What's happening in the Bendigo Football League

Flat have allot of problems that need to be sorted out.

Firstly they need to start from the top with the Pres.. i am sure he means well and is a decent bloke but the flat need someone in this role who is a doer and with a Marketing background. They need to find someone with business smarts and contacts that can recruit people to the club with a vision to improve it. Hence why a marketing person because at the moment it would be very hard to attract players and sponsors to get on board and waste their hard earned money and time on a rabble.

Once they find this person they then need to recruit his helpers all need good ideas but need people who are going to help perform the work. (Many hands make light work) Perferable people with expertise eg Accountants for treasury positions and successful people who have experiance with Business and footy clubs. Because despite what you might think a footy club is a business.

Once they get this right then they need to attempt to find quality players and coaching staff who are there with the aim of taking the club somewhere and not taking all their money. Players who are loyal and honest and are team and club orientated.. there are allot around.. hard to get but possible..

I would imagine this stage would take a couple of years. In the mean time they should be building the best relationship possible with the Junior clubs and promote as many as possible to the senior ranks. I would have people searching the junior ranks for kids that are not going to make league footy or perhaps be walk up starts at the major clubs in Bendigo and start recruiting.

Lots of hard work needed but acheivable i imagine if the club started now they could be a top 5 side in 5 years.

Totally agree! THey are the blokes who genuinely want to improve their own and their clubs football. They are people without a huge name and EGO!

In our local paper this week, Sunbury coach Mark Power expressed his disapointment at Luke Beattie not being included in the VCFL squad, thinks he'd be a walk up start. I'm pretty sure he only kicked 40 odd goals from FF last year in a good side. From what ive seen of him, i would have thought he'd be a fair way off VCFL standard. What do you South boys think ?

Big game at Gisborne this week, whats the betting on this one ?

Congratulations to Matty McKenzie on his 250th game tomorrow

In our local paper this week, Sunbury coach Mark Power expressed his disapointment at Luke Beattie not being included in the VCFL squad, thinks he'd be a walk up start. I'm pretty sure he only kicked 40 odd goals from FF last year in a good side. From what ive seen of him, i would have thought he'd be a fair way off VCFL standard. What do you South boys think ?

Big game at Gisborne this week, whats the betting on this one ?

Congratulations to Matty McKenzie on his 250th game tomorrow

I think Beatie was one of the best forwards in the BFL over the past 2 years i saw him kick bags of goals on quality opponents on a number of occasions. If my memory serves me right he made the VCFL squad (Not team) After kicking 7 goals in 2 matches in an undermanned BFL team in Mt Gambier in 2005. Last year he was plagued with injuries and found himself playing off Half forward when Frew set himself as a goal kicking ace. And missed the Interleague carnival as a consequence.

I reckon he is a very good player far from a walk up start but worth consideration.

Good effort 250 games. is that 250 games for gissy? or has he had stints at other clubs? Warren these are the sorts of blokes flat need.

Find your hole Fatso! If you had any idea of the type of genuine bloke Tony Peirce is and what he has recently been through as well as keeping the league going in a forward manner, you would be congratulating the man! He deserves a huge payout!
As far as you interleague views; What is the go with blokes these days only playing for incentives? Do you play for Golden Square Wombat? When i was growing up interleague meant proving yourself against better opposition. Representing your league with a bit of pride. Challenging yourself in a higher level of competition to improve your football. The best thing i ever got out of interleague was meeting new people who were generally your enemy every sat and then becoming mates. That is the best thing about Country footy as far as im concerned!;)

We are not talking about Interleague Darts where the Windy and Flat regulars get together to play against the Vic and the Camp Hotel Wazz or Woogie?? I am not talking about compensating all the blokes but a few things done for them when they go out and risk injury and potentially effect their clubs long term prospects would be appreciated.

