hear last night that if Clayton did leave he would certainly be a loss, so I will retrack what I mentioned yesterday on bf, but as for Dillon Claude Critchley has provided more entertainment in BFL ranks.

Anyone out there know what nights the Square train?

Wouldn't mind going along for a look, haven't been to a circus for awhile!

To be honest with you Ablett, I don't really know them, played against Dillon and few times and he hardly bothered the stats man.

I don't know about them only being 5ft tall together, Clayton seems to think he is 10ft tall and bulletproof after a couple of cans of courage.

Seem him at the Universal the other week and you would have thought he was the next Tony Plim the way he was going about his business!

wobble said:
Not that I am aware of Weapo, sources close to the club tell me they are becoming increasingly frustrated by their lack of fulfilled potential.

I did however hear last night that if Clayton did leave he would certainly be a loss, so I will retrack what I mentioned yesterday on bf, but as for Dillon Claude Critchley has provided more entertainment in BFL ranks.

Anyone out there know what nights the Square train?

Wouldn't mind going along for a look, haven't been to a circus for awhile!

The square are training tonight mate, at the moment I think it is Monday Wednesday and the odd friday! As for comparing Dillon to Claude, Claude probably has more skill too.

Kangaroo Flat have offered a bloke in the KDL, $200 a game, a room for the nights he plays and also an extra $30 for every trg session he attends.
Who by the way is not good enough to play GV 1's, nor has he ever played major comp.?

Where is the bottom of the barrell in country footy. ??

wheelbarrow said:
Kangaroo Flat have offered a bloke in the KDL, $200 a game, a room for the nights he plays and also an extra $30 for every trg session he attends.
Who by the way is not good enough to play GV 1's, nor has he ever played major comp.?

At a guess, I'd say you're talking about Shaun Pearce from Stanhope? (There were rumours Flat were chasing him). Sure, he's never played major league, but has kicked a lot of goals over the last 3-4 seasons in the KDL. Personally i don't think $200/wk is a lot to pay a TOP KDL footballer to take the step up to the BFL. Flat need a goal-kicker or 2, so I reckon he'd be a great recruit for them if they got him for that price (and if indeed he's the player in question...)

wheelbarrow said:

I guess clubs at the bottom and trying to rebuild look at getting the ball rolling, even though they have been trying and maybe should have tried a lot earlier but maybe the are taking the angle that they have to try and get players and spend a little more than they should. They are obviously struggling and its disappointing for a few at the club who deserve success.

In saying that, people do up there price because they will end up getting somewhere!

T.Perry said:
At a guess, I'd say you're talking about Shaun Pearce from Stanhope? (There were rumours Flat were chasing him). Sure, he's never played major league, but has kicked a lot of goals over the last 3-4 seasons in the KDL. Personally i don't think $200/wk is a lot to pay a TOP KDL footballer to take the step up to the BFL. Flat need a goal-kicker or 2, so I reckon he'd be a great recruit for them if they got him for that price (and if indeed he's the player in question...)

Its not Pearce, he would be worth that to a struggling major league club..

Not this bloke..

hey wheelie you reported on the gvl thred that salakowski is training at shepp utd, what has happened to the 'flat deal'? has he pulled the pin on the idea? or is he just doing pre-season with united to get fit for his alledged Bendigo Footy assault?

do fill us in wheeliebin :)

wheelbarrow said:

What amazes me is that clubs like the flat will go and do this for a player in a comp they have probably never even seen (apart from Dicko obviously), yet some of these bendigo clubs won't even bother trying to recruit good young players from the HDFL to build up their list.

The HDFL by the way, would be easily infront of the KDL comp....

Norfolk & Clew said:
The square are training tonight mate, at the moment I think it is Monday Wednesday and the odd friday! As for comparing Dillon to Claude, Claude probably has more skill too.

Have spoken to Dillon since i posted the above and he has reassured me that he is a better footballer than Claude Critchley, sorry to misinform you all:thumbsu: