What's happening in the Bendigo Football League

Originally Posted by Norfolk & Clew North ballarat are a brand new club in their second year of existence, most of the better players in the Ballarat region I am presuming, would play in the Ballarat league. North Ballarat have to travel massive distances every 2nd week and alot of players would hate to do that. It would be alot harder than you think for them to recruit, they have a strong junior system so if they keep bringing them through they should go ok in a few years.

Spot on Norfolk - The trouble with Ballarat is the Lexton Plains and Central Highlands leagues pay big money sucking all the second string players out of the Ballarat FL, so North City has no hope

Its sad to say but I think it could possibly happen. Not sure who all the teams are playing and obviously weather pending but there could be some big scores this weekend. Fair call on Ballarat, I tend to agree with your thoughts. The travel issue is a huge factor not just for Ballarat but any sides out of Bendigo. Its super hard recruit blokes that have to travel an hour for training and two for games. Think that is why Gisborne is blessed it has predominantly local blokes.

Not only that but Gissy are in the prime possy to recruit blokes from the northern & western suburbs if the young talent is not coming through. On a good run it takes twice as long to get from Kyneton to Bendigo as it does from Essendon to Gisbourne. Given that the club is financial, those waiting to see them wane as a power will die very old, frustrated men.

My positive, respectful post for the Bulldogs for the year - enjoy.

Not only that but Gissy are in the prime possy to recruit blokes from the northern & western suburbs if the young talent is not coming through. On a good run it takes twice as long to get from Kyneton to Bendigo as it does from Essendon to Gisbourne. Given that the club is financial, those waiting to see them wane as a power will die very old, frustrated men.

My positive, respectful post for the Bulldogs for the year - enjoy.
This works both ways, we are 10 minutes from Ballarat league powerhouse Sunbury, who are reportedly spending $180,000 on players this year and 30 minutes from Essendon league Sides (Strathmore, Greenvale) who also spend upward of that figure. So we have a fair job on our hands each year to keep our locals from leaving for stupid amounts of money being offered by these type of clubs.

I personally think the reason for Gisbornes continued Success is a combination of a few things, for starters we have a very hard working commitee, quality coaching staff, we have a very talented group of locals that love playing together and a fantastic bunch of sponsors and supporters who all love their local footy .

This works both ways, we are 10 minutes from Ballarat league powerhouse Sunbury, who are reportedly spending $180,000 on players this year and 30 minutes from Essendon league Sides (Strathmore, Greenvale) who also spend upward of that figure. So we have a fair job on our hands each year to keep our locals from leaving for stupid amounts of money being offered by these type of clubs.

I personally think the reason for Gisbornes continued Success is a combination of a few things, for starters we have a very hard working commitee, quality coaching staff, we have a very talented group of locals that love playing together and a fantastic bunch of sponsors and supporters who all love their local footy .

How many city players are at Gisborne? I would have thought 95% of Gissy players are local.

Ive heard that Kyneton is in big trouble apparently some of their big recruits arnt happy, heard that they had 11 players at training tonight wouldnt be surprised if there is a walk out soon.

as i remember it was about this time last year cook walked out on kyneton surley not again... things must have changed in that time down there otherwise they have some serious problems

Yes - but more like the good sides playing the developing sides!

I think the only close one will be Maine and Sandhurst.

yeah sure are not a good weekend for BFL spectators this weekend go and catch a riddel game or take the trip to the telsrta dome and watch carlton vs adelaide i certainly will be.

Am i the only ******** around the bendigo league who supports a bottom of the rung club (kyneton). That s worried about why the bendigo league has yet to realise that for the sake of the bendigo junior football league. we have to run it. to have under 16.5 is absoulte bullshit as is having under 15 s. The bendigo football league must come forward and say you have under 15s and the league rung under 17 s instead of the current under 18 s. or vise versa under14 s and 16s juniors BFL under 18 s. We only have to look at why Gisborne who have under 16 s then 18 s can continue to bring through there own young players. Thats from a kyneton man who says why don t kyneton get sides to the riddell juniors.
As i experienced way back in 1988 you do need 2 years of being around a club firstly to know the players then to get confiedence to be able to play with them. I was lucky that i came through with players such as shane muir tony kelly bob beare terry mangan and ross foreman that all made you welcome.
It is hard for players to find there feet in one year of under 18s not the super stars the players of the middle range maybe bigger build they find it harder to compete and find there place in the club. Some of the blokes who could not get the ball end up the best and as respected people around the club doing the more mundane jobs that must be done. (i.e team mangers runners ground raffles trainers barman ect) and many more.
Being a former seconds coach who had to chase players even when the seniors made the finals all i can say is the changing persons mentalitty and work commitments we no longer live in a society where 12 o clock saturday everything shut of to the footy. Tuesday thursday knock off work around 5 for 6 training it the new real world has people working all shifts and hours your genuine seconds player cannot afford to be hurt.
Its great for people to get on here and pot shot clubs for low training numbers saying theres trouble but not just in this league all leagues this contunies to happen.
Just not Kyneton it happens everywhere a young bloke i work with from bendigo (yes he comes to kyneton to work night shift) has just given up footy for the year at sandhurst because he has to come to work 5 nights to help him live.( pay his rent ect.) He s only casual and quiet times say 3 days is not enough. This a players of there under 18 s last year and played seniors. thats just one of many young people i know of who now are not playing. Everyone who reads this will know many.
Today could be the sadest day of my footy career to help out i have to play. 10 years ago the QEO was too big, hope the full back can have a good chat i might just out fox him.(although the netball has changed) my only savior is that a 1996 senior premiership player from the flat (i forgive him) is older than me.
So it s easy to bag blow outs lets start from the top our kids.
Maybe tommorow as i stand like Nicky Winmar i will bear my guts to the crowd although the smaller jumpers should see it all game.
Cmon bendigo work it out. NO PARENT PREMIERSHIPS.
p.s (kyneton a currently a top contender to win the under 16.5 we hope them kids go on)

Am i the only ******** around the bendigo league who supports a bottom of the rung club (kyneton). That s worried about why the bendigo league has yet to realise that for the sake of the bendigo junior football league. we have to run it. to have under 16.5 is absoulte bullshit as is having under 15 s. The bendigo football league must come forward and say you have under 15s and the league rung under 17 s instead of the current under 18 s. or vise versa under14 s and 16s juniors BFL under 18 s. We only have to look at why Gisborne who have under 16 s then 18 s can continue to bring through there own young players. Thats from a kyneton man who says why don t kyneton get sides to the riddell juniors.
As i experienced way back in 1988 you do need 2 years of being around a club firstly to know the players then to get confiedence to be able to play with them. I was lucky that i came through with players such as shane muir tony kelly bob beare terry mangan and ross foreman that all made you welcome.
It is hard for players to find there feet in one year of under 18s not the super stars the players of the middle range maybe bigger build they find it harder to compete and find there place in the club. Some of the blokes who could not get the ball end up the best and as respected people around the club doing the more mundane jobs that must be done. (i.e team mangers runners ground raffles trainers barman ect) and many more.
Being a former seconds coach who had to chase players even when the seniors made the finals all i can say is the changing persons mentalitty and work commitments we no longer live in a society where 12 o clock saturday everything shut of to the footy. Tuesday thursday knock off work around 5 for 6 training it the new real world has people working all shifts and hours your genuine seconds player cannot afford to be hurt.
Its great for people to get on here and pot shot clubs for low training numbers saying theres trouble but not just in this league all leagues this contunies to happen.
Just not Kyneton it happens everywhere a young bloke i work with from bendigo (yes he comes to kyneton to work night shift) has just given up footy for the year at sandhurst because he has to come to work 5 nights to help him live.( pay his rent ect.) He s only casual and quiet times say 3 days is not enough. This a players of there under 18 s last year and played seniors. thats just one of many young people i know of who now are not playing. Everyone who reads this will know many.
Today could be the sadest day of my footy career to help out i have to play. 10 years ago the QEO was too big, hope the full back can have a good chat i might just out fox him.(although the netball has changed) my only savior is that a 1996 senior premiership player from the flat (i forgive him) is older than me.
Maybe tommorow as i stand like Nicky Winmar i will bear my guts to the crowd although the smaller jumpers should see it all game.
p.s (kyneton a currently a top contender to win the under 16.5 we hope them kids go on)

I feel your pain Fatman.

Ultimately work pressures do have a lot to do with it. An employer isn't all that interested in your pressing desire to knock off early for footy training unless they are a sponsor. They seem even less impressed when you are on light duties for three weeks when you have done your shoulder. The other side of the equation is that the insurance companies promise everything and deliver SFA. Fact.

With regards to the BDJFL, I'm not sure I understand your point entirely, but if it relates to making those juniors part of the club structure and culture, I totally agree. I'm sure some of the seniors like Daz Chambers et al, would be down there helping out and welcoming them at every opportunity. I certainly remember being wide-eyed myself when blokes like Tunz, Shaney and Bobby trained with the thirds.

In respect to you playing tomorrow, I hope it isn't your saddest day in footy, but to me it just illustrates how the footy club (any footy club) needs to become relevant to the community in which it lives. Now I am sure there are plenty of people out there in the local Kyneton area that have no connection with the club in any way. Why not hire some training gear (ie: treadmills, weights, rowing machines, etc.) and set them up in the clubrooms as a gym - usable when the boys are training on the track. It could be part of your membership. Hell we have demand for 2 gyms as it is. One of the Schmidt boys could be serving pots for those less inclined to perspire.

We need to get culture back into the place. I put a post on here a day or two ago praising Gisborne (sort of) and the response I got was about the hardworking people that made it all happen. That is true in every club I reckon. FFS Eileen Riordan has been Secretary for 138 years I think. It's time to spread the load, committee, players and supporters. Then perhaps we won't have to spend coin enticing players.

I'll bring my socks and shorts just in case. Might only have socks and they seem to have shrunk.

I feel your pain Fatman.

Ultimately work pressures do have a lot to do with it. An employer isn't all that interested in your pressing desire to knock off early for footy training unless they are a sponsor. They seem even less impressed when you are on light duties for three weeks when you have done your shoulder. The other side of the equation is that the insurance companies promise everything and deliver SFA. Fact.

With regards to the BDJFL, I'm not sure I understand your point entirely, but if it relates to making those juniors part of the club structure and culture, I totally agree. I'm sure some of the seniors like Daz Chambers et al, would be down there helping out and welcoming them at every opportunity. I certainly remember being wide-eyed myself when blokes like Tunz, Shaney and Bobby trained with the thirds.

In respect to you playing tomorrow, I hope it isn't your saddest day in footy, but to me it just illustrates how the footy club (any footy club) needs to become relevant to the community in which it lives. Now I am sure there are plenty of people out there in the local Kyneton area that have no connection with the club in any way. Why not hire some training gear (ie: treadmills, weights, rowing machines, etc.) and set them up in the clubrooms as a gym - usable when the boys are training on the track. It could be part of your membership. Hell we have demand for 2 gyms as it is. One of the Schmidt boys could be serving pots for those less inclined to perspire.

We need to get culture back into the place. I put a post on here a day or two ago praising Gisborne (sort of) and the response I got was about the hardworking people that made it all happen. That is true in every club I reckon. FFS Eileen Riordan has been Secretary for 138 years I think. It's time to spread the load, committee, players and supporters. Then perhaps we won't have to spend coin enticing players.

I'll bring my socks and shorts just in case. Might only have socks and they seem to have shrunk.

ox i feel your post mate you have always
hcae a drink with wjthttrhe coaxch good lu ck
y

The main reason Kyneton won't play their juniors in the RDFL is most of their best players are from the RDFL anyway and kids won't play against their old clubs.

Check their list and see how many come from Woodend and Lancefield?

Gisbornes success is that they look after their juniors well and recruit very well from the RDFL with players who want to further develope their football. Having a good club culture helps something Kyneton hasn't got.

Ive heard that Kyneton is in big trouble apparently some of their big recruits arnt happy, heard that they had 11 players at training tonight wouldnt be surprised if there is a walk out soon.

Little Man you are a fool. wasn't at the game but got the mail that Apparently Kyneton had a real crack and there was a lot of feeling between the boys if not for a slow start and missed goals should have rolled south, may not be a finals contender but will give some teams a run for there money.. what recruits arn't happy mate Cook, Tate, Funston, Sultan they all seem pretty happy, wheres your mail coming from, just let them go about there buisness