I am not judging the man on what has happened in BFL footy over the past 3 months. I am looking over the past two years. Where are the initiatives like Friday Night Footy. I dont play at Golden Square mate, but from a far at least they have the foresight to promote their games and try to get more people along. Why are we playing a BFL game of Football at Clunes this weekend? Because the Administration haven't got the balls to tell Kyneton to play at Austar on Sunday. Simple as that. Irrespective of the guys problems and I am sympathetic to that the league has been floundering for years, putting out spot fires. Get a proactive man for the job and I am sure BFL footy will propsper even more.

If you can scrape together enough funds in this arvos butt run, catch the bus to Wade St next time they play Eaglehawk and you will get to see a decent crowd watching some quality Football. No coincidence that some of the GSFC initiatives are working.

I think Beatie was one of the best forwards in the BFL over the past 2 years i saw him kick bags of goals on quality opponents on a number of occasions. If my memory serves me right he made the VCFL squad (Not team) After kicking 7 goals in 2 matches in an undermanned BFL team in Mt Gambier in 2005. Last year he was plagued with injuries and found himself playing off Half forward when Frew set himself as a goal kicking ace. And missed the Interleague carnival as a consequence.

I reckon he is a very good player far from a walk up start but worth consideration.

Good effort 250 games. is that 250 games for gissy? or has he had stints at other clubs? Warren these are the sorts of blokes flat need.
250 at Gisborne, great clubman and allround nice guy is Matty.

[ Mate, your reference to the Clunes game is a disgrace. How can you expect a club to agree to a Sunday game, in Ballarat on one weeks notice. Why would North schedule a BFL game at Austar on the same day as a VFL game. If you look at it with a broader mind, if north ballarat cant get access to their ground on the day the game is scheduled - the opposition team should be able to hold the game at their ground.
Sunday footy between Kyneton and Ballarat isnt going to set any records, enough exemptions for Nth city juniors - there in the BFL now.

I am not judging the man on what has happened in BFL footy over the past 3 months. I am looking over the past two years. Where are the initiatives like Friday Night Footy. I dont play at Golden Square mate, but from a far at least they have the foresight to promote their games and try to get more people along. Why are we playing a BFL game of Football at Clunes this weekend? Because the Administration haven't got the balls to tell Kyneton to play at Austar on Sunday.

[ Mate, your reference to the Clunes game is a disgrace. How can you expect a club to agree to a Sunday game, in Ballarat on one weeks notice. Why would North schedule a BFL game at Austar on the same day as a VFL game. If you look at it with a broader mind, if north ballarat cant get access to their ground on the day the game is scheduled - the opposition team should be able to hold the game at their ground.
Sunday footy between Kyneton and Ballarat isnt going to set any records, enough exemptions for Nth city juniors - there in the BFL now.

I am not judging the man on what has happened in BFL footy over the past 3 months. I am looking over the past two years. Where are the initiatives like Friday Night Footy. I dont play at Golden Square mate, but from a far at least they have the foresight to promote their games and try to get more people along. Why are we playing a BFL game of Football at Clunes this weekend? Because the Administration haven't got the balls to tell Kyneton to play at Austar on Sunday.

The draws weren't put out last week Einstein surely the League could have the foresight to work with a club prior to setting the draw so the game is scheduled at the start of the year for a Sunday. I am not blaming the Kyneton Football Club just trying to highlight the short comings of the Administration of the League and I think your point highlights it further.

One weeks notice is inadequate when this could have been done post season. The VFL & Tac Draws aren't top secret are they???

The draws weren't put out last week Einstein surely the League could have the foresight to work with a club prior to setting the draw so the game is scheduled at the start of the year for a Sunday. I am not blaming the Kyneton Football Club just trying to highlight the short comings of the Administration of the League and I think your point highlights it further.

One weeks notice is inadequate when this could have been done post season. The VFL & Tac Draws aren't top secret are they???

Ok know it all, put your hand up and have a crack yourself. Or would you just like to be a big man and sit behind a computer?

Interesting coming from the Great Wazza. Sounds like you have been involved in some form of Administration at some stage or are you just piss and wind as usual.

First hand info gives me the right to form an opinion, I am sure Tony hasn't been to the KFlat Caravan Park for quite a while.

Let us all in on your credentials Woogie.

PS Don't bother me until Monday I will busy working hard making sure the body I volunteer for is successful once again.

Everyone is on the angry pills by the look of it, so I'll just keep to this weeks games:

Round 8
Sandhurst v KFlat - big win for the Hurst
M/B v E/hawk - 2 Blues by a mile
North v Kyneton - Can't believe I'm saying this but... North? 15 points
Cmaine v South - South by 25 points
Gis v GSquare - Good game expected - Gis at home by 30 points

Watched Kangaroo Flat today - came out hard and matched Sandhurst in the first Qtr trying to redeem themselves from last weeks effort... but then went back to normal.

Got done by 100+ and Ty Zantuck got sent off for abusing the umpire (and I think was reported?). Seriously, he is a quality player and was stiff not to be picked up by Carlton at the start of the year, but damn... his attitude STINKS:thumbsdown:.

He just strolls around with his hands on his hips, yelling at the KFlat bench constantly. He doesn't have to run b/c KFlats game plan is "Kick it to Ty" at all costs, so it makes his stats look better than what they should be if he actualy had to earn a kick.

What were other results today?

Kyneton got rolled by North City!!!!
11.16 (82) d 9.3 (57).

Sandhurst 24.18 (162) d Flat 7.12 (54).

Eaglehawk 12.13 (85) d Maryborough 9.7 (61).

South 19.10 (124) d Castlemaine 15.8 (98)

Gisborne 17.14 (116) d Goldren Square 11.9 (75).

i think i mite have got 5 out 5 like yourself noiseybone
north city 11.16 (82) def kyneton pussycats 9.3 (57)
nify nev in deep trouble down at the showgrounds you wood have to think

gissie led 10 goals to 1 at the half and altho square might have outscored the graveyard dogs by a cuppla goals in the last 2 quarters it was all over red rover by then
hurst won by 100 points but zantuck might have taken close to 20 marks south beat maine by about your predicted margin ... 24 or 25 points ...

and burra boys not super impressive at maryboro but still got home by about 4 goals
round 9 showdown coming up at canterbury park --- the 2 unbeaten sides gissie and eagleburra

In the words of Gretel Kileen.....Its time to go...........................Neville !

Kyneton what a joke......................................Talked up pre-season.
Some changes have to be made at tiger land they acctually have a reasonable list of players..All time low for Kyneton Football Club you would think..

Kyneton what a joke......................................Talked up pre-season.
Some changes have to be made at tiger land they acctually have a reasonable list of players..All time low for Kyneton Football Club you would think..

As a Kyneton supporter. I think it's a bit hard on blaming Nev on Kyneton's poor start to the season. Yes they do have quality players there top ten players are real good but there next 10 struggle. Today North City just seemed like they were playing for much more than Kyneton was. Every time a goal was kicked the whole team would be around to pat the player on the arse. I think North City in the next few years will be a competive team if they can keep all the players. As for us tigers I think we just need to lift our intensity and try and pull of a few upsets in the second half of the season. But blaming Nev i dont think is acceptable because he is doing everything he can to try and win us games.

Three years at a club and only a hand full of wins i don't see that there is anyone else to blame....He can't coach

Yep, he may be a good bloke - although thats debatable depending on who you are talking too, and he might get the big names to the club, but FFS - he can not coach. The blokes who pulled on the jumper today would be unbeaten under Derek Filo, and I know that is a very big statement.

You have to comend him though he is good at one thing and that is dodging the bullet. I have been supporting Bendigo footy for a number of years and I just hope Kyneton can recover from this situation that he has put them in. Brett Cook needs to step up and take the reigns...

Brett Cook would be a great coach his speeches during the game and before the game are excellent. But i still think Nev at the moment is the best person to have in the job. He does alot of work around the club that people dont see. Kyneton just have to make sure they hold on to as many young kids as possible. With the under 16s sitting on top of the ladder and hardly being challenged means there must be good juniors coming through, but chances are we will lose a few to pioneers cannons etc. so we need to develop the ones that arnt going to make it to that level into good senior footballers.