What's happening in the Bendigo Football League

just heard today that rochy and echuca would be playing in the bfl pre season comp. whats everyones opinion on this? interesting to see how it goes.

with only 90 or so days to kick off who can tell me which teams will be up there and which players will be match winners come season 2006?

:thumbsu: YEAH, WW, will be interesting to c how Rochie and Echuca fare in the Lightning Premiership.
The one-day job is only a fortnight out from the start of the BFL season so reckon Rochie and the Murray Bombers will be keen to make a big impression. So will the Bendigo clubs.
My tips for the BFL 5 (even at this early stage) -- Gissie, South, Square, E'hawk and Sandhurst.
North City will be a real threat I feel especially after the end of June when the club has settled in.
Forget Castlermaine. No forward line left. Kyneton will be OK provided Eve stands up and new boy S. Carroll keeps focussed on the footy, Maryboro will again win 3 to 4 games --OK, maybe 5. Flat might win 2: double the 2005 total.

Wayne Weideman said:
just heard today that rochy and echuca would be playing in the bfl pre season comp. whats everyones opinion on this? interesting to see how it goes.

GVFL clubs return to BFL
Luke West
Friday, 20 January 2006

ECHUCA and Rochester will return to the All Seasons Bendigo Football League this year.
But it won't be for the season proper - the two Goulburn Valley Football League clubs were yesterday confirmed as the two "outside" teams to compete in the BFL's inaugural pre-season lightning premiership on April 1.

With the addition of Echuca and Rochester, it means 12 teams will compete in the pre-season competition at the Queen Elizabeth Oval.

"Obviously, both these clubs have a past connection to the BFL and it's great they have accepted the opportunity to come back and play," BFL general manager Tony Pierce said.

"There have been a number of players move from Bendigo to these clubs, and vice-versa, and logistically, they both fit in well, so it should be good."The lightning premiership will double as the BFL's first look at its newest club, North City, which becomes the league's 10th team.

The Ballarat-based North City last year signed a 10-season agreement with the BFL after failing in its bid to be accepted into the Ballarat Football League.

"With Echuca, Rochester and North City, it sets it up for what should be a good pre-season competition," Pierce said.

"The clubs have been receptive to it and included it as part of their pre-season preparations.

"It's a new concept for the league, but an exciting one, and I see no reason why it can't grow into an annual event."Long-time Rochester coach David Williams said the club was looking forward to competing in the lightning premiership.

"We didn't have any practice matches organised for that weekend and we think it's a good concept," Williams said.

Will be interesting to see how Rochy shapes up against the better BFL teams. Hard to say who will be available for all the clubs given other sporting comittments (cricket, etc) and also dependant on how serious each club takes it.

Square signs ruckman
Luke West
Tuesday, 24 January 2006

THE number one aim for Golden Square to boost its list with a ruckman for the 2006 All Seasons Bendigo Football League season has been fulfilled.

The Bulldogs have lured former Bendigo Pioneer and Lake Boga ruckman Wes Pye to Country Vet Oval for this year's BFL season.

And Pye's signing couldn't be more timely, with doubt over Daniel Nalder and Cameron Walsh playing for the Bulldogs this year.

Both Walsh and Nalder shared the rucking duties for Golden Square last season, but Nalder will be based in Geelong and Walsh in Melbourne this year.

While Pye will take on the mantle as the Bulldogs' number one ruckman this year, he has also played up forward and in defence in the past.

"He is a big build, reads the game pretty well and will add some aggression to our side," Golden Square coach Darren Walsh said yesterday.

"Our main target of the pre-season was to get a ruckman, so we're obviously pleased to get him."Pye - a former Central Murray Football League representative - will be based in Melbourne this year.

While Golden Square has added some much-needed height to its list with Pye, its midfield has also been bolstered by the addition of Chris Martens from Port Macquarie, who is a former league medallist.

There has been speculation that Golden Square has signed defender Matt Winsall from Charlton.

However, Walsh said that was not the case, and that he hadn't even spoken to Winsall.

Other recruits who will join the Bulldogs this year include Warrack Eagles' premiership player Luke Rosa, Matt Tyrell - who played in Golden Square's 2001 flag - and Jason Curtain, who spent last year on the Bendigo Bank Bombers' list.

Another former player in Robert Brown will return to the club this year.

"We also have four or five guys training with us who we hope to sign to add to our list and strengthen our depth," Walsh said.

Golden Square - who was beaten by South Bendigo in last year's elimination final - will play a practice mach against Goulburn Valley Football League club Kyabram on March 19, and Geelong Football League club North Shore in Bendigo on March 25.

For the third year in a row, the club will also hold a weekend training camp at Torquay on March 3-4.

Golden Square will open its 2006 campaign when it hosts reigning premier Gisborne on Sunday, April 16.

The Bulldogs were the only team to beat Gisborne last year, when they triumphed by a point in round seven at Gardiner Reserve.

Has anyone got any idea on what a club would pay out for players in a year? Don't have to name a club but maybe what you know that a club has paid out lately over a year?

Obviously clubs are doing a fair bit of recruiting and spending a lot. Would hate to see my beloved boys go too far!

Weapo said:
Has anyone got any idea on what a club would pay out for players in a year? Don't have to name a club but maybe what you know that a club has paid out lately over a year?

Obviously clubs are doing a fair bit of recruiting and spending a lot. Would hate to see my beloved boys go too far!

100 to 160K would get u a flag in the GV

25 to 40K dpending on what and who u got would stitch it for u in the KD.

Weapo said:

Yea spent under $20,000 to win last years CGFL flag, Broadford spent $69,000 in '03 when runners up to Colbo in the HDFL

Doona2 said:
Yea spent under $20,000 to win last years CGFL flag, Broadford spent $69,000 in '03 when runners up to Colbo in the HDFL

not many clubs can do that doona - under 20k is quite a fantastic statement about the players and the club. Coleambally up in the coreen district comp won the flag last year and spent 25k.

sticking with the bendigo fl theme, it would not surprise me if tyrell does a backflip and stays at the hillies with brian walsh expected to take the job.

HJ32 said:
not many clubs can do that doona - under 20k is quite a fantastic statement about the players and the club.

sticking with the bendigo fl theme, it would not surprise me if tyrell does a backflip and stays at the hillies with brian walsh expected to take the job.

Will that entice others to stick around???

"There has been speculation that Golden Square has signed defender Matt Winsall from Charlton.

However, Walsh said that was not the case, and that he hadn't even spoken to Winsall."

i thought Winsall was heading to the borough! maybe he's going to have a run at south whilst contemplating offers from Slagheads and the flat.

HJ32 said:
"There has been speculation that Golden Square has signed defender Matt Winsall from Charlton.

However, Walsh said that was not the case, and that he hadn't even spoken to Winsall."

i thought Winsall was heading to the borough! maybe he's going to have a run at south whilst contemplating offers from Slagheads and the flat.

Thats unlike matty to be taking offers from differents clubs ;)

Word has hit the street that the Millward brothers are in negotiations with Kerang and are keen to join the Central Murray Club. This would be a major hit in the onion bags for the Flat if proved to be true.

On The Money said:
Word has hit the street that the Millward brothers are in negotiations with Kerang and are keen to join the Central Murray Club. This would be a major hit in the onion bags for the Flat if proved to be true.

I actually heard this rumour and didn't know how serious it was OTM. Must be the real deal if the word is getting around. Will be the a huge loss for the seemed to be improving flat. They have picked up a few and then to lose them would be interesting. Is anyone going with them i wonder? Is this cause they offered the coaching job to one of them and it wasn't pursued? They may have had a falling out by giving it back to Brown, which also seems hard to believe when he didn't want to take the job on again after the season?

Doona2 said:

What would coaches in the league be on?

Weapo said:
I actually heard this rumour and didn't know how serious it was OTM. Must be the real deal if the word is getting around. Will be the a huge loss for the seemed to be improving flat. They have picked up a few and then to lose them would be interesting. Is anyone going with them i wonder? Is this cause they offered the coaching job to one of them and it wasn't pursued? They may have had a falling out by giving it back to Brown, which also seems hard to believe when he didn't want to take the job on again after the season?

Yer I don't know heaps about it Weapo but Chris Belz was the other name mentioned with them and he is originally from Kerang so that could be legit. Phil Brichmore who played with the Flat in 2004 is going back there too so they might have a car pool on the go. Who have Flat actually picked up?

On The Money said:

This would be a devastating blow to the Flat. I was looking forward to seeing our younger guys with a bit more experience this season but we need as many experienced players as we can get. Geez I hope the Flat keep them! :(

OH no, Cavey. All this talk through summer that the Flat might win more than one game in 2006, recruit asst. coach Dickens and experienced inter-league campaigner Salakowski and then 4 guys could disappear overnite.
I've got Phil Birchmore included in that figure of 4, by the way.
And all of them head to the Central Murray league.
Maybe we r back to the scenario of Flat winning one game for the season --- AGAIN